Author Topic: Full Itinerary  (Read 18206 times)

Full Itinerary
« on: November 05, 2016, 12:52:26 PM »

The full itinerary:??Updated 31st Dec 2017.

Friday 4th - Sunday  6th May 2018
Meet at Katherine  2 nights / 1 day

Accommodation - Stay at Riverview Tourist Park. (Book for 2 nights arrive Fri 4th May leave Sunday 6th May. You will be advised on what sites to book)
Meet and greet everyone for the ultimate adventure ahead. A chance for people to do tours of Katherine Gorge. Also stock up here but no vegetables as they will be taken once we hit the WA border. Also stock up here with alcohol. Next Woolies is at Kununurra.

Notes-

A leisurely drive through Gregory national park crossing the Victoria River and arrive at Timber Creek around lunchtime. Plenty of time to do some sight seeing with a number of lookouts in the area

Accomodation: TBA

Mon 7th - Wed 9th May
Timber Creek to Zebra Rock Mine. 3 hrs

We head towards Zebra rock mine travelling along the Victoria Hwy.

Accommodation - Zebra Rock Mine / 2 nights / 1 Day
The camping is non powered but gennies are allowed. Basic grass sites. No shop but Zebra Rock is available to purchase. There are a number of tours available.
(Note bookings required but I will email them)

Notes-

Wed 9th / Sat 12th
Zebra Rock Mine to Lake Argyle

Only a 2hr drive and we go back an hour and a half due to the time zone. At the WA border you will be checked for fresh fruit.

Accommodation - Lake Argyle caravan park 3 nights /2 and a half days. Powered sites and we will be next to the camp kitchen with the infinity pool only a 70mtr walk or half a beer. A great place to relax and tours are also available.

Notes-

Sat 12th - Thurs 17th May
Lake Argyle to Kununurra.

Only an hour and a half drive from Lake Argyle.

Accommodation-Kununurra 5 nights / 4 and a half days

Notes- The Ord Valley Muster runs from 11-20th which we will enjoy while we are in town, plus many places to explore. We will top up here at Coles for the next 3 to 4 weeks. Grab items that will be hard to get in the Kimberley.

Thurs 17th - Tues 22nd May
 Kununurra to El Questro

Its only a 2.30 hr drive to El Questro from Kununurra.

Accommodation - El Questro 5 nights / 4 and a half days.

Notes- Spend 4 and a half days exploring El Questro. One of the feature events of the Ord Valley Muster is the Aviair Helispirit Moon Experience (headlining Lee Kerneghan) which is on Sat 19th. Those interested can travel back to Kununurra to join in.

Tues 22nd- Fri 25th May
El Questro to Home Valley Station

Only a short drive to Home Valley. We cross the famous Pentecost River and head to Home Valley Station.

Accommodation - Home Valley Station 3 nights / 2 and a half days. Camp on the Pentecost River.

Notes-

Fri 25th – Sun 27th May
Home Valley Station to Ellenbrae – 2.5 hrs

We leave Home Valley and travel 2 and half hrs and stop at Ellenbrae.

Accommodation - Good camping areas (2 nights, 1 and a half days)

Notes-  Enjoy morning tea and sample their famous scones

Sun 27th -Mon 28th May
Ellenbrae to Drysdale River Station

Accommodation - (1 night) We arrive at Drysdale River Station.  We don't need to book.

Notes - We will be traveling roughly 350 klm from Drysdale to Mitchell Falls and onto Kalumburu, make sure you have enough fuel available.

Mon 28th - Thurs 31st May
Drysdale River Station to Munurru

We arrive at King Edward River, Munurru and use this as our base to visit Mitchell Falls.

Accommodation- (3 nights / 2 Days*)

Notes - *Option is drive to Mitchell Falls for the day or spend one of the nights at Mitchell Falls.

Thurs 31st May – Tues 5th June
Munurru to Kalumburu

Today we tackle the rough Kalumburu Rd.  If the going is slow, we will camp overnight on the track as the distance is only a hundred kilometres but the road is expected to be rough. We will be camping at one of the beach front caravan parks.

Accommodation- 5 nights / 4 days.

Notes: Permits Required to enter Kalumburu, will advise as the time gets closer. Also, Kalumburu is a dry community. Will chat about that via group email.

Tues 5th June – Wed 6th June
Kalamburu to Drysdale River station

We leave Kalumburu and head back to Drysdale River Station for an overnighter.

Accommodation- Drysdale River Station (1 night)

Wed 6th June - Fri 8th June
Drysdale River Station to Manning Gorge

We leave Drysdale River Station and only travel to Mt Barnett Roadhouse / Manning Gorge.

Accommodation- Mt Barnett Roadhouse (2 nights / 1 day and a half days)

Fri 8th June - Sun 10th June
Manning Gorge to Bells Gorge

We leave Manning Gorge and head to Bells Gorge. Being a national park, people with pets will camp just outside of it.

Accommodation- (2 nights / 1 and a half days)

Sun 10th June - Tues 12th June.
Bells Gorge to  Windiana Gorge - Approx 2 to 3 hrs travel

We leave Bells Gorge and head towards Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek. Again being a national park people with pets will camp outside the park.

Accommodation-(2 nights / 1 and a half days)

Tues 12th - Fri 15th June
Windiana Gorge to Derby

We leave Windjana Gorge and head to Derby.

Accommodation- We will be staying at Kimberley Entrance Caravan Park. (Pets allowed). 3 nights / 2 days.

Notes- Derby is a tiny town and has a woolies and bottle shop.

Our flights to the horizontal waterfalls for our overnight trip will leave from here. Overnight at the falls will Wed 13th June. Will advise when to book.

http://kimberleyentrancecaravanpark.com.au/

Fri 15th - Tues 19th June.
Derby to Broome

We leave Derby and head to Broome. Approx 3 hr drive.

Accommodation-(Caravan park to be arranged.)   ( 4 nights / 3 and a half days).

Notes- Time to explore Broome enjoy Cable Beach and the surrounds. Stock up here for our expedition to the Cape Leveque area. Enjoy a day or 2 fishing with Boab Boats.

Tues 19th - Fri 22nd June.
Broome to Manari Rd.

We leave Broome for our expedition north. We head to:

Accommodation-(3 nights / 2 days)
Manari Road, WA
60km north of Broome

Notes- Secluded barramundi fishing holes and blissfully remote beaches sandwiched between shallow coral reefs and an uninhabited coastline of red sand cliffs make this one of the west’s best beach camping destinations.
The threat of Woodside’s gas processing plant development has long past, reserving this pristine stretch of Pindan woodlands for anglers, campers and beachcombers. To get there, head about an hour’s drive north of Broome to Willie Creek with its natural boat ramp, and Barred Creek further up the track: both ideal camps for barramundi-chasers.
For beach life, ocean views and the chance to spend long, lazy days swimming, snorkelling and spotting whales, continue along Manari Road to Quondong Point where a 3km-long stretch of campsites (some with shade), tops the red cliffs. There are more beachfront campsites 13km north at James Price Point, and a large, flat clearing at Coulomb Point on the southern edge of a nature reserve, both providing beach access for four-wheel-drivers.
There are no facilities on offer so the usual camp courtesies apply: make use of your onboard toilet, use only existing fire rings, and take all rubbish away with you.

Location: Travel 10km east of Broome, turn north onto the Broome-Cape Leveque Road and after 15km take a left onto Manari Road and follow the signs to your choice of camp.
Facilities: None, maximum three-day stay, generators permitted.
Pets: Allowed.

Visit Willy Creek Pearl farm.

Fri 22nd - Tues 26th June.
Manari Rd to Gnylmarung Retreat.

We head to Gnylmarung Retreat. Gnylmarung Retreat is located approximately 150 kilometres north of Broome, on the Middle Lagoon

Accommodation- Camping sites. At Gnylmarung we have about 20 camping sites, some with an ocean view, others are in shadier areas, and some are in secluded bushland.  Wash-up sinks are provided at camp sites, along with good drinking water. Bush bbq's are provided and firewood is available.  We have a boat ramp and dedicated fish cleaning area. Gnylmarung Retreat has clean ablution blocks with solar heated showers.  There is also a laundry with a washing machine, and all we ask for is a gold coin donation. (4 nights - 3 days)

http://www.gnylmarung.org.au/

(We will confirm with them 3 months prior to arrival. )

Notes-

We head to Middle Lagoon. Camping on the beachfront.
Middle Lagoon is a wonderful place to go exploring, rediscover your love of nature and refresh yourself by getting active. Stroll along beautiful beaches spotting the fabulous shells that are abound.

Accommodation-(5 nights / 4 and a half days).
http://www.middlelagoon.com.au/

Notes –

Sun 1st July leave Thursday 5 July 2018
Middle Lagoon to Gumbanan

We leave Middle Lagoon and head to Gumbanan Bush Camp.

Accommodation:
http://www.kimberleyoutbackxposure.com.au/page/the-campground/

Facilities include:
* Toilets
* Showers
* Water
* Camp Kitchens
* Camp Fire Areas
Camping
* General Camping
* Camper Trailer Sites (unpowered only)
* Caravan Sites (unpowered only)
(4 nights / 3 and a half days)

Members with Pets can stay longer here as Cygnet Bay Pearl farm does not allow pets. Other members can book a few days if they wish at Cygnet Bay.

http://www.cygnetbaypearls.com.au/

« Last Edit: January 01, 2018, 07:58:38 AM by McGirr »

The following users thanked this post: richo36, filcar

Offline Hodgies

• Hodgies
Re: Full Itinerary
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2016, 08:22:59 AM »
Looks awesome McGirr,  looking forward to following the  swagger journey. Your local knowledge will be very helpful.??
2011 Ford Ranger
2001 K.K

Offline Chris J

• My OKA - 166
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2016, 05:10:52 PM »
Thanks Mark,

All locked in

Regards, Chris.
Chaos, Panic, Disorder - My work is done here.

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2016, 09:25:08 PM »
sounds great

Offline b1

« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2016, 01:08:34 PM »
Only 550(ish) sleeps to go. Plenty to do before then .....
The first 50 years of my childhood have been the hardest

« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2016, 08:48:46 PM »
Only 550(ish) sleeps to go. Plenty to do before then .....

It will go quick  ;D

We start booking places around March 2017.

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2016, 09:59:05 PM »
Adjusted the start of the trip to Fri 4th May 2018 to add Tmber Creek to the itineray. It will break up the drive between Katherine and Zebra Rock Mine. There is some great scenery with a number of lookouts in the area.

http://www.timbercreekhotel.com.au/index.html

The itineray has been adjusted.

The following users thanked this post: richo36

« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2017, 06:27:00 AM »
Hi Mark, How much will it cost my mate and I to join your group at Kalumburu We would stay there for longer, and not do any part of the trip as I am only up there for the fishing as I was there in 1988 and it was fantastic,Craig

Offline b1

« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2017, 08:16:02 PM »
450 sleeps....

« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2017, 08:32:07 PM »
Hi Mark, How much will it cost my mate and I to join your group at Kalumburu We would stay there for longer, and not do any part of the trip as I am only up there for the fishing as I was there in 1988 and it was fantastic,Craig

I don't charge a thing mate. But if you wish to shower us with  :cheers: I won't say no.

« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2017, 08:33:40 PM »
450 sleeps....

That's not long. I start the preliminaries by contacting the places we will need to book. Stay tuned.  ;D

Offline filcar

« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2017, 08:40:55 PM »
Absolutely tuned in ...
Defender 90 towing AussieSwag Ultra D

« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2017, 09:14:34 PM »
Gee... to be able to get 3 months off work and have a job to come back to :(
mega jealous.

« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2017, 09:23:05 PM »
Hi Mark, Great thanks for that, But We have our own set up and are fully self sufficient water, tucker and freezer and fridges and solar, If we do come up I will tow up my 5m tinny and do some reef fishing, be great to met a few other swaggies, Craig

« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2017, 06:47:08 AM »
Hi Mark, If I go it will be later in the year around August, have fun, Cheers Craig

« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2017, 08:01:36 AM »
Sounds like an awesome trip, but a little too early in the year for us. We are planning on doing the Kimberley next year, but a few months later than all of you will be up there if we do it!

Offline b1

« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2017, 06:03:28 PM »
402 sleeps until the official start, less to when we leave for the start  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: March 28, 2017, 10:00:38 PM »
402 sleeps until the official start, less to when we leave for the start  ;D ;D ;D

Yes , bookings will start soon.  :cheers:

« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2017, 10:58:13 AM »

Updated the Itinerary

« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2017, 12:11:37 PM »
Some Pics of Gumbanan Bush Camp

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Offline rossmob

• Blog of our travels
« Reply #20 on: April 18, 2017, 07:41:28 AM »
Amazing place. Will have to put that one in our todo list.

Stu Ross
Mitsubishi Challenger PB LS 2012 and 2013 Trackabout SV Extenda .... for list of modifications and journeys available at our Blog : http://rossmob.blogspot.com.au/

« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2017, 03:06:10 PM »
Looks fantastic, thanks for all your work  :cup:

« Reply #22 on: May 07, 2017, 04:32:01 PM »
To members going on the trip, I have sent an email regarding the updates.

To the members who are going on the trip and I have not got your email here are the changes.

After talking to a few members going on the trip we have decided to for go any bookings apart from the trip to the Horizontal Waterfalls. ( I will advise when we will need to do this).

The reason for not booking places are below:

*Members are not confined to following the itinerary

*Members can decide if they wish to stay longer or shorter at places

*As some members will be traveling with pets other members will not be disadvantaged if they wish to stay at different locations that don't allow pets.

*Its a trip of lifetime and members can drop in and out of the trip anytime or follow the full itinerary.

*As we have not got accurate numbers of people going and some members may not be able to attend at the last minute, giving exact booking numbers would be too hard.

*Not being held to exact time frames and having the time to stay longer or revisit places along the way.

*We will be visiting some incredible places and do not want to be restricted and not spend enough time at these places.

*More of an adventure than a set tour.

Only 31,276,800 seconds
521,280 minutes
8688 hours
362 days
51 weeks and 5 days
before we head off.

« Last Edit: May 07, 2017, 04:36:12 PM by McGirr »

The following users thanked this post: filcar

« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2017, 09:29:59 AM »
Regarding traveling back from Broome after exploring Cape Leveque some members will be heading back towards Halls Creek / Tanami Track so there is an opportunity to visit the Bungle Bungles.

The following users thanked this post: b1

Offline b1

« Reply #24 on: May 17, 2017, 08:18:48 AM »
Just keeps getting better !

30,499,200 seconds
508,320 minutes
8472 hours
353 days
50 weeks and 3 days