Author Topic: Remote Control Cars  (Read 105782 times)

Offline Swogjb

Re: Remote Control Cars
« Reply #50 on: September 15, 2013, 11:16:24 AM »
Thanks, I spoke with RC Garage who inform me the 2.4GHz Stampedes are not in AU yet, although other AU websites have them.

I'm sure that the local hobby store had the 2.4GHZ VXL 4x4 brushless motor with lipo battery and charger in stock.
It was $190 more than what I paid delivered to my door.

Will the 27mhz make that make that much difference  for bashing around the local park?

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

« Reply #51 on: September 15, 2013, 11:30:36 AM »
That's my point, I paid the extra to go to a bricks and motar store expecting to get good advice, back online for me.

27MHz won't make any difference but the antenna will get snapped regularly as it is the old fashioned alloy multi piece antenna.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2013, 11:34:33 AM by D4D »

Offline neilsk

« Reply #52 on: September 17, 2013, 11:32:04 AM »
I like to buy from a local shop, but all they have been doing is buying online then marking it up. to make things worse the attitude i get in rocky is terrible, as a newbie i wasnt helped very much. back to internet and saving money for me.
2012 D40 Navara St and a MDC Tbox V3

« Reply #53 on: September 17, 2013, 11:53:06 AM »
Where in elimbah mate?
Thanks Dan

Sorry Dan, just saw this  ;D

It's just off Torbul Rd. At the entrance to the Farm Fantastic. Check their website or fb page for the next meeting. Usually about every 3 weeks.

Shane.

Offline kiwipride

Remote Control Cars
« Reply #54 on: September 17, 2013, 08:00:38 PM »
I'm sure that the local hobby store had the 2.4GHZ VXL 4x4 brushless motor with lipo battery and charger in stock.
It was $190 more than what I paid delivered to my door.

Will the 27mhz make that make that much difference  for bashing around the local park?
Where did you get yours from?

My plan is to live forever......so far, so good!

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #55 on: September 17, 2013, 09:06:22 PM »
Where did you get yours from?

http://rchobbies.com.au/store/product_info.php?products_id=71008
They do free delivery as well.

I am away a work at the moment, its maiden crash run should be next tuesday arvo.
I  also ordered a couple more lipo2 batteries for it from the states.
Let the carnage begin!! >:D >:D

Offline froggy

Remote Control Cars
« Reply #56 on: September 18, 2013, 08:23:59 AM »
Here's my stable, losi 8ight-T, Losi SCTE, Losi 10T and axial EXO hoping to add a losi 5ive

Offline berlitza

« Reply #57 on: September 18, 2013, 12:51:20 PM »

I am away a work at the moment, its maiden crash run should be next tuesday arvo.

Ive been looking at the Kalahari since this thread started, free postage and $219 ,  ohhh boy am i going to get into trouble when it arrives here..

Offline froggy

Remote Control Cars
« Reply #58 on: September 18, 2013, 02:27:48 PM »

Check hobbyking.com great place for lipos

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #59 on: September 18, 2013, 02:35:01 PM »
Check hobbyking.com great place for lipos

Yea by far the cheapest and best place to get bashing lipo's from.

Ive got a few cars from them, picked up the Desert racing buggy a while back, has to be by far the best bash buggy ive had, few upgrades cause the cheap plastic never holds up, and the buggy becomes a beast, waiting on the esc or motor to give out so i can do some upgrades to 3s lipo and bigger motor.

A good warning to anyone buying from hobbyking, you get what you pay for, at $100 for a car / truck i suggest spending the extra on hopup parts and spares.
2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

Offline RallyDog

« Reply #60 on: September 18, 2013, 03:16:59 PM »
This is my hpi baja 5sc ss

Offline RallyDog

« Reply #61 on: September 18, 2013, 04:37:02 PM »
Sorry will try and get photo up cant down load

« Reply #62 on: September 19, 2013, 06:31:36 AM »
If you get a chance, check out this place. And it's free entry  :D

Shane

Elimbah Raceway Promo - 1/4 Scale Speedway

Offline HoMErMY12

« Reply #63 on: September 19, 2013, 11:19:21 AM »
Reading topics like this always cost me money!!!!

I had been out of the RC cars for a few years, but a few weeks ago I got my Traxxas Revo 3.3 nitro truck out of the cupboard and stripped it down for a $1000 rebuild.

On top of that I'm rebuilding a 25 year old Kyosho Aero Streak I had when I was a kid. this is a challenge finding parts for on eBay.

And I have another Traxxas Revo sitting here that belongs to my Bro in law that he will hopefully sell to me. then that will get rebuilt also

That is on top of 2 Tamiya chassis I built many moons ago for drift (that was before I discovered how good off road was).

(that's the short list, if I add the wish list id be here typing all day.)

One day ill actually have a car i can drive. But half the fun is building them.

So it looks like im addicted again.

Subaru Forester MY12
My trailer

« Reply #64 on: September 19, 2013, 11:43:19 AM »
Can't go wrong with a Revo for bashing .......... Oh and love the Jato for the street :D

Offline HoMErMY12

« Reply #65 on: September 19, 2013, 12:41:14 PM »
I don't know how id go with a nitro Revo if I took it camping though.

Might get some unhappy neighbours complaining about noise  ;D ::)  >:D

Subaru Forester MY12
My trailer

Offline nick_4x4

• Xiam Design and Hosting
« Reply #66 on: September 19, 2013, 12:52:49 PM »
I don't know how id go with a nitro Revo if I took it camping though.

Might get some unhappy neighbours complaining about noise  ;D ::)  >:D

Yea but neighbours with kids will love you for it.

Last camping trip we took 3 electric models and my 2 nitro's (rustler and a colt 1/10th) out of all the time we were there all the kids wanted to see the nitro running, even some of the dads come along to watch us doing dirt bike jumps with them.

Lots of fun out the bush, but you can get some grief from Grey Nomads and Rangers if they dont like them, but most ive met i usually just say do you mind me running these during the day and most are fine.

Have fun playing with your toys / addictions i know i do :D
2004 GU Patrol 3.0TD - 2010 Ezytrail

Offline sunshine

« Reply #67 on: September 19, 2013, 07:45:44 PM »
dam internet and forums  >:D

started reading this and then researching and you know the rest

it should arrive just in time for school holidays and camping trip  :cup:

reckon this will keep us out of trouble

mick

« Reply #68 on: September 19, 2013, 10:02:43 PM »
Hey there footySS.  Great video, that stuff is cool. Great sound clip also

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #69 on: September 26, 2013, 07:13:31 PM »
I've taken delivery of a Traxxas Stampede VXL 4x4' with brushless motor and 2s Lipo battery.

Holy $h1t does this thing go. Pull the trigger and she wheel stands on command. >:D
I got my 5yo daughter going tonight in trainer mode, she did an awesome job and picked it up really quickly.
The original battery charger took 6 hours to charge, way to long IMO.
So I purchased an Imax B6AC Pro balance charger. It will charge a 4000 mAh 2s Lipo in about an hour. Will charge all types of battery.
The biggest pain in the arse so far is if the stampede lands a bit hard it will blow the shockas top cap off. This has happened a few times. I may upgrade to better shocks down the track.

All in all, we are enjoying the Stampede so far and definitely recommend the product.
Even SWMBO reckons its good fun. :cup: :cup:

Cheers Glenn

Offline Dion

« Reply #70 on: September 27, 2013, 02:21:15 PM »
Been thinking about buying a "Decent" R/C car ... well actually two ... one for me and one for my 7yo son (for Xmas).  We have a couple of $50 cheapies but they have limited R/C range and struggle (read don't go) on the grass.

How do the Traxxis 2WD ones stand up to high speed impacts against hard stuff (i.e. brick house)?

What about jumping off terraces?  Have got a terrace in my yard that's about a 40cm drop (onto grass) .. would be great for a leap off ...

Do they go okay on thick grass (got Sir Walter Buffalo grass)?
2017 Y62 Patrol
2009 Lifestyle Extenda

« Reply #71 on: September 27, 2013, 04:18:16 PM »
I have a 2WD Stampede, I run it in the park/playground across from our house. It runs fine through tyre high grass/mud/mulch. I jump/launch off a sleeper height wall with no issue and have stacked it into a post of a post and rail fence with no ill effects. Given how quick they are you really need a large space to enjoy these things. The park area I run it in is approx. 20m x 10m.

Offline Muckinhell

• 2014 Ecomate traveller forward fold.
« Reply #72 on: September 27, 2013, 08:30:27 PM »
I like a bit of the scale sorta stuff with low range mid range and high range on the fly from the controller and locking diffs, plus added realistic warn winch. still mine isnt half as awsome as some of the ones on you tube with miniature highlift jacks,snorkels,roof racks etc.
most of my mates have the nitro stuff though, but always break something so they never run for too long whereass mine keeps on keeping on.
2005 HDJ100r Sahara
Better to look at it, than for it!

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #73 on: October 26, 2013, 11:40:45 AM »
well bugger you lot, you all cost me way too much money.

After reading through all this, I have now done something that I have wanted to do for years, I have just ordered an Axial SCX10 Rubicon Jeep. Have been tossing up between this or the Wraith and decided to go this way as there appear to be more upgrade parts readily available.

I have also picked up a cheapie for the boy to see if he is interested at all before forking out for a better one for him. At least parts for an SCX10 is cheaper than a 200  ;D

Cheers, Craig

« Reply #74 on: October 26, 2013, 12:09:34 PM »
well bugger you lot, you all cost me way too much money.

What did you get for your son?