Author Topic: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)  (Read 158894 times)

Re: CAMPING TIPS (that you might not have thought of, post here)
« Reply #100 on: March 20, 2010, 03:43:31 PM »
farcanal
          them surprise peas are surprising how they taste , though i thing green painted buck shot gravel could pip them at the taste test
as long as coldies replace frozen peas i might eat them .

Offline Fivid

« Reply #101 on: March 20, 2010, 04:45:00 PM »
Someone mentioned talc for keeping ants at bay but we just keep a container of ant sand in the CT.  Sometimes setting up in a new location during the night you don't see the ant nest... If in a campground area I will then put ant sand into the nest and hopefully clear it out for future campers, if out in the bush we just use it to keep ants out and off the camper.

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline Fivid

« Reply #102 on: March 20, 2010, 04:46:03 PM »
Second hint:  Remove the hitch from the towbar and stow inside the vehicle if going into town without the CT attached.  Do you know how far you may have to travel just to buy a new hitch and towball after some lowlife decides they need yours more than you do...

« Reply #103 on: March 20, 2010, 06:40:28 PM »
Fivid
      what about a small padlock for the safty pin  on the pull  small $ ,big return

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #104 on: March 20, 2010, 06:50:43 PM »
On the subject of peas I am a fan of tinned peas.  They have a variety of uses.  Besides having them with your baked dinner I like to fry bacon , onion add the peas and some tomatoe paste they make a great side dish or you pit it through some pasta.

Maybe we should start a thread favourite camp recipes.

« Reply #105 on: March 20, 2010, 06:55:46 PM »
Ooooh, tinned peas, I love tinned peas. Me & tinned peas are just like Homer & chicken. Best recipe with tinned peas involes a can opener & a spoon  ;D

Offline blackstump

• ''LIFES TO SHORT TO BE SMALL''
« Reply #106 on: March 20, 2010, 07:28:23 PM »
Someone mentioned talc for keeping ants at bay but we just keep a container of ant sand in the CT.  Sometimes setting up in a new location during the night you don't see the ant nest... If in a campground area I will then put ant sand into the nest and hopefully clear it out for future campers, if out in the bush we just use it to keep ants out and off the camper.

Yep, its good stuff mate, bought some just recently and it really works well.

IS THERE A PROBLEM OFFICER

« Reply #107 on: March 20, 2010, 07:44:27 PM »
Bullfrog
         please advise where you are or will camp at any time forth with .
anybody that eats tinned peas is to camp alone , butt for the rumble of tin openers & the rattle eating utensils on tin cans may this be hopefully the only sound emitted from the area . & please remain down wind ( no pun intended) also no  :cheers: this could cause a revolt .

SWOMBO said you can come & eat real food at our ct any time your hungury ,,but not to hungury ,,!
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 07:50:21 PM by speewa158 »

« Reply #108 on: March 20, 2010, 07:52:39 PM »
This could be the reason why Mrs Bullfrog will only allow 1 tin per camp if I'm lucky  >:D. Oh well, there's always the tinned corned beef, rice cream............... :cheers:

« Reply #109 on: March 20, 2010, 08:02:05 PM »
Bullfrog
         a SWOMBO of good taste & very refined  she can come to our camp but her noisy friend may not be as popular !

Offline Fivid

« Reply #110 on: March 21, 2010, 07:48:27 AM »
Fivid
      what about a small padlock for the safty pin  on the pull  small $ ,big return

Thought about that, size of padlock that will do the job means not good quality lock and only a small rock would open most padlocks that size.  Also looked at the pins at ARB that have a lock built into them and they cost a few $ but I was worried about dust / mud, etc getting into them and then not being able to remove it when required.  I just take it out now, wrap in an empty hessian sandbag and put it in one of the drawers in the rear of the car.

Offline toeball

« Reply #111 on: March 21, 2010, 08:51:44 AM »
Second hint:  Remove the hitch from the towbar and stow inside the vehicle if going into town without the CT attached.  Do you know how far you may have to travel just to buy a new hitch and towball after some lowlife decides they need yours more than you do...

I leave mine in, its an extended hitch which is like a reversing sensor, if some one reverses into it they will "sense it"
I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

Offline farcanal

« Reply #112 on: March 21, 2010, 10:49:53 AM »
farcanal
          them surprise peas are surprising how they taste , though i thing green painted buck shot gravel could pip them at the taste test
as long as coldies replace frozen peas i might eat them .
Hey speewa...try cookin' 'em..... ;D ;D ;D
2018 Pajero NX GLS 3.2D auto, 2004 Kimberley Kamper Escape

Offline tcf

« Reply #113 on: March 21, 2010, 11:08:50 AM »
I leave mine in, its an extended hitch which is like a reversing sensor, if some one reverses into it they will "sense it"

haha haha, i also have one of these sensors
makin' the most of it

07 JKU Wrangler CRD
07 OzTrail Home-job CT

« Reply #114 on: March 21, 2010, 01:00:39 PM »
farcanal
           lightly fried preen peas farcanal !!!
       nothing for this i say  !!!!!!

« Reply #115 on: March 21, 2010, 05:51:46 PM »
A tip to take into consideration when camping in warm/hot weather....

Make sure the kids dont leave crayons on there beds in the camper as they WILL melt to there beds......

I'll post pics when I get the camera out....

rich

Back on march 9 when I started this thread I never thought we would see such a wide range of top ideas from fellow swaggers... I guess I should have known better  ;D

Here is the pic that gave me the idea for this thread.

When were camping recently the sun was warm and kids had been drawing in the camper earlier in the morning. When they came out the camper they left there crayons on one of there beds and you guessed it the melted. this a foam mattress that has a fitted sheet over it, well the crayons melted through the sheet onto the foam mattress and as you can see it made "Pretty Colours" on the mattress.

Cheers Rich

Offline Fivid

« Reply #116 on: March 21, 2010, 07:10:06 PM »
Back on march 9 when I started this thread I never thought we would see such a wide range of top ideas from fellow swaggers... I guess I should have known better  ;D

Here is the pic that gave me the idea for this thread.

When were camping recently the sun was warm and kids had been drawing in the camper earlier in the morning. When they came out the camper they left there crayons on one of there beds and you guessed it the melted. this a foam mattress that has a fitted sheet over it, well the crayons melted through the sheet onto the foam mattress and as you can see it made "Pretty Colours" on the mattress.

I've seen less interesting things that galleries paid millions for....  With the right marketing strategy you may never have to work again!

« Reply #117 on: March 24, 2010, 07:33:27 PM »
send that to the national gallary in the ACT ,think up some crap to tell them about what it will tell the art world about some rubbish .
think hard , bargin harder , . clean up drink , the profits , before  they wake up

« Reply #118 on: March 25, 2010, 06:43:13 PM »
I've seen less interesting things that galleries paid millions for....  With the right marketing strategy you may never have to work again!
send that to the national gallary in the ACT ,think up some crap to tell them about what it will tell the art world about some rubbish .
think hard , bargin harder , . clean up drink , the profits , before  they wake up

I think you blokes might be onto something there!!  ;D

« Reply #119 on: March 25, 2010, 06:55:40 PM »
GU RICH
           if it pans out can i have 10% or more for the huge bar tab i have run up just thinking up the idear . Any other idears will be at a differant rate to be discussed  .
ohhhhhh &         :cheers:

Offline tcf

« Reply #120 on: March 25, 2010, 07:10:51 PM »
certaintly nice kids art there rich p.s liking your new avatar pic thing...looks sweet

speewa it will be your shout with the 10% because that art cr4p goes for a bomb haha
makin' the most of it

07 JKU Wrangler CRD
07 OzTrail Home-job CT

« Reply #121 on: March 25, 2010, 07:12:46 PM »
certaintly nice kids art there rich p.s liking your new avatar pic thing...looks sweet

speewa it will be your shout with the 10% because that art cr4p goes for a bomb haha

At least it only melted there not on the floor....

Thanks for comment on the sig line too!!

« Reply #122 on: March 25, 2010, 07:26:45 PM »
tcf
    my main man you are so clever , i will cut you in to the action ,,,, how about 4/5 of 5/8 of you know !!!!
Best Offer  thats it
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 08:37:11 PM by speewa158 »

Offline Johnny Trackabout

• GIDDY UP...WHOO BACK
« Reply #123 on: March 26, 2010, 06:10:40 AM »
An old bushy told me this one years ago, when using your fridge and as it empties "throw a damp towel in the cavity" once the towel chills to the same temp as the fridge it will be twice as efficient and the towel stop things from moving around in the fridge as well...the idea of the towel is to fill the cavity and the fridge will work a lot more efficient as its not trying to keep a large empty void chilled....I have been using this method for many years and my fridge always gets a few extra days more than other people with the same fridge and same Battery specs....its simple and it works !!

Another one is when traveling out west , etc on corrugated roads, put all your cans in  stubbie coolers when packing the fridge. It will stop the cans from rubbing...no more ruptured cans or black stuff on your fingers or around your mouth ;D + the can is ready for consumption straight away....no more looking for that stubbie cooler and no more wasted time=more beers intake :cheers:

JT
The following users thanked this post: GDAIY

Offline wannabee

« Reply #124 on: March 26, 2010, 06:52:05 AM »
Gidday JT - Thanks for getting this thread back on track.  Let's get sharing those camping tips.

My contribution also relates to keeping things cool.  For those who don't have an expensive esky, the performance of a cheapy can be improved in several ways:

1.  Get a spray can of expanding foam and drill holes in the underside of the lid.  Inject a SMALL amount of foam into each hole, until the lid is filled.  Be careful to not overdo it 'cos the expanding foam can blow the lid up like a balloon.

2.  Put a folded newspaper on top of the esky contents (under the lid) to further improve the insulation of the lid.

3.  Get some foil insulation and make a cover for the esky.  This helps especially if the sun gets on the esky.

4.  Before I forget - keep the esky in the shade.

5.  Use block ice rather than crushed or party ice.  Better still, make your own by freezing water in 3 litre milk bottles.  Make sure the milk bottle is clean, and you can drink the cold water as the ice melts.

6.  Freeze as much of the contents as you can before you pack the esky.

Using these methods I hve kept the contents cold in a conventional cheapish esky for 5 days in hot December conditions.  In winter, I reckon that it would be 7 days +.

No one lies on his deathbed wishing he'd spent more time at work!