Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 335883 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #2226 on: November 11, 2023, 07:44:34 AM »
They're going to have some problems doing that right across the board!  ::)

https://www.defence.gov.au/project/general-service-b-vehicle-fleet

The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #2227 on: November 12, 2023, 07:34:17 AM »
Just heard from BiL & Mrs, who are touring in Vic atm.

They'd been chatting to the bloke next door, who has a new van, & an "interesting" ::) story to tell re it's delivery.

Same as us, they'd ordered it, & been told early August late August mid-Sept etc etc etc, but then got the word that yes, it's just being finished now so you'll have it in 2 weeks time! Hooray!

10 days later (so the van is due early next week) they decide to go along to the Werribee Van Show to check out extra bits & pieces. While there, they see the site for <redacted> "the big, very well known, manufacturer" that they're getting their van from, so wander over that way.

Mrs says Wow, that one on display looks just like what we've ordered! so they have a look & see that the "display" van even has the specific modifications from the basic layout that they'd ordered  ???

Hubby pulls out his phone, has a look at the contract, which has the VIN & chassis numbers on it, checks the van they're in & yep, it's their "brand new" van being used as a show display model! :o

Go in to pick it up a couple of days later & pointed out that as they're actually getting a sales demo, not a new van, they expect a discount! Bit of an argument, with the dealers saying that they're mistaken, it couldn't possibly happen & so on, which was answered by showing them the photos of the van at the show, the VIN plate etc! >:D

Finished up with them getting a 5% discount, together with a few freebies thrown in, so not all bad, but you have to wonder just how often that happens ???

« Reply #2228 on: November 17, 2023, 03:00:49 PM »
I had X-rays of my right knee that I damaged about 6 weeks ago. It's a bloody struggle to work, and I'll tell ya.
At the time I presented to ER, It was the first week of school holidays so I had to wait for all the kids to be seen to that had broken bones from rip stick/scooter falls, and other injuries.
Was told to go home take 4 Panadole Osteo, 3 times a day, It should be good in a couple days.
2 weeks later I get to see my gp, who wants a MRI of my knee.
It's taken this long to have something done. 24 years ago I had brain aneurysm, 3 clips were used to stop the bleeding.
The joint where I was have an MRI, couldn't risk having me in the machine, so.
I've had to chase up my own health records.
I attended Clarence Valley imagining in Grafton when I had my bleed, flown to Royal Brisbane for the emergency op.
So I ring Royal Brisbane, I'm told that qld destroy their records after 11 years.
It should be in the My Health records, no it isn't.
I contact NSW Health, they destroy their records after 20 years, it should be in your My Health records, No it's not.
Back in contact with the Dr, they'll do X-rays & an Ultrasound.
That was supposed to of happened yesterday, No the building burns down, They reschedule for today in Grafton.
This afternoon I had these done, was told that I'm lucky I can walk unaided, my knee is stuffed. Well no poo Sherlock, I could of told you that, and I will need to ring my Dr's surgery to find the results.
As I drive home(3pm), I get a voice text(Blu tooth to the stero) from the Dr's surgery to call to make an appointment to discuss the test results, which I do.
I get a recording,
Please contact the surgery during opening hours, Monday-Thursday 8-5.
Fridays 8-2pm.

How the hell does that work?

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2023, 04:20:29 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #2229 on: December 04, 2023, 08:22:20 AM »
More than somewhat scary shot that BiL sent us, of a rig that he spotted yesterday in Southern NSW.

As far as I can tell, the van has a tare of 3100kg + 2 x Hardly's = ~700kg (right up the back!), + food, drinks, water, fuel, bike gear etc etc etc, you've got to looking at ~4.5-5t ??? :o

& a 'cruiser is rated to 3500kg ??? :-\ ::)

Hello, NSW :police:? You may like to pop in to this caravan park & have a chat to these people!

« Reply #2230 on: December 04, 2023, 08:48:15 AM »
More than somewhat scary shot that BiL sent us, of a rig that he spotted yesterday in Southern NSW.

As far as I can tell, the van has a tare of 3100kg + 2 x Hardly's = ~700kg (right up the back!), + food, drinks, water, fuel, bike gear etc etc etc, you've got to looking at ~4.5-5t ??? :o

& a 'cruiser is rated to 3500kg ??? :-\ ::)

Hello, NSW :police:? You may like to pop in to this caravan park & have a chat to these people!

Tare  on standard model is 3030kg's , didn't find the max load

« Reply #2231 on: December 18, 2023, 06:08:05 PM »
Every tradie, Business cops this at this time of year, Why?
And God forbid you say No, ;(

Why do people do this?

« Reply #2232 on: December 26, 2023, 05:05:08 PM »
Why are Easter hot cross buns in stores now?

Offline Gandalf the White

• Wise Wandering Wizard
  • Feelin great with a 2.8
« Reply #2233 on: December 26, 2023, 05:27:00 PM »
coz it's too early for Back to School merch🤷???
How to fall asleep in a chair
1 - sit in a chair
2 - be old

« Reply #2234 on: December 26, 2023, 05:30:38 PM »
coz it's too early for Back to School merch🤷???
that was last month

The following users thanked this post: Gandalf the White

« Reply #2235 on: December 26, 2023, 05:30:44 PM »
Because people are Sheep & consumerism rules.

« Reply #2236 on: December 26, 2023, 07:09:51 PM »
I've a question,
In this day & age,
Why are so many people not prepared for fires, Floods, storms?
Sorry answered my own question above.
My bad. :(

« Reply #2237 on: January 03, 2024, 11:09:10 AM »
Ok, question I've been pondering,
Is it worth having a Web site for a 4wd Club?
The reason I ask is, over the last month, our Web site has been hijacked, by malware several times, each times it costs to have paid  IT, clean it, restore it.
Even my own business website has been hacked. Back office, error 404.
Yes, I change passwords regularly using a password generator.

Hmm, a lot ofclubs use FB as a way to keep their members engaged & to inform visitors of information regarding what the club does. It also doesn't cost.

« Last Edit: January 03, 2024, 11:41:17 AM by Hairs »

« Reply #2238 on: January 03, 2024, 01:31:32 PM »
The reason I ask is, over the last month, our Web site has been hijacked, by malware several times, each times it costs to have paid  IT, clean it, restore it.

Hmm, a lot ofclubs use FB as a way to keep their members engaged & to inform visitors of information regarding what the club does. It also doesn't cost.

I think you answered your own question John

« Reply #2239 on: January 03, 2024, 02:07:52 PM »
Quote from: Hairs
Yes... but there are 239048209348 variables... Most of our new members come from a simple site i made several years ago.

I'd be looking at who is hosting it and why they have so many security holes.

The more every single thing in our lives relies on being "online" - the worse it will get.... I keep saying it, keep getting howled down but the proof is in front of us.  Some of the biggest Corp's on earth get hacked daily... with millions spent on security... Many times you dont hear about it for months.

Hmm, a lot of clubs use FB as a way to keep their members engaged & to inform visitors of information regarding what the club does. It also doesn't cost.
Not everyone does stalkerbook.. Talking to secretary of another club their membership is aging since their model car hasnt been made for years.... the older people struggle with technology as it is..

Totally YMMV
« Last Edit: January 03, 2024, 06:44:04 PM by Bird »

« Reply #2240 on: January 03, 2024, 02:59:02 PM »
Bird,
You're right not every one uses FB, we have 2 Committee member who don't.
I Email or text them with fb updated information.
Our fb group has all the pdf files that members need, I create events, information is instantly posted, we also have a Google Calendar which ever member receives notification of a event added to it.

Maybe I make it a blog, and not a Web site.

« Last Edit: January 04, 2024, 05:22:18 AM by Hairs »

« Reply #2241 on: January 04, 2024, 06:52:25 AM »
I know I've seen a lot of small businesses, particularly in country towns, using FacePlant rather than a full website.

« Reply #2242 on: January 04, 2024, 07:06:41 PM »
Update,
I've moved away from Joomla as my content manager for my Web site to WordPress
Yep, This old dog is learning tricks, :)
I contacted a IT Web Guru, :),
He's sorted our clubs site, at no charge, :)
Pretty happy with that, nowj to take them on a few trips/camps.
Fingers crossed hey.

« Reply #2243 on: January 04, 2024, 07:07:44 PM »
I know I've seen a lot of small businesses, particularly in country towns, using FacePlant rather than a full website.
They do mate.
Less cost, less hassle.

« Reply #2244 on: January 06, 2024, 08:04:56 AM »
Not a question, but saw a Jeep Ute yesterday ???

Didn't know they even existed, but yes, turns out there is such a thing!

https://www.jeep.com.au/gladiator.html

« Reply #2245 on: January 06, 2024, 08:10:49 AM »
I thought I saw one in Yamba the other day, it was black, qld number plates.

« Reply #2246 on: January 07, 2024, 09:24:27 AM »

few of em around this way... the indians love em

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #2247 on: January 07, 2024, 09:43:43 AM »

Biggest downfall is they only have around 2.5T tow rating from memory
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #2248 on: January 07, 2024, 11:41:42 AM »
Biggest downfall is they only have around 2.5T tow rating from memory

close, 2700.  but more built for something like this.

My retirement dream....  :cheers:

Offline maverick01

« Reply #2249 on: January 07, 2024, 01:41:10 PM »
Have a look at this blokes jeep build.

It's definitely a different build than what we are used to seeing on the road considering with what he ends up doing, a dual cab camper jeep running 40 inch tyres.

https://youtu.be/7JIF-57InZ8?si=1uzCsGMem7sH08sc
If you never go, you'll never know