Author Topic: Slides mounted in the weather  (Read 4744 times)

Slides mounted in the weather
« on: March 26, 2019, 09:03:30 PM »
I’m looking at making a sliding solar panel rack. Basically the solar panel will be mounted between the roof rack and canopy, then just slide it out when parked up.

Anyone used the standard locking style drawer slides on the outside of their car with good results?

Any other ideas? Want to keep it super simple, doesn’t really need bearings or anything, maybe like a smaller C channel sliding into a bigger C channel? Only have about a 50mm gap to fit in. Not keen to spend big dollars either... will be used for touring so needs to handle mild corrugations and some rough-ish stuff.

Panel will be 110W, roughly 1000mm x 680mm, approx 10kg.

Offline KeithB

Re: Slides mounted in the weather
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 10:42:20 PM »
These ones are stainless steel locking units less than 50mm high and may suit, if the panel is mounted across the vehicle as they only extend 600mm.
https://www.indrub.com.au/45kg-drawer-slide-stainless-steel.html
I'd suggest you get slides rated at at least three times your planned weight, so they don't sag.
I have  a 200 watt panel located permanently under roof bars and I lose a little for sure. But it will blow a 10 amp fuse in full sun.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2019, 12:22:15 AM »
Good work! I totally forgot about IRS, only 20mins from my place! Not sure 600mm will be enough though, will investigate further...

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2019, 11:22:42 AM »
I'm not sure if Dunn and Watson were the company that just released a product like this, but here's a link - https://dunnandwatson.com.au/shop/solar-panels/100-watt-slide-out-solar-panel/

They are pretty expensive, and a lot of people are just making their own up. I'm not sure I'd use normal ones outdoors - I had a bit of sand get into mine in the back of the car and it was a nightmare.

Have you considered using plastic runners, instead of ball bearing slides? Drifta run them on their drawers, and they are excellent and would take to weather and abrasion much better

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2019, 07:30:06 PM »
Where abouts do you get the plastic runners from?

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2019, 08:53:51 PM »
Try BCF / boat places / cabinet makers / electrical places . HDPE Strips from a plastics supplier / The yellow / green joiner strips in flooring sheets at bunnings maybe another  ..   https://roxom.com.au/shop/boat-trailer-parts-sale/trailer-skids .. Some use two strips of laminex face to face or formica glued onto ally frame.. even PVC would slide pretty well on itself for lightweight stuff .https://www.bunnings.com.au/brutus-19-x-19-x-2-5mm-2-4m-pvc-building-moulding_p1100622
« Last Edit: March 28, 2019, 09:03:05 PM by edz »

Offline Trev-p

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2019, 11:38:55 PM »
I used the blue boat skids with the groove in the middle for a camper trailer plywood kitchen. I just got alloy square that ran inside of the groove and screwed that to the underside of the kitchen and it slides well, no moving parts and no rustable items(except screws).
Less than $50 all up and the kitchen will weigh 10x that of a solar panel.
BCF sell the blue boat skids about $17 for 1.5m I think.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2019, 11:58:01 PM »
Dunn and Watson slides are much better quality than the IRS ones... My IRS ones on my drawers failed within 6 months, and they wouldn't warranty them... Dunn and Watson ones are nearly 2 years old, and as good as the day I got them

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2019, 07:50:47 AM »
Where abouts do you get the plastic runners from?

I'm not sure if you can buy them off the shelf, but most people just make them up out of strips of nylon, or polystone or the like. As long as the drawer is locked in position up and down, and in and out they do a pretty amazing job

« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2019, 08:38:20 AM »
Super simple is a couple of bits of ally angle. The panel will slide no probs. We drilled the panel and the angle in various places to lock it in place with a padlock - either open or closed, and could remove the panel and add an extension lead at any time so it could chase the sun.

« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2019, 01:27:52 PM »
Agree with GBC spray a bit of silicon lube on them every once in a while, no problems and a lot lighter too

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2019, 02:06:11 PM »
A mate used some purpose made aluminium extrusion with rollers to match
Unable to remember name but Iirc they were on the gold coast somewhere??

« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2019, 09:51:42 PM »
A mate used some purpose made aluminium extrusion with rollers to match
Unable to remember name but Iirc they were on the gold coast somewhere??

Sounds like the Occo track from Ovesco, although they are no longer on the Gold Coast

« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2019, 10:11:39 PM »
Winner winner chicken dinner!

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2019, 10:36:27 PM »
My camper fridge slide is occo track, it's awesome stuff

Sent from my SM-T835 using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2019, 11:12:32 PM »
Not sure about the Occitan track, looks good but cost could start getting up there. I’m liking the plastic slides, I have heaps of the tongues from tongue & groove flooring, I like the idea of padlocking it into place too and being removable.

« Reply #16 on: March 30, 2019, 06:18:12 AM »
If you are keen on rollers, unistrut do rollers which may well match your roof rack. HD rhino rack is unistrut profile. I have made slide away kayak holders in my garage out of it. I wouldn’t bother with wheels outdoors though, a level of complexity which will cause more headaches than payback IMHO.
The following users thanked this post: 4runnernomore

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #17 on: September 23, 2021, 07:01:23 AM »
Wow 2 from 2 posts directly advertising

Sent from me