General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Dogsbreakfast on March 26, 2014, 06:07:32 PM

Title: Isuzu mu-x
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 26, 2014, 06:07:32 PM
Hey guys, anyone own of these machines yet. Got a pretty keen deal so am looking at biting the bullet on an LS-T for wifey.
Title: Re: Isuzu mu-x
Post by: Jenko67 on March 26, 2014, 06:25:48 PM
We just trialled one at work for number of weeks to see if it was suitable, the good thing is that it is a true 4wd.... Style wise plain both inside and outside but performance wise, ok... Santa Fe performs better.... 4wd, went through our 4wd training area with no problems at all including step decent/ascent.....

Scott
Post by: Isuzumu on March 26, 2014, 06:47:03 PM
Mate if it is half as good as our LS-T D.Max you will very very happy, I defy any one to say as Isuzu Ute Australia has if you do the schelduled servicing of the motor it will do you 500,000 Ks plus.
 the D.Max came second to the Hilux for value for money in one of the mags, imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 26, 2014, 06:52:19 PM
It will be getting used properly so that pitted it up against prado which i reckon are 10k overpriced.
Post by: D4D on March 26, 2014, 06:58:23 PM
... imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.

Not a lot probably, I doubt they'll sell more than a 100 MU-X in the first year. Toyota sell more Prado's than that in a month.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 26, 2014, 07:12:37 PM
Not a lot probably, I doubt they'll sell more than a 100 MU-X in the first year. Toyota sell more Prado's than that in a month.

They've sold that already if my brokers advice was correct.
Post by: D4D on March 26, 2014, 07:16:30 PM
Interesting however I'll wait to see the 'official' sales results.
Post by: Pog on March 26, 2014, 07:26:37 PM
Interesting however I'll wait to see the 'official' sales results.

65l tank capacity... Not much is it?

Otherwise, specs look good, but it is not the prettiest car on the road.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 26, 2014, 07:29:34 PM
Won't be the main 4by but needed it to be able to tow our boat which is 2.75t hence the reason from moving away from prado.

P.s. not too many pretty 4bys on the road...
Post by: Nay-DMAX on March 27, 2014, 09:53:05 AM
So I was curious about the sales and sent a message to Isuzu on facebook January was 190 sold and February was 170. If it is the right vehicle for you and what you want to do that is what matters.  We have had our dmax for about 3 and a half years and could not fault it and would by another.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 27, 2014, 12:17:28 PM
So I was curious about the sales and sent a message to Isuzu on facebook January was 190 sold and February was 170. If it is the right vehicle for you and what you want to do that is what matters.  We have had our dmax for about 3 and a half years and could not fault it and would by another.

Thanks for the info. Glad to hear yours is running well. They seem to be fairly understressed in regards to engine performance v output figures. The numbers i was given were in relation to the LS-T only, so have no doubt they've sold more. 3 month wait on mine....
Post by: Nay-DMAX on March 27, 2014, 12:21:53 PM
Thanks for the info. Glad to hear yours is running well. They seem to be fairly understressed in regards to engine performance v output figures. The numbers i was given were in relation to the LS-T only, so have no doubt they've sold more. 3 month wait on mine....

I just asked them for overall sales I guess to see how it was going we got the ute in 2010 so it is different to the current models but it is my daily driver and our tow vehicle does it all well.  I am sure it will be worth the wait.
Post by: Isuzumu on March 27, 2014, 01:39:00 PM

You can already see from this thread it is starting to worry the Toyota mob hahahahaha
Post by: tourin n fishin on March 27, 2014, 09:22:24 PM
 imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.
[/quote]

Do you mean fail by comparison. c'mo theyre not even in the same class as far as sophistication or NVH is concerned
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 27, 2014, 09:27:14 PM
You can already see from this thread it is starting to worry the Toyota mob hahahahaha

I don't think they have noticed yet, have they? ;D ;D ;D
Post by: tourin n fishin on March 27, 2014, 09:52:07 PM
I don't think they have noticed yet, have they? ;D ;D ;D

lol ;D ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on March 27, 2014, 09:56:01 PM
As long as the truck does what you need it to, who cares.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 28, 2014, 06:22:31 AM
We have already owned a prado which was o.k. but overpriced, and still have the 76 series which is great (for me) but still way overpriced for what it is. So for 46k done and dusted top of the range model, cant complain.
Post by: Isuzumu on March 28, 2014, 06:31:00 AM
At $44K more for the top spec Pardo than the top spec MU-X you would think it would have to be twice as good, but I bet it is not. And now there is real competition out there it will start showing.
The D.Max got best 4WD Ute last year amd for good reason.
Post by: har05l on March 28, 2014, 07:17:27 AM
My neighbour picked up his brand new MU-X last week and is wrapped with it. He was looking at a mid sized wagon and initially was looking at the Holden version but that only came in an auto so the Isuzu won hands down with the manual option.

I had a look through it and was quite impressed with it, especially love the roof a/c vents for all rear passengers. The luggage space is small with the seven seats but once the last row is folded then their is plenty of room.

When my day came to swap from ute to wagon I was always going to get a challenger as I have the equivalent in the triton now and have had very little problems with it over the years and it rules offroad >:D but my mind may change one now.

This is still a brand new model and in time as it becomes recognised I'm sure sales will keep rising and put another sales nail in toyotas coffin >:D
Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 28, 2014, 10:30:07 AM
imagine what the MU-X will do to the Prado.

Do you mean fail by comparison. c'mo theyre not even in the same class as far as sophistication or NVH is concerned

Yeah but a 10K plus price difference will let you get over a bit of noise in the cabin
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2014, 10:35:57 AM
Surely this is a trick photo - there is no cargo area ???

(http://saranainfo.com/image/Isuzu-MU-X-side.jpg)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 28, 2014, 10:38:30 AM
Nah its not lost the boot is pretty small that was the reason i went the dmax rather the MUX i just could not go that small after coming out of the 120 series

They all seem to be getting smaller even when we sold the 120 series i test drove a 150 series and first thing the missus commented on was how much less room there was in the boot
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2014, 10:40:23 AM
Quote from: chester ver2.0
Nah its not lost the boot is pretty small that was the reason i went the dmax rather the MUX i just could not go that small after coming out of the 120 series
so how is this going to scare a Prado exactly ??? maybe if you didn't see one before ordering you'd cry... apart from that FAIL.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 28, 2014, 11:55:05 AM
so how is this going to scare a Prado exactly ??? maybe if you didn't see one before ordering you'd cry... apart from that FAIL.

I'm sure hilux owners said the same about the D-Max - nek minnit  :laugh:

Dunno about scare, but our previous car was a 150 and it was good - but include the 10k toyota tax and its average.

Remove the rear seats and there is not much difference in cargo space. We don't need rear seats so not a problem.
Post by: Isuzumu on March 29, 2014, 07:15:49 AM
http://www.isuzuute.com.au/about-us/awards.aspx?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=ozroamer&utm_campaign=dmail-march-14 (http://www.isuzuute.com.au/about-us/awards.aspx?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=ozroamer&utm_campaign=dmail-march-14)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on March 29, 2014, 08:04:44 AM
http://www.isuzuute.com.au/about-us/awards.aspx?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=ozroamer&utm_campaign=dmail-march-14 (http://www.isuzuute.com.au/about-us/awards.aspx?utm_source=newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=ozroamer&utm_campaign=dmail-march-14)

Haha Bruce I thought of you when I got that email yesterday
Post by: Bird on March 29, 2014, 09:51:54 AM
Who the hell is ozroamer when its home??? is that like an award you make up when there isn't one for you???

put a 40ltr engel in the back and it would be full...
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 29, 2014, 09:57:05 AM
Who the hell is ozroamer when its home??? is that like an award you make up when there isn't one for you???

put a 40ltr engel in the back and it would be full...

So you've driven one then?

Nothing like uninformed advice to build the post count ;D
Post by: Bird on March 29, 2014, 10:11:54 AM
So you've driven one then?

Nothing like uninformed advice to build the post count ;D
Thankfully no.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on March 29, 2014, 10:26:19 AM
(http://www.troll.me/images/lloyd-christmas/cool-story-bro.jpg)
Post by: lochgilphead on April 09, 2014, 08:25:19 PM
Hi, just bought an LS-T after 14 months in a DMax and was happy to upgrade.  Good pulling power and excellent fuel economy.  Comfortable seats and very happy with it so far.  I would recommend them to anyone looking at the Prado size 4WD.  Very low 50000's with snorkel etc fitted.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on April 22, 2014, 12:46:55 PM
Hi, just bought an LS-T after 14 months in a DMax and was happy to upgrade.  Good pulling power and excellent fuel economy.  Comfortable seats and very happy with it so far.  I would recommend them to anyone looking at the Prado size 4WD.  Very low 50000's with snorkel etc fitted.

Good to hear, everyone seems pretty happy with them. My dealer informed me they underestimated the market and have sold the years estimated sales, 3000, in 5 months.
Post by: lochgilphead on April 22, 2014, 08:19:33 PM
Just swapped ours over from a Dmax ute to make storage more secure as neither the wife or I wanted a canopy.  Did 4000k towing a 2.8 tone van and averaged14.3 l/100kms.  They are comfortable and well built.  I didn't hesitate at all to upgrade to the LST MUX.  Yes the fuel tank is on the small size but I will carry a jerry or two if necessary on the camper.  I am very happy with mine.  I did look at the Prado, excellent car but couldn't justify the extra dollars.
Post by: DropBearRacing on April 22, 2014, 11:38:37 PM
Just swapped ours over from a Dmax ute to make storage more secure as neither the wife or I wanted a canopy.  Did 4000k towing a 2.8 tone van and averaged14.3 l/100kms.  They are comfortable and well built.  I didn't hesitate at all to upgrade to the LST MUX.  Yes the fuel tank is on the small size but I will carry a jerry or two if necessary on the camper.  I am very happy with mine.  I did look at the Prado, excellent car but couldn't justify the extra dollars.

have you got anymore photos and info on your mux?
Post by: McTavish on April 23, 2014, 12:23:24 AM
All good comments about them from 'real world' owners of the Isuzu vehicles it seems.   
I hope they bring some sense to the pricing of vehicles in this market range too and consumers start to get some wins rather than being ripped...
Post by: KingBilly on April 23, 2014, 06:54:40 AM
My local dealer commented that Isuzu are subsidising the MUX to the tune of $5000 "to get them out there".  Will be interesting to see the long term pricing as they are apparently selling very well.

Post by: 4wdgladdy on April 29, 2014, 06:38:00 PM
Hi picked up our mux ls-u last Wednesday. So far it is excellent, traded in our patrol for it.  Compared it to a prado 150 series, and found that there is more room in the third row, and more room behind the third row than the prado. It's not quite as wide but for us that doesn't matter, have been averaging around 8.4l per hundred combined so far.  Picked it up for 44k plus a little more for some extras, so was a lot more affordable than the prado.  Would recommend looking at one.
Post by: koshari on April 29, 2014, 08:04:29 PM
i think the T/D jeep laredo @ 55k is better deal atm.

little more expensive but the powertrain and styling eat the isuzu for breakfast.
Post by: Pog on April 29, 2014, 08:33:16 PM
That's nice, but its still a Jeep! ;D
Post by: speedcomm on April 30, 2014, 08:10:36 AM

little more expensive but the powertrain and styling eat the isuzu for breakfast.

Styling ? I don't have either but I quite like the look of the Isuzu. Glad they changed the front from the Holden version, still struggle to recognise the Colorado7 from the Craptivas...
Post by: Heiny on April 30, 2014, 10:48:28 AM
Seriously considering the MU-X as a worthy upgrade from the old Paj when the time comes, great value for money, ok styling, 3000kg towing and proven power train and driveline (manual & auto) designed by one of the best truck manufacturers in the world.

Other contenders IMO are Grand Cherokee, Amarok (luckily for all other manufacturers, there is no wagon version of the Amarok thus far!) and maybe Mitsubishi Challenger.

Looked into the new Pathfinder until I found out there is no diesel version, no dual range tranny and very average value for money. Nissan obviously no longer care for Australian 4x4/SUV market! (if they had matched their TDV6 with a dual range trans, they could possibly of had a winner!)

Toyota! These days they are neither by design or mechanically any better or worse than most other brands on the market, but not worth my consideration until such time they get realistic with their value for money.

:cheers: Heiny
Post by: koshari on April 30, 2014, 10:58:29 PM
If you want to tow with the amarok or challenger your in for plenty of frustration when you hit your first hill.
Post by: speedcomm on May 01, 2014, 06:10:42 PM
All might not be lost for a proper mid size 4wd Nissan..

http://motoring.ninemsn.com.au/cars/wheels/news/2014/04/next-navara-to-spawn-suv-wagon (http://motoring.ninemsn.com.au/cars/wheels/news/2014/04/next-navara-to-spawn-suv-wagon)
Post by: KingBilly on May 01, 2014, 06:49:17 PM
All might not be lost for a proper mid size 4wd Nissan..

http://motoring.ninemsn.com.au/cars/wheels/news/2014/04/next-navara-to-spawn-suv-wagon (http://motoring.ninemsn.com.au/cars/wheels/news/2014/04/next-navara-to-spawn-suv-wagon)

Yeah but with a 2 litre diesel - no way

http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and-reviews/car-news/nissan_set_for_new_model_wave_83392_20140430 (http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and-reviews/car-news/nissan_set_for_new_model_wave_83392_20140430)

Post by: speedcomm on May 01, 2014, 07:09:57 PM
Yeah but with a 2 litre diesel - no way

http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and-reviews/car-news/nissan_set_for_new_model_wave_83392_20140430 (http://www.carsguide.com.au/news-and-reviews/car-news/nissan_set_for_new_model_wave_83392_20140430)

With close to 550nm.

What capacity is the Amarok ? I have a good mate with an 8 speed auto Rok and he loves it.
Anyway, be interesting to see.
Post by: Isuzumu on May 01, 2014, 09:09:21 PM
Isuzu is not behind in engine development, in Europe the latest model of the D.Max/ MU-X has a 2.5 Litre twin turbo rated at 400Nm and a 6 speed auto, so when they have to go to Euro 6 they are well sorted and will have a motor that has been proven. Would love to be able to test drive one against the 3.0 Litre.
Have been trying to find out what Bruce Garland is using in his new built up MU-X Dakar vehicle, will be very interesting.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on May 02, 2014, 10:05:23 AM
I think Garland is using the current motor albeit with a heap of work and i think the gearbox is custom

Hey Bruce are you running a DP chip if so have you had any limp home's trggered or any other problem
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 02, 2014, 11:15:43 PM
Isuzu is not behind in engine development, in Europe the latest model of the D.Max/ MU-X has a 2.5 Litre twin turbo rated at 400Nm and a 6 speed auto, so when they have to go to Euro 6 they are well sorted and will have a motor that has been proven. Would love to be able to test drive one against the 3.0 Litre.
Have been trying to find out what Bruce Garland is using in his new built up MU-X Dakar vehicle, will be very interesting.

Garland ran the 3.0l for dakar but it was putting out 192kw and 600nm.....

Post by: DrewXT on May 03, 2014, 12:03:40 AM
If you want to tow with the amarok or challenger your in for plenty of frustration when you hit your first hill.

That's not my experience with the Amarok...
Post by: Isuzumu on May 03, 2014, 08:24:10 AM
I think Garland is using the current motor albeit with a heap of work and i think the gearbox is custom

Hey Bruce are you running a DP chip if so have you had any limp home's trggered or any other problem

Not one problem and have done over 50K with it in.
Post by: Coiled on May 03, 2014, 10:17:44 AM

You would think that until you were experiencing the problems my inlaws are with theirs (Overland Spec) and the lack of support from Jeep. Won't be fixed for at least another 4 weeks whilst awaiting parts not guaranteed to fix it and having already spent 3 weeks in Jeep workshops all on an 18mth old rig in showroom condition with 20,000km.

They have had to cancel a 6mth half lap trip with 6 other couples that they have been planning for 2 years and bought the Jeep specifically for! Not so good value now.
Post by: DannyG on May 11, 2014, 05:15:39 PM
I'm seriously considering buying an mux.

I took one for a drive yesterday and I'm struggling to find a reason not to buy it.

I have many reasons to choose this over every other vehicle of its type on the market but one big one is the isuzu Diesel engine.

Tell me another manufacturer who actively promotes their engine to do 500 000 plus kilometres, I know my 4.2 patrol will do those sort of kays but Nissan were never bold enough to promote it ;)

I won't even mention economy ;D

Yes it was a bit 'commercial' in the cab for styling and sound but that suits me lol I'm not totally convinced about the non LSD diff and the use of electronic aids for putting drive to the weighted wheels but I don't see anyone complaining about the dmax's. And I'm also not impressed with the fuel tank size when towing but when not towing it's size is ok considering the economy of these things.

Anyone that says they have no space in the rear obviously hasn't looked at one although the full flat floor in its raised style won't really suit a fridge slide IMHO without some clever thinking but you can remove the raised floor and dicky seats if you wanted a traditional floor. But I like the seat arrangement when folded flat because we could throw our self inflating mattress in there to sleep if nescasary.

Anyway I could go on but I'll wait until I get one :)
Post by: GeoffA on May 11, 2014, 05:20:27 PM
Will you be trading the GU, Danny?
Post by: DannyG on May 11, 2014, 05:25:19 PM
Will you be trading the GU, Danny?

No mate, even though I put it too them to see what sort of money they thought it was worth. They made a surprising reasonable offer......they know their vehicles ;)
Post by: KingBilly on May 11, 2014, 05:32:02 PM
Mate, knew you would come round eventually  :D

Post by: DannyG on May 11, 2014, 05:35:09 PM
Mate, knew you would come round eventually  :D

Yeh I was impressed with the engine and whole driveline. The dmax wasn't for me though. The leaf sprung rear was just too harsh when I'm used to a patrol. Strangely enough it was the space and design in the back of the mux that made me look at another wagon instead of the ute with canopy.
Post by: GeoffA on May 11, 2014, 06:00:26 PM
Yeh I was impressed with the engine and whole driveline. The dmax wasn't for me though. The leaf sprung rear was just too harsh when I'm used to a patrol. Strangely enough it was the space and design in the back of the mux that made me look at another wagon instead of the ute with canopy.

The drive line is very good. Reliability and economy are Isuzu hallmarks.
Dust sealing would be reason enough for me to go for the wagon.

Will this be for mum Danny, or are you selling the GU privately?
Post by: har05l on May 12, 2014, 03:29:58 AM
I noticed the other day LRA are supplying 90 ltr long range tanks for the M-UX now so that on top of the standard you'd get a lot of km's racked up before needing to fill again 8)

Only down side was the spare has to be relocated ???

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LONG-RANGE-FUEL-TANK-ISUZU-M-UX-90-LTR-CAPACITY-AUX-TANK-/111298314250?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item19e9e5800a&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LONG-RANGE-FUEL-TANK-ISUZU-M-UX-90-LTR-CAPACITY-AUX-TANK-/111298314250?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item19e9e5800a&_uhb=1)
Post by: DannyG on May 13, 2014, 12:56:10 PM
Just saying......................  ;D ;D

Post by: BigJules on May 13, 2014, 01:14:18 PM
Dealer in Sydney is now advertising free on road costs as well.
Post by: D4D on May 13, 2014, 01:37:43 PM
Does it come with...

(http://gold-teeth-grills.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/fancy-dress-gold-teeth.jpg)
Post by: scarps on May 13, 2014, 01:58:16 PM
Have to admit I don't mind the Isuzu Dmax and could have easily bought one when I was in the market 2yo, but it just didn't seem to have the space or power that I was looking for. I had first hand experience with Nay-Dmax's one last weekend in the Vic High Country and if the MUX is set up on the same gear etc, then for the right person it would have to be a winner. 

I feel I should however reply re the comments around the Jeep.  I ended up buying the 2012 Jeep WK2 CRD Laredo.  Not sure I Iike the front styling on the 2014 model.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/13/ybybyjer.jpg)
At the end of the day each to their own for value, comfort, power and reliability and this is my second Jeep and have had great runs with both to date.

I would however like to throw in one measurable internet fact.  When I do a search of Isuzu Sexy Ladies - images and then a search for Jeep Sexy Ladies - images, well you be the judge for value.
Post by: DannyG on May 13, 2014, 02:20:09 PM
Haha not sure about the gold tooth but would look nice for a city car. White with black wheels would be nice for a country car ;)

Lol scarps I'll have to confirm your findings on google
Post by: scarps on May 13, 2014, 02:23:02 PM

Lol scarps I'll have to confirm your findings on google
Don't get caught:-)
Post by: lochgilphead on May 13, 2014, 05:08:30 PM
Checked out both views - Jeep has it won!!

The MUX goes in for Ironman bullbar and winch next week, some of Andrew's drawers in the next couple of days and to the autoelecs as soon as I can arrange it.  Will post some photos when it's all done. 
Post by: KingBilly on May 13, 2014, 05:51:10 PM
Just saying......................  ;D ;D

Now that is nice.  Drool, drool

Post by: dazzler on May 13, 2014, 06:11:18 PM
Its another dual cab turned into a wagon.

They are a great buy for a dual cab owner who wants a wagon.

They are nowhere near a Prado / Pajero which stand on the next tier up.  Hence the price difference.

Take the Mux for a drive, then a Prado or Pajero.  NVH difference's are huge. 

Same as the last Pathfinder and the Challenger.  Horses for courses. 
Post by: KingBilly on May 13, 2014, 07:07:41 PM
Its another dual cab turned into a wagon.

They are a great buy for a dual cab owner who wants a wagon.

They are nowhere near a Prado / Pajero which stand on the next tier up.  Hence the price difference.

Take the Mux for a drive, then a Prado or Pajero.  NVH difference's are huge. 

Same as the last Pathfinder and the Challenger.  Horses for courses. 

Have you driven a MU-X ?

Post by: dazzler on May 13, 2014, 07:16:37 PM
passengered......

EDIT:  Keep in mind what I wrote though.  They are fine.  They just aint no pajero or prado as per an early post.

Would happily have one if I was buying new and under 50k

Post by: DannyG on May 13, 2014, 07:56:12 PM
But they have 14 cup holders dazzler!
I'm curious to know if you were in the poverty pack or the top of range?
The one I drove was fantastic. Not as quiet as a petrol but fine considering the bullet proof truck engine they use ;D
Post by: dazzler on May 13, 2014, 08:02:25 PM
NOw thats a good question Danny.  I dont know.  It was good.  NVH better than a Triton.  Love the engine.

Edit.  Twas a MSU.  My wife said she liked it better than an FJ........  I dont think I is ever gettin my FJ...

Post by: DannyG on May 13, 2014, 09:01:13 PM
Ok well yeh you should take one for a drive that's a step up from the poverty pack, I was impressed and I own the greatest 4wd to ever turn a wheel on earth ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on May 13, 2014, 09:03:48 PM
.......  I dont think I is ever gettin my FJ...

....and that's gotta be a good thing.... ;D
Post by: Bird on May 13, 2014, 09:07:52 PM
I dunno... I'd love an FJ
(http://www.motorex.com.au/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/Holden-FJ-Custom.jpg)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 13, 2014, 09:12:01 PM
I dunno Lost
I reckon this might be an improvement.
Factory Concept car project.  Holden Efijy

I really don't know why the link for a Holden concept  car takes you to BMW road tests.

This one works.  My FJ Cruiser.
http://www.holden.com.au/concept-cars/efijy (http://www.holden.com.au/concept-cars/efijy)
But I can't afford one anyway.

No I haven't driven an MUX, but with Isuzu's reputation.  Their access to Toyota etc.
They should be a very good mid size vehicle.
Post by: Bird on May 13, 2014, 09:13:51 PM
I dunno Lost
I reckon this might be an improvement.
Factory Concept car project.  Holden Efijy

http://media.drive.com.au/?rid=17738 (http://media.drive.com.au/?rid=17738)
that's a BMW!

but I know the Effijy.. it wont ever happen - well almost
(http://www.scalemotorcars.com/forum/images/imported/2007/05/21.jpg)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 13, 2014, 09:21:14 PM
Yeah I know, I tried it myself.  Useless B***dy *##@ holes that don't check their own links.
That link was supposed to go to the Sydney Motor Show.
For an article on the one Efijy they actually built.
Post by: dazzler on May 13, 2014, 09:31:14 PM

But I likes em.....  really I does....

Post by: scarps on May 13, 2014, 09:37:21 PM
But I likes em.....  really I does....

man, I got confused which thread I was reading there for a bit.

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/13/dy8uqa2u.jpg)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 13, 2014, 09:56:48 PM
I blame Dazzler and Lost for leading me astray.
Post by: dazzler on May 13, 2014, 10:09:32 PM
So you ordered a new FJ then?

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 13, 2014, 11:01:56 PM
You might say that.
I went into Nunawading Toyota and asked them about a 4wd. back in 2009.
They delivered a 2000 Model FZJ105 Auto with third row seats.
And said, "this'll dooya."  And that was just a standard, tired (worn a little) vehicle.
Since then it's been a money pit.
Post by: DannyG on May 14, 2014, 12:18:08 AM
Checked out both views - Jeep has it won!!

The MUX goes in for Ironman bullbar and winch next week, some of Andrew's drawers in the next couple of days and to the autoelecs as soon as I can arrange it.  Will post some photos when it's all done. 

I'm keen to know more about the drawers and how your fitting them. I am guessing you are removing the rear seats and false floor thingy? If so I'd like to see a pic when it's all removed.
Is yours pearl white or plain white?
Is your fuel economy as they say on the brochure?
Do you know if you can add your own maps to the gps/stereo unit? Or if it runs windows ce?
Have you had it off road?
Post by: DannyG on May 14, 2014, 01:15:57 AM
Don't get caught:-)

Ok so I googled the two vehicles.....here are the results  ;D

(http://www.gaymilitarysignal.com/Ingram1210pridejeep1a.jpg)

Post by: scarps on May 14, 2014, 06:40:40 AM

Ok so I googled the two vehicles.....here are the results  ;D

(http://www.gaymilitarysignal.com/Ingram1210pridejeep1a.jpg)

man, don't worry about a new car, you need a new computer first:-)
Post by: D4D on May 14, 2014, 07:54:29 PM
OK I admit, I saw a brand new silver MU-X on the road today and I kinda liked it. Not as a Prado replacement but as a missus/kid wagon. I think I need a lie down :)
Post by: Swannie on May 14, 2014, 08:01:17 PM
 :o
OK I admit, I saw a brand new silver MU-X on the road today and I kinda liked it. Not as a Prado replacement but as a missus/kid wagon. I think I need a lie down :)
:o
Post by: KingBilly on May 14, 2014, 08:03:42 PM

Well I converted you to a Customline so I guess a Dmax/MU-X is next  8)

Post by: D4D on May 14, 2014, 08:07:21 PM
Looking from the outside, there looks to be a huge blind spot with the rear window design. I'll have to take one for a drive to tell.
Post by: Swannie on May 14, 2014, 08:08:34 PM
Actually D4D, you should consider upgrading to a MU-X. I'm sure that Prado is due for a new owner?
Post by: D4D on May 14, 2014, 08:11:48 PM
When I can find a suitable replacement the Prado will be retired.
Post by: DannyG on May 14, 2014, 08:43:42 PM
If your prado is a diesel I'd be really keen for you to take a lst mux for a drive and give us your honest assessment. I'm not sure what a new diesel prado is worth but a lst mux is under 50k
Post by: DannyG on May 14, 2014, 08:46:05 PM
Oh and have a roll around under one and see how they compare to the yotos for driveline chunkyness :) I have to admit I've never properly looked at a prado because my mates that own them are all weird ;)
Post by: lochgilphead on May 14, 2014, 09:02:55 PM
I'm keen to know more about the drawers and how your fitting them. I am guessing you are removing the rear seats and false floor thingy? If so I'd like to see a pic when it's all removed.

G'day, will post some photos when we get the base installed etc.  I removed the last row of seats and put some 35mm square bar across the floor and bolted it in with the existing bolts.  The false floor will screw to that and it overcomes the lip at the rear so the fridge slide and drawers can slide out easily.

Is yours pearl white or plain white?  Plain white - easier to look after when you have travelled the odd scratchy track.

Is your fuel economy as they say on the brochure?  Only done about 1000 k and getting 9.7Km/100 k according to the computer around town.

Do you know if you can add your own maps to the gps/stereo unit? Or if it runs windows ce?  Not sure about the maps.  I don't think you can do much with them just based on the sales guys but I have a mate in IT who may be able to provide advice.  Great if we could put HEMA maps on it wouldn't it?
Have you had it off road?  Not as yet.  did some great off roading with the dmax and was very happy with it's capabilities.  Will have to wait and see but at least I have a bulbar and winch on this one.
Post by: DannyG on May 14, 2014, 09:16:41 PM
Thanks for the info. I'm still at work so I'll reply later when I'm home as I have more questions lol ;)
Post by: Marcus73 on May 14, 2014, 09:47:14 PM
Oh and have a roll around under one and see how they compare to the yotos for driveline chunkyness :) I have to admit I've never properly looked at a prado because my mates that own them are all weird ;)

Pop around Friday night and we can roll around under mine if you like ;)

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy
Post by: DannyG on May 14, 2014, 09:48:14 PM
Are you bringing it Friday night or catching a taxi?
Post by: Marcus73 on May 14, 2014, 09:51:07 PM
Are you bringing it Friday night or catching a taxi?

I reckon we'll bring the rocket

Post by: DannyG on May 14, 2014, 09:52:01 PM
Bugger I was going to bring a shifter and side cutters ;D
Post by: GeoffA on May 14, 2014, 09:55:18 PM
When I can find a suitable replacement the Prado will be retired.

Why? Your Prado is a fine piece of gear. What do you think you will find that warrants the expense?

Change for change sake, perhaps......??
Post by: D4D on May 15, 2014, 08:21:02 AM
If your prado is a diesel I'd be really keen for you to take a lst mux for a drive and give us your honest assessment.

Sounds like a plan

Why? Your Prado is a fine piece of gear. What do you think you will find that warrants the expense?

Hence why I said when I find something suitable. I'd like some extra width from a 200 but then it is too high for around town.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on May 15, 2014, 10:28:11 AM
If your prado is a diesel I'd be really keen for you to take a lst mux for a drive and give us your honest assessment. I'm not sure what a new diesel prado is worth but a lst mux is under 50k

I came from a 120 series prado and then test drove the 150 prado and the dmax i ended up buying on the same day. Between the 150 series and the dmax i could not tell the difference i think the prado has a little more torque on paper but the dmax has a weight advantage

But the selling point for me was the ute style it just swallows up gear
Post by: DannyG on May 15, 2014, 12:03:59 PM

G'day, will post some photos when we get the base installed etc.  I removed the last row of seats and put some 35mm square bar across the floor and bolted it in with the existing bolts.  The false floor will screw to that and it overcomes the lip at the rear so the fridge slide and drawers can slide out easily.

Is yours pearl white or plain white?  Plain white - easier to look after when you have travelled the odd scratchy track.

Is your fuel economy as they say on the brochure?  Only done about 1000 k and getting 9.7Km/100 k according to the computer around town.

Do you know if you can add your own maps to the gps/stereo unit? Or if it runs windows ce?  Not sure about the maps.  I don't think you can do much with them just based on the sales guys but I have a mate in IT who may be able to provide advice.  Great if we could put HEMA maps on it wouldn't it?
Have you had it off road?  Not as yet.  did some great off roading with the dmax and was very happy with it's capabilities.  Will have to wait and see but at least I have a bulbar and winch on this one.

Once again thanks for the reply, i got the PM by the way.

Im wondering what sort of vehicle you drove prior to buying this one? Or prior to the dmax?

For me, having driven both the only real difference between the dmax and mux was the comfort in terms of one has leaf springs the other has coils. They were both very similar as far as engine and drivability which well deeeer they are the same but if I was to be harsh I found they were a little 'commercial' as I stated earlier in this thread. You certainly knew you had a rattly old truck diesel under the hood. Which for me being used to the Patrol with a straight through exhaust and screaming turbo was rather luxurious LOL Do you agree with this?
Having only done 1000 kays and not yet been off road you would expect everything is still going to be hunky dory :)

Post by: lochgilphead on May 15, 2014, 02:14:48 PM
I had a GU patrol 3.0l diesel.  Had it all  set up and did 200k in it across Australia but she was getting  bit old so traded to the dmax.  Yes I agree there is not a great deal of difference b/w the dmax and the mux but that was the reason I bought the mux.  I was very happy with the dmax with the exception of the ute space as we didn't want a canopy.  Have added a couple of photos of the prep for Andrew installing the drawers tomorrow.  False floor will bolt onto the tube and I found that I could hide the rear row of seat belts in the panels with a bit of fiddling so that ended up neat as well.  Mac   :cheers:
Post by: speedcomm on May 16, 2014, 04:36:31 PM
Have any of you Mux people driven the Holden equivalent ? Interested in the difference in drivetrain, neither the ute nor the wagon seem as popular as the Isuzu version, the Holden on paper has a more modern motor, versus the Isuzus proven power plant.
Post by: Marcus73 on May 16, 2014, 05:16:31 PM
One thing that'd concern me about the Colorado 7 is the 2.8ltr pushing out 500nm. To me that doesn't say longevity.... Only my opinion and quite happy to be wrong.

Post by: KingBilly on May 16, 2014, 05:17:10 PM
The 2.8l Colorado motor is sourced from Fiat and is also used in some Jeeps if you are looking to google any details about the engine.

I believe the Colorado gearbox is the same as that in a V8 Commodore but don't quote me on that.  The Dmax uses an Aisin box.   Toyota Motor Corporation and Aisin Seiki are the two major shareholders of Aisin.

Post by: Marcus73 on May 16, 2014, 05:45:41 PM
Fiat and Jeep.... Now there's 2 vehicles known for their reliability ;)

Post by: har05l on May 16, 2014, 11:11:30 PM
The Colorado also only markets an auto.

At least the M-UX gives the option
Post by: BBwilly on May 17, 2014, 05:00:00 PM
The wife and I drove to the dealership today to have a look the MUX's,I think I may be replaced by a big black LS-T thing in the near future but I don't mind as long as I can drive it when allowed.

Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 18, 2014, 08:59:53 AM
Hopefully the aftermarket kicks in soon. I've been told they are working on a rear bar and for tyre relocation and larger 110l tank for it.

(http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww287/shootar75/Mobile%20Uploads/index_zps5bcd5ad4.jpeg)

Post by: speedcomm on May 18, 2014, 10:03:10 AM
Do the ute accessories like bullbar and snorkel fit ?
Post by: DannyG on May 18, 2014, 10:26:30 AM

Yes but you loose something to do with the safety rating according to the dealer unless you use isuzus bullbar ;)
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 18, 2014, 10:43:01 AM

ARB told me there are slight differences between tge dmax and mu-x and the bull bar isnt compatible. They are working on one. Safari have a snorkel and so do isuzu oem.
Post by: D4D on May 18, 2014, 10:50:05 AM
They need to come up with something a little more attractive than this

(http://www.isuzuute.com.au/mu-x/~/thumbnail.aspx/519x342/media/images/galleries/dmax/Steel%20Bull%20Bar%20MUX.jpg)

I actually don't mind the nudge bar

(http://www.isuzuute.com.au/mu-x/~/thumbnail.aspx/519x342/media/images/galleries/dmax/Alloy%20Nudge%20Bar%20MUX.jpg)

Post by: Marcus73 on May 18, 2014, 12:18:42 PM
I'm with D4D on the nudge bar

Post by: DannyG on May 18, 2014, 12:58:57 PM
I like the colour coded bars like on this dmax

Post by: D4D on May 18, 2014, 01:03:03 PM
...and I said to the missus I wasn't going to make it look like a redneck's car :)
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 18, 2014, 02:17:06 PM
...and I said to the missus I wasn't going to make it look like a redneck's car :)

The 'evolution' is inevitable :)
Post by: DannyG on May 18, 2014, 02:21:47 PM

Yep the dmax is definitely feral but it's the only pic I could find with a colour coded ARB style bullbar!
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 18, 2014, 05:12:56 PM

Heres a pic of Bruces build up. Spotted some kings suspension hiding in there

(https://scontent-b-lax.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/t31.0-8/10348671_783140398376967_4346858389971791614_o.jpg)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/t31.0-8/10285639_783140465043627_7205653620244487013_o.jpg)

and clarkson the sneaky old pom picked up michelle jenneke in an isuzu  >:(

(https://scontent-a-lax.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc1/t31.0-8/1966139_748888798468794_1422756951_o.jpg)

Post by: Isuzumu on May 18, 2014, 07:44:57 PM
Thanks for that they are doing the Finke with it, would love to be there.
Post by: lochgilphead on May 18, 2014, 09:49:05 PM
Hopefully the aftermarket kicks in soon. I've been told they are working on a rear bar and for tyre relocation and larger 110l tank for it.

(http://i728.photobucket.com/albums/ww287/shootar75/Mobile%20Uploads/index_zps5bcd5ad4.jpeg)

I tried to find where I may buy that winch bar - THAT is exactly what I would prefer.  I couldn't make head nor tail of the Thai Isuzu MU-X website though.   I am seeking some further advice before I go on with the Ironman install.  If the Dmax bar and MU-X are not 100% compatible I expect they should tell me so. (Or am I being naïve?)  A major supplier like Ironman should not be bullsh!tting their customer base and I would rather wait for the proper fit for my 4B as I will only get one crack at it.  If anyone has an opinion please make yourself heard.
Post by: monbeg on May 18, 2014, 11:06:11 PM
Should be a few ideas here amongst the Dmax pics.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=isuzu+dmax+bull+bar&id=CB528650ABF623EE6979B44AF77A2D0526A3245C&FORM=IQFRBA#a (http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=isuzu+dmax+bull+bar&id=CB528650ABF623EE6979B44AF77A2D0526A3245C&FORM=IQFRBA#a)
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 19, 2014, 07:44:05 AM
I tried to find where I may buy that winch bar - THAT is exactly what I would prefer.  I couldn't make head nor tail of the Thai Isuzu MU-X website though.   I am seeking some further advice before I go on with the Ironman install.  If the Dmax bar and MU-X are not 100% compatible I expect they should tell me so. (Or am I being naïve?)  A major supplier like Ironman should not be bullsh!tting their customer base and I would rather wait for the proper fit for my 4B as I will only get one crack at it.  If anyone has an opinion please make yourself heard.

Maybe the ironman one is but arb told me specifically they had tried and theirs was slightly different. Both ironman and arb have factories in thailand so they should both have some stuff soon although ironman seem to have a lot of stuff already in thailand for the mux, but their design might be different to arb and can be used on both?

Maybe if you dont want a bar you could get a slimline winch like a warn zeon and get someone to fit it up/fabricate what you need. Or a prefab front panel like this

(http://www.devon4x4.com/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/Hidden_Winch_Kit_527b93b0acbcb.jpg)
Post by: ATC on May 19, 2014, 08:13:39 AM
WAIT for the right bar to come out.

It takes a while for the aftermarket companies to get their act together, especially for new vehicles.
Unless you need a bar urgently wait a few months and keep researching.
The price won't change, but the number of options will.

When the new BT-50 came out everyone said they were 2 (ugly) factory options, and the aftermarket took 12+ months to get something out.

It's more about the number of new vehicles that are constantly comming out from the manufacturers
Takes time to measure, design the analyse, prototype and get approval, then manufacture.

Importantly if you need a winch, then you have to get a winch compatible bar.
I read somewhere we're not allowed to modify a bullbar anyore to take a winch.

Also think about recovery points, does the MU-X have suitable factory recovery points, or will you also need that on your bullbar / bumper?
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 19, 2014, 08:17:39 AM
I tried to find where I may buy that winch bar - THAT is exactly what I would prefer.  I couldn't make head nor tail of the Thai Isuzu MU-X website though.

Hey mate use this:
http://itools.com/tool/google-translate-web-page-translator (http://itools.com/tool/google-translate-web-page-translator)

Just copy and paste the website address into it and it will translate the whole page for you :)
Post by: BBwilly on May 19, 2014, 11:20:33 AM
They need to come up with something a little more attractive than this

(http://www.isuzuute.com.au/mu-x/~/thumbnail.aspx/519x342/media/images/galleries/dmax/Steel%20Bull%20Bar%20MUX.jpg)

I actually don't mind the nudge bar

They have a Black MUX out at ipswich that has that Bull Bar but it in chrome looks much better, your right hope the aftermarket bring out something better.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 19, 2014, 02:39:21 PM
Kaymar just got back to me and informed that the bars are in development for release second half of the year. Kaymar rear bar and long range tank =  :cheers:
Post by: lochgilphead on May 19, 2014, 09:33:23 PM
Well, I am taking advice and waiting for the correct bar to be made for the MU-X.  Now my only problem is stashing the $ away and not spending them on something else for the tug.  ;D ;D

Having the snorkel fitted Thursday and just today found out that Piranha do an under bonnet 50A/H dual battery set up.  So now to decide if I want to go that way or sort out a bigger battery in a custom box as an addition inside the cabin.  Seeing Boronia autoelecs soon so will seek some advice from them too.  Thanks swaggers I appreciate your assistance greatly.  This forum is definitely  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 19, 2014, 10:36:55 PM
Well, I am taking advice and waiting for the correct bar to be made for the MU-X.  Now my only problem is stashing the $ away and not spending them on something else for the tug.  ;D ;D

Having the snorkel fitted Thursday and just today found out that Piranha do an under bonnet 50A/H dual battery set up.  So now to decide if I want to go that way or sort out a bigger battery in a custom box as an addition inside the cabin.  Seeing Boronia autoelecs soon so will seek some advice from them too.  Thanks swaggers I appreciate your assistance greatly.  This forum is definitely  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

If they gave you a rough time for it to be on the market you could put the $$ in a term deposit short term so you don't touch it earn a little interest  ;D just an option.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 23, 2014, 08:07:51 PM
TJM just released.

(http://www.tjm.com.au/sites/default/files/product_images/070sb13n35a_isuzu_mu-x_t13_bull_bar_5.jpg)

Post by: D4D on May 23, 2014, 08:10:01 PM
Is it an optical illusion or is that bar way wider than the bumper profile?
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 23, 2014, 08:14:08 PM
Is it an optical illusion or is that bar way wider than the bumper profile?

Havent seen one in person yet. This angle is better.

(http://www.tjm.com.au/sites/default/files/product_images/070sb13n35a_isuzu_mu-x_t13_bull_bar_2.jpg)
Post by: D4D on May 23, 2014, 08:16:23 PM
OK that 2nd pic looks better
Post by: DannyG on May 23, 2014, 08:51:22 PM
Havent seen one in person yet. This angle is better.

(http://www.tjm.com.au/sites/default/files/product_images/070sb13n35a_isuzu_mu-x_t13_bull_bar_2.jpg)

Not bad although a very predictable style. Personally I think they have missed the opportunity to give the bar an angry look ;) I know it would limit their market so probably best to leave that to xrox.

I have been looking at all the new 4wd's on the market with the possibility of upgrading and if I had 80-100k to spend I'd probably go in a different direction to my usual way of thinking but these things at 49k drive away for the top of range are unbeatable value if you are a new buyer.

I know in a lot of people's minds they are not close to the big two players but I think if even the most biased person took the time to have a really good look at these they would struggle to fault them.
Sure they are no Mercedes when it comes to in car noise or smoothness so if that means a lot to you then the robust Diesel engine and driveline is not for you so stick to your lattes, but if you want value and a 4wd that will truly last the test of time then Isuzu are going to be a contender IMHO ;)   
Go check them out kids, and while your at it research the Isuzu 3ltr Diesel engine and be blown away by its history and longevity ;D
I should be working for Isuzu!
Post by: BBwilly on May 29, 2014, 01:21:59 PM
I should be working for Isuzu!

You should.

Hey peoples should we get the the Isuzu tow kit if and when we buy the 4WD or is there something else worth looking at?
Post by: chester ver2.0 on May 29, 2014, 01:25:03 PM

I walked away from the Phirana one for the dmax when i saw the amount of stuff that had to be moved like fuel lines and the like you could kiss any warranty claims goodby
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 31, 2014, 06:52:14 AM
More finking good stuff.....

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/t31.0-8/10272527_791285117562495_1256194175629724983_o.jpg)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/t31.0-8/10387044_791284950895845_7993281711250045936_o.jpg)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/t31.0-8/10272666_791284910895849_2862276743167421499_o.jpg)
Post by: KingBilly on May 31, 2014, 07:19:20 AM
That's got front recovery points which I need for my Dmax.  Who did the build?  What web address did you get the photos from?  Thanks

Post by: D4D on May 31, 2014, 07:28:07 AM
Judging by the width of the rear points, they look more like tow points than recovery points, hence the sticker :)
Post by: GeoffA on May 31, 2014, 07:32:23 AM
Judging by the width of the rear points, they look more like tow points than recovery points, hence the sticker :)

Yes, tow points are not necessarily recovery points.
Can't see the fronts too well, but the rears look more like show points.
Post by: DannyG on May 31, 2014, 10:30:52 AM
Love the professional looking latches to keep the tailgate closed! They must twist around a bit on the whoops ;)

Ill be following it to see how it stood up to the punishment Finke will dish out. It doesn't look too modified so it will be a good judge of its strength.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on May 31, 2014, 11:41:33 AM
Love the professional looking latches to keep the tailgate closed! They must twist around a bit on the whoops ;)

Ill be following it to see how it stood up to the punishment Finke will dish out. It doesn't look too modified so it will be a good judge of its strength.

Yep, dont want the spare wheels flying out over the woops sections

His MU-X is entered in Class Seven for Production 4WD vehicles, which means it remains close to stock-standard as opposed to the high-speed, modified, high-performance Class Eight (Extreme 4WD) competition that Garland has dominated in the past........
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 02, 2014, 12:39:01 PM
I am seeking some further advice before I go on with the Ironman install.  If the Dmax bar and MU-X are not 100% compatible I expect they should tell me so. (Or am I being naïve?)  A major supplier like Ironman should not be bullsh!tting their customer base and I would rather wait for the proper fit for my 4B as I will only get one crack at it.

Hey Mate,

Sorry for being delayed in jumping in on this thread! I've been busy over the last week and didn't get a chance to go through the forums as thoroughly as I usually do!

I can confirm that our Dmax bar is 100% compatible on the MU-X and looks fantastic.

We've been fitting them on vehicle over in Thailand for a while now, and are in the process of updating the fitting instructions to reflect the fact they also are compatible with the MU-X.

I'll have a hunt around and see if I can find some pics of the an MU-X fitted up with one of our bars.

Ironman 4x4

Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 02, 2014, 01:12:18 PM
(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/mux2_zps72c292cf.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/mux2_zps72c292cf.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/mux3_zps817d4370.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/mux3_zps817d4370.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/mux4_zpsd1563477.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/mux4_zpsd1563477.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/mux1_zps3afcae9a.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/mux1_zps3afcae9a.jpg.html)

Here we go. Here are the pics :D.
Post by: rsser on June 02, 2014, 04:43:27 PM
Hey Ironman, are you working on a supension kit for the MUX?
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 02, 2014, 04:59:20 PM
Hey Ironman, are you working on a supension kit for the MUX?

We've already got one out there on sale now!

Isuzu MU-X 2013+ Suspension Kit - STD Height with Gas Shocks - HOLD020SKG - $880
Isuzu MU-X 2013+ Suspension Kit - STD Height with Foam Cell Shocks - HOLD020SKF - $1012
Isuzu MU-X 2013+ Suspension Kit - Performance with Gas Shocks - HOLD020BKG - $880
Isuzu MU-X 2013+ Suspension Kit - Performance with Foam Cell Shocks - HOLD020BKF - $1012
Isuzu MU-X 2013+ Suspension Kit - Constant Load with Gas Shocks - HOLD020CKG - $880
Isuzu MU-X 2013+ Suspension Kit - Constant Load with Foam Cell Shocks - HOLD020CKF - $1012

Performance and constant load give a 40mm lift. Fitting is extra.
Post by: rsser on June 04, 2014, 08:29:54 AM
The Mucks has made the shortlist as a Forester replacement.  I like the pre-stained Outback Bronze version  ;D . Have read this thread with interest.  Keen to hear more from owners about performance, reliability and mods.
Post by: rsser on June 05, 2014, 08:28:10 AM
Some good EOFY deals at the mo.  Picked up an LS-U for 46k drive away inc. tow pack, mats, wheel swap to 16" and tyre swap to ATs.

I test drove one first as well as a Triton and a Pajero.  NVH isn't as good as the Paj but I wouldn't say the difference was huge.  Suspension is less than stellar: wallows at slower speeds but still transmits minor bumps to the cabin.  Suspender kit is a priority.
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 05, 2014, 08:58:51 AM
Some good EOFY deals at the mo.  Picked up an LS-U for 46k drive away inc. tow pack, mats, wheel swap to 16" and tyre swap to ATs.

I test drove one first as well as a Triton and a Pajero.  NVH isn't as good as the Paj but I wouldn't say the difference was huge.  Suspension is less than stellar: wallows at slower speeds but still transmits minor bumps to the cabin.  Suspender kit is a priority.

We've found that the NVH is a Pajero can become a little worse when fitted with aftermarket suspension. This is due to it's monocoq design, which means that the normal shocks absorber sounds are much more audible through the cabin. It's an issue that isn't just Pajero focused either, the new Jeep Grand Cherokee also has a similar "issue". Stating that, you can even hear the stock shocks, its just that with stiffer/different valving it becomes more noticeable.

I'd say this though. It's very easy to make a vehicle quieter than stock by ripping out the interior and adding extra sound dampening and absorbing throughout if you feel it's not up to scratch. I've just done this on my Patrol (granted I drowned it and ripped everything out to clean and dry it, but decided to go the extra step with some sound insulation), it makes a big difference.

As for suspension, yeh most stock suspension leaves much to be desired. But that's a quick and easy fix on the aftermarket :D. I'd suggest tracking down someone whos got a kitted out vehicle of choice to see how a vehicle feels once it's setup. It could very well change your opinion on what works/what doesn't.

Ironman 4x4

Post by: ATC on June 05, 2014, 09:32:39 AM
We've found that the NVH is a Pajero can become a little worse when fitted with aftermarket suspension. This is due to it's monocoq design, which means that the normal shocks absorber sounds are much more audible through the cabin. It's an issue that isn't just Pajero focused either, the new Jeep Grand Cherokee also has a similar "issue". Stating that, you can even hear the stock shocks, its just that with stiffer/different valving it becomes more noticeable.

I'd say this though. It's very easy to make a vehicle quieter than stock by ripping out the interior and adding extra sound dampening and absorbing throughout if you feel it's not up to scratch. I've just done this on my Patrol (granted I drowned it and ripped everything out to clean and dry it, but decided to go the extra step with some sound insulation), it makes a big difference.

As for suspension, yeh most stock suspension leaves much to be desired. But that's a quick and easy fix on the aftermarket :D. I'd suggest tracking down someone whos got a kitted out vehicle of choice to see how a vehicle feels once it's setup. It could very well change your opinion on what works/what doesn't.

Ironman 4x4

Slightly off topic - Matt - great post & some great advice without any vested interests.
Had planned to do some research on a few bits from Ironman 4x4 that I'm interested in, might just have to move that up the list

Back to discussion about the Isuzu MU-X....
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on June 05, 2014, 06:32:57 PM
Suspender kit is a priority.

Yep when my wife is wearing hers the bumps have been welcomed :cheers:
Post by: rsser on June 05, 2014, 06:35:59 PM
heheh  ;D  There's a bit of a list of the other suspension kits here: http://www.4x4earth.com.au/forum/mu/30032-mu-x-2013-technical-info.html#post398210 (http://www.4x4earth.com.au/forum/mu/30032-mu-x-2013-technical-info.html#post398210)
Post by: DannyG on June 10, 2014, 06:10:30 PM
More finking good stuff.....

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xaf1/t31.0-8/10272527_791285117562495_1256194175629724983_o.jpg)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/t31.0-8/10387044_791284950895845_7993281711250045936_o.jpg)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/t31.0-8/10272666_791284910895849_2862276743167421499_o.jpg)

Just for the record they won their class in this....... Ok so the only other competitor in production was a land rover that broke down but a win is a win ;D
Looking at the times they didn't hold back and it did the return run within 2 minutes of the first stage so both stages were problem free. I'd like to know how well it held up to the punishing course.
Post by: DannyG on June 10, 2014, 06:15:42 PM
Stop looking.......

GARLAND DELIGHTED WITH ISUZU FINKE DEBUT

Off-road racing legend Bruce Garland is extremely happy with his new Isuzu MU-X after the race-prepared wagon made its highly successful international racing debut at the famous Finke Desert Race.

Garland and long-time navigator Harry Suzuki posted first in class (Class Seven, Production 4WD, diesel, not exceeding 7200cc) and 48th outright after a gruelling two days of racing in Australia’s Northern Territory.

“The car was fantastic. It’s really well balanced – the chassis is really good – and we are really happy with it,” says Garland, who prepared the car with Suzuki in their Sydney workshop.

“It’s good everywhere – it took an absolute pounding but it is really, really strong. I could say the same about the new Toyo AT tyres we tested. They worked well in the dunes, under brakes, whatever. They copped a hiding on the rocks but there were no problems whatsoever. They have proved to be brilliant at everything – just like the car.”

While the MU-X does not have the outright speed of the Extreme 4WD-class D-MAX ute Garland has campaigned so successfully in the past, he was surprised by its speed – and also by the fact he survived the bruising two days feeling less battered than he expected.

“The road was so bad, just so rough. It was bad enough going down on Sunday, but it was cut up even more, of course, by the time we started today (Monday) and it took us longer to get back.

“But Harry and I feel remarkably good. I had a massage at Finke, which ironed out the kinks, and we’ve used the air conditioning all weekend – the joys of having a production car! So we’re nice and clean and we don’t smell that much, given how hot and sweaty you get in an event like this!”

So impressed is he with the car and its performance on debut, that Garland has mentioned the ‘D’ word, but with a disclaimer.

“I have absolutely no doubt that the MU-X will develop into a very good package for both the Australasian Safari this year and the Dakar in January 2015 – if we can get the funding.

“That’s our next challenge. We’re drawing a line in the sand. We’d love to do both events with this car but we’re not going unless we can find the money to do it properly.”

The MU-X is Isuzu’s first entry into the world of seven-seat family transport. Powered by a three-litre turbo diesel, the standard power and torque figures are130kW/380NM, but the race-prepared vehicle is expected to pump out closer to 195kW/600Nm.

This was Garland’s 14th start in the annual Finke classic, just run for the 39th time. After Saturday’s prologue to determine starting order, competitors started at 7.30am (Central Australian Time) on Sunday for the 226km run from the Alice Springs start to the overnight stop at the remote Aboriginal settlement of Aputula (on the Finke River).

The field camped out overnight before turning tail for home, and retracing their path to Alice Springs on the holiday Monday. Eighty-eight cars/buggies and 418 bikes/quads contested the prologue in readiness for a start, with 55 cars failing to finish over the two days (bike/quad competition unfinished at time of writing).

Sponsored by Tattersalls, the Finke is the richest off-road race in the Southern Hemisphere. It started in 1976 as a ‘there and back’ challenge for local bike riders but soon grew. Cars and buggies (specialist desert racing vehicles) were introduced in 1988.
Post by: Isuzumu on June 10, 2014, 09:23:56 PM
Thanks Danny, I was looking at the build up of the MU-X and see where they have two King shocks at each corner. They have a set for the D.Max for sale, one per corner, at $3850 ouch, was trying to get a set for my D.Max last year but had problems trying to get them from the importer they were only $500 each then.
 http://isuzumotorsports.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=40 (http://isuzumotorsports.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=40)     see them here
Post by: Minibloodhound on June 10, 2014, 10:16:50 PM
Just found the thread and had an interest in it as my mum bought one a few months back to replace her Pathfinder. She got the top of the range one with the leather.  Compared to my D4, it's no luxury car, but it's not designed to be and is a whole lot cheaper.
Good to see that Ironman and TJM have released bars as ARB were telling me only last week that the bar for the DMax does not fit.
If you follow the link to Drifta's Facebook page, they have an assortment of photos that they took of her car after getting the rear storage area sorted.  The rear most seats were removed and the fridge box is big enough to take the 47 litre ARB fridge.
She tows her Campomatic camper with it and so far is very happy.  When she updates the suspension and get a bar I'll have to take it offroad a bit further and REALLY try it out!   >:D
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.781981005148487.1073741879.222514264428500&type=1 (https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.781981005148487.1073741879.222514264428500&type=1)
Post by: chad_MUX on June 12, 2014, 12:51:03 PM
hi forum,

Dropped by ironman a few days a go and asked about the deluxe commercial bar and they said its out of stock and will be available by the end of july. i asked if they have had fitted a bullbar or shockers for the mu-x here in Australia, but there is no reply yet. jut saying.

cheers!
Post by: DannyG on June 12, 2014, 12:56:47 PM
Just found the thread and had an interest in it as my mum bought one a few months back to replace her Pathfinder. She got the top of the range one with the leather.  Compared to my D4, it's no luxury car, but it's not designed to be and is a whole lot cheaper.
Good to see that Ironman and TJM have released bars as ARB were telling me only last week that the bar for the DMax does not fit.
If you follow the link to Drifta's Facebook page, they have an assortment of photos that they took of her car after getting the rear storage area sorted.  The rear most seats were removed and the fridge box is big enough to take the 47 litre ARB fridge.
She tows her Campomatic camper with it and so far is very happy.  When she updates the suspension and get a bar I'll have to take it offroad a bit further and REALLY try it out!   >:D
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.781981005148487.1073741879.222514264428500&type=1 (https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.781981005148487.1073741879.222514264428500&type=1)

Nice set up there mate, your mum would be happy with that.
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 12, 2014, 02:18:27 PM
hi forum,

Dropped by ironman a few days a go and asked about the deluxe commercial bar and they said its out of stock and will be available by the end of july. i asked if they have had fitted a bullbar or shockers for the mu-x here in Australia, but there is no reply yet. jut saying.

cheers!

Hey Chad,

Yes we are currently out of stock of the Deluxe Commercial until July, but we have stock of our Commerical and Protector bars (were you the guy that I responded to through our FB page the other day?)

We have had a number of our distributors install MU-X bars in Australia, unfortunately we haven't got any photos off them. Unfortunately we don't have an MU-X in our Australian fleet of vehicles, otherwise we'd have had it installed already and plenty of photos taken.

We have just had a photo shoot done on an MU-X in Thailand by a magazine, I'll be recieving those pics soon for some high res imagery.

I can guarantee that our MU-X bar fits, and the ride of our suspension will be excellent if spec'd correctly for you vehicle - like all our suspension products. We wouldn't state that they do fit if they didn't - otherwise there would be great costs on our end when people come back saying that it doesn't fit and they've cut up their bumper!

If you have any questions I'm here to help!

Ironman 4x4
Post by: chad_MUX on June 12, 2014, 02:52:17 PM
yeah matt ironman same person on fb; :D
yeah i know reputation is at cost. im just making sure everything would be perfect for my mu-x.:D
i''ll be dropping by at Ironman Dandenong soon to have those shockers installed.
can't wait for those thailand pics!
thanks matt!
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 12, 2014, 02:54:18 PM
yeah matt ironman same person on fb; :D
yeah i know reputation is at cost. im just making sure everything would be perfect for my mu-x.:D
i''ll be dropping by at Ironman Dandenong soon to have those shockers installed.
can't wait for those thailand pics!
thanks matt!

:p no problem mate, we wouldn't want our gear on your MU-X if it wasn't perfect either!

Yeh we're all eagerly awaiting those pics from the photoshoot!
Post by: chester ver2.0 on June 12, 2014, 02:57:02 PM
Thanks Danny, I was looking at the build up of the MU-X and see where they have two King shocks at each corner. They have a set for the D.Max for sale, one per corner, at $3850 ouch, was trying to get a set for my D.Max last year but had problems trying to get them from the importer they were only $500 each then.
 http://isuzumotorsports.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=40 (http://isuzumotorsports.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=40)     see them here

Hey Bruce do you know anything about the tuning module they have on the Isuzu motorsports web page. It says it gives you the safari tune but no power figures etc
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 19, 2014, 10:16:14 AM
Hey Guys,

As promised here is some pics from the photoshoot in Thailand:

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN01_zps57d0c14b.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN01_zps57d0c14b.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/3_zpsb3130f62.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/3_zpsb3130f62.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/10_zps9855c789.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/10_zps9855c789.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/1_zps0f970c83.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/1_zps0f970c83.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/4_zpsff90e8a1.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/4_zpsff90e8a1.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN32_zpsd8d9e8ab.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN32_zpsd8d9e8ab.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN35_zps9d74f1d7.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN35_zps9d74f1d7.jpg.html)

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN36_zps12bdcb2c.jpg) (http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/matthewperk/media/ISUZUMUXIRONMAN36_zps12bdcb2c.jpg.html)

Post by: KingBilly on June 19, 2014, 10:18:56 AM
Very nice.  I reckon the chrome number plate bracket spoils the front but hey that's just me.

Post by: Isuzumu on June 19, 2014, 12:51:19 PM
Hey Bruce do you know anything about the tuning module they have on the Isuzu motorsports web page. It says it gives you the safari tune but no power figures etc
[/quote

No figures that I have seen, but think around 147 KWs and 440 NMs, bit dear DP is the same power and $1400 or so
Post by: Isuzumu on June 19, 2014, 01:08:11 PM
Love the wheels on the Thai MU-X, look very similar to the 1992 MU
http://www.riverize.com/syr-022.htm (http://www.riverize.com/syr-022.htm)
Post by: Loneshark on June 20, 2014, 02:52:45 PM
Hi All
We have just upgraded our 2011 Challanger to a MUX LST. We really liked the challanger but it did like to drink fuel towing the camp trailer. So far I have been very impressed with the MUX ride wise it is quieter that the Challanger and take off seems effortless in the MUX compared to the challanger. the fuel economy so far around town has been about 9.6/100(2500km on the clock). Having worked out of utes and having young kids the comercial feel to the interior doesnt bother me. Even the bootspace with the last row of seats in place is surprisingly good, much better thatn the challanger. For the price we are very happy and at this point would point anyone towards buying the MUX
Post by: KingBilly on June 20, 2014, 02:57:43 PM
Congrats on the MUX.  I am sure you will continue to love it  :cup:

Post by: lochgilphead on June 24, 2014, 09:27:31 PM
I can guarantee that our MU-X bar fits, and the ride of our suspension will be excellent if spec'd correctly for you vehicle - like all our suspension products. We wouldn't state that they do fit if they didn't - otherwise there would be great costs on our end when people come back saying that it doesn't fit and they've cut up their bumper! -

Quote from Ironman in previous post (sorry don't know how to pick up previous posts)

We will soon see just how good it all is - at Australia Expo on the weekend went the whole pig with Ironman - Bullbar, 12000lb winch and suspension upgrade.  Just waiting for the call to see when they can be fitted.  Pics when all done.  Bit excited - even the boss is looking forward to it all happening as this is the last of the real modifications to be done.
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on June 24, 2014, 09:58:09 PM
I can guarantee that our MU-X bar fits, and the ride of our suspension will be excellent if spec'd correctly for you vehicle - like all our suspension products. We wouldn't state that they do fit if they didn't - otherwise there would be great costs on our end when people come back saying that it doesn't fit and they've cut up their bumper! -

Quote from Ironman in previous post (sorry don't know how to pick up previous posts)

We will soon see just how good it all is - at Australia Expo on the weekend went the whole pig with Ironman - Bullbar, 12000lb winch and suspension upgrade.  Just waiting for the call to see when they can be fitted.  Pics when all done.  Bit excited - even the boss is looking forward to it all happening as this is the last of the real modifications to be done.
where are you planning to get it fitted mate? our workshop in our dandenong south office?
Post by: chester ver2.0 on June 25, 2014, 10:08:38 AM

If you get your local guy to do the suspension remind him that the front struts should not be completly tightened up till it is back on the ground if he fully tightens it in the air the front bushes flog out
Post by: lochgilphead on June 25, 2014, 10:57:33 PM
Yep, waiting for a phone call to organise with them.  I presume it will be done in Dandenong
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on July 08, 2014, 01:50:40 PM
Yep, waiting for a phone call to organise with them.  I presume it will be done in Dandenong

Cool mate,

Let me know if you run into any issues or have any queries along the way. I'm here to help.

Ironman 4x4
Post by: g77 on July 08, 2014, 10:59:52 PM

Cool mate,

Let me know if you run into any issues or have any queries along the way. I'm here to help.

Ironman 4x4

Quick Q Matt
The roof top basket. Is it available in Oz, how is it mounted and of course load ratings.
Car looks pretty much the one I'm getting done now but the roof carrier is sticking point...
Cheers mate

Post by: Ironman 4x4 on August 06, 2014, 12:00:43 PM
Quick Q Matt
The roof top basket. Is it available in Oz, how is it mounted and of course load ratings.
Car looks pretty much the one I'm getting done now but the roof carrier is sticking point...
Cheers mate

Hey g77,

Yes the roof basket is available in Australia, its our standard 1.8m steel rack. But the problem is (as pointed out already) we don't have any mounting feet to attach the rack to the car.

The vehicle in the picture has had the rack attached to cross bars (which we don't sell) and/or modified custom feet. We are working on producing our own mounting system for the MU-X, but at the moment we don't have anything to offer.

Ironman 4x4
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on August 12, 2014, 10:20:25 AM
Here is a pic of our Protector bar on a white MU-X. It's a great mix of bling an strength and the chrome tube really matches the chrome on the grill:

(http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y517/matthewperk/10577173_10152265361522724_6355424942154393541_n_zpsecf96fb7.jpg)
Post by: MarkandLea on August 12, 2014, 05:07:55 PM
Looks great IRONMAN 4X4.

Do you have a RRP for these?
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on August 12, 2014, 05:36:08 PM

Looks great IRONMAN 4X4.

Do you have a RRP for these?

$1485 plus fitting
Post by: MarkandLea on August 12, 2014, 06:10:51 PM
Thank you IRONMAN 4X4.
Post by: rsser on September 06, 2014, 05:35:51 PM
How are the loop tubes fitted to the bumper Matt?

I've looked at a competitor's version where they're just bolted, not properly socketed.
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on September 06, 2014, 06:00:08 PM
How are the loop tubes fitted to the bumper Matt?

I've looked at a competitor's version where they're just bolted, not properly socketed.
Hey rsser on our protector bar they are bolted.

On our commercial and commercial deluxe they are welded.

Post by: ironcobra on December 12, 2014, 03:27:04 PM
Hi Matt (Ironman 4x4)

Any update on the availability of mounting feet for racks/basket? especially for the LS-U?

Post by: Ironman 4x4 on December 13, 2014, 06:10:58 PM
Hey ironcobra,

We don't at the moment specify any mounting feet for the MU-X.

I can't remember if people have used our Colorado 7 feet, but I'm on holidays in Africa at the moment so can't ask anyone in the office (sorry).

I apologize to anyone trying to contact me on here, I'll be very delayed in replying until I return. On the 5th of January.

Ironman 4x4
Post by: Hotdognz on December 14, 2014, 10:08:38 PM
Only the MU-X with roof rails have fitting points and Yakima/Prorack have a roof rack kit ready to go, the one with out rails and has the channels in to roof will be very hard to get roof racks for as there is nothing for a roof rack to hold on too, also clamp mounts are out of the question due the shallow nature of the cant rail angle, I develop roof rack kits for a living and we have looked long and hard at the MU-X and D-Max vehicles and they are very hard to develop roof rack fitting kits for, hence why they have such low load ratings when they are released to market with clamp mounts.
Post by: KingBilly on December 15, 2014, 08:20:17 AM
Only the MU-X with roof rails have fitting points and Yakima/Prorack have a roof rack kit ready to go, the one with out rails and has the channels in to roof will be very hard to get roof racks for as there is nothing for a roof rack to hold on too, also clamp mounts are out of the question due the shallow nature of the cant rail angle, I develop roof rack kits for a living and we have looked long and hard at the MU-X and D-Max vehicles and they are very hard to develop roof rack fitting kits for, hence why they have such low load ratings when they are released to market with clamp mounts.

Firstly, welcome to the forum.  Unfortunately your info above is incorrect.

I have roof racks rated at 100kg on my Dmax.

The factory roof rails on both the Dmax and the MUX have to mount to something.  Isuzu don't make one roof for those models without roof rails and a seperate roof for the higher spec model with roof rails.  That wouldn't be economical or practical.  Isuzu make one roof for all models.  And that roof has captive nuts to mount the roof rails too.  If your model does not have rails, the captive nuts are still there under the rubber strip on the roof.  All you need to do is cut the strip at the correct spot, dig out the silicon filler from the nut, and fit a mounting plate for your roof rails racks.

Super Cheap Auto sell Prorack bars which fit.

Post by: ironcobra on December 15, 2014, 04:02:21 PM
Hi KingBilly,

Do you happen to know the model # for the feet at Supercheap?

Hmmm, would also need to figure out where the points are before cutting... :/
Post by: KingBilly on December 15, 2014, 07:33:15 PM
Mate, am away from home for a few days.  I just looked in the Prorack book in Super Cheap.  461 or 463 or something.  Anyway just look in the book.  The current Dmax is listed.

The Proroack fitting instructions taht come with the mounting feet give you the exact measurements where the captive nuts are located under the rubber strip.

I can post them up in a couple of days time if you need them.

I carried a steel spare rim and tyre, 20l jerry of diesel and shovel for 8000kms and they didn't move over some very rough corrugated roads.

Post by: MattnLaurie on December 15, 2014, 09:57:59 PM

Funny, just announced they've done over 4000* to date......

And I'm one of those who couldn't find the extra >10k value in the Prado. Sure, there are a couple of bells and one or two whistles not there but hardy enough to justify the extra expense.

My biggest issue is finding the aftermarket items and they are coming online fast, it's more a case of waiting for what I want vs what I can afford!

* - Yasu Takeuchi, MD & CEO IUA. 
Post by: Greenfinger on December 16, 2014, 06:59:32 AM
Rola Racks does a sports bar and a heavy duty bar that mounts to the fixed points in the roof channels, both are rated to 80kg and come with fitting instructions that give you precise measurements for locating the captive nuts.

From memory they give the option of cutting the rubber strip or lifting it and drilling a hole, I went with drilling the hole so if I want to remove the racks for any reason I can fit a nice dome headed screw to fill the holes.

The strips are a bit tricky to drill through neatly as they have a metal insert coated by the rubber, I lifted them in the area required and supported with two thin strips of wood then drilled the hole smaller than required and  finished it off with my dremal and a small grinding bit.

Pictures  of  the  bars and mounts as well as mounting instructions can be viewed on Rola's website, just go to the rack selector and fill in the fields.

Hope that helps. Cheers

Post by: Hotdognz on December 18, 2014, 10:21:50 PM
Firstly, welcome to the forum.  Unfortunately your info above is incorrect.

I have roof racks rated at 100kg on my Dmax.

The factory roof rails on both the Dmax and the MUX have to mount to something.  Isuzu don't make one roof for those models without roof rails and a seperate roof for the higher spec model with roof rails.  That wouldn't be economical or practical.  Isuzu make one roof for all models.  And that roof has captive nuts to mount the roof rails too.  If your model does not have rails, the captive nuts are still there under the rubber strip on the roof.  All you need to do is cut the strip at the correct spot, dig out the silicon filler from the nut, and fit a mounting plate for your roof rails racks.

Super Cheap Auto sell Prorack bars which fit.

Thanks for the welcome Kingbilly

Actually my info is correct as I was talking about the MU-X not the D-Max LS-U which as you state has mounting points under the ditch mold which you need to cut and is the one you are using I'm assuming.

As for the MU-X LS-T with rails you are correct again and I also said the same, as you state there is a place to mount a roof rack as the rails have to have some where to mount and any mounting kit will use this area to to hold the roof racks.

Our investigations into the lower spec MU-X LS-M without rails and the deep channels that run up either side the roof, there is no available mounting points on the roof or under the ditch mold that we have been able to find or Isuzu can tell us about, happy to be proven wrong if some one wants to rip their ditch mold out and have a look, photos would be nice too. It appears Isuzu did make 2 roofs for the different spec MU-X's vehicles. You could always use K323 as a permanent mount but it requires drilling 8 holes in your roof and putting some pop rivets in to hold the small plates.

Cheers Stephen
Post by: Hotdognz on December 19, 2014, 06:56:04 AM
Hi KingBilly,

Do you happen to know the model # for the feet at Supercheap?

Hmmm, would also need to figure out where the points are before cutting... :/

If you want the Prorack/Whispbar fitting kit number for the D-Max its K671 and the instructions tell you where to cut the ditch mold.

Cheers Stephen
Post by: D4D on December 19, 2014, 07:13:29 AM
Funny, just announced they've done over 4000* to date......

Shipped to dealers and sold to customers are two completely different numbers...

Post by: paceman on December 19, 2014, 07:17:47 AM
Shipped to dealers and sold to customers are two completely different numbers...

2239 sold as of 9th july, 2014...

http://www.caradvice.com.au/295610/isuzu-d-max-mu-x-kicking-sales-goals-under-the-radar/ (http://www.caradvice.com.au/295610/isuzu-d-max-mu-x-kicking-sales-goals-under-the-radar/)
Post by: D4D on December 19, 2014, 07:19:45 AM

http://www.caradvice.com.au/295610/isuzu-d-max-mu-x-kicking-sales-goals-under-the-radar/ (http://www.caradvice.com.au/295610/isuzu-d-max-mu-x-kicking-sales-goals-under-the-radar/)

So they have approx. 12 months supply sitting at the dealers...Christmas special anyone...
Post by: KingBilly on December 19, 2014, 07:23:01 AM
Thanks for the welcome Kingbilly

Actually my info is correct as I was talking about the MU-X not the D-Max LS-U which as you state has mounting points under the ditch mold which you need to cut and is the one you are using I'm assuming.

As for the MU-X LS-T with rails you are correct again and I also said the same, as you stateo there is a place to mount a roof rack as the rails have to have some where to mount and any mounting kit will use this area to to hold the roof racks.

Our investigations into the lower spec MU-X LS-M without rails and the deep channels that run up either side the roof, there is no available mounting points on the roof or under the ditch mold that we have been able to find or Isuzu can tell us about, happy to be proven wrong if some one wants to rip their ditch mold out and have a look, photos would be nice too. It appears Isuzu did make 2 roofs for the different spec MU-X's vehicles. You could always use K323 as a permanent mount but it requires drilling 8 holes in your roof and putting some pop rivets in to hold the small plates.

Cheers Stephen

Hey Steve, thanks for the follow up post. I forgot we were on the MUX thread.

I still don't understand how it would be either practical or economical for Isuzu to make two different roof shells for the two different models when every other body panel is shared between models.

On another forum there was a similar discussion and I was sure somebody had found the captive bolts on the lower spec models.  They were apparently well hidden but nontheless still there.  Would be good to get confirmation either way.

Post by: KingBilly on December 19, 2014, 07:29:06 AM

Six month old sales figures. Pfffffttttt  ;D ;D ;D

Let's see what the end of year numbers are as this is the first year of sales for tte MUX.  Local dealer can't get enough to fill his sales orders.  Anyways, Australia is only a small market.  Have a look at how many Dmaxs are sold in Thailand compared to other makes.  If the MUX gains the same popularity it will be a winner for Isuzu  :cup:

Post by: paceman on December 19, 2014, 07:32:14 AM
Six month old sales figures. Pfffffttttt  ;D ;D ;D

Let's see what the end of year numbers are as this is the first year of sales for tte MUX.  Local dealer can't get enough to fill his sales orders.  Anyways, Australia is only a small market.  Have a look at how many Dmaxs are sold in Thailand compared to other makes.  If the MUX gains the same popularity it will be a winner for Isuzu  :cup:

didn't say that they were good or bad figures, just trying to add a real number to the discussion.

it was the only one i could find with a short amount of digging.

sorry.
Post by: oldmate on December 19, 2014, 07:38:50 AM
But your fiquires don't even relate to the conversation KB???
Who cares how many they sell in thialand?

I mean more bmw's are sold in Europe than any other make.

Disclaimer.
Above statement is completely guessed and I have no idea about the truth of it. Like some other statements around here me thinks  ;D ;D
Post by: KingBilly on December 19, 2014, 07:51:21 AM
But your fiquires don't even relate to the conversation KB???
Who cares how many they sell in thialand?

I mean more bmw's are sold in Europe than any other make.

Disclaimer.
Above statement is completely guessed and I have no idea about the truth of it. Like some other statements around here me thinks  ;D ;D

Did you even read my post Olly?

Anyways, Australia is only a small market.  Have a look at how many Dmaxs are sold in Thailand compared to other makes.  If the MUX gains the same popularity it will be a winner for Isuzu

Post by: DannyG on December 19, 2014, 08:00:40 AM
My local dealers also can't get enough of them...eagerly waiting the next shipment :)

The local Toyota dealer can't give them away......just saying LOL ;)
Post by: oldmate on December 19, 2014, 08:04:42 AM
Did you even read my post Olly?
Yep
Have a look at how many Dmaxs are sold in Thailand compared to other makes.  If the MUX gains the same popularity it will be a winner for Isuzu  :cup:

Post by: KingBilly on December 19, 2014, 08:11:24 AM
This is getting pretty pedantic oldmate (like most of your replies to anything I post) but if you read my entire reply in context, and not just selectively criticised one sentence in isolation, you would understand that the sales figures I quoted from Thailand were to illustrate what I said in my preceeding sentence that Australia is only a small market for Isuzu.  Anyways, not worth the effort and getting way of topic.  Have a nice day  :D

Post by: oldmate on December 19, 2014, 10:09:31 AM
This is getting pretty pedantic oldmate (like most of your replies to anything I post) but if you read my entire reply in context, and not just selectively criticised one sentence in isolation, you would understand that the sales figures I quoted from Thailand were to illustrate what I said in my preceeding sentence that Australia is only a small market for Isuzu.  Anyways, not worth the effort and getting way of topic.  Have a nice day  :D

My sincerest apologies kb, I clearly miss understood. Have a wonderful Christmas.  :cheers:
Post by: MattnLaurie on December 19, 2014, 10:56:14 PM
If it means anything,  CEO Isuzu claims 4000 ytd just for the MU-X and nearly 16k for the D-Max in the new Isuzu mag......
Post by: Hotdognz on December 23, 2014, 09:49:44 AM
Hey Steve, thanks for the follow up post. I forgot we were on the MUX thread.

I still don't understand how it would be either practical or economical for Isuzu to make two different roof shells for the two different models when every other body panel is shared between models.

On another forum there was a similar discussion and I was sure somebody had found the captive bolts on the lower spec models.  They were apparently well hidden but nontheless still there.  Would be good to get confirmation either way.

We had trouble with it too and thought it was a strange thing to do, all Isuzu have done by having no option to mount a roof rack on the MU-X LS-M have created a vehicle that is unpractical for a majority of the market they are selling the vehicle in, the smart buyer needs to get the MU-X LS-T.  I know a lot of Isuzu vehicle dealers have had a lot of very annoyed customers with the MU-X LS-M's once they find there are no options available to them for roof racks from either Isuzu or 3rd party manufactures without having to drill the roof for a permanent mounting option.

As for the D-Max lower spec versions we have been told the captive nuts are there but under a thin steel skin, we haven't be able to confirm that though as we have never had the opportunity to pull the ditch mold out and have a dig around as we have to borrow private vehicles or ones from dealers for roof rack development and most are not comfortable with us ripping a 40K vehicle apart :)

Cheers Stephen
Post by: KingBilly on December 23, 2014, 11:23:45 AM
Info from another forum yesterday is that it appears Isuzu use a common roof for all MUX models but a different top steel skin for the LSM and LSU models.  Not what I would have thought to be practical or cost efficient.  Unfortunately no confirmation if the captive nuts are on the LSM but under the roof's skin.  Maybe somebody wants to remove their hood lining to check  ;D

I know of one manufacturer with a mounting system but it involves riveting the mounts to the roof.  Or you could use a Rhino rail mount but that also involves rivets.

Post by: McTavish on December 24, 2014, 12:17:06 AM
We looked at the MUX and took one for a drive as I thought the difference in price to a Prado was good value (especially when you see a 2009/10 Prado going for high 40s - In my mind I had low 40's for the MUX and mid 60's for a Prado.   So with 20-25k lower price was pretty compelling to go Isuzu.

When test driving them though this issue of the roof rack was raised and we were told the top of the range was the only one that came with rails and hence ability to put racks on.   Where will the McTavish go otherwise?? 

So - This brought the price up to 50k ish with towbar etc and with Toyota sharpening the pencil on the Prado at 60 for a GXL facelift with most bells and whistles the difference came back to about 8-9k.    Still no small change but throw in some capped price servicing etc?    Less again possibly if comparing the Prado GX??   Obviously if carrying items on the roof is not a worry to you then the lower spec models in the MUX will suit you fine...   But for us the roof rail rack was an issue...

So while I'm at typing away here -:

I'll just stick with some positive comments re the MUX.    Good mid to large proportions gave a good cargo area size and shape.  Parking was pretty easy.   The quality of the layout was good and the fuel economy was outstanding.   Reliability seems to be unquestioned and the 4x4 capabilities would suit most people looking to get away to the bush or beach...   And lastly I think they look pretty good too...   Congrats to those who have bought one and those looking to buy when they get more stock...
Post by: DannyG on December 24, 2014, 06:47:12 AM
We looked at the MUX and took one for a drive as I thought the difference in price to a Prado was good value (especially when you see a 2009/10 Prado going for high 40s - In my mind I had low 40's for the MUX and mid 60's for a Prado.   So with 20-25k lower price was pretty compelling to go Isuzu.

When test driving them though this issue of the roof rack was raised and we were told the top of the range was the only one that came with rails and hence ability to put racks on.   Where will the McTavish go otherwise?? 

So - This brought the price up to 50k ish with towbar etc and with Toyota sharpening the pencil on the Prado at 60 for a GXL facelift with most bells and whistles the difference came back to about 8-9k.    Still no small change but throw in some capped price servicing etc?    Less again possibly if comparing the Prado GX??   Obviously if carrying items on the roof is not a worry to you then the lower spec models in the MUX will suit you fine...   But for us the roof rail rack was an issue...

So while I'm at typing away here -:

I'll just stick with some positive comments re the MUX.    Good mid to large proportions gave a good cargo area size and shape.  Parking was pretty easy.   The quality of the layout was good and the fuel economy was outstanding.   Reliability seems to be unquestioned and the 4x4 capabilities would suit most people looking to get away to the bush or beach...   And lastly I think they look pretty good too...   Congrats to those who have bought one and those looking to buy when they get more stock...

Id be seriously looking into the whole roof rack thing more. I was told but it wasn't confirmed that they DO NOT make two different bodies for the MUX's. It just doesn't make sense to do that when they don't need to. Yes the LST comes with the rails but id put my right arm the lesser models have provisions in there somewhere thats not too hard to find. The dealers should know this, but they are muppets most of the time.

As for your other comparisons.......the fuel you will save will buy you a second mux over the life of the vehicle and the isuzu is a 'real' 4wd ;) None of this full time 4wd, centre diff rubbish...the isuzu is the old fashion transfer case style like all real 4d's should have ;D Ok Flame suit on now..............
Post by: fishfinder on December 26, 2014, 05:15:44 AM
Id be seriously looking into the whole roof rack thing more. I was told but it wasn't confirmed that they DO NOT make two different bodies for the MUX's. It just doesn't make sense to do that when they don't need to. Yes the LST comes with the rails but id put my right arm the lesser models have provisions in there somewhere thats not too hard to find. The dealers should know this, but they are muppets most of the time.

As for your other comparisons.......the fuel you will save will buy you a second mux over the life of the vehicle and the isuzu is a 'real' 4wd ;) None of this full time 4wd, centre diff rubbish...the isuzu is the old fashion transfer case style like all real 4d's should have ;D Ok Flame suit on now..............

Waiting for a bite ????
Post by: DannyG on December 26, 2014, 09:09:35 AM

Waiting for a bite ????

Its been 2 days and nothing? LOL
Post by: GeoffA on December 26, 2014, 09:16:03 AM
Its been 2 days and nothing? LOL

...except 1 nibble... ;D ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 26, 2014, 09:17:02 AM
Think most are away camping without Internet
Post by: UIZ733 on December 26, 2014, 09:31:32 AM

Waiting for a bite ????
Put it in the fishing section. Might be your best bet at the moment. ;D
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 26, 2014, 09:36:39 AM

Put it in the fishing section. Might be your best bet at the moment. ;D
Post by: DannyG on December 26, 2014, 09:47:56 AM
Ill change the bait.....this will open a can of worms  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqMBr2XqHx4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqMBr2XqHx4)
Post by: scarpsD40 on December 26, 2014, 10:00:59 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqMBr2XqHx4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqMBr2XqHx4)
geez, even my old Jeep could've made it up that climb. May just not have got home on the tar section.......
Post by: grumpy1 on December 26, 2014, 04:53:04 PM
Is this the "How to start an argument ..." thread???
Post by: D4D on December 26, 2014, 04:57:49 PM

Can't blame the vehicle for that one, moron driver would have broken any diff driving like that. L1 or L2 would have eased it up rather than what looked like H4.
Post by: Kiwijohn on December 26, 2014, 07:25:49 PM
Hello

Just went through the process of buying a new 4x4 (Pajero written off by hail).

After doing research I thought I would be buying a Mu-x.

After viewing a few different brands it was down to Mu-x and Colorado 7. When we test drove there was a big difference between two - Mu-x heavy stealing and unresponsive, Colorado 7 better in both repects.

Due to the roof rack issue we were comparing the top of the range Mu-x with either model Colorado 7.

It of course came down to price and gave both dealers a chance to negotiate, top of the range Mu-x was $5k more expensive (same added accessories) than the top of the range Colorado 7.

After Holden matched the 5 year manufactories warranty and the dealer added another 2 it was an easy decision.

Top of the range Colorado 7 is in the garage, recommend test driving one if you like the Mu-x.

John

PS - bottom of the range Colorado 7 was another $6k cheaper, giving a difference of $11k for one if roof racks were important but leather etc wasn't
Post by: DannyG on December 26, 2014, 08:15:06 PM
Hello

Just went through the process of buying a new 4x4 (Pajero written off by hail).

After doing research I thought I would be buying a Mu-x.

After viewing a few different brands it was down to Mu-x and Colorado 7. When we test drove there was a big difference between two - Mu-x heavy stealing and unresponsive, Colorado 7 better in both repects.

Due to the roof rack issue we were comparing the top of the range Mu-x with either model Colorado 7.

It of course came down to price and gave both dealers a chance to negotiate, top of the range Mu-x was $5k more expensive (same added accessories) than the top of the range Colorado 7.

After Holden matched the 5 year manufactories warranty and the dealer added another 2 it was an easy decision.

Top of the range Colorado 7 is in the garage, recommend test driving one if you like the Mu-x.

John

PS - bottom of the range Colorado 7 was another $6k cheaper, giving a difference of $11k for one if roof racks were important but leather etc wasn't

Congrats on your purchase John Im sure you'll love it. Everyone has different reasons to buy a vehicle to suit their needs.

For me, id go with the Isuzu tried and proven truck 3ltr TD over the duramax 2.8 regardless of the price, but thats just my opinion. Colorados were a great vehicle with the Isuzu engine ;)
Post by: Isuzumu on December 26, 2014, 08:27:32 PM
Congrats on your purchase John Im sure you'll love it. Everyone has different reasons to buy a vehicle to suit their needs.

For me, id go with the Isuzu tried and proven truck 3ltr TD over the duramax 2.8 regardless of the price, but thats just my opinion. Colorados were a great vehicle with the Isuzu engine ;)
Danny,John needs keep an eye out on his floor for oil, seems the Fiat motor loves to leak.
Post by: KingBilly on December 26, 2014, 09:20:33 PM
Congrats on the Colorado purchase.  Nothing like the smell of a new car  :D

For your info, and others reading this thread, Isuzu released factory roof bars for the MU-X LSM/U just this week.  No longer an issue when deciding.

Post by: monbeg on December 26, 2014, 10:41:22 PM
When I looked at both the C7 would have been nearly $4k cheaper.

The proven engine and transmission in the Isuzu did it for me.
In addition, the C7 torque is apparently measured at 2000 rpm whereas the Isuzu torque is measured across the band of 1800 to 2800 rpm, better for towing.

Both are impressive vehicles for the price range, and I did like that the mirrors fold in automatically when you remove the key (or switch to off ?) in the C7.

Enjoy John.
Post by: DannyG on December 26, 2014, 11:22:35 PM
The Isuzu engine is a touch 'under powered' in its specs compared to some because it is a very under stressed engine, thats why it has a class leading b10 rating.

People shouldn't get too caught up with specs, or killerwasps and such. At the end of the day we all have to sit on a 100 or 110kph so you can have all the power and fuel usage in the world its not going to offer you a hell of a lot in the real world. Yes its nice to have a ship load of grunt for that rare occasion you need to over take someone up a hill while towing but its few and far between.

Whats important in a diesel for towing in my opinion is a nice linear torque curve, and thats what the Isuzu engine has. It doesn't need a pile of killer wasps or 1000 bert newtons in torque, its power to weight ratio is actually quite good when you compare it to a 200 series cruiser for instance but its linear torque curve from idle is perfect for towing and off roading. And all at less than 9 ltrs per hundred I might add ;)

I should be working for Isuzu Ute Australia ;D
Post by: GeoffA on December 27, 2014, 05:44:24 AM
Agree with that Danny.
How the numbers are delivered is more important than the numbers themselves.

.......Yes its nice to have a ship load of grunt for that rare occasion you need to over take someone up a hill while towing but its few and far between.

Probably happens with a bit more regularity on the mainland.

Whats important in a diesel for towing in my opinion is a nice linear torque curve, and thats what the Isuzu engine has...

Yep, and the wider and flatter, the better.

And all at less than 9 ltrs per hundred I might add .....

They do very well indeed, even when towing.
Mandrake was seeing sub-10's, loaded up and towing his old hard floor on the 2013 Gulf trip.
Impressive.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: DannyG on December 27, 2014, 09:09:15 AM
They are no match for a hotted up 4.2 mate but when you get soft and all that hard core 4wheeling is behind you and the need comes to get something shinier they are worth considering......no doubt you'll just polish the mighty GU if you need something shinier ;D
Post by: GeoffA on December 27, 2014, 09:44:21 AM
I'm a looong way from being a hard core 4wheeler Danny......more a tourer....

An occasional good wash is all it needs.... ;D
Post by: fishfinder on December 27, 2014, 05:46:08 PM
the big 4.2 came across a stick and reversed away from it - if that is hard core 4wd'ng the Isuzu if purchased will only drive on carpet
Post by: DannyG on December 27, 2014, 05:50:57 PM
the big 4.2 came across a stick and reversed away from it - if that is hard core 4wd'ng the Isuzu if purchased will only drive on carpet

Yes but the big 4.2 went up the hill to find the tree across the road while the prados sat at the bottom scared ;D
Post by: KingBilly on December 27, 2014, 05:52:24 PM
Group hug
Post by: fishfinder on December 27, 2014, 08:09:26 PM
Group hug
don't tell him that now he is all excited
Post by: Isuzumu on December 27, 2014, 08:14:21 PM
don't tell him that now he is all excited
I think you need a Bex and a Coke FF plus a drive in a Isuzu.
Post by: fishfinder on December 28, 2014, 06:33:21 AM
I used to own a Gemini  ;D
Post by: KingBilly on December 28, 2014, 07:16:23 AM
I used to own a Gemini  ;D

Certainly living up to your forum name on this thread.  Catching a few too, unlike scarps  :D

Post by: scarpsD40 on December 28, 2014, 10:01:17 PM

Certainly living up to your forum name on this thread.  Catching a few too, unlike scarps  :D

lol.....I've got pics too, just waiting for the right time (of year) to post them up.
Post by: Kiwijohn on December 29, 2014, 06:49:32 PM

For your info, and others reading this thread, Isuzu released factory roof bars for the MU-X LSM/U just this week.  No longer an issue when deciding.

Would have changed the spreadsheet and maybe the decision - most likely not as the wife didn't like the Mu-x and as much as I am the decision maker.......  :D
Post by: ironcobra on December 30, 2014, 09:04:04 AM

I rang ISUZU yesterday to confirm this, and I got the line that they are scheduled for release mid Feb.... So not sure what to think.?
Post by: UIZ733 on December 30, 2014, 09:15:10 AM
Had a test drive of a MUX yesterday. The salesman said that Holden is ditching their current Colarado 7 motor and gearbox and reverting back to the Isuzu combination. Any truth in this?
I am not stirring just repeating what I was told.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on December 30, 2014, 09:33:43 AM
Had a test drive of a MUX yesterday. The salesman said that Holden is ditching their current Colarado 7 motor and gearbox and reverting back to the Isuzu combination. Any truth in this?

I had put a post in here saying I would be surprised if they did this since Isuzu cancelled the partnership due to bringing vehicles here themselves then I could not add a link on my phone after I did a google search on it so here is my new post.  I see KB has posted about it below as well I would of thought Holden would want the engine back too.
http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/391F3F9EF7370B57CA257D6B00243A4C (http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/391F3F9EF7370B57CA257D6B00243A4C)

It was the known Isuzu motor that we were interested in when we got ours mind you in 2010 the Colorado still had the Isuzu motor but they were very different to drive the Isuzu felt much better and I had only ever had Holdens before that.

Post by: KingBilly on December 30, 2014, 09:42:11 AM

That is the rumour.  Story doing the forums is that GM has been regretting dropping the Isuzu motor for the inferior Fiat/Jeep donk due to high warranty costs and lost sales.  No changes probably for a couple of years then Australia will get the 2.5l Euro motor (unfortunately).  But just rumours  :D

Post by: KingBilly on December 30, 2014, 10:59:18 AM
I rang ISUZU yesterday to confirm this, and I got the line that they are scheduled for release mid Feb.... So not sure what to think.?

Isuzu published info about their new racks last week (see below link).  Not sure when dealers will have stock but February is only a month away so should not be a deal breaker for anybody wanting a MUX.

Post by: monbeg on December 30, 2014, 11:34:02 AM
This is going to be difficult for Cadogan, the guy who reckons that you would be better off buying a Kia Sorrento than a MUX.

Extract from one of his advertorials (link below)
"In comparison to the Holden Colorado 7, the Isuzu MU-X also has a dog of an engine: 380Nm for the Isuzu MU-X versus 500Nm for the Colorado. And a five-speed auto in the Isuzu versus a six-speed in the Colorado 7. Woof woof. What were they thinking? The engine's torque production will be critical for towing."

http://autoexpert.com.au/buying-a-car/new-cars/qa/should-i-buy-the-holden-colorado-7-or-the-isuzu-mu-x?rq=isuzu (http://autoexpert.com.au/buying-a-car/new-cars/qa/should-i-buy-the-holden-colorado-7-or-the-isuzu-mu-x?rq=isuzu)
Post by: DannyG on December 30, 2014, 11:47:35 AM
I just read the full article and a quick glance at his other articles, wow he really has no idea! Motoring expert LOL
Post by: KingBilly on December 30, 2014, 11:49:43 AM
http://autoexpert.com.au/buying-a-car/new-cars/qa/should-i-buy-the-holden-colorado-7-or-the-isuzu-mu-x?rq=isuzu (http://autoexpert.com.au/buying-a-car/new-cars/qa/should-i-buy-the-holden-colorado-7-or-the-isuzu-mu-x?rq=isuzu)

Umm, an interesting discussion ;D ;D ;D

Post by: monbeg on December 30, 2014, 12:11:49 PM
I just read the full article and a quick glance at his other articles, wow he really has no idea! Motoring expert LOL

That's probably why he is the CH7 resident motoring expert.
He should be right at home there as his expert motoring comments are on a par with Kochie's expert financial advice  ;D

(expert - ex is a has been, spurt is a drip under pressure)  :D
Post by: Isuzumu on December 30, 2014, 01:02:05 PM
This tool is one of those people I would love to get the opportunity to talk with and ask where they get their info from and why give this sort of answer. And also who would pay them for the crap they write.
Post by: monbeg on December 30, 2014, 01:37:04 PM
 And also who would pay them for the crap they write.

2UE and CH7 do  ???

I find this hilarious, looks like he has never been offroad and simply uses power output as a measure of quality, reliability, endurance and handling.

I guess it appeals to the school kid pick up brigade.

http://autoexpert.com.au/buying-a-car/new-cars/qa/which-ute-should-i-buy-holden-colorado-toyota-hilux-or-mitsubishi-triton?rq=ford%20ranger (http://autoexpert.com.au/buying-a-car/new-cars/qa/which-ute-should-i-buy-holden-colorado-toyota-hilux-or-mitsubishi-triton?rq=ford%20ranger)
Post by: KingBilly on December 30, 2014, 02:28:12 PM

Update.  Just saw photos of the new factory bars fitted to a MUX on another forum.  Hope they don't mind me stealing them  ;D  They look good.

Post by: monbeg on December 30, 2014, 02:42:49 PM
80kgs load on the flat stuff too which is better than the LST rails.
Post by: ironcobra on December 30, 2014, 04:26:31 PM
80kgs load on the flat stuff too which is better than the LST rails.

I noticed on that PDF that it's only 55kg off road, how heavy are most cages that get put on top?, then put a blind on...

Just trying to figure out wether I pay to have a tradesman basket bolted on that has 100 kg rating or go with the factory stuff...

Thanks for pics too!
Post by: KingBilly on December 30, 2014, 08:05:43 PM
I noticed on that PDF that it's only 55kg off road, how heavy are most cages that get put on top?, then put a blind on...

Just trying to figure out wether I pay to have a tradesman basket bolted on that has 100 kg rating or go with the factory stuff...

Thanks for pics too!

Just a word of caution, the 100kg rating of the tradesman basket would also only be on the black stuff.  All roof racks de-rate when used off road.  Actually everything de-rates when used off road  >:(

And you're welcome  :D

Post by: 2010banditsa on January 01, 2017, 10:25:40 AM
Just to revive an older topic- how has everyone found their MUXs so far, still happy? Is there a way to remove the 3rd row seats should you want to as seems to take up a bit of space and prevent fixing of 'gear' to the floor of the rear. Any other observations people have? Seem to be a reasonably priced car from a quick look.
Post by: KingBilly on January 01, 2017, 11:00:09 AM
A few bolts and the third row seats are out.  Use some ply to make a level floor (bolt down using seat captive nuts) and you can easily fit a fridge slide and/or drawers.

Post by: 2010banditsa on January 01, 2017, 11:49:43 AM
A few bolts and the third row seats are out.  Use some ply to make a level floor (bolt down using seat captive nuts) and you can easily fit a fridge slide and/or drawers.

Cheers for that. Lose much space with leveling the floor? Any complaints? Cant seem to find too many issues, only basic features and flat spot at 80 seems to be it.....
Post by: rsser on January 01, 2017, 12:24:20 PM
I removed rows 2 & 3.  Easily done.  Probably saves 60-80 kgs!   Left the footwell as is.  Then put the cargo barrier behind the front row.

Provides a lot of storage flexibility.

It has 70 K kms.,  a good number of them hard in the outback.  Couple of minor failures.  I'd buy one again. 
Post by: 2010banditsa on January 01, 2017, 01:36:30 PM
I removed rows 2 & 3.  Easily done.  Probably saves 60-80 kgs!   Left the footwell as is.  Then put the cargo barrier behind the front row.

Provides a lot of storage flexibility.

It has 70 K kms.,  a good number of them hard in the outback.  Couple of minor failures.  I'd buy one again.

Sweet thanks. Unless i can convince the mrs to leave the young fella at home, i might have to retain the second row though.

The picture of the roof racks shows the clamp onto roof type,  any other options?
Post by: rsser on January 01, 2017, 02:05:08 PM
Yep - had my feet riveted to the roof! 
Post by: KingBilly on January 01, 2017, 02:57:30 PM
Cheers for that. Lose much space with leveling the floor? Any complaints? Cant seem to find too many issues, only basic features and flat spot at 80 seems to be it.....

I have a Dmax but read the forums  :D. Think you need a 30mm packer at the front.  The Drifta drawers get a really good rap on the forums.

The auto had a software upgrade a year or two ago to fix the flat spot at 70-80kph.  Have heard of no further issues with the engine or auto box since.

A few have busted CVs when offroad but seems to be no greater percentage than most other makes with IFS front ends.  Personally have done plenty of tough offroading and no issues.

The MUX seems to be well liked amongst the caravaners for its economy when towing.

Riviting on roof rack rails lifts the carrying capacity to 100kg.  Tradseman and Rhino appear to be the most popular.

Post by: rsser on January 01, 2017, 03:19:35 PM
Yeah,  I'm using Prorack/Whispbar Smartfoot  permanent feet and HD rails.

It's possible to read their specs as 100kg per rail but I keep the total load to under 50 offroad.
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on January 01, 2017, 04:31:03 PM
I have the tradesman flat rack. Direct bolt in replacement for the rails on the LST. Great bit of kit - fit perfect and rock solid.
Post by: 2010banditsa on January 04, 2017, 06:47:30 PM
thanks for responding everyone. Anyone got a bigger fuel tank? i think i read it goes where the spare is, so where does the spare go? Sorry, im trying to find answers on some of the posted other dedicated forums, but im always a bit stuck for time.
Post by: rsser on January 04, 2017, 07:30:05 PM
The ARB tank leaves the spare where it is.
Post by: BrisVegasGolfer on January 04, 2017, 08:18:23 PM
I've got the Rhino pioneer platform fitted to the riveted track system.  It's excellent and has coped fine with lots of gear on thousands of kms of corrugated dirt so far.

I've got the ARB 112litre replacement tank.  No issues at all so far.  Ive got 33k on mine.
Post by: 2010banditsa on January 07, 2017, 04:34:34 PM
again thanks all for the responses. Ive bitten the bullet today and bought a 2014 with 30k on the clock. cheers all.
Post by: rsser on January 07, 2017, 06:48:29 PM
Cool.
The engine will just be loosening up.
Post by: McTavish on January 07, 2017, 10:43:03 PM
Congratulations !
Post by: 2010banditsa on January 09, 2017, 08:04:33 PM
I've got the Rhino pioneer platform fitted to the riveted track system.  It's excellent and has coped fine with lots of gear on thousands of kms of corrugated dirt so far.

I've got the ARB 112litre replacement tank.  No issues at all so far.  Ive got 33k on mine.

Mate would you please be kind enough to take a pic of the track system? Im interested to see the profile of them..... i hate high looking roof bar legs.  :cheers:
Post by: 2010banditsa on January 17, 2017, 08:44:07 PM
What do folks reckon is the best bull bar on the mux? Im thinking tjm outback
Post by: rsser on January 18, 2017, 01:45:50 AM
The best bullbar is one that preserves the ANCAP 5 rating.

I'm not aware that any have been tested on the MU-X.

Manufacturers don't even publish what impact force their bar will withstand without damage to the front end.

So we're buying a pig in a poke.
Post by: rsser on January 18, 2017, 06:59:08 AM
Also keep in mind the front axle load rating.

Robert Pepper says in most cases it's exceeded when you add a bullbar and winch @ around 100kg.

When I was looking at choice of bar, no manufacturer replied to my request to know how much their bar weighed.

And there's also the effect of the bar on entry clearance.  My Ironman extends 25cm from the chrome grill to the rubber override.  From memory the TJM was 22cm. 
Post by: rsser on January 18, 2017, 07:04:58 AM
Returning to effect on the vehicle in a crash, this is the only test data I've been able to find.  It was commissioned by BHP out of a concern that many modified vehicles on their sites may not have been as safe as assumed, and re bars, they were right.  The triple loop bar on the HiLux posed more risk to the dummy driver in the ANCAP test than no bar at all.

http://hub.icmm.com/document/4725 (http://hub.icmm.com/document/4725)

From that kind of test evidence, BHP banned any vehicle from their sites that didn't have ANCAP 5.

Responding to that, there are two vehicle/bar combos I'm aware of that have been tested and passed.  Both Ford Rangers, one with the Smartbar and the other with an ARB steel bar.
Post by: GUEY on January 18, 2017, 07:53:44 AM
What do folks reckon is the best bull bar on the mux? Im thinking tjm outback

Been looking a lot for one for the Colorado, and being pretty much the same shape, I'm liking the TJM and Ironman bars.
The ARB from the photos I can see, seems to sit a fair way out from the grill.
Maybe it doesn't, but it looks that way.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on January 18, 2017, 08:16:41 AM
The ARB tank leaves the spare where it is.

I have the ARB tank in the Dmax and must say it is probably the most useful mod i ever did currently getting around 1400k between refills running around so i am only going to the bowser about once per month.

Post by: KingBilly on January 18, 2017, 08:24:44 AM
Been looking a lot for one for the Colorado, and being pretty much the same shape, I'm liking the TJM and Ironman bars.
The ARB from the photos I can see, seems to sit a fair way out from the grill.
Maybe it doesn't, but it looks that way.

There was some discussion on one of the Dmax forums a long time ago and if I remember correctly, after much argy bargy, members actually measured the distance of several bars from the bonnet.  All were within a few mm of each other including the ARB.

Post by: rsser on January 18, 2017, 08:40:42 AM
There was some discussion on one of the Dmax forums a long time ago and if I remember correctly, after much argy bargy, members actually measured the distance of several bars from the bonnet.  All were within a few mm of each other including the ARB.

If you go offroad the projection is important but you can counter the effect with a suspension lift, which you'd probably want to do anyway if punting around the hills.
Post by: GUEY on January 18, 2017, 11:44:22 AM

Yeah, I wouldn't be surprised. Just the photos I can get all look massive in comparison. The double the price doesn't help either  ;D