Author Topic: Isuzu mu-x  (Read 141603 times)

Offline Dogsbreakfast

Isuzu mu-x
« on: March 26, 2014, 06:07:32 PM »
Hey guys, anyone own of these machines yet. Got a pretty keen deal so am looking at biting the bullet on an LS-T for wifey.
http://www.somuchviral.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/beer-holder.gif

Re: Isuzu mu-x
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 06:25:48 PM »
We just trialled one at work for number of weeks to see if it was suitable, the good thing is that it is a true 4wd.... Style wise plain both inside and outside but performance wise, ok... Santa Fe performs better.... 4wd, went through our 4wd training area with no problems at all including step decent/ascent.....

Scott

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 06:47:03 PM »
Mate if it is half as good as our LS-T D.Max you will very very happy, I defy any one to say as Isuzu Ute Australia has if you do the schelduled servicing of the motor it will do you 500,000 Ks plus.
 the D.Max came second to the Hilux for value for money in one of the mags, imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2014, 06:52:19 PM »
It will be getting used properly so that pitted it up against prado which i reckon are 10k overpriced.

« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2014, 06:58:23 PM »
... imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.

Not a lot probably, I doubt they'll sell more than a 100 MU-X in the first year. Toyota sell more Prado's than that in a month.

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2014, 07:12:37 PM »
Not a lot probably, I doubt they'll sell more than a 100 MU-X in the first year. Toyota sell more Prado's than that in a month.

They've sold that already if my brokers advice was correct.

« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2014, 07:16:30 PM »
Interesting however I'll wait to see the 'official' sales results.

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2014, 07:26:37 PM »
Interesting however I'll wait to see the 'official' sales results.

65l tank capacity... Not much is it?

Otherwise, specs look good, but it is not the prettiest car on the road.
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2014, 07:29:34 PM »
Won't be the main 4by but needed it to be able to tow our boat which is 2.75t hence the reason from moving away from prado.

P.s. not too many pretty 4bys on the road...

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2014, 09:53:05 AM »
So I was curious about the sales and sent a message to Isuzu on facebook January was 190 sold and February was 170. If it is the right vehicle for you and what you want to do that is what matters.  We have had our dmax for about 3 and a half years and could not fault it and would by another.

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2014, 12:17:28 PM »
So I was curious about the sales and sent a message to Isuzu on facebook January was 190 sold and February was 170. If it is the right vehicle for you and what you want to do that is what matters.  We have had our dmax for about 3 and a half years and could not fault it and would by another.

Thanks for the info. Glad to hear yours is running well. They seem to be fairly understressed in regards to engine performance v output figures. The numbers i was given were in relation to the LS-T only, so have no doubt they've sold more. 3 month wait on mine....

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2014, 12:21:53 PM »
Thanks for the info. Glad to hear yours is running well. They seem to be fairly understressed in regards to engine performance v output figures. The numbers i was given were in relation to the LS-T only, so have no doubt they've sold more. 3 month wait on mine....

I just asked them for overall sales I guess to see how it was going we got the ute in 2010 so it is different to the current models but it is my daily driver and our tow vehicle does it all well.  I am sure it will be worth the wait.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2014, 01:39:00 PM »

You can already see from this thread it is starting to worry the Toyota mob hahahahaha
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

Offline tourin n fishin

« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2014, 09:22:24 PM »
 imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.
[/quote]

Do you mean fail by comparison. c'mo theyre not even in the same class as far as sophistication or NVH is concerned

2003 GRj-120 Prado GXL
Custom trailer, oztrail camper 7 top

« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2014, 09:27:14 PM »
You can already see from this thread it is starting to worry the Toyota mob hahahahaha

I don't think they have noticed yet, have they? ;D ;D ;D

Offline tourin n fishin

« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2014, 09:52:07 PM »
I don't think they have noticed yet, have they? ;D ;D ;D

lol ;D ;D

2003 GRj-120 Prado GXL
Custom trailer, oztrail camper 7 top

« Reply #16 on: March 27, 2014, 09:56:01 PM »
As long as the truck does what you need it to, who cares.

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2014, 06:22:31 AM »
We have already owned a prado which was o.k. but overpriced, and still have the 76 series which is great (for me) but still way overpriced for what it is. So for 46k done and dusted top of the range model, cant complain.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2014, 06:31:00 AM »
At $44K more for the top spec Pardo than the top spec MU-X you would think it would have to be twice as good, but I bet it is not. And now there is real competition out there it will start showing.
The D.Max got best 4WD Ute last year amd for good reason.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

Offline har05l

« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2014, 07:17:27 AM »
My neighbour picked up his brand new MU-X last week and is wrapped with it. He was looking at a mid sized wagon and initially was looking at the Holden version but that only came in an auto so the Isuzu won hands down with the manual option.

I had a look through it and was quite impressed with it, especially love the roof a/c vents for all rear passengers. The luggage space is small with the seven seats but once the last row is folded then their is plenty of room.

When my day came to swap from ute to wagon I was always going to get a challenger as I have the equivalent in the triton now and have had very little problems with it over the years and it rules offroad >:D but my mind may change one now.

This is still a brand new model and in time as it becomes recognised I'm sure sales will keep rising and put another sales nail in toyotas coffin >:D
2010 MN Triton with most of the goodies

2014 Jayco Starcraft Outback 15.48

http://www.newtriton.net/

« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2014, 10:30:07 AM »
imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.

Do you mean fail by comparison. c'mo theyre not even in the same class as far as sophistication or NVH is concerned

Yeah but a 10K plus price difference will let you get over a bit of noise in the cabin

« Reply #21 on: March 28, 2014, 10:35:57 AM »
Surely this is a trick photo - there is no cargo area ???

« Reply #22 on: March 28, 2014, 10:38:30 AM »
Nah its not lost the boot is pretty small that was the reason i went the dmax rather the MUX i just could not go that small after coming out of the 120 series

They all seem to be getting smaller even when we sold the 120 series i test drove a 150 series and first thing the missus commented on was how much less room there was in the boot

« Reply #23 on: March 28, 2014, 10:40:23 AM »
Quote from: chester ver2.0
Nah its not lost the boot is pretty small that was the reason i went the dmax rather the MUX i just could not go that small after coming out of the 120 series
so how is this going to scare a Prado exactly ??? maybe if you didn't see one before ordering you'd cry... apart from that FAIL.

Offline Dogsbreakfast

« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2014, 11:55:05 AM »
so how is this going to scare a Prado exactly ??? maybe if you didn't see one before ordering you'd cry... apart from that FAIL.

I'm sure hilux owners said the same about the D-Max - nek minnit  :laugh:

Dunno about scare, but our previous car was a 150 and it was good - but include the 10k toyota tax and its average.

Remove the rear seats and there is not much difference in cargo space. We don't need rear seats so not a problem.