Author Topic: Batten Down the Hatches Qld  (Read 82360 times)

Re: Batten Down the Hatches Qld
« Reply #350 on: December 25, 2019, 01:41:15 PM »
 OK you lot. Just stop it. I even got up the ladder yesterday and cleaned all of the cuttering ready for the rain to put some water in the tank. So far, 1.5 mls. Ahhhhhh.  Yes. One point five.  Kevin

« Reply #351 on: December 25, 2019, 01:44:42 PM »
OK you lot. Just stop it. I even got up the ladder yesterday and cleaned all of the cuttering ready for the rain to put some water in the tank. So far, 1.5 mls. Ahhhhhh.  Yes. One point five.  Kevin

You would have sweated ore than that!. 

« Reply #352 on: December 25, 2019, 01:48:38 PM »
Same, cleaned everything and dumped the first flush systems ready for it.
So far we’ve had 6mm.
Hardly enough to fill the pipes again.

Offline Fox67

« Reply #353 on: December 25, 2019, 08:22:17 PM »
Yep, still waiting for that 200mm. I think we have had 10mm so far in the gauge.
2023 RAV4 Cruiser Hybrid
2019 Landcruiser 200 VX TTD
Tent and some camping gear

Offline rossm

« Reply #354 on: December 25, 2019, 08:38:41 PM »
Friend from  Moora WA holidaying with  her sister on Facing Island off Gladstone. Hasn’t rained for months she reports  but 50mm in last few hours,

« Reply #355 on: December 26, 2019, 10:02:49 AM »
Got a couple of big storm cells moving in Cairns area.  Heaps of thunder and lighting with rain.  Just watch the residents facebook explode with lost and found dogs!   Spose you just cant fix stupid!

« Reply #356 on: December 26, 2019, 10:26:54 AM »
Got a couple of big storm cells moving in Cairns area.  Heaps of thunder and lighting with rain.  Just watch the residents facebook explode with lost and found dogs!   Spose you just cant fix stupid!
Jeez, somebodies dog escape and their stupid, I’ve seen dogs scale Shit they wouldn’t normally even look at trying to get over when thunder storms hit, plus keep in mind dogs hear better than us so they will pick up on a storm well before we do.
Give em a break.

« Reply #357 on: December 26, 2019, 11:16:15 AM »
Jeez, somebodies dog escape and their stupid, I’ve seen dogs scale Shit they wouldn’t normally even look at trying to get over when thunder storms hit, plus keep in mind dogs hear better than us so they will pick up on a storm well before we do.
Give em a break.

Our cattle dog bashed its way through the laundry door in a storm. Literally smashed a dog sized hole through the door.

« Reply #358 on: December 26, 2019, 11:22:51 AM »
Give em a break.

Same old dogs getting out.  Also how smart do you have to be to know that dogs dont like thunderstorms. I,ve been through half a dozen cyclones and many thunderstorms and never had a dog get out. Always sit with em when storms are around. Missus also Shit scared of thunder.  Our local resident forum on farcebook sees dogs roaming everyday of the week. Often repeat offenders.  If you cant look after your dog properly...give it to some one who can. Its no wonder many people get pissed off with roaming dogs.  We also have recent cassowary, and chicks,  sightings and roaming dogs are the last thing we need decimating our wildlife.

Batten Down the Hatches Qld
« Reply #359 on: January 21, 2020, 06:58:26 PM »
Just had our first ever proper storm here this afternoon.
We built 13 years ago and have watched every storm for all of those years form to our SW, come straight at us, then split in half and go either side of us. We always have to be content with just a bit of rain and thunder.
But today, this one formed right of top is us and let loose.
It was the first time I’ve seen hail here and the wind was intense.

I watched the crowns come off 4 trees around the house, I expect there will be heaps more down in the other couple of acres out the back.
Just finished cleaning up the 2 that came down on the boundary and repaired the fence enough to keep the dog in tonight.
Fortunately we had given the chickens away recently, I recon there would have been a few casualties in the pen if they had of been in there.
Will clean up that area tomorrow.

Edit;
And now as I finish off my beer and start to walk inside to go for a shower the power goes out..... :(
Lucky I serviced the generator last month... :)
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 07:01:13 PM by Pete79 »

« Reply #360 on: January 21, 2020, 08:30:32 PM »
We built 13 years ago and have watched every storm for all of those years form to our SW, come straight at us, then split in half and go either side of us. We always have to be content with just a bit of rain and thunder.
But today, this one formed right of top is us and let loose.
It was the first time I’ve seen hail here and the wind was intense.

I watched the crowns come off 4 trees around the house, I expect there will be heaps more down in the other couple of acres out the back.
Just finished cleaning up the 2 that came down on the boundary and repaired the fence enough to keep the dog in tonight.
Fortunately we had given the chickens away recently, I recon there would have been a few casualties in the pen if they had of been in there.
Will clean up that area tomorrow.

Edit;
And now as I finish off my beer and start to walk inside to go for a shower the power goes out..... :(
Lucky I serviced the generator last month... :)
Glad to see you got some rain Pete.
I was sitting in the cube farm at work looking towards the north west from the 20th floor. It was looking pretty ominous but just like that the storm split and missed the CBD completely.

« Reply #361 on: January 22, 2020, 08:03:37 AM »

Saw that brown  & black on the rader yesterday and wondered if you were getting it. The whether warning said that one was nasty.

Offline Fox67

« Reply #362 on: January 22, 2020, 09:13:37 PM »
Pete we have had two storms, Monday and yesterday. A few branches down and damage to the chook house and car port / shelter. I thought I was the only one that watched BOM in anticipation of a drop of rain, only to see it fizzle out just down the road.
Our big concrete house tank couldn’t take the rain load yesterday afternoon and the full height hairline crack let go and we lost over 50,000 ltrs of drinking water overnight, the cow paddock grass will appreciate that.

I didn’t realise how much new concrete tanks cost.
2023 RAV4 Cruiser Hybrid
2019 Landcruiser 200 VX TTD
Tent and some camping gear

« Reply #363 on: January 22, 2020, 09:52:27 PM »
Pete we have had two storms, Monday and yesterday. A few branches down and damage to the chook house and car port / shelter. I thought I was the only one that watched BOM in anticipation of a drop of rain, only to see it fizzle out just down the road.
Our big concrete house tank couldn’t take the rain load yesterday afternoon and the full height hairline crack let go and we lost over 50,000 ltrs of drinking water overnight, the cow paddock grass will appreciate that.

I didn’t realise how much new concrete tanks cost.

Man, that would be devastating to see all that water go. :(

I only deal with foleys these days.
Their tanks have the same warranty as all the poly stuff these days. But most importantly, it’s a true family business with awesome customer service.
Seriously can’t recommend them enough.

« Reply #364 on: January 22, 2020, 10:08:29 PM »
Not sure if there is anyone around SEQ doing tanks like this company. My old place in the Blue Mts ( which is still standing after being impacted by recent fires again for the 5th time).
I had a 120000litre tank with a shed built over the top best $5000 (for the tank) I spent building the house in 1990.
https://www.panthersconcretetanks.com.au/

Only issue was I never had a big enough roof to fill the tank until I extended the house, plus 3 car garage and the shed, then it would overflow if a cloud cast a shadow over the property.

« Reply #365 on: January 22, 2020, 11:09:42 PM »
Yeah “All cast precast” will do whatever you want.
I looked at a couple of options from those guys, but once you go away from the standard 5,000 gallons the cost just blows them out too much.

I wanted to use their tanks to help form a bit of a retaining wall, but I could get 3 times the storage with gal tanks for roughly the same price.
Was much cheaper to get my mate over with his excavator to batter the bank I was looking to retain and form a pad for normal tanks while he was here.

Online Fizzie

« Reply #366 on: January 26, 2020, 03:20:12 PM »

Online Fizzie

« Reply #367 on: January 31, 2020, 12:47:26 PM »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #368 on: June 10, 2021, 08:07:04 AM »
I know it’s not snow, but….. It was/is a tad chilly here this morning. The weather screen shot is from the Kingaroy weather station which is usually a couple of degrees warmer then Nanango in winter.

We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #369 on: June 10, 2021, 08:28:27 AM »
Sister and her hubby aren't far from you, at Moore. He's got a pretty flash weather station which recorded -2° this morn. A decent frost, too.

« Reply #370 on: June 10, 2021, 08:59:37 AM »
Had to scrape the ice of the windscreen on a work van this morning, so it must have got a tad under the 6deg forecast for suburban Brisbane?

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
Batten Down the Hatches Qld
« Reply #371 on: October 18, 2021, 01:30:09 PM »
Hey Jeepers, looks like you’re in for a rough afternoon ??? ???

« Last Edit: October 18, 2021, 01:32:21 PM by bmwfreak »
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #372 on: October 18, 2021, 02:53:05 PM »
We were right inline for a direct hit of hail.
At the last minute, it drifted south.

I reckon it skimmed the front fence..... so all good.

Thanks for caring enough to ask, or laugh.... or whatever.  ;D LOL

Couple of days ok, i would have begged for decent lightning strike to the head.

Online Fizzie

« Reply #373 on: October 18, 2021, 04:45:19 PM »
We well & truly knew when to come home! 8)

Left Blackbutt ~9.30 with a couple of very fine sprinkles - as at 4pm they'd had 88mm!!! :o :o :o

We commented coming down the Brisbane Valley that it was all dry, & not one creek that we crossed had water in it :'( - I don't think that'll still be the case now!