Author Topic: Insurance Premiums Driving Out Bush Holidays/Farm Stays  (Read 3158 times)

Insurance Premiums Driving Out Bush Holidays/Farm Stays
« on: June 01, 2021, 12:20:03 PM »
This came up on a Facebook fed.   

https://www.theage.com.au/national/i-didn-t-think-it-was-possible-why-bush-holidays-could-become-a-thing-of-the-past-20210529-p57w9x.html?fbclid=IwAR3In3Alc6Eb6CfcAzSIqzcHlzrQyFHVMf-Imztw5bCUgPs_e1cPtO8ePeo

"Popular tourist destinations in the most captivating corners of Australia have become no-go zones for insurers following the Black Summer bushfires, forcing pandemic-battered businesses to close or risk everything operating uninsured.

One luxury bushland retreat in Victoria was knocked back by 38 insurers before receiving an “insulting” quote of $6.5 million in premiums for a business worth $3.5 million.

The Sun-Herald and The Sunday Age have spoken to three businesses on the NSW South Coast and two in Victoria that have not been able to insure their properties this year for the first time.

They warn the escalating problem is threatening to derail the economic recovery across regional Australia, where operators have been battered by worsening natural disasters due to climate change, border closures and pandemic lockdowns.

Australia also stands to lose the unique bushland experiences that prove a major international tourist drawcard, they say.
"

This could affect where you camp in the future

Offline Raym

Re: Insurance Premiums Driving Out Bush Holidays/Farm Stays
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2021, 12:56:00 PM »
This crew advertise for providers to join up with them. They provide the insurance so not sure how big of a cut they take.

https://www.hipcamp.com/en-AU

Also on local news they said a lot of the show ride folks can no longer get affordable insurance so with out a change they will a thing of the past.

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2021, 01:40:05 PM »
It'll only affect the honest farmer/landowner and small biz stuff as the smarties will get around it. You'll be dealing with a shell company that leases everything and the director/s will be from struggletown on Centrelink who've responded to the allure of- 'Earn cash from home with your PC' and stuff all the ambulance chasers who are busy elevating the social standing of our politicians and used car salesmen.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2021, 02:03:53 PM »
It'll only affect the honest farmer/landowner and small biz stuff as the smarties will get around it. You'll be dealing with a shell company that leases everything and the director/s will be from struggletown on Centrelink who've responded to the allure of- 'Earn cash from home with your PC' and stuff all the ambulance chasers who are busy elevating the social standing of our politicians and used car salesmen.

What??????

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2021, 02:19:00 PM »
You can't sue someone with their ass hanging out their pants even though directors and PCBUs can be held personally liable and even face jail-
https://www.victorianchamber.com.au/news-media/all/2020/06/australias-first-industrial-manslaughter-conviction
So all you want is some naive dupe/s with no assets to be the fall person. Come to think of it what single mum on Centrelink wouldn't like a free PC and internet for the munchkins and if she's any good processing she can get to earn brownie points for free Netflix. Until the knock on the door of course which could be ASIC/ATO/Centrelink or even current affairs and rinse repeat.

PS: A net search "earn cash from home in your spare time" pulls up 6.27 million results so whaddya reckon their target market is Rodt?
« Last Edit: June 01, 2021, 03:15:04 PM by prodigyrf »
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2021, 02:45:16 PM »
Quote from: Raym
Also on local news they said a lot of the show ride folks can no longer get affordable insurance so with out a change they will a thing of the past.

sadly that was always on the cards... very few of them look professional or like they invest in any equipment anymore.

« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2021, 02:33:19 PM »
You can't sue someone with their ass hanging out their pants even though directors and PCBUs can be held personally liable and even face jail-
https://www.victorianchamber.com.au/news-media/all/2020/06/australias-first-industrial-manslaughter-conviction
So all you want is some naive dupe/s with no assets to be the fall person. Come to think of it what single mum on Centrelink wouldn't like a free PC and internet for the munchkins and if she's any good processing she can get to earn brownie points for free Netflix. Until the knock on the door of course which could be ASIC/ATO/Centrelink or even current affairs and rinse repeat.

PS: A net search "earn cash from home in your spare time" pulls up 6.27 million results so whaddya reckon their target market is Rodt?

Mate how do you discharge this stuff when it is a story about people are struggling to get insurance. Are you making the leap that they will continue to operate and then be sued? I'm sure there is some logical link in your head but I am unable to see it (on second thoughts I don't want to).