Author Topic: 2014 Toyota Forerunner  (Read 5412 times)

2014 Toyota Forerunner
« on: December 23, 2014, 10:32:08 PM »
Have seen a few of these driving around Bali. Not a bad looking unit. Not sure if they're destined for Australia. Badge on the side was D4-D engine.  Look like a smaller version of a 200.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2014, 10:37:42 PM by scarpsD40 »

Offline McTavish

Re: 2014 Toyota Forerunner
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2014, 12:34:00 AM »
I'm guessing it would take a fair portion of sales away from the Kluger and the Prado??   But I did read somewhere that Toyota were planning on bringing it in to Oz in 2015.   Bit of speculation?   But they do look pretty good hey.

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/57654/toyota-australia-considering-fortuner-4runner-for-australian-market
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

Offline Streetkid

« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2014, 06:06:15 AM »
I reckon it looks half jeep half pajero.
Happy Customline owner

« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2014, 07:26:56 AM »
It's got a face only a mother could love...

Offline rossm

« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2014, 07:30:25 AM »
I'm guessing it would take a fair portion of sales away from the Kluger and the Prado??   But I did read somewhere that Toyota were planning on bringing it in to Oz in 2015.   Bit of speculation?   But they do look pretty good hey.

http://www.themotorreport.com.au/57654/toyota-australia-considering-fortuner-4runner-for-australian-market

Toyota would probably aim to bring this in at the Prado price point and then push the Prado price up
Given the popularity of Prado they will probably get away with it.

Offline speedcomm

« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2014, 07:47:25 AM »
I believe that is a pic of an American 4 Runner, completely different car to the Fortuner. Fortuner is based on the ute, like Mux/7/Pathfinder, I believe the 4 Runner is same running gear as an FJ Cruiser, 4l petrol only, wagon based.
2.8L Prado. Jayco Eagle OB.

Offline speedcomm

« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2014, 07:50:09 AM »
2.8L Prado. Jayco Eagle OB.

Offline Proudy

« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2014, 10:34:31 AM »
From what I read in 4x4 Aust it will sell between the top of line Rav and bottom Prado. It's based on the Hilux. I've heard the FJs will be dropped soon as they have in the states.

Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

Offline bigpaulie

« Reply #8 on: December 24, 2014, 05:22:10 PM »
Proudy has the good mail, the FJ is done and the Venturer (4runner) is coming late 2015. It is based on the Hilux platform, the new model though so not the same as the one pictured above. Another offering in the 4wd market can't hurt if it gets more people out and about, Hilux capability in a wagon could be good.

« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2014, 06:45:48 PM »
I think the Everest will kill all the other offerings........the only thing they could do better would be a V8 diesel !!    :cup:

« Reply #10 on: December 24, 2014, 09:02:56 PM »
based on a storm troopers helmet ???

« Reply #11 on: December 24, 2014, 09:06:58 PM »
Have seen a few of these driving around Bali. Not a bad looking unit. Not sure if they're destined for Australia. Badge on the side was D4-D engine.  Look like a smaller version of a 200.
You're not looking around already  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #12 on: December 24, 2014, 10:13:54 PM »

You're not looking around already  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
nope, it's just the first Toyo that's caught my eye in a while outside of the good ol'80

2014 Toyota Forerunner
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2014, 10:02:40 AM »

yep speedcomm, this is the one I'm seeing here in the Toyo caryards.  On closer inspection, they are known here as a Fortuner. 

Having said that, there's heaps of Mitsi Challengers here with Pajero badges????

Offline TheWall

« Reply #14 on: December 27, 2014, 08:25:22 PM »
Known as Pajero Sport overseas Scarps

Offline Rogerthatv2

• GNDN 4
« Reply #15 on: December 27, 2014, 09:05:30 PM »

Known as Pajero Sport overseas Scarps

In Kota Kinabalu at the moment and went to hire a Fortuner, booked out and got stuck with a Challenger (Pajero Sport) no Fortuner or our 150 Prado but not bad for a daily driver, had a bit of fun in it as well - heaps of Malaysian Rainforest trucks and tracks here, so tempted!

Couple of pics of my girls with it, much easier to drive here than in Thailand!

2009 Jayco Outback Hawk & Prado 150 Series VX D4D - Now we just have to use it - not look at it!