Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 307504 times)

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #2700 on: September 03, 2021, 10:15:50 AM »
More chance of walking on the sun in double pluggers.

Sent from .............. Somewhere in Australia

« Reply #2701 on: September 03, 2021, 10:30:54 AM »
My thoughts are the numbers will have dropped by then.... and November long weekend will be ballistic - it will skyrocket again and closed for xmas / new year

Mate lives near the beach in Melb, went for his daily walk, weather was really nice yesterday... He said the beach yesterday was standing room only  :'(

« Reply #2702 on: September 03, 2021, 12:59:35 PM »
They are sending a heap of motor homes to Wilcannia for the people that have to isolate... So it will be a massive camping trip...   big bonfires, Mines faster than yours  Mr Bond, cause mines a red one Next thing on the news.... massive demolition derby in Wilcannia... who has to pay for a hunge burnt out motorhomes? Livin next door.... to Gladys..

« Last Edit: September 03, 2021, 01:34:14 PM by Bird »

« Reply #2703 on: September 03, 2021, 01:38:47 PM »
They are sending a heap of motor homes to Wilcannia for the people that have to isolate... So it will be a massive camping trip...   big bonfires, Mines faster than yours  Mr Bond, cause mines a red one Next thing on the news.... massive demolition derby in Wilcannia... who has to pay for a hunge burnt out motorhomes? Livin next door.... to Gladys..

They will have to park them up and take the keys. Could you imagine 20 drunk covid infected blokes driving around the streets of Wilcannia ??
Come to think of it, would be just like a normal Saturday night !!    :cheers:

« Reply #2704 on: September 03, 2021, 01:42:15 PM »
I was chatting with a colleague from NSW this morning. I asked if he was looking forward to Father's Day in lockdown. He said he was as he had a round of golf booked in the morning and he hadn't played for ages. So NSW are in lockdown and you can still play golf and tennis? Oh how the other half live...

« Reply #2705 on: September 03, 2021, 02:48:33 PM »
Just bring in some temp accomodation.
This will end well.
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-09-01/wilcannia-covid-outbreak-30-motorhomes-accommodation-supply/100424518
Old news, hope they put them on blocks.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

« Reply #2706 on: September 03, 2021, 03:10:26 PM »
Quote from: D4D
you can still play golf and tennis?
yea but some of us see that as punishment ;) 

Long live the faux lockdown

« Reply #2707 on: September 03, 2021, 04:03:40 PM »
A lot of us in NSW (regional) have no idea why we are in shutdown other than a precaution and to have a legal avenue to stop people travelling out of their local LGA. Agree in regards to the golf scenario as my local area courses haven't stopped. I asked one of them and he said it falls under exercise so they are OK. I said what about not wearing masks and he said that is because it is strenuous.

Regardless of the loopholes in the rules it has definitely slowed a lot of people up and there are significant numbers getting tested and vaccinated which probably wasn't happening at the rates they wanted prior to locking us down.

Let's see what happens when we get to 70%

Offline westvic

« Reply #2708 on: September 03, 2021, 05:26:58 PM »
Does anyone think the borders will be open in time for Xmas
Yep....me

I really do think so...but then again I'm a glass half full kind a guy  :cheers:

Vaccine acceptance seems to have FINALLY kicked in with jabs going in across groups that were previously either barred or hesitant. Mostly the acceptance now seems that we live with it rather than trying to stamp it out. States have all agreed to opening up at levels that should be reached well before Christmas (yes I know that is being back peddled).

Fingers crossed
Getting there if half the fun

The other half is a cold beer when you do.

« Reply #2709 on: September 03, 2021, 09:40:25 PM »
The young bloke in my clan I game with has been told no Jab no job... works for a very large national company.
Hes 'not going to put that poison into his body"... screw the mortgage etc... if he had a gun, he'd blah blah blah the dog and himself...

I just dont understand some people...

« Reply #2710 on: September 03, 2021, 09:46:18 PM »
The young bloke in my clan I game with has been told no Jab no job... works for a very large national company.
Hes 'not going to put that poison into his body"... screw the mortgage etc... if he had a gun, he'd blah blah blah the dog and himself...

Can’t help some people. Just have to hope they survive. If they do it will only reinforce their beliefs.

« Reply #2711 on: September 03, 2021, 10:06:04 PM »
Does anyone think the borders will be open in time for Xmas

That will depend if the dictator Premier's feel they can make any revenue for their State by opening up the Borders for the Holidays and snapping the Borders back shut afterwards.   

« Reply #2712 on: September 03, 2021, 10:31:17 PM »
Quote from: alnjan
That will depend if the dictator Premier's feel they can make any revenue for their State by opening up the Borders for the Holidays and snapping the Borders back shut afterwards.   
Serious question....  would that be a good move to open em, free for all, spread again and then we all lockdown?

« Reply #2713 on: September 04, 2021, 08:58:38 AM »
Serious question....  would that be a good move to open em, free for all, spread again and then we all lockdown?

I think once they open up , the genie is out of the bottle. Look at the UK, Israel etc. Once the virus gets going, as in NSW you can't shut the door on it. I'm pretty sure the Governments have been told that by their experts. The big issues will be the effects on health services and supply chains.Vaccination is the accepted answer but even in Israel there are serious issues, and we in Australia aren't even close to their level of vaccination.The Federal Government was talking about local lockdowns but I struggle to understand how that would work if the virus was endemic.

Offline vern

« Reply #2714 on: September 04, 2021, 09:01:31 AM »
Keep them closed, keep the lockdown going i say, this needs to be controlled so we can get back into life, i need to get my kids back to school, they are giving me the Shits

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

Offline vern

« Reply #2715 on: September 04, 2021, 09:05:24 AM »

We have a few of those at work too, an email came late yesterday from the boss saying due to new government changes, they (work) need to know everyones vaccination status so we can move forward safely as a business, he definitely isn't pushing or forcing people to get it, its their choice, just need to be proactive in this current situation

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

« Reply #2716 on: September 04, 2021, 10:00:09 AM »
Work union has a closed Facebook group.  From that page I can't believe how many are against the vaccine, for what is a reasonably intelligent job.  Also the absolute hatred from some in both camps, but mostly the non vaccinated.

At the same time they bitch about everything, pay, conditions, work, management....  I just want to post that if they hate it so much they should f off and let else come in.

Offline sharkcaver

• My ramblings:
« Reply #2717 on: September 04, 2021, 12:43:38 PM »
Delta has changed the rules. Up till now, I've been a supporter of fast, hard lock downs to eliminate the virus.
Dan got on the job pretty quick, but it is starting to run away there now too....thanks to delta.
The NHS in the UK has had to admit this is now endemic, and at some stage everyone in the UK will get the disease. Being infected can not be controlled.
However, vaccination is the only way to prevent hospitalisation and death.
Lambda variant in S.America looks worse than delta for contagiousness and a new as yet unnamed variant in S.Africa looks worse again.

As much as I hate to admit it, this aint over yet and I think we need to learn to live with it. The variants have shown elimination is not a working strategy.
IMO, McGowan has done a great job, but when it hits over here, and it will, it's going to hit hard. Something the pollies are now also starting to sprout.
An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0
The following users thanked this post: Bird

« Reply #2718 on: September 04, 2021, 12:56:00 PM »
Delta has changed the rules. Up till now, I've been a supporter of fast, hard lock downs to eliminate the virus.
Dan got on the job pretty quick, but it is starting to run away there now too....thanks to delta.
The NHS in the UK has had to admit this is now endemic, and at some stage everyone in the UK will get the disease. Being infected can not be controlled.
However, vaccination is the only way to prevent hospitalisation and death.
Lambda variant in S.America looks worse than delta for contagiousness and a new as yet unnamed variant in S.Africa looks worse again.

As much as I hate to admit it, this aint over yet and I think we need to learn to live with it. The variants have shown elimination is not a working strategy.
IMO, McGowan has done a great job, but when it hits over here, and it will, it's going to hit hard. Something the pollies are now also starting to sprout.
This is what I'm concerned about having arrived in WA. Have noticed on many occasions, not many are checking in.
 IMHO the WA people have no idea of the consequences with Covid. It'll be an apocalypse of mass proportion. It's like pre 2019 here. Mark McGowan status will crumble.

Offline sharkcaver

• My ramblings:
« Reply #2719 on: September 04, 2021, 01:08:57 PM »

IMHO the WA people have no idea of the consequences with Covid. It'll be an apocalypse of mass proportion. It's like pre 2019 here. Mark McGowan status will crumble.

We are coming up for a hard lesson me thinks. I'm prepped, fully jabbed at least and 2 rolls of dunny paper in max ;)
An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0

« Reply #2720 on: September 04, 2021, 01:27:03 PM »
Quote from: SJindustries
. Have noticed on many occasions, not many are checking in.
thats everywhere... go to a shopping center and they scan in at the front door and thats it

« Reply #2721 on: September 04, 2021, 01:45:06 PM »
We are coming up for a hard lesson me thinks. I'm prepped, fully jabbed at least and 2 rolls of dunny paper in max ;)
You'll be thankful. This Mexican is prepared.
The panic buying just for a 3 day lockdown in Perth was funny to experience.
The squares become legal tender in longer lockdowns

« Reply #2722 on: September 04, 2021, 01:46:07 PM »
.. go to a shopping center..

Pass...

« Reply #2723 on: September 04, 2021, 01:50:30 PM »
thats everywhere... go to a shopping center and they scan in at the front door and thats it

This one has me stumped ?  Where else do you scan in at ?

« Reply #2724 on: September 04, 2021, 01:53:31 PM »
This one has me stumped ?  Where else do you scan in at ?

In SA you scan at individual shops within a shopping complex, even in some hospitals, medical centres you must scan in at individual clinics etc.