Author Topic: Multi Tool surgestion..what have you got  (Read 14500 times)

Offline albany_nomads

• Dylan..Mans best friend
    • John Grant Photography
Multi Tool surgestion..what have you got
« on: May 07, 2011, 10:21:32 PM »
I'm thinking about buying myself a multi tool and I was wondering if you folks may have some suggestions of various weird shape multi tools that you've got.
I'm was tossing up between Leatherman..and..Gerber..though Gerber seem about 30 percent cheaper.
But I'm open to suggestions..every year some weird and wonderful shape tools come on the market  ....Thanks in advance
Kind Regards: John, Nola & Dylan (The Albany Nomads )

MY BLOG:   http://johngrantphotography.wordpress.com/

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
Re: Multi Tool surgestion..what have you got
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 10:25:27 PM »
I use a leatherman skeletool. It's great and has only the required tools: knife, pliers and flat/phillips screwdriver. I don't see any use for all of the other stuff. What I really like is it's size and weight, you hardly notice it on.

« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 10:49:53 PM »
Leatherman "Wave", had it for 10 years and still doing what it's meant to :cup:     Had a SOG but broke the jaws on the pliers pulling a bolt out of a truck tyre  :-[ .

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2011, 10:55:27 PM »
I have a leatherman Wave, It was a great present. Very handy.

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2011, 10:58:05 PM »
I have one that came with my OzTent that seems close to the Leatherman, and I've got a Gerber at home that has a few extra bits that come in handy

Offline Rasmus

• Love that trailer!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2011, 11:04:22 PM »
Gerber, never whit out it. always in my car.

« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2011, 11:14:31 PM »
G'day mate,

The Mrs bought me a Leatherman about 12 yrs ago........ it's been on my belt for every shift since the day i got it, hardly a day goes past that i don't use it for something, also just last year the original canvas pouch finally wore out, so i replaced it with a Leather Leatherman pouch, should be good for at least another ten years now....... the tool is still as good as new, everynow and then i give the blade on the straight edge knife a touch up, occasionally i run it under boiling water when at work, normally to cut up an orange for smoko or something........ then also give it a hit with WD40 or CRC...... (hence the boiling water before prepping food, hehehe)................. it's been on my hip in Aus, SE Asia and PNG and i consider it my good luck charm...... wouldn't be without it.

« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2011, 11:34:47 PM »
I use a leatherman skeletool. It's great and has only the required tools: knife, pliers and flat/phillips screwdriver. I don't see any use for all of the other stuff. What I really like is it's size and weight, you hardly notice it on.

I have the same tool for the exact same reasons. Lives in my drivers door pocket.

Offline Kirky

« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2011, 12:01:37 AM »
Victrinox, there is nothing better, I have used one for work for 12 years and has never missed a beat. Lifetime warranty too.

Offline Rasmus

• Love that trailer!!!!!
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2011, 12:13:52 AM »
Victrinox, there is nothing better, I have used one for work for 12 years and has never missed a beat. Lifetime warranty too.

a Swiss Army Knife

a reel Mac Gyver :cup:

Offline Ruffstuff

« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2011, 12:24:13 AM »
I have a Leatherman Kick & a couple of different swiss army knives.
The Leatherman stays on my belt and the swiss army knives in the camper & cruiser
Warning: This Post May Contain Traces of Nuts!!! :)

80 series Landcruiser, DTS Turbo, Cross Country Intercooler,  3"exhaust, 33" BFG MT, locked, Lifted & gadgetised
2005 Trak Shak

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2011, 01:56:29 AM »
I have a Gerber.   It's a bit chunkier than the Leatherman and the cast handle is a more comfortable grip.   The pliers are as strong as my old "real" pliers.
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200

Offline reads90

« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2011, 06:02:15 AM »
I have a leatherman Wave, It was a great present. Very handy.

Same here , lives in the car and gets used alot

Offline TrackTrailerTourer

• Birdsville Track 10/08/2010
« Reply #13 on: May 08, 2011, 06:29:45 AM »
Another vote for the skeletool here, I wanted a lightweight tool with just the essentials, Quite cheap on Ebay. The only place to buy these tools at the right price.

Peter
2002 HZJ105 Standard Wagon with plenty of goodies,
2007 T Van also with some extra goodies.

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2011, 07:44:06 AM »
I personally have a Gerber about 10 years old, got used every day when I was on the tools.

A mate of mine collects these things and swears by Leatherman. He also has tools by Schrade and Buck and some obscure US based custom knife makers.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2011, 08:28:37 AM »
I've got a Leatherman Supertool, got it and others with magazine subscriptions. I've got a few brands others too, but they don't come near the Supertool, nor IMHO do some of the cheaper Leatherman range.

I also have a couple of Victorinox pocket knives that I have had for variously 20-30 years. I grew up with one in my pocket, and to me they're a symbol of quality and practicality.

I like to give Leatherman's or a Victorinox as gifts to friends and colleagues. Perhaps it's just me, but I reckon years from now they'll use it and be grateful for such a ripper bit of gear.

« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2011, 08:36:35 AM »
I've got a Leatherman Supertool

x2 had it for 20 years

Offline daffy

« Reply #17 on: May 08, 2011, 08:39:29 AM »
i have had a leatherman wave for about a year now...got it from ebay for half the price of a shop :cheers:
happy wife....happy life

« Reply #18 on: May 08, 2011, 08:53:35 AM »
Would buying Leatherman products of E-bay concern anyone?  Or can someone recommend a trusted supplier for these things.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2011, 08:59:46 AM by Gunna Do »

Offline Fivid

« Reply #19 on: May 08, 2011, 08:57:10 AM »
Leatherman and Gerber are both top quality items.  Looking at one myself at the moment so interested in others replies here also.

We did buy our son a leatherman for his 21st.  It was the top of the range which they sell in Albury for around $300+, we ended up buying it from the US for around $120 Aussie dollars inc freight.  And that was back when our dollar was below 80c US.

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #20 on: May 08, 2011, 09:03:56 AM »
I purchased my first leatherman tool 25yrs ago and still have it(but is retired). I have recently purchased a Leatherman Surge(from Ebay). Fantastic bit of gear, comfortable grips, strong pliers and plenty of tools on board. It is fairly heavy, you need your belt tight or it'll pull your trousers down >:(
I think I paid $115 for it off ebay which is very cheap, it was brand new genuine item. I had to send it back for a repair job a few months back and there were no questions asked by Zen Imports.(the pliers are strong but dont try to lever side ways with them :'( )
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2011, 09:05:39 AM »
Would buying Leatherman products of E-bay concern anyone?  

Yup that and Led Lenser torches...

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #22 on: May 08, 2011, 09:10:00 AM »
I've got a Leatherman Wave Ti. I've had   both leatherman and gerber before, both excellent quality but I reckon the new leathermans are easier to use.
The Wave is used on a daily basis and I feel lost with out it.
I purchased my last one off of eBay,(Adelaide based seller) who sells sh!t loads of them. No worries he sells genuine stuff not Chinese crap. Was heaps cheaper than any shops were selling them for.
Glenn :cheers:

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #23 on: May 08, 2011, 09:13:14 AM »
I have a Wave and s Supatool also, they don't get a run since getting a Skeletool. The carbon fibre in the handle gets me emotional.

Offline Crosslander

« Reply #24 on: May 08, 2011, 10:22:56 AM »
Whilst I'm sure this isn't in the same league as some of the ones being talked about here this is a hammer based multi-tool if anyone was interested
http://www.zazz.com.au/index.php
note: as the linked site changes the item every 24 hours the link will probably only work for 1 day.