General => General Discussion => Topic started by: GGV8Cruza on April 19, 2015, 07:17:14 PM

Title: Chickens at home
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 19, 2015, 07:17:14 PM
So with the move to a bigger block we have a bit of room and are thinking about getting some chooks so we can get some fresh eggs and give the kids a bit of responsibility and a pet of sorts. There is an old chook pen in the back paddock but its past its used by date so I will need to make a new one.

I searched these guys out the other day and for the cost of it I cannot see me buying the timber and making it for any less. Its movable as well and should do just fine. Any tips or hints for the next mass egg producer from 4-5  chooks

https://www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/chook-pens/the-taj-mahal/ (https://www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/chook-pens/the-taj-mahal/)

Title: Re: Chickens at home
Post by: D4D on April 19, 2015, 07:21:08 PM
Email sent
Post by: dales133 on April 19, 2015, 07:34:57 PM
Chickens make pretty cool pets once they gain your trust.
I had 3 when I was a kid and dragged them home and did the "can I keep them pleeeeeease thing.
Very low maintenance and live mostly on scraps and a bit of chook feed.
Just make sure they have a place to keep thier feet dry if conditions are wet and as stupid as it sounds you'll probably have to teach them how to sit on a peach.
Another tip is if you've got a bank put a veggie garden at the bottom of the bank and the chicken coup at the top if you arnt free ranging them.
The amount of manure that makes it is diluted and you'll get self seeded pumpkins and the like on the bank
Good luck the kids will love them
Post by: LuckyDog on April 19, 2015, 07:35:56 PM
Garrick, i love the automatic door opener

:cup: :cup: :cup:
LD
Post by: tk421 on April 19, 2015, 08:14:16 PM
Looks the goods.  We've had chooks in suburban sydney for ages. They really are easy, and when you go away the neighbours look after them with the promise of keeping the eggs. We have a big feeder and a waterer that will last two weeks, so it's really just egg collection that's the issues.  What are you planning on getting? We had 4 ISA Browns. That's 4 eggs a day for 300 days of the year.  Thats a lot of eggs to get through.  We've now got Australops, not as many eggs thankfully!

Our pen is 2.5x5m. 6 uprights and a roof, all covered in mesh. We put a $200 ebay hen house inside that and a sun shelter made from left over colourbond fencing. Every so often we let them out, but they cause havoc with the garden beds????

If you have an orchard, let them roam in that. Citrus loves the chook poo. Some natives not so much.
Make sure you include shell grit as well as food and water, don't feed them potato skins,  other than that they're pretty easy.

I know one guy who has his chook house in the middle of his veggie patch. Veggie patch is divided into 4 areas. Chook pen has 4 doors, one onto each area. The chooks roam in one whilst he farms the other 3. Then every year he rotates clockwise.  Gets great veggies.
Post by: dazzler on April 19, 2015, 08:51:44 PM

I know one guy who has his chook house in the middle of his veggie patch. Veggie patch is divided into 4 areas. Chook pen has 4 doors, one onto each area. The chooks roam in one whilst he farms the other 3. Then every year he rotates clockwise.  Gets great veggies.

Cool
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on April 19, 2015, 09:23:30 PM
Never owned one ... but I've been feeding the chooks for years.
Post by: oldmate on April 19, 2015, 09:28:23 PM
Never owned one ... but I've been feeding the chooks for years.

Lol.  Been married awhile hey.
Post by: lindamc on April 19, 2015, 09:53:14 PM
We have 2 orphingtons (bred for meat and eggs) one seems to be the clucky one and would make a great mummy , the other lays the eggs. We get 1 egg most days. They go off the lay around Christmas time and again in March for a couple of weeks.  My dad made their palace and I made their run. They live on pellets/grains and greens. Shell grit occasionally which they only take when they need. I love my chooks so much my vege patch is now full of veges that the chooks love to eat. Full of lettuce, spinach, kale, and parsley. In a couple of weeks when the lettuce has grown, it will be time to let the chooks feast!

Post by: Alan Loy on April 20, 2015, 06:35:53 AM
This mobile coop would let you move the chooks around so they dont dig up just one area http://permaculturenews.org/2010/09/03/how-to-make-an-egg-mobile/ (http://permaculturenews.org/2010/09/03/how-to-make-an-egg-mobile/)

This is the advanced model http://www.geofflawton.com/fe/64322-chicken-tractor-on-steroids (http://www.geofflawton.com/fe/64322-chicken-tractor-on-steroids)
Post by: muzza01 on April 20, 2015, 06:46:53 AM
Hi Garrick,
We too have a big block, acre. I prefer something more permanent in structure. It's coming up to about 5 years old now. We normally have 12 chooks, 11 ATM.  I built this chook pen to my own plan. It wasn't particulary cheep as my mrs wanted it to be snake proof and I wanted something that should stand up to cyclonic winds

From memory it is 6 meters by 3.5 meters, I completey covered in 6mm2 gal snake mesh before screwing and of the Coro on.  The mesh also goes down in der the ground about 250mm and concreted all around the perimeter. 

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Chook%20Shed/DSCN0304.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Chook%20Shed/DSCN0371.jpg)

Post by: macca on April 20, 2015, 07:11:19 AM
Muzza your dog's keeping a pretty close eye on the chooks. My brother locks his dogs up at around four each day and let's the chooks out until dark then let's the dogs back out. Dogs keep the foxes away , that what you will have to watch out for up your way GG , fox can make a mess of a chook shed in a night. That's seems like a bloody good price too
Post by: speewa158 on April 20, 2015, 07:15:55 AM
Muzza  Has the dog worked out what its looking at yet  ???
Post by: muzza01 on April 20, 2015, 07:22:30 AM
No dog is good. We let the chooks out around 430 every arvo to free range for a couple of hours. The dog behaves herself and chooks are her good friends that she sits with and watches over them.

We have to be careful of Hawks and Eagles up here. We get the occasional falcon but they seem to take birds airborn and not in the ground.
Post by: graham on April 20, 2015, 04:49:22 PM
Ill back in the Isa Browns  GG , good eggs , don't fly , well most don't , and bloody friendly
This lady in Carrum downs has great quality chooks , she also has one rescued from hatcherys that seem alright , I was going to get some to see if they were any good , but her other Isa brown chooks have been brilliant , friendly , bloody funny if you watch them
Crystal. 0427 624 665 
I may even be going there tomorrow to grab a few more  as our are about 4-5 years old now
Ask Rich he has had a pair running around
Cheers mate
Post by: jimc1 on April 21, 2015, 02:19:54 PM
Yeah I agree, Isa Browns are fantastic around young kids. My 2 chickens will let our young kids pick them up and move them about the yard.

my advice for a coop, maker it comfortable for you to get in and out of, as your going to be the one who inherits the feeding, watering and cleaning. My kids occasionally help with the egg collecting.

I built mine for about $300. Most of it was miscut lengths and offcuts from Bunnings and Robot Trading. Most expensive part was the wire fabric.

Do yourself a favour and get some quality waterers and feeders. I got mine from Royal Rooster. Its made cleaning and refill task a 7 - 10 day thing, depending on the heat.
Post by: dales133 on April 21, 2015, 07:02:05 PM
Chinese silky bantam are real characters and good layers but the eggs are small but delicious.
They have feathers sticking out all over the place like they got the fright of thier life
Post by: tones_swag on April 21, 2015, 08:14:54 PM
I have 4 chooks in my backyard (700sqm block). I built my own coop loosely using plans from this site - http://www.sbs.com.au/shows/costa/tab-listings/detail/i/1/article/6947/Chicken-Coop-Plans-and-Details (http://www.sbs.com.au/shows/costa/tab-listings/detail/i/1/article/6947/Chicken-Coop-Plans-and-Details)

Because I had a smallish yard, I too raised my coop which allows a bit more space for the chooks to roam around. Had them for 6 or so months and have been pretty happy to have them. Kids love collecting the eggs and most days we get 3 eggs. With 3 boys, they make great snacks. We initially collected heaps of egg cartons thinking we would be giving a lot of eggs away, but that hasn't been the case.

Only issue I have with the free range is I got a bit tired of the chook poo all over the place and they kick leaves up and out from under the hedges, making my freshly cut lawn looking scrappy within the hour. So I have left them in the coop for longer periods, the only downside being they need more food.

I enjoyed building my coop. Took a few weekends and even with a fair bit of recycled material, I still spent probably $500 odd before the chooks, feeders, food etc.

I do enjoy watching the chooks. Definite pecking order and they get relaxed around you pretty fast.

Good luck and enjoy.
Post by: Dingo0163 on April 22, 2015, 02:13:30 PM
I had to notice this post today , didn't i. I was in town getting the car serviced and the missus rang me. She found five of her old girls in the paddock with their heads chewed off. Lucky they were the " house chooks " as she breeds others and pays up to $60 for one chook. The wire has boon chewed on one yard , the other four yards are fine. Guess who will be sitting outside tonight with the shot gun and spotlight.  >:(
Post by: tk421 on April 22, 2015, 02:32:35 PM
I had to notice this post today , didn't i. I was in town getting the car serviced and the missus rang me. She found five of her old girls in the paddock with their heads chewed off. Lucky they were the " house chooks " as she breeds others and pays up to $60 for one chook. The wire has boon chewed on one yard , the other four yards are fine. Guess who will be sitting outside tonight with the shot gun and spotlight.  >:(

Sad news. My dad lost his 2 polish and 3 silky bantams in one night to a fox. Made a proper mess of the coop. He didn't have the heart to start again.
Post by: Dingo0163 on April 22, 2015, 02:46:08 PM
It's real sad , I was going to have a few coldies tonight since I've got tomorrow off. It looks like I'm on the coffee now since I'll have the bang stick.  :'(
Post by: Green rv on April 22, 2015, 03:06:40 PM
i had 3 chooks a few years ago now on a 600sq block used to let them out a lot and they did make a mess everywhere
down sides are the rodents they bring in (not a big problem.)
only good layers for about 2-3 years i think the ones i had were rhoad island reds (mate i give them to said they tasted good)

other than that the kids loved them and the eggs were great

after looking at your link the taj mahal looks awesome, maybe even enough to start again

thanks for the inspiration

Ads
Post by: graham on April 26, 2015, 07:19:13 PM
How did you go go with the chookens GG , I went down and grabbed a couple of layers that have come from a egg farm  $5.00 each that seem alright , a year old , ready for KFC  , bit barren on a few feathers , but have been assured they will fluff back up , seem happy , don't think they have been de beaked , only because I haven't looked /paid attention . And I haven't heard the chooks having a go at them
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 26, 2015, 07:50:29 PM
Making purchases this week if I get a chance, set up the accommodation and then purchase a couple of happy layers.

Post by: Zilch on April 27, 2015, 07:32:57 PM
Brother in law lives on the outskirts of Mackay in North QLD (ish) and has a few chooks, as he is nigh on rural,
surrounded by canefields etc. they attract snakes due to the influx of rodents who are after the
feed/hay/straw etc, He has lost a few to eastern browns/Taipans, kicked their mortal coil after being bit..
he has some footage of an Eastern Brown Bar steward taking out a rat about 5 metres from pen :) so depending on
where you live you may want to consider if they would attract any real nasties.. especially if you are rural
Post by: Mik01 on April 27, 2015, 08:06:04 PM

Shame. We have lost about 5 chooks and 3 full grown Peking Ducks to a fox also. Now they are all locked up every night and the pen has reinforced wire into the ground to prevent digging under.
Local council will lay traps, but I have a border collie pup who I would have to chain up night and day to prevent her getting caught. And I'm not ready for that yet.
Your council might trap them for free?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 27, 2015, 08:19:50 PM
We are rural but have not seen a snake since we have moved in. Foxes are about but my local one crossed the road once too often the other month and became part of the pavement. Will see how it goes.

Ordered the Taj today and even went with the auto door unit.

Post by: Green rv on April 28, 2015, 02:22:55 PM
the taj is pretty hard to pass at $499
i have the ok to get one too will have to wait a few weeks for funds though
thanks GG for the hard work of finding a good unit

Ads
Post by: graham on April 28, 2015, 06:31:44 PM
Home grown eggs , poached on a bit of toast,on the weekend, pretty good
Hopefully someone may know the answer to this question , a mate and I have brought Isa Browns from the same place , but at different times , my eggs 70grams plus , his would only be 50 or less , is it the feed , or am I talented , even when I didn't have chooks I brought big eggs so these look like normal eggs to me , but he is right his eggs are around two thirds the size , same sized birds too
Let the chookens dine on a bit of grass /greenery every so often , improves the yolk or the colour of the yolk I've been led to believe , let them out late arvo ,and as the sun disappears they will head home , mine do ,saves you looking like a idiot trying to herd cats into a pool , let nature take it course
Be careful of the kids though , mine seem to think the chooks like the same TV shows they do , yep on the couch with the kids watching telly , wonder why I'm bald
They are entertaing though
Post by: tk421 on April 28, 2015, 06:44:48 PM
Chooks on your lounge?  You need some of these. Chook nappies

http://www.pamperyourpoultry.com/diapers (http://www.pamperyourpoultry.com/diapers)
Post by: Dingo0163 on April 28, 2015, 07:28:45 PM
Home grown eggs , poached on a bit of toast,on the weekend, pretty good
Hopefully someone may know the answer to this question , a mate and I have brought Isa Browns from the same place , but at different times , my eggs 70grams plus , his would only be 50 or less , is it the feed , or am I talented , even when I didn't have chooks I brought big eggs so these look like normal eggs to me , but he is right his eggs are around two thirds the size , same sized birds too
Let the chookens dine on a bit of grass /greenery every so often , improves the yolk or the colour of the yolk I've been led to believe , let them out late arvo ,and as the sun disappears they will head home , mine do ,saves you looking like a idiot trying to herd cats into a pool , let nature take it course
Be careful of the kids though , mine seem to think the chooks like the same TV shows they do , yep on the couch with the kids watching telly , wonder why I'm bald
They are entertaing though

It is true that greens will make the yolks richer. If your mates chooks are pullets ( first year layers ) and yours are second year , your eggs will be larger. The down side is the older the chooks are the more egg production drops.  :D
Post by: tk421 on April 28, 2015, 10:05:12 PM
Yeah nothing like that green yolk.  When we let ours free range a lot more, the eggs were unreal. No need for an egg ring with fresh eggs too. Don't do that spreading like the store bought eggs.

We had some tradies here for a week or two (city born and bred), blew their minds when I gave them an egg one of the ladies had just laid as it was still at body temperature. They we even happier when we cooked up some same day eggs for them. LOL
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 30, 2015, 07:03:51 PM
Taj turned up today, 4 boxes plat packed and a drum full of starter pack goodies and the remote timer door. Will try and get it together on the weekend. Pics to follow

Post by: graham on May 02, 2015, 04:35:44 PM
Chooks on your lounge?  You need some of these. Chook nappies

http://www.pamperyourpoultry.com/diapers (http://www.pamperyourpoultry.com/diapers)

Well there you go , my life is complete I don't what is sadder ,someone has made these,or that they think there is a market for them  at $17.00 a pop inc delivery
Post by: muzza01 on May 02, 2015, 04:44:34 PM
Taj turned up today, 4 boxes plat packed and a drum full of starter pack goodies and the remote timer door. Will try and get it together on the weekend. Pics to follow

How is it all going? Pics?
Post by: muzza01 on May 02, 2015, 04:48:31 PM
We aquired to more chickens on Tuesday. Don't know where they came from but two chickens waiting outside my back fence wanting to come in. None of the neighbours have chooks. So we now have 13.
Post by: smartyingreen on May 02, 2015, 06:47:50 PM

We aquired to more chickens on Tuesday. Don't know where they came from but two chickens waiting outside my back fence wanting to come in. None of the neighbours have chooks. So we now have 13.

Dinner! Well at least two nights.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 09, 2015, 09:19:10 PM
A bit of an update. Got the Taj last week and put it together, an easy job and looks good. Its probably smaller than I thought but will do the job fine. Kids and I gave it an oil the other day and it looks great, ready for any Melbourne weather.

Today went down and set ot the chook run, 6 x 12m square. Put in some treated pine fence posts and corner units and need nowm6to get it all wired up ready for the new tenants.

Will put up some pics soon

Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 25, 2015, 08:21:31 PM
So I have been a little busy with work and other projects. Taj is all together and got a coat of deck sealer. Have fenced in a run around 8 x 6 meters with the wire dug into the ground to hopefully stop the foxes getting in. If I get a chance will see if we can get some lodges this week. Not many around at the moment but might try these guys

http://craigsfarm.com.au/ (http://craigsfarm.com.au/)

Post by: Black Diamond on June 25, 2015, 08:46:54 PM
You have been hanging around with Rich too much  ;D
Post by: #jonesy on June 26, 2015, 05:31:37 PM
In the process of building one at the moment. Just making it up as I go along.

Also noticed that availability of chickens at the moment in Melbourne is a bit scarce. The kids want at least one Silkie.
Post by: kizza1 on June 26, 2015, 08:42:30 PM
ask at a local kindy as they have mobs that bring in hatcheries and then have to off load the chickens when they hatch
Post by: #jonesy on June 26, 2015, 10:30:42 PM
There's a few places that have the normal commercial breeds, but the hardest ones to find are the special breeds.
The problem with getting chickens from kinder is the need to keep them warm who h is easy enough but a lot of effort for a few chooks.

I am still about a month off being ready so the new breeding season hopefully will be on time.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 27, 2015, 05:10:10 PM
Four chooks roosting in the Taj tonight, wil get some pics tomorrow

Post by: kizza1 on June 27, 2015, 07:49:14 PM
for some reason i read that as four chooks roasting. ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 27, 2015, 09:52:12 PM
for some reason i read that as four chooks roasting. ;D

Not quite yet, I will give them a chance to lay

Post by: speewa158 on June 28, 2015, 08:21:55 AM
Well there you go , my life is complete I don't what is sadder ,someone has made these,or that they think there is a market for them  at $17.00 a pop inc delivery

You mean to tell us the " Chooks " don't have Foxtel in the coup ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,& have to share with the kids    ,,,,,,,,,,,, lm going to put you in to PETA, RSPCA & anybody that will listen to me . All they can do now is snuggle down in their electric blankets ,, they do have that at least  ??? ??? ???                                                :cheers:
Post by: graham on June 28, 2015, 02:52:58 PM
Nah no foxtel in the coop Speewa ,the spilt system heater fills up one wall , the jacuzzi fills up another side ,big window on the other side ,leaving the door on the last side
If they start laying I may think about one out in their alfresco area
Bugger it ,if they ask for foxtel I will install it ,but only if they ask
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 29, 2015, 07:11:45 AM
A quick shot of the Taj and run

(http://i1249.photobucket.com/albums/hh502/GGPatrol/Mobile%20Uploads/20150628_143128_zpscpcebxde.jpg) (http://s1249.photobucket.com/user/GGPatrol/media/Mobile%20Uploads/20150628_143128_zpscpcebxde.jpg.html)

Post by: Black Diamond on June 29, 2015, 08:21:13 AM
A quick shot of the Taj and run

(http://i1249.photobucket.com/albums/hh502/GGPatrol/Mobile%20Uploads/20150628_143128_zpscpcebxde.jpg) (http://s1249.photobucket.com/user/GGPatrol/media/Mobile%20Uploads/20150628_143128_zpscpcebxde.jpg.html)

Hehe nice one. Declan's smile says he aprroves the new dwelling ;D
Post by: Fizzie on June 30, 2015, 01:18:58 PM

No, no, you've got it wrong.

The compound is supposed to be for the chooks, not the kids :D

Besides, that fence is nothing like high enough - kid's will be able to climb out to easy  :D
Post by: dales133 on June 30, 2015, 02:23:25 PM
Farmers or weekend markets are a good place to pick up chooks.
There's a guy at vic market close to the dunnys by the back car park that has chooks and ducks too
Post by: graham on July 02, 2015, 06:06:07 PM
GG how is the egg production line going . Eggs yet , mine have just started laying again this week
Thought there may of been a few chicken dinners happening soon, but they seem to be producing again
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 02, 2015, 07:12:31 PM
No eggs big fella. Ours are only 14 weeks old. So should be a month or so. Will be clipping wings this weekend and letting them into the bigger run

Post by: muzza01 on July 03, 2015, 05:11:39 AM
No eggs big fella. Ours are only 14 weeks old. So should be a month or so. Will be clipping wings this weekend and letting them into the bigger run

Just clip one wing GG. If you clip both they can still get airborne. One wing makes them unbalanced straight away and they stop flapping.  In time they all settle down and don't want to leave  :D. We havnt needed to clip ours for a couple of years.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 03, 2015, 06:38:17 AM
Just clip one wing GG. If you clip both they can still get airborne. One wing makes them unbalanced straight away and they stop flapping.  In time they all settle down and don't want to leave  :D. We havnt needed to clip ours for a couple of years.

Cheers Muzza, that was the plan although some of the sites out there still talk about both

Post by: graham on July 14, 2015, 06:50:44 PM
GG how do you plan on the water supply for the egg bearing monkeys
A water bowl is a constant washing out item ,
But you are in luck and I wish I had of been smarter and grabbed a couple on the weekend , to five to you .But I do have I my possession, drinking  things for chooks
I brought a few thinking that their use by date would be limited ,nope I was wrong
I run mine of a plastic jerry 20ltrs ,then thru a bit of hose  to the drinky bit ,works a treat
If you would like one ,send us a pm mate 
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 15, 2015, 06:41:54 AM
But you are in luck and I wish I had of been smarter and grabbed a couple on the weekend , to five to you .But I do have I my possession, drinking  things for chooks
I brought a few thinking that their use by date would be limited ,nope I was wrong
I run mine of a plastic jerry 20ltrs ,then thru a bit of hose  to the drinky bit ,works a treat

Thanks mate, PM sent

Post by: muzza01 on July 15, 2015, 02:37:15 PM
Any pics?
Post by: tk421 on July 15, 2015, 03:28:18 PM
This is what we use for water....

http://citychicks.com.au/products/704/ (http://citychicks.com.au/products/704/)

You can get the drink nipples as standalones. Wouldn't be too hard to make your own drinker

http://citychicks.com.au/products/585/ (http://citychicks.com.au/products/585/)

Post by: #jonesy on July 15, 2015, 05:54:49 PM
I got these off ebay
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/181780775465?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/181780775465?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)

My build has slowed down a bit with the crap weather
Post by: muzza01 on July 16, 2015, 06:08:51 AM
I got these off ebay
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/181780775465?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/181780775465?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT)

My build has slowed down a bit with the crap weather

Thanks for that. Just bought some.
Post by: tk421 on July 16, 2015, 09:03:56 AM

What breeds did you get? I've never bothered with the bigger breeds like ISA/Australorp. I find them just too big and heavy to go high or far and I feel it gives them a bit of a chance against the local cats. (Though unshelled nuts from our macadamia tree fired from a catapault have driven most of those off now)

Bantams on the other hand...
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 16, 2015, 11:21:39 AM
What breeds did you get?

Bantams on the other hand...

Isa brown cross with some other breeds that make good layers.

Post by: tk421 on July 16, 2015, 12:30:31 PM
Isa brown cross with some other breeds that make good layers.

Nice. Our ISA's pumped out almost an egg a day each. (about 200-300/year per bird) for about 3 years then they went on strike. With 4 chooks that was a lot of eggs. We've now got 2 pure Australorps that we've had since 1 week old and there's no way the kids will let us put them in the stock pot even though they're hardly producing now :)
Post by: #jonesy on July 16, 2015, 10:01:57 PM
What is everyone's "retirement " plans for their hens
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 17, 2015, 07:05:13 AM
What is everyone's "retirement " plans for their hens

One of ours is called Colonel  ;D

Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 22, 2015, 09:02:48 AM

Big thanks to Graham, package turned up in the post yesterday. Just need to sort out some tubing and the water will be on mass for them

Post by: #jonesy on July 22, 2015, 09:24:26 PM
Are these the drink things you have graham

Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 23, 2015, 06:46:22 AM
Are these the drink things you have graham

That's what he has, I got one off him  :cheers:

Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 23, 2015, 06:49:40 AM
Get home at Dusk last night and the family are still out at sports, the chook run is adjacent the cruisers home and I always have a look how they are going when I get home and find due to the heavy winds a huge branch has come down and taken out the fence, bugger!!

All chooks though are accounted for and tucked up in their Taj. Fencing at night is a pain, not too sure if they had had an adventure outside their run but at least they were all safe and sound

Now start laying some eggs  ;D

Post by: muzza01 on July 23, 2015, 06:27:59 PM
Here are my feeders. Keeps the seed mix fresh, automatically feeds and cuts down on waste.
My water drink nipples haven't turned up yet but I have a plan on how I will make a couple of waterers out of PVC also.

These feeders are quite simple. Length 600mm of 100mm stormwater, 100mm end cap, 150mm end cap for the bowl and a cheap handle on top.

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsxznim0kd.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsdudyk4jl.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps1zjtuu5p.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsjnv4nszr.jpg)
Post by: jayjay on August 04, 2015, 08:03:44 PM
Nice set -up!
We are in process of organising our version of chook TajMahal -er- backpackers hostel -;D, where we have fenced and netted a corner of our yard, and will be roofing a part of it with used laserlite, and installing some nesting boxes and a perch. My question is this- what do people suggest I use on the ground?? As chooks have a tendency to scratch - and scratch- I can envisage it will be in time, eroded to be a dust bowl or mudpie- dependent on weather. Don't want to free-range them into my vege patch or have them tear up the rest of the lawn.
Post by: #jonesy on August 04, 2015, 09:17:17 PM
Mine will start with 3 inches of mulch. I laid it on the garden bed before I decided to build a chook shed. I'll just shovel it up from the bottom of the hill yo the top every now and again.

Not far off now.  Just need a roof and mesh and gates and s few more trimmings.
Post by: muzza01 on August 04, 2015, 11:50:40 PM
Nice set -up!
We are in process of organising our version of chook TajMahal -er- backpackers hostel -;D, where we have fenced and netted a corner of our yard, and will be roofing a part of it with used laserlite, and installing some nesting boxes and a perch. My question is this- what do people suggest I use on the ground?? As chooks have a tendency to scratch - and scratch- I can envisage it will be in time, eroded to be a dust bowl or mudpie- dependent on weather. Don't want to free-range them into my vege patch or have them tear up the rest of the lawn.

I used to put down fine mulch in the floor area. This worked Ok in our dry season but was smelly and unhygienic in the wet season.  It might work ok in Melbourne.

For the last few years we put sand in the bottom. It's easy to clean when they Shit everywhere as you just hose it down and the crap disappears. Excellent in the FNQ wet season as it doesn't turn in to a quagmire with the sand.
Post by: heath74 on August 22, 2015, 08:04:55 PM
After a few years of thinking and going to, I finally found some time and a lull in kids sport!

While I had a few building materials in stock, in the end I went with one of these,

http://www.ezysales.com.au/p/large-chicken-coop-rabbit-hutch-ferret-cage-hen-ch/CH009_H (http://www.ezysales.com.au/p/large-chicken-coop-rabbit-hutch-ferret-cage-hen-ch/CH009_H)

It came together nice and square, not sure about the life span though. The girls are in and sleeping, one on the ground and one in the roost, I'll put up some pics tomorrow
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 22, 2015, 08:39:51 PM
Looks great, upgraded the nesting box material in readiness for some eggs today, they better lay soon. Also had some spare grass rolls left over at work the other day so rolled them out in the run as well, will see how it goes. Also got some new food today that has the highest protein count to trick there metabolism and make them lay

Post by: tk421 on August 23, 2015, 09:37:40 AM
Ours have been off the lay over winter, they're just starting to prod use again. They're getting on a bit so wasn't expecting much but we've had 5 in 6 days
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 23, 2015, 01:18:18 PM
Along the lines of Muzza's feeders, we use these for waterers. The curved bottom ones are the better of the 2, and are much easier to clean out. Because I already had some 90mm stormwater pipe they cost less than $10 each. Gotta make sure the joints are all airtight or they won't work, the water will drain out.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 02, 2015, 04:40:38 PM
One of my chickens has finally done its job. Lucky for them as its Declans birthday on Saturday and the spit roast was coming out

Post by: jmorgan1981 on September 03, 2015, 08:45:25 AM
I have been watching this thread and we are thinking of going down the chicken as pets line. Most likely 2.

The water and feed stations that have been built look great  :cup:. I was just wondering about how long can you leave the chooks when you go away?

I get the eggs need to be collected regularly, but could they last a week or so with the food and water setup you guys have used.

With no family within 1000km we could get the neighbors to grab the eggs but I would feel bad asking them to clean out the coop etc.
Post by: tk421 on September 03, 2015, 09:21:18 AM
I have been watching this thread and we are thinking of going down the chicken as pets line. Most likely 2.

The water and feed stations that have been built look great  :cup:. I was just wondering about how long can you leave the chooks when you go away?

I get the eggs need to be collected regularly, but could they last a week or so with the food and water setup you guys have used.

With no family within 1000km we could get the neighbors to grab the eggs but I would feel bad asking them to clean out the coop etc.

Food and water are your biggest issue. If you're getting neighbours to check eggs it's not much more effort to check water and feed. We use a large  cone style commercial feeder that holds 15kg of food. We can do two weeks without worrying. But our neighbours just top up as needed. Feed lives in a big bin with lid by the coop door when we are away.

I wouldn't worry about cleaning the coop for 2-3 weeks but ours have a 4mx6m run
Post by: Troopy_03 on September 04, 2015, 08:18:32 AM
Same with us. Although our waterers and food container could easily last a week, we always get a neighbour to check them at least a couple of times during that week, just in case. Neighbours are usually pretty happy getting free eggs too for their effort. We also tell them to help themselves to any veggies from the garden that are in season as well.
Post by: jmorgan1981 on September 04, 2015, 08:50:54 AM
Food and water are your biggest issue. If you're getting neighbours to check eggs it's not much more effort to check water and feed. We use a large  cone style commercial feeder that holds 15kg of food. We can do two weeks without worrying. But our neighbours just top up as needed. Feed lives in a big bin with lid by the coop door when we are away.
I wouldn't worry about cleaning the coop for 2-3 weeks but ours have a 4mx6m run

Same with us. Although our waterers and food container could easily last a week, we always get a neighbour to check them at least a couple of times during that week, just in case. Neighbours are usually pretty happy getting free eggs too for their effort. We also tell them to help themselves to any veggies from the garden that are in season as well.

Thanks guys will look onto it more
Post by: dales133 on September 04, 2015, 09:24:34 AM
(http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/09/03/f3f3eef664f1baa51c942fd23415c4ea.jpg)
Post by: muzza01 on September 07, 2015, 06:11:17 PM
OK, made up these chicken watering feeders about a month ago.  I thought I would give them a good trial before reviewing.  I made these out of 100mm and 50mm PVC.  It is a pretty basic setup, length of 100mm, end cap for 100mm, 100mm/50mm T section, small lengths of 50mm, 50mm end caps and of course the chicken nipples.

I mounted them with 100mm standout brackets and used a bit of rubber anti-slip as these hold about 10 liters each so when full of water these things weigh about 11 kgs.

The chickens are using the nipples OK, sometimes the nipples leak a little bit after a chicken has been drinking but the leak rate is very very minor.  We check the water every few days and the 11 chickens drink about 1-2 litres out of each container over that period.  Temps here are around 20-30 degrees ATM.

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/image.jpg1_zpsnur8jhhb.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/image.jpg2_zpsnozdcwip.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 07, 2015, 06:13:32 PM
My chickens got a little stressed on Saturday, we had the Auspit going over the open fire in the paddock adjacent their run with 4 chooks going round and round.

Still only have one layer at the moment out of the four, getting one egg a day

Post by: scarpsD40 on September 07, 2015, 06:15:55 PM

Put a large screen tv in their roost with episodes of the batchelor. That'll get them laying. Or so I'm told;D
Post by: muzza01 on September 07, 2015, 06:23:40 PM
Put a large screen tv in their roost with episodes of the batchelor. That'll get them laying. Or so I'm told;D
I have a large screen tele in my bedroom, hasnt helped me too much in the laying.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 07, 2015, 06:24:19 PM
I have a large screen tele in my bedroom, hasnt helped me too much in the laying.

Might have to change channels  >:D or hens  ;D

Post by: scarpsD40 on September 07, 2015, 06:26:37 PM
Might have to change channels  >:D or hens  ;D

yep, there's a new forum thread right there, what tv shows makes your hens lay? Anything but politics.......
Post by: Bad Scott on September 07, 2015, 07:11:59 PM
My chickens got a little stressed on Saturday, we had the Auspit going over the open fire in the paddock adjacent their run with 4 chooks going round and round.

Maybe 3 of em are red roosters
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 09, 2015, 06:28:05 PM
Chickens are go. 4 eggs per day so they are all underway. Kids are happy and the cake rations have gone up so we can use them up

Post by: D4D on October 09, 2015, 06:47:11 PM
Now all you need is some pigs and the next Farkaway meet will have fresh breakfast :)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 09, 2015, 07:22:27 PM
Now all you need is some pigs and the next Farkaway meet will have fresh breakfast :)

There is a story to go with it and it will come in the trip report when I get some time to put it all together

Post by: scarpsD40 on October 09, 2015, 08:12:44 PM
Think my chickens may have flown the coup, so to say
Post by: Troopy_03 on October 11, 2015, 06:11:18 PM
Chickens are go. 4 eggs per day so they are all underway. Kids are happy and the cake rations have gone up so we can use them up

Get yourself a duck. I just checked her pen for eggs today, and because I have been a bit busy and haven't checked since last weekend there were 10 duck eggs in the nesting box. She's been pulling double shifts on at least a few days. Must be all the grubs she's been eating form the garden beds I just pulled out and rebuilt.
Post by: tk421 on October 12, 2015, 08:48:12 AM
Back home after two weeks away to find ZERO eggs from our two ladies.  Turns out our neighbours have been fighting over the eggs whilst we were away (all in a good natured friendly way)...   Long story short, we ask them to 'keep an eye on the chickens' and keep any eggs you find. Apparently the 3 of them have all been checking 2-3 times a day.
Post by: #jonesy on November 08, 2015, 03:11:52 PM
Finally finished the coupe a bit over a week ago.
In with 6 new chickens today.
Turned out my niece and her husband breeds chickens!!
Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 27, 2016, 04:51:14 PM
A bit of an update, 4 chickens are still all doing great. 3-4 eggs per day and the Taj is keeping them nice and safe.

Upgraded the feeder as we were feeding all the local birds to a security version which they need to step on to feed which has worked great- http://www.chooktred.com.au/Chooktred/Welcome.html (http://www.chooktred.com.au/Chooktred/Welcome.html)

Hope all other chooks are still laying

Post by: #jonesy on February 27, 2016, 05:27:33 PM
Mine are all finally laying. 2 small 2 medium and 2 larger eggs is the maximum we get a day. On average it is about 4-5 a day
Post by: 2010banditsa on February 27, 2016, 08:50:43 PM
My missus has diversified into ducks- great tasting and the eggs are good too. We have around 11 chooks, 3 ducks , 4 ducklings and 12 eggs currently being sat on. The drake gives the ducks a fair hammering, casanova he aint.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 01, 2016, 10:33:59 AM
We lost a chook the other month, just got sick one day and was not going to recover so I fixed her up. Went and got another two Isa Browns and they have fitted right in

The chooks used to put themselves to bed every night but of late they have been roosting outside in the open, when its going to rain I put them away and luckily the local fox's have not visited. Still getting a great number of eggs and the friends and neighbours are happy with a few now and then

Post by: #jonesy on June 02, 2016, 09:30:01 PM
My 6 have slowed down and only getting 3 a day. Small medium and large. The middle one is the supermarket size.
The Silkies keep going clucky every month or so. So it goes in solitary for a few days. A 1 x 1.5m cage with only a perch and nowhere to next. 2 days and they are cured. Seems a bit cruel but gets the quickest result which is better for their health. I did try all the other methods.

One of the Isa Browns learnt how to peck a small hole in the eggs and suck out the contents. She didn't eat the shell and left only a small hole. We were losing one or two a day. Tried golf balls as a decoy and a sloping next box so the eggs rolled out of each. Once I figured out who it was I suggested a roast dinner but the kids wouldn't let me. So a few weeks in solitary didn't work. A last chance effort was to file a bit of the beak to get rid of the sharp point.  Luckily this worked.
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 02, 2016, 09:39:04 PM
my 10 chooks and one duck have been on strike for about 6 weeks... Actually I think a couple are past it anyway, but I'm not allowed to lop off their heads. Might just leave the axe leaning up against the chook pen for a couple of days though  >:D
Post by: Woore on June 02, 2016, 09:45:20 PM
Worth giving these girls a hand if you can, I'm getting a couple soon to add to my 7 girls, theyre still layers too, no doubt they need a break!

http://greendean.com.au/the-kfc-project/ (http://greendean.com.au/the-kfc-project/)
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 02, 2016, 09:45:29 PM
my 10 chooks and one duck have been on strike for about 6 weeks... Actually I think a couple are past it anyway, but I'm not allowed to lop off their heads. Might just leave the axe leaning up against the chook pen for a couple of days though  >:D
Shoot one, then watch how quickly the rest start laying.
Post by: jayjay on June 03, 2016, 04:48:52 AM

Menopausal/ geriatric  chooks are a problem- especially in the suburbs. Don't know about anyone else, but I am not particularly interested in feeding geriatric chooks that don't provide a return on investment for the feed I pay for! Just out of interest, how do others in the suburbs, dispose/despatch of chooks that have past their use-by date?
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 03, 2016, 06:32:11 AM
Menopausal/ geriatric  chooks are a problem- especially in the suburbs. Don't know about anyone else, but I am not particularly interested in feeding geriatric chooks that don't provide a return on investment for the feed I pay for! Just out of interest, how do others in the suburbs, dispose/despatch of chooks that have past their use-by date?
Send them to Wed arvo bingo! I've seen amazing results.
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 03, 2016, 08:58:47 AM
Send them to Wed arvo bingo! I've seen amazing results.
Haha, when I was a kid, my old man used to do that. He'd get us to knock off their heads, pluck and clean them, then he'd take them to the pub on a saturday morning and raffle them off. But he never went to the same pub again, too soon after a raffle.  ;D
Post by: tk421 on June 03, 2016, 12:43:10 PM

Natural death or my kids would never let me forget..  I let ours out to free range, so they perform pest control. Keeps the slugs and snails down, and fertilise the garden, so I see that as return on investment.
Post by: Fox67 on June 03, 2016, 08:57:38 PM
We haven't had an egg from our 5 chooks for two weeks now, very frustrating. They are about 18 months old and seem to be going through a heavy malt stage, feathers grow back fairly quickly though.
Post by: tk421 on June 03, 2016, 09:35:08 PM
We haven't had an egg from our 5 chooks for two weeks now, very frustrating. They are about 18 months old and seem to be going through a heavy malt stage, feathers grow back fairly quickly though.

No eggs whilst they're molting is normal. Just feed them decent food. All their energy is going into making new feathers
Post by: #jonesy on June 04, 2016, 07:28:22 AM
I forgot to add the photo the other day.
The middle egg is the supermarket size.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 02, 2016, 07:18:32 PM
Scratch 1 chicken. Mr fox was hungry and one of the chickens decided that the coup was too full at night so she decided to roost outside the fence. Bad choice

All others are doing well and have dealt with the trauma well. So did the kids

Post by: SambOz on December 03, 2016, 08:11:21 AM
We have get various chooks over the years. Best are Isa Browns, very quiet and good layers but very important is not to keep them over 2, very maximum 3 laying seasons - our experience.

Reasons - they drop off laying (numbers of eggs) after first season and by third are getting egg bound etc etc.
You feed as much feed($) to a poor layer as a good one, might as well feed a good layer.

Bantams will go clucky every five minutes, we didn't keep them unless a breeding program was on the cards and had a rooster.

Best eggs ever  ;D

edit..meant to add, if your chooks are laying all around the place it will be because the nesting boxs aren't suitable, IME they like darker well enclosed protected nesting boxs.
Post by: Paddler Ed on December 03, 2016, 12:27:54 PM
Mate has managed to get all of his kids/family involved in chook shows... some have done very well over the years ($$$ as prizes, and the birds are worth a bit)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13699987_1202914606417756_202253484562620264_n.jpg?oh=a2aea66a233e51eee1e355967f61504e&oe=58B44C57)

Some of his families birds:
(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/10336764_833982023296656_6748482539938669639_n.jpg?oh=70c6c8d07db6db0786ccffd20ca6365b&oe=58F8A3FC)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/10254999_833979433296915_3140095354376871664_n.jpg?oh=7dfa6b3e7da0ded770d972068ae76d56&oe=58F4111F)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/549518_482927135068815_2084069447_n.jpg?oh=21c6e7fee3f892e07a991b88f2b29c6f&oe=58BA0028)
Post by: tracker on December 03, 2016, 01:36:23 PM
Chooks look great when covered in gravy....and roast spuds...... >:D >:D
Post by: SambOz on December 03, 2016, 03:39:24 PM
Nice chooks Ed, who can argue tracker.......... ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 15, 2016, 05:58:31 AM
Bloody foxes

Now dont need anyone to look after the chickens while we are away over christmas. Buggers didnt go away the other night and we lost all 4 in one night. For 18 months we have had no problems, looks like a new fox family has moved into our area. Might be time to get the 22 down from up home

Next job when we get home is to build a new pen fully enclosed and stock with a new flock.

Post by: D4D on December 15, 2016, 06:17:52 AM
Bugger, pretty upsetting for the kids. Sounds like time for the 'Harfa Sniper' to come out to play.
Post by: britts on December 15, 2016, 08:00:11 AM
Fox pups are out of the dens in the last month or so,

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Post by: GGV8Cruza on February 04, 2017, 06:02:03 PM
Took the plunge today and went and picked up 4 new chooks. Will get them used to the Taj for sleeping quaters for the next week prior to release into the daytime larger run.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170204/d4076fe47d64c362d672ab4a756e4693.jpg)

We must of got a good one because after 3 hours of being in its new home we get our first egg.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 06, 2017, 06:17:35 PM
Not having a good run with our chooks. The only one that was laying decided to have a long rest and it was a really friendly chook.

We now have one Isa Brown and a couple of marems

One of the marems is huge. Might have to grab a couple more Isas to equal out the pecking order

Post by: Bad Scott on April 06, 2017, 06:25:41 PM
Not having a good run with our chooks.

Did you call any kanTong, KFC, Sunday, Red, etc  ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 06, 2017, 06:36:51 PM
I have had

Colonel
Kebab
Chip

Maybe thats the problem, next one i might call Gertrude😀

Post by: Troopy_03 on April 06, 2017, 08:29:52 PM
Not having a good run with our chooks. The only one that was laying decided to have a long rest and it was a really friendly chook.

We now have one Isa Brown and a couple of marems

One of the marems is huge. Might have to grab a couple more Isas to equal out the pecking order

Is that the one on the right at the back? It looks very roosterish...  ;D

Actually, we have a hen that looks more like a rooster than a hen. It has a larger comb, prominent tail feathers, and spurs on it's legs, but it lays eggs and doesn't crow... weird looking thing..
Post by: ScarpsD40 on April 06, 2017, 08:59:52 PM
GG went to a local bar the other night, sat next to a woman, and ordered a glass of champagne. The woman perks up and says, "How about that? I just ordered a glass of champagne, too! "
"What a coincidence," GG said, "This is a special day for me, I'm celebrating."
"This is a special day for me, too, and I'm also celebrating!," says the woman.
"What a coincidence," says GG. As they clinked glasses GG asked, "What are you celebrating?"
The lady says "My husband and I have been trying to have a child, and today my gynaecologist told me I'm pregnant!"
"What a coincidence," says the GG. "I'm a chicken farmer. For years all my hens were infertile, but today they're finally laying fertilized eggs."
"That's great!" says the woman, "How did your chickens become fertile?"
"I switched cocks," GG replied.
She smiled and said, "What a coincidence!":)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 23, 2017, 08:03:47 AM
New chook house to take the local foxes out of play

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170522/005554f5af437c3f7bfc23506b2ac715.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170522/6d206621a29ae1eedae17904de42729c.jpg)

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 23, 2017, 10:01:50 AM
You did put in mesh under the walls?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 23, 2017, 10:33:01 AM
You did put in mesh under the walls?

Sure did, trenched down in front of walls and mesh extends down. Any small off cuts thrown in bottom of trench and then backfilled. Should do the trick

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 23, 2017, 10:56:20 AM
Top stuff.
Foxes don't mind digging.
Some even put a mesh floor in below dirt level for that very reason.
Post by: DannyG on May 23, 2017, 12:10:33 PM
I missed this thread, we have chooks. I dont get too involved in them except for eating the eggs and building the chook house so I cant tell you anything about them  ;D They lay big eggs though.

Post by: Troopy_03 on May 23, 2017, 03:56:55 PM

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170522/005554f5af437c3f7bfc23506b2ac715.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170522/6d206621a29ae1eedae17904de42729c.jpg)

Awesome job there mate, did you use an architect to design it?  :cup:

There's going to be a bit of a shake-up in our chook pen, of 8 chooks and a duck. The youngest would be at least 5 years old, and none are laying any more...
Post by: muzza01 on May 23, 2017, 08:04:14 PM
My 12 chooks are laying about 4-5 eggs per day ATM. Time to hang the hatchet hove the door to remind them who is in charge.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 23, 2017, 08:14:10 PM
Poor chookchook, not nice Muzza.
But then Roast Chicken is still yummo.
Post by: GeoffA on May 23, 2017, 08:16:54 PM

Love it GG... :cup: :cup:

If a job is worth doing, it's worth over-doing..... ;D ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 09, 2017, 07:26:21 PM
So we now have 8 in residence. A fair mix to see what results we get. No eggs of yet but they are only just coming on the lay and the cooler weather does not help.

Still might do a few more additions and extras to the chook shed.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Fathom on June 10, 2017, 05:54:04 AM
Anyone on Brisbane Northside want a free Rooster.
We had two hatch.. can't keep two.
Hand raised. Friendly.
He's a bit bigger since that pic got some nice green in his tail feathers.
He's about 6 months old now.
Free to anyone that doesn't want to cook him.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170609/3c156744ba2fb668bbb8079f241fa947.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on June 10, 2017, 06:25:57 AM
Still might do a few more additions and extras to the chook shed.

Where will it end?...It's already 5 star... :cup:
Post by: DannyG on June 10, 2017, 07:47:01 AM
Love it GG... :cup: :cup:

If a job is worth doing, it's worth over-doing..... ;D ;D

If GG ever gets rid of his hens he can use the framework of the chook shed to lift truck engines or hold up a second story on a house ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 04, 2017, 06:59:04 PM
If GG ever gets rid of his hens he can use the framework of the chook shed to lift truck engines or hold up a second story on a house ;D

Now there's a thought, maybe a second storey lookout for the chooks.

We have some action on the lay at the moment. Two are now laying daily which leaves 6 to get in on the act. No fox action at all but there was one flat pancake one on the road out the front a week or so ago.

Post by: Bird on August 24, 2017, 10:27:44 AM
this is a good use for a dak dak
(https://scontent.fsyd3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19060170_1356122001131954_4891476373097270619_n.jpg?oh=d5ced43e7d0bbf23610cbb5813200318&oe=5A2DF338)
Post by: PWE on August 25, 2017, 11:55:29 AM
I have four years of these panels for free

https://www.bunnings.com.au/whites-1800-x-900mm-framed-panel_p3321125 (https://www.bunnings.com.au/whites-1800-x-900mm-framed-panel_p3321125)

Cost bract me if interested
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 27, 2017, 08:14:12 AM
Chickens are on the lay. Getting 6 a day at the moment. Anyone want some eggs

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170826/4c121657e8b12405bc4f1ab5b9bb2ca9.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: GeoffA on August 27, 2017, 08:16:17 AM
Chickens are on the lay. Getting 6 a day at the moment. Anyone want some eggs

Yes please!! Can you post, or are they pick-up only?
Post by: Pete79 on October 01, 2017, 11:18:16 AM
I had the wife's parents over from  Brazil for a few months recently and the father in law wanted to help with some construction around the place. So we (he) knocked up a nice little coop out of recycled/repurposed materials.
There was a decent sized stump to be removed at the back corner and a bit of cut and fill required, so I did majority of the digging and lifting.
But the retired accountant from a city of 30 million people did a mighty fine job with the rest of it.

He really enjoyed this little project and deserves to be proud of the results.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171001/f15c3859fbfad184a4f363f91a8f486b.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171001/eb684825a25a782dc596ae7298db87d2.jpg)

We picked up the chicks yesterday, we got a bit of a mix.
3 Isa Browns and 3 different Heritage breeds.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171001/0b28ee6e76dad347669fba889a360aa6.jpg)

This one's going to be a nice looking bird....
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171001/1bc61da6945bda4efe35e486464d7384.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171001/56cef6a65eda30a799e009f042304afe.jpg)

Post by: Pete79 on October 01, 2017, 11:20:50 AM
Sorry for all the posts, Tapatalk was playing games with me...
Post by: Pete79 on October 01, 2017, 11:24:44 AM
Post by: Pete79 on October 01, 2017, 11:33:07 AM
Post by: Fizzie on October 01, 2017, 02:04:06 PM
4 identical posts in quick succession ??? - looks like you may be having the same internet issues I am right at the moment Pete ::) :'( >:(
Post by: Pete79 on October 01, 2017, 05:29:50 PM
Make that 5.... :(

It was saying something went wrong, so I tried resizing the images. Still got errors.
Apparently they all went through... ;D
Post by: #jonesy on November 12, 2017, 11:48:16 AM
Use now have 7 adults and 3 chicks, and hopefully a few more
What's left of the original flock
Isa  brown
2 silkies
Buff Orpington

Added in
Pit game
New Hampshire Red
Araucana. (Lays blue coloured eggs)

Put a mix of breeds and cross breed under the Buff Orphington when she went clucky. 3 so far have hatched.

I like having a mixture as each has their own personality even if they aren't the most productive
Post by: #jonesy on September 14, 2018, 10:37:06 PM
Fox cleaned up a few of them a few months ago. 
We have picked up some more along the way and now have the Buff Orphington sitting on a dozen mixed eggs.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 15, 2018, 06:48:39 AM
Ours are doing well at the moment. We have a rat problem which I am working on. May pick up a couple more for the summer to keep the production and neighbours in eggs.

Bloody foxes though, we had one up at the house the other week in the middle of the day walking around the verandah of the house thinking it owned the place.
Post by: #jonesy on September 15, 2018, 08:31:45 AM
First time the fox got then was about 7.30 in the morning. Next time was mid morning. We like to free range a bit so now only when we are home.
Post by: Pete79 on September 24, 2018, 08:42:48 AM
Saw the first ever fox in our area this morning.
Up until now we've had no predators (apart for the magpie that defends her little patch of garden) and our chickens are fully free range, we haven't closed the door on the pen in months.
After seeing the fox about half a km from home this morning the chooks are going to have to get used to being locked up at night again.
Post by: outbackogre on September 24, 2018, 10:48:48 AM
Just saw this post about foxes and thought I'd add my experience.  We do not have chickens, but a healthy looking fox was in our backyard this morning about 9.30.  I tried to take a photo but it was spooked and ran off.  This is in leafy Surrey Hills (about 10km east of Melb CBD).  I wonder what it was looking for?  Perhaps the cat's breakfast leftovers (must be desperate).  ???
Post by: Bunyip on September 24, 2018, 12:33:12 PM
We are lucky that we don't have foxes in Tassie.

We will be getting chooks in the not too distant future.

Post by: Troopy_03 on September 24, 2018, 12:43:21 PM
Just saw this post about foxes and thought I'd add my experience.  We do not have chickens, but a healthy looking fox was in our backyard this morning about 9.30.  I tried to take a photo but it was spooked and ran off.  This is in leafy Surrey Hills (about 10km east of Melb CBD).  I wonder what it was looking for?  Perhaps the cat's breakfast leftovers (must be desperate).  ???

Apparently he isn't on his own eitrher. Check out google for foxes in Melbourne. I remember seeing a docco a few years ago about them too.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on September 24, 2018, 05:31:58 PM
All along the South Eastern Arterial, Monash, they live in the pipes underneath.
You can spot Foxes all the way along right into the Gardens at Government House.
They're resourceful critters, and will eat all sorts of stuff. 
Especially Food scraps unsuitable for human consumption.
Post by: #jonesy on September 25, 2018, 05:14:50 AM
In Melbourne there is up to about 20 per square km.  Not bad for an animal that lives alone.
Supposedly they have also now been introduced into tassie
Post by: GBC on September 25, 2018, 06:35:35 AM
Plenty of them up here in Qld. We used to hunt them in the cane in Hervey Bay as kids. There’s heaps at Brisbane airport, along with some pigs, and even recently some deer must have swam the river from minippi parklands - unless they used the gateway bridge? ;D
There is a huge hare population at the airport so the foxes are pretty happy.
Post by: austastar on September 25, 2018, 11:11:52 AM

ISupposedly they have also now been introduced into tassie

    There have been some reports, but not much substantial evidence. One carcase found, but it's stomach contents suggested it was a planted body. Someone's idea of a joke.
Some millions of $ spent on a fox detection / eradication program with nothing to show for the expense.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: DannyG on September 25, 2018, 11:28:09 AM
We are lucky that we don't have foxes in Tassie.

We will be getting chooks in the not too distant future.

No we have quolls though
Post by: austastar on September 25, 2018, 11:39:17 AM
    A friend with chooks at Weegena solved his quoll problems with a light outside the chook pen overnight.

Post by: WilSurf on September 25, 2018, 02:18:21 PM
We were thinking about having chickens, but the location is an issue.
The shire tells us that the coop needs to be a minimum of 1 meter from any boundary and 9 meters from the house.
Doesn't seems to work at our place.
Post by: Troopy_03 on September 25, 2018, 07:04:51 PM
We were thinking about having chickens, but the location is an issue.
The shire tells us that the coop needs to be a minimum of 1 meter from any boundary and 9 meters from the house.
Doesn't seems to work at our place.

That's probably any dwelling too. So if your neighbour has a house close to any area that satisfies the requirements for your premises, it'll fail because his house is too close.
Post by: WilSurf on September 26, 2018, 02:04:19 PM
This is directly out the Keeping of poultry fact sheet: the poultry shed must be 1 metre from any boundary and 9 meters from any house or street.
Post by: #jonesy on October 03, 2018, 04:07:47 PM
My council requires a permit for more than 25 poultry and 1 rooster. If you need a permit then distances become an issue but if you don't need a permit it doesn't apply.
Post by: #jonesy on October 03, 2018, 04:12:12 PM
Latest hatchings 12 eggs ended up with 7 hatching,  but mum squashed one. Not sure if the breeds as we got  a mix and I forgot to mark the eggs.

and some of the various eggs we get
Post by: #jonesy on January 19, 2019, 12:36:10 PM
Currently have 9 hens and 14 chickens, of which there are at least 4 roosters.
Only getting 2 eggs a day at the moment.
Post by: JamesMac on January 19, 2019, 01:42:15 PM
This is directly out the Keeping of poultry fact sheet: the poultry shed must be 1 metre from any boundary and 9 meters from any house or street.
I have to admit - being in the same local government area as you that I ended up ignoring the rules and building my coop up against the boundary fence - the only time I was sweating on it was when the neighbour (who didn't care about it being there) sold up. Luckily for the me new guy over that fence doesn't care either - the occasional carton of eggs goes a long way...  I also go by the theory that they have better things to worry about than the placement of a well managed yard for 2 chooks!
When I checked with the CoJ my understanding is it was the shed where they sleep that had to be a metre off the boundary, the run outside that shed did not fall under the same restrictions. The pool fence inspector didn't mention anything about the placement of it, only that I needed to cover some of the mesh with something where it is too close to the fence.
Not sure if that helps with the geometry of your place.
Good luck,
JM
Post by: WilSurf on January 19, 2019, 07:09:04 PM
Thanks JM.
Are you in the suburbs or the outer urban area of CoJ?
Post by: JamesMac on January 20, 2019, 11:23:38 AM
In the burbs.
Post by: Hoyks on January 20, 2019, 12:22:33 PM
I had a good laugh at ours the other day.

I threw a hot dog roll out on the lawn and 2 of the chooks launched themselves at it. Shortly after a crow turned up and started stalking towards the roll.

The elsa hen (Dinner) was having none of that, so she chased the crow off and went back to the bun.
Crow stalks in closer and Dinner goes the crow again, crow just hops further away, lured Dinner around 20m away before hopping over her head and going for the roll.
The fat Australorp (Chubchub) sees the crow inbound, is going to have none of that and goes the crow.

From there it was like watching an A grade soccer player subbing into a D grade game. Chubchub and Dinner both launched themselves at the crow who effortlessly dodged and sidestepped the angry chickens, grabbed the whole bun and legged it.
Post by: austastar on January 20, 2019, 01:21:31 PM
    Having caught a large huntsman in a jar, I was taking it out the back to release it in the garden.
As I ejected it from the jar towards the lawn I was aware of a grey blur, inbound , from my left.
Chook met spider at the point of ground contact.
Ooops, sorry spider.

Post by: Pete79 on September 16, 2019, 11:17:17 AM
We escaped the wild dog attacks in our valley a few weeks ago.
My neighbors coop was a mess from that attack.
The neighbor on the other side he got a shot at one of the dogs, but missed it. He reckons it was a big black mongrel, obviously the baiting they’ve been doing up on the ranges lately hasn’t been enough to get the whole pack of ferals.

But sadly for us the cunning little fox got into our place last night and killed our big fat Sussex.
She was so fat he couldn’t drag her back through the little hole he’d managed to squeeze through on my double lined fence.

Had a quick little burial early this morning before the kids saw it half chewed.

We’re down to 4 in our coop now. :(
Post by: rockrat on September 16, 2019, 01:25:09 PM
Not chicken related but yesterday I got a call from my daughter who was home alone. She was in hysterics - the dogs had bailed up a HUGE lizard and she couldn’t get them to stop barking at it.

I wasn’t clear if she was worried about the dogs, the lizard or the fact she couldn’t hear the TV due to the commotion. I asked her to send a photo of the lizard but she said it was huge and she wasn’t going anywhere near it!

Finally arrived home about and hour later to find the dogs (Cavalier King Charles spaniels) dining out on a poor blue tongue lizard which was probably 30cm long but definitely not the Kamodo dragon size she made out it was over the phone.

Post by: Fizzie on March 19, 2020, 02:26:49 PM
& for the latest run on all available supplies! ::)

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-19/backyard-chickens-in-demand-due-to-coronavirus/12068392 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-19/backyard-chickens-in-demand-due-to-coronavirus/12068392)

Wonder what's going to happen with all of them when the panic is over ???
Post by: #jonesy on March 19, 2020, 02:48:56 PM
That's funny, cause my hens are slowing down laying as it starts to cool.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 19, 2020, 03:13:18 PM
& for the latest run on all available supplies! ::)

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-19/backyard-chickens-in-demand-due-to-coronavirus/12068392 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-19/backyard-chickens-in-demand-due-to-coronavirus/12068392)

Wonder what's going to happen with all of them when the panic is over ???

Our local supplier is totally out. Ours are laying great at the moment. 9 in total

Post by: Fizzie on March 19, 2020, 04:53:11 PM
So you're selling eggs at the front gate, & making a killing, GG ??? ;D
Post by: britts on March 19, 2020, 04:58:09 PM
Might have to grab a bag of pellets tomorrow, we currently have 4 and have just dropped back to 2 eggs a day(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200319/1c182e2aa50c9cf7e72ed0ed3aeeffe8.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 19, 2020, 05:40:17 PM
So you're selling eggs at the front gate, & making a killing, GG ??? ;D

Not yet, maybe soon though  ;D

Post by: #jonesy on March 19, 2020, 06:11:41 PM
Not sure what happened with the little egg?
Post by: ronmac on March 20, 2020, 07:05:58 AM
Not sure what happened with the little egg?
Poor thing must have been a virgin.
Post by: WilSurf on April 19, 2020, 07:23:21 PM
Just decided that we want a chicken coop.
What do people who live in the suburbs have?
Post by: Jillsy on April 19, 2020, 09:26:55 PM

I've seen people mesh in old trampoline frames and swing frames?
Post by: WilSurf on April 20, 2020, 11:51:09 AM
That won't work: we don't have a trampoline and it is not following the code.
Post by: Bird on April 20, 2020, 12:09:31 PM
Quote from: WilSurf
check with their councils on regulations - some have rules on teh type of enclosure you need too
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 20, 2020, 12:49:53 PM
We started with a coop from these guys, it was an easy way to start and it has grown since then

https://www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/ (https://www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/)

Post by: Bird on July 02, 2020, 05:01:11 PM
https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/five-children-hospitalised-with-salmonella-linked-to-backyard-chickens-20200702-p558do.html (https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/queensland/five-children-hospitalised-with-salmonella-linked-to-backyard-chickens-20200702-p558do.html)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 16, 2020, 11:06:59 AM
We started with a coop from these guys, it was an easy way to start and it has grown since then

https://www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/ (https://www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/)

Sweet jesus are you keeping chickens or royalty in your back yard looking at some of those coops
Post by: rexy03 on July 16, 2020, 08:55:19 PM
#jonesy

We had the same
Post by: Fizzie on July 24, 2020, 11:17:12 AM
Question for all you chook keepers ...

What do you do (if anything) about cleaning / sterilising the eggs before eating ???

Chatting t'other day & subject of salmonella came up (BiL picked up a dose of it a few years ago via egg salad at a very well known NT establishment ::) :'( >:()

Apparently, all eggs are supposed to be sterilised after being laid to avoid contamination via the shell ???

So what do you do ???
Post by: rexy03 on July 24, 2020, 11:38:59 AM
We just wash them with soap or dish washing liquid. Have not had issue yet.
Post by: Beachman on July 24, 2020, 02:14:03 PM
Do you guys have a problem with rats now that you have chickens??  I know rats are a part of life, but since our neighbours got chickens myself and another neighbour are now seeing rats or hearing our dogs chase the rats during the night.
Post by: #jonesy on July 24, 2020, 09:07:00 PM
I don't wash the eggs, unless covered in poor, and then only wipe with a damp.cloth.  There is a coating on them that protects the eggs. Washing removes it.

I've only had rats a couple of times and put out dirty big traps.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 25, 2020, 06:44:53 AM
Do you guys have a problem with rats now that you have chickens??  I know rats are a part of life, but since our neighbours got chickens myself and another neighbour are now seeing rats or hearing our dogs chase the rats during the night.

We do at times and bait when needed. More in the warmer months

Post by: Fox67 on July 25, 2020, 06:45:50 AM
We don’t wash ours except to wipe off any poo with a damp cloth.

If I think there are any rats around (always some somewhere) I set a trap or carefully select an area to place a bait. Or use them for target practice as I have no close neighbours.
Post by: Wazza999 on July 25, 2020, 01:24:41 PM
I haven't had chickens since leaving home nigh on 50 years ago, but yes chook food and rats went together. That's how I learnt to shoot. Bit of bread as bait, corrugated tin chook house behind, camouflaged under the house air rifle ready. After I'd knocked off a few, a quick whistle to the neighbours Labrador who'd collect them, play with the carcasses then bury them. Simples and simpler times, don't reckon that approach would go down too well nowadays . Bloody rats would attack the hatchlings as well.

2011 NT Pajero; 2007 Goldstream Crown 4B

Post by: #jonesy on January 01, 2021, 07:50:33 PM
9 more baby chickens of various breeds.  I got "day olds" and popped them under a couple of broody chooks.  Some outgrew the adopted mum in a few weeks.

I also got 2 ducks as something different.  Turns out they poop a LOT.

I also picked up some automatic water troughs off Facebook for 10 bucks so that takes away one of the daily chores. 
I even grabbed one for the dogs water bowl.
Post by: Wazza999 on January 01, 2021, 08:41:13 PM
'also got 2 ducks as something different.  Turns out they poop a LOT.'
You're not wrong, it's waddle, waddle, poop... repeat ad infinitum. I was given a couple of ducks as a kid, chooks are a model of decorum in comparison. Duck eggs are quite a different taste, we used them in cakes.
I'd like to get chooks again but they'd be too difficult to care for when we are away, plus there are lots of urban foxes around where we live.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 12, 2021, 03:36:43 PM
Bloody Foxes

Lost 3 chooks yesterday morning, let them out around 8am and had to go to soccer. The fog rolled in and must have gave the local fox a bit of cover, lost 2 to him and left one in the pen on the ground. That will teach me to trust the buggers. Now have to start the layer process again, still have 2 left at the moment but they are a bit skitish, one came up to the house and hung out on the deck for the day which is not normal, foxy scared them good.

Post by: Fizzie on July 22, 2023, 10:24:07 AM
Here you go, chook owners, just teh thing that your chooks want! ;D

https://www.chickenorb.com/ (https://www.chickenorb.com/)
Post by: corndog on July 22, 2023, 12:10:04 PM
Don't recall ever seeing or evidence of rats around our place for 30 years. That was until the new neighbours out the back moved in. With them came their dog, that was OK,  Dolly the lamb, but that only made it to Christmas, chooks, still around, and an open compost heap that they still keep going. Now we got 20 odd Indian Myna birds, no i won't call them common myna to be politically correct. And rats most of the time, even been in my roof space. Now both side neighbours and I grow vegetables and fruits, but one neighbour have been doing it for decades and complains to me that now he has rat problems. All 3 of us have seen and trapped plenty of rats. Forget birds eating your crop, try stopping the rats. I got 8 this year in my back garden beds so far.
Post by: 2010banditsa on October 31, 2023, 03:16:44 PM
'also got 2 ducks as something different.  Turns out they poop a LOT.'
You're not wrong, it's waddle, waddle, poop... repeat ad infinitum.
you forgot sip of water, poop, sip, poop... makes for very wet poops as well.
Post by: Harbourmaster on October 31, 2023, 09:47:28 PM
Don't recall ever seeing or evidence of rats around our place for 30 years. That was until the new neighbours out the back moved in. With them came their dog, that was OK,  Dolly the lamb, but that only made it to Christmas, chooks, still around, and an open compost heap that they still keep going. Now we got 20 odd Indian Myna birds, no i won't call them common myna to be politically correct. And rats most of the time, even been in my roof space. Now both side neighbours and I grow vegetables and fruits, but one neighbour have been doing it for decades and complains to me that now he has rat problems. All 3 of us have seen and trapped plenty of rats. Forget birds eating your crop, try stopping the rats. I got 8 this year in my back garden beds so far.
We just moved to WA & inherited 4 chooks & an unknown amount of rats. Down to the hardware, bought some wax blocks to poison them. Got 2 in the shed, 1 in the fowl yard & another in the house roof. Don’t know if there were anymore but no sign of them for 4 weeks, and cobwebs growing were they once roamed. There is alway 2 baits set so I can keep an eye on things.
Post by: austastar on November 03, 2023, 08:49:24 AM
   Check the baits won't poison owls if they eat a dead rat .

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

Post by: Harbourmaster on November 03, 2023, 09:27:26 PM
Yes We always look for dead ones. Problem can be mice wehrn in plague, so many to pick up.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 04, 2023, 03:20:22 PM
We lost an Isa Brown out of nowhere, no sign of it anywhere, not even a feather. 2 days later its only other brown mate passed away as it was lonely. We now have 6 blacks left, all starting to lay like crazy