Author Topic: Staying under the GVM  (Read 13609 times)

Offline Bullant4x4

Staying under the GVM
« on: August 07, 2016, 05:16:24 PM »
Weighed the Patrol the other day and fully empty with a full tank of diesel with me sitting in it, the Patrol weighed  3.1T - I'm 6"2 and 150kg. I didn't believe the first weigh so drove to the most reliable scales and still turned out to be 3.1T

Just loaded all the camping gear into the Patrol and going to weigh her tomorrow.

Trailer works out to be about 185kg ball weigh but lets get real and say 250kg. So I need to remove 150kg from the GVM

Still got to get the Mrs and 3 kids in so I think I'm just going to be under by 40kg.

I have been told when you get weighed and on the limit you can choose to get out of the vehicle. If that's the case we will have about 360kg up our sleeve.

Re: Staying under the GVM
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2016, 05:28:34 PM »
Went through this just before we went to the Cape ourselves. With everything and everyone we had 100kg spare. I think a lot of travellers would be well over if the weighed it.

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2016, 12:45:22 PM »
The GU Patrol has a GVM upgrade of 3495kg.
I have a bull bar, kaymar rear bar, dual batteries, rear draws with extra 100Ah Batt and roof rack and km2 33"
I have no winch, spotties or long range fuel tanks

So here we have a fully loaded Patrol with no food or beer and just one person inside also no water jerry cans on the back.
3,300kg + 170kg (Mrs & kids) = 3470kg add food 20kg = 3490kg..................................... So I have 5kg left over for a GVM upgrade to 3495kg

Looks like I'm going on a diet and drop from 140kg to 100kg to fit more stuff in.

So traveling without the camper trailer 100% legal.

If I add the camper trailer I will be over 150kg so I will need to swap over the chain saw, recovery gear etc to the camper trailer to travel to where we are going then swap it back once we make camp.

Offline listo

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2016, 08:02:56 PM »
Went through this just before we went to the Cape ourselves. With everything and everyone we had 100kg spare. I think a lot of travellers would be well over if the weighed it.

I'd hate to have seen how far over weight I'd have been when I was up there, I was sure the car was going to break before we hit the dirt

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2017, 03:29:37 PM »
Just got this from a mate.

You may want to put this on the forum.
http://rveethereyet.com/police-caravan-weight-safety-checks-newmerella-victoria/

I was at the Police operation in Newmerella yesterday and it was alarming how many camper trailers were over their weight limits. 
Might be worth giving the members a heads up that they should get their rigs checked out.

Here’s a very brief update on the Police Operation at Newmerella where caravan, campers and other larger trailers were checked for compliance with weight restrictions and other general requirements.

Victoria Police worked together with Vic Roads and the Sheriff’s department to conduct a major road safety operation that included blood alcohol checks, licence and registration checks, outstanding fines or registration payments and, in particular, safety checks of larger trailers including caravans, camper trailers and boat trailers.  This was conducted on the 4th and 5th January, 2017, at the rest stop in Newmerella Victoria on the busy Princess Highway.

With regards to caravan and trailer checks component of the operation, it was largely an education and safety awareness exercise. No one was fined for being overweight. I did see one defect notice issued to a driver who’s boat trailer had incorrectly rated tyres for the weight being carried.

Interesting;
There were fines issued for drivers who did not have towing mirrors fitted where required.

Aerial view of the rest stop in Newmerella where the operation was conducted showing a number of trailers lined up ready for inspection.

Here you can see how the scales were used to measure the load on each wheel. The total weight was derived from the sum of all individual readings from each wheel.

« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 03:34:45 PM by Bird »

The following users thanked this post: Frawls

Offline cheif carlos

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2017, 03:48:31 PM »
Yep never enough load carrying capacity in any wagon even though I would rather overload a wagon than a ute
Need to get the backside into gear and get out camping

« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2017, 06:58:31 PM »
This is a very depressing thread as I have a Patrol but no upgrade.  I had better weigh it and get the bad news  :-[

« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2017, 07:03:47 PM »
Quote from: Alan Loy
This is a very depressing thread as I have a Patrol but no upgrade.  I had better weigh it and get the bad news  :-[
GATHERING!!!!!

we should find a weighbridge somewhere that doesn't charge, all weigh up 1 by 1.. then have a BBQ at a nearby park to share the news...

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2017, 07:13:02 PM »
On the Hume at Tallarook !
Self managed , drive in drive out - don't hold the truckies up .
Or , drive through Somerton / Campbellfield and VicRoads will weigh you for free .... May be a tough convo tho - usually on a Friday arvo .

For the record , trailer weighs 910 loaded , vehicle is 2580 kg ( gvm 3175 ) ball is 125kg .

Everyone takes too much crap - remember the days of a swag , slab of beer , bacon and eggs / frypan , loaf of bread . All in the back of a HQ or XB ! 😀😀
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2017, 07:18:50 PM »
Quote from: Humphreythebear
remember the days of a swag , slab of beer , bacon and eggs / frypan , loaf of bread . All in the back of a HQ or XB ! 😀😀
Ventura/Gearsack bag, saddle bags on a VFR - no room for swag.... LOL

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2017, 11:20:58 AM »
gday swaggers

Apologies for my long absence.  Had password troubles and then got caught up in some projects.

I'm looking at working with the police officer involved in the Newmerella operation in organising a weigh in at Broadford weighbridge in the next couple of months.  Just need to get some contacts within Vic Roads to get permission to do it.

We will likely involve a couple of other groups as well just to spread the workload. 

More info later.

In the mean time, if you're in Melbourne or close to Broadford, the weighbridge is open 24 hours and is self serve.  Drive on drive off.  Very easy and works well.

Darcy

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline EagleBoy

« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2017, 11:47:34 AM »

In the mean time, if you're in Melbourne or close to Broadford, the weighbridge is open 24 hours and is self serve.  Drive on drive off.  Very easy and works well.

Is there an equivalent in Sydney/NSW?
2016 Amarok TDI420 Core
2015 Jayco Expanda 14.44-4

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2017, 11:54:06 AM »
GATHERING!!!!!

we should find a weighbridge somewhere that doesn't charge, all weigh up 1 by 1.. then have a BBQ at a nearby park to share the news...

They do not charge at the weight bridge here in Nanango  :D ;D
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2017, 01:13:57 PM »
http://rveethereyet.com/a-turning-point-in-towing-safety/

A lengthy read but a good read about the above operation

« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2017, 07:25:40 PM »
I found a list the other day somewhere that had all the weighbridges listed on them, I'll try to find it again.

I know I can use the local one for free if I don't want a proper docket, so if I want to just check what everything weighs its free and I just check that its ok first.

Offline ATC

« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2017, 08:23:40 PM »
List of registered public weighbridge

http://www.measurement.gov.au/Industry/Licensees/Documents/PWlist.xlsx

If it doesn't work in tapatalk, try copying the link to a browser

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: January 17, 2017, 08:28:52 PM by ATC »
The following users thanked this post: EagleBoy

Offline peter_mcc

« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2017, 10:57:18 PM »
At our local NSW (Sydney) waste transfer station they weigh you on the way in & out, giving you a receipt. You can recycle paper for free - so you should be able to drive in, dump your sheet of paper and drive out getting the weighed twice.

Offline mike and tracy davis

• The Davis Clan
    • http://myswag.org/gallery/v/mike+and+tracy+davis/
« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2017, 11:26:34 PM »
What about your rear axle load? You can be under or at GVM but still go over your maximum axle load and be pinged! Most wagons have an @ 2:1 ratio of tow ball mass to axle load because of Archimedes principle, so for example 150kg of ball mass is equivalent of 300kg of payload or rear axle load. Utes arc often much worse at 3:1 and some at 4:1, no coincidence that the maximum ball mass on a PxRanger is 350kg and the maximum payload for the vehicle is around 1000kg!, makes you wonder about those big vans with loaded up dual cabs being legal and why the things bust in half after a few hundred kilometres of corrugated roads.
Cheers Mike
Mike and Tracy Davis VKS737 mobile 3424
Nomad 96 4WD Club of WA. Only owns and drives Patrols, likes to get out there .......and make it back!

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2017, 10:51:13 AM »
I found a list the other day somewhere that had all the weighbridges listed on them, I'll try to find it again.

I know I can use the local one for free if I don't want a proper docket, so if I want to just check what everything weighs its free and I just check that its ok first.

You can view the list here or downloaded it: http://rveethereyet.com/weighbridges-australia-download/

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2017, 11:33:09 AM »
http://www.futuremetals.com.au/
194-204 Ordish Road,
South Dandenong

$20 per weighbridge ticket, but I'd guess free if you don't want ticket.
7am - 4pm.

Offline jw2170

« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2017, 11:58:51 AM »
At our local NSW (Sydney) waste transfer station they weigh you on the way in & out, giving you a receipt. You can recycle paper for free - so you should be able to drive in, dump your sheet of paper and drive out getting the weighed twice.

Where is this one, pete??
Jim & Maree
Sydney NSW

Hilux and soft floor camper.

« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2017, 12:47:14 PM »
Has this been shared here yet?

Newmeralla, a turning point.

http://rveethereyet.com/

« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2017, 07:54:00 PM »
Has this been shared here yet?

Newmeralla, a turning point.

http://rveethereyet.com/

Pic from this link.

Hasn't this setup been topic of discussion on here before?

Wonder how he faired?

« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2017, 08:56:09 PM »
Where is this one, pete??
Are you asking because you don't believe there is a waste transfer station in Sydney that will let you do anything for free?
Or because you don't believe there is a waste transfer station anywhere that will show the same weight in and out even if you only drop off 1 sheet of A4 paper? :)

The one at Seven Hills weighs in and out by the way. ;)

« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2017, 07:57:24 AM »
Hasn't this setup been topic of discussion on here before?

Wonder how he faired?

Being discussed at http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=51026.0

Te van went 3.5t, the rear axle of the Collie 2.1t :o