Author Topic: Drag Racing  (Read 172232 times)

Re: Drag Racing
« Reply #225 on: March 19, 2015, 03:41:55 PM »
Monty does pretty good work.

You would've seen plenty of his work when you both were based with bourbon racing before it all turned to crap

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #226 on: March 20, 2015, 10:06:40 AM »
Lexus now making airplanes?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Zxe_DqAkeAk

« Reply #227 on: March 20, 2015, 10:30:18 AM »
Monty does pretty good work.

You would've seen plenty of his work when you both were based with bourbon racing before it all turned to crap

Yeah, he would build the chassis, then myself and another mate would turn them into a race car. The three of us were a bunch of scruffy looking bums, yet somehow we managed to produce a good result, sometimes ;D

Monty was the only person I've ever seen TIG welding with a mirror before. I've said it before, and still believe he's the best chassis builder in the country.

« Reply #228 on: March 20, 2015, 12:05:51 PM »
Dom Lupino, 6.66 on radials   :o

Testing today for tomorrow's Pro Street Shootout at Willowbank.

« Reply #229 on: March 20, 2015, 03:22:47 PM »
The devils number.

Years ago, when Greg and Col were running the 55, after running a 6:66 the ol 55 managed to unassembled more engines on the track than the staff could do in the shop.

« Reply #230 on: April 13, 2015, 10:10:20 AM »
Nostalgias are on again next Sunday at Willowbank. All pre 78 model cars and 84 bikes. Should be a good meet with a decent amount of entries, as the 1/8th mile series is on Saturday also. Quite a few racers staying on from the 1/8th mile to run again at the Nostalgias.

Shane.
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #231 on: April 27, 2015, 12:38:17 PM »
One of the cars we ran over the weekend.

Didn't break much this weekend, so it was a good weekend  ;D

https://www.facebook.com/604440982978902/videos/vb.604440982978902/799518386804493/?type=2&theater&notif_t=comment_mention

« Reply #232 on: April 27, 2015, 01:41:59 PM »
Think you need to invest in a couple of wheelie bars there Shane, plenty of hook up thats for sure ..and a very nicely presented peice of iron she is too .
The following users thanked this post: Footy Shorts Shane

« Reply #233 on: April 27, 2015, 01:45:23 PM »
Quote from: edz
and a very nicely presented peice of iron she is too.
what donk is it?

« Reply #234 on: April 27, 2015, 02:35:54 PM »
what donk is it?

565ci Chev with a 200 shot of gas

« Last Edit: April 27, 2015, 03:24:37 PM by Footy Shorts Shane »

« Reply #235 on: April 27, 2015, 04:29:48 PM »
Magic.....  ;D

« Reply #236 on: April 28, 2015, 11:24:29 AM »
One of the cars we ran over the weekend.

Didn't break much this weekend, so it was a good weekend  ;D

https://www.facebook.com/604440982978902/videos/vb.604440982978902/799518386804493/?type=2&theater&notif_t=comment_mention

That was a ballsy run!

« Reply #237 on: April 28, 2015, 04:51:48 PM »
Shane knows the rules.

Unless its upside down or on fire, keep the boot in it.

« Reply #238 on: April 29, 2015, 09:37:44 AM »
Shane knows the rules.

Unless its upside down or on fire, keep the boot in it.

I wasn't driving that one. He did soil himself a little  ;D

« Reply #239 on: April 30, 2015, 02:48:08 PM »
I see ya mates car got a pic in the Dragnews.com.au website on the write up from the week-end.

I loved the chop top kombi van.

If you spotted the little Fiat Topolino running under Fitzgerald Racing, that's the one I ran a 7:43 @180 mph in back in about 2000 or thereabouts. It had a blown small block back then though.

« Reply #240 on: April 30, 2015, 03:25:31 PM »
I see ya mates car got a pic in the Dragnews.com.au website on the write up from the week-end.

I loved the chop top kombi van.

If you spotted the little Fiat Topolino running under Fitzgerald Racing, that's the one I ran a 7:43 @180 mph in back in about 2000 or thereabouts. It had a blown small block back then though.

Not that I was counting them or anything, but there's 3 photos of a certain white Camaro in that story too  ;D

Didn't see the Topolino, didn't see much at all actually, as you know, you don't see a lot when you're racing.

I built that Buick about 7 or so years ago.

« Reply #241 on: April 30, 2015, 03:48:02 PM »
Ow gee, did I forget to mention the white Camaro..... silly me.  ::)

How come they ran 1/8 mile?

It's a bit easier on the parts though, not too many blow up in 660 feet, although the Buick looked like it ran the best part of a 1,000 feet.  ;D

We ran the 1/8 mile at Tamworth in the datto, geez it was hard to lift so soon.

« Reply #242 on: April 30, 2015, 06:30:43 PM »
Still reckon they should do standing  miles here though https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_TP21B_lEM
« Last Edit: April 30, 2015, 06:35:20 PM by edz »

« Reply #243 on: May 01, 2015, 08:03:36 AM »
Ow gee, did I forget to mention the white Camaro..... silly me.  ::)

How come they ran 1/8 mile?

It's a bit easier on the parts though, not too many blow up in 660 feet, although the Buick looked like it ran the best part of a 1,000 feet.  ;D

We ran the 1/8 mile at Tamworth in the datto, geez it was hard to lift so soon.

There was a TnT Friday night, JP 1/8th mile series on Saturday (has 4 rounds, Warwick, Willowbank, Benaraby and Roma) then Nostalgias on Sunday.

Yeah, someone needs to show him where half track is  :D
(Must admit though, one of my passes went to around 1000'. Car was VERY unsettled at 660' and there was no way I was getting on the chute or brakes there  ;D Was behaving itself by around 1000' so I got off it then)

1/8th mile doesn't really appeal to me much. It does even up the racing a bit and reaction time is everything, which is why I don't like it ;D My RT sucks arse, big time  ::)

« Reply #244 on: May 01, 2015, 08:43:53 AM »
I was most times, pretty good on the tree, but I did earn the nick-name "Cherry Ripe" a couple of times too.

Even the slightest hint of the last yellow, and it was "Let's get the f*ck outta here"

« Reply #245 on: May 01, 2015, 08:59:30 AM »
Premature acceleration. You can get a pill for that these days  ;D

« Reply #246 on: May 01, 2015, 02:49:43 PM »

Premature acceleration. You can get a pill for that these days  ;D

Scarps, someone needs you

« Reply #247 on: May 01, 2015, 04:37:27 PM »

Scarps, someone needs you
go the gel, it lasts longer

« Reply #248 on: May 01, 2015, 04:49:29 PM »
go the gel, it lasts longer

That's not what ya wife told me.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #249 on: May 06, 2015, 02:41:28 PM »
It's not drag racing but it's a nice burnout out of a Hilux..

Small | Large