Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 514176 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2650 on: June 23, 2021, 10:05:44 AM »
another gem popping up .... **** I love these things..
someone lend me a million..
Hey Swannie - you still got yours?

https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?stype=0&stypeid=0&kw=Torana&cid=0&smode=0&lid=2935685&pgn=1&pgs=100

Description:
RARE Torana A9X Hatch GMP & A 475kms 1 of 33
Year: 1977
Make: Holden
Model: Torana A9X
Badge: GMP & A
Body: 2-Door Coupe
Drive Type: Rear wheel drive
Odometer: Indicating 475 Kilometres
Engine: 8-Cylinder Petrol
Transmission: 4 -speed Manual
Colour: White
Seats: 5
Description/extras: GENUINE 1977 Holden Torana A9X Hatch GMP & A with a VERIFIED 475 kilometres on the clock from new! What an opportunity to own arguably one of the most sort after Aussie muscle cars in the country, as good as it gets!
« Last Edit: June 23, 2021, 04:28:44 PM by Bird »

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #2651 on: June 23, 2021, 01:58:06 PM »
And in my favourite colour for an A9X too
All I need is to win lotto
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #2652 on: June 23, 2021, 04:06:19 PM »
The trouble with these high end cars..... ya can't drive them..... every klm lowers the value.

Insurance for one would be through the roof.

I'd rather a 2 or 3 nice classics you can drive the wheels off.

« Reply #2653 on: June 23, 2021, 04:36:23 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
The trouble with these high end cars..... ya can't drive them..... every klm lowers the value.
was sayin that to mate earlier - lookin at the klms on it, *if* they were original - what a waste of a gem of a car..  With 50,000 or 500klms it would bring similar bux

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2654 on: June 26, 2021, 05:38:58 PM »
Shopping centre at Kingaroy. Very clean👍
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2655 on: June 27, 2021, 12:21:48 PM »
The Rod Shop to put a Ferrari V12 into its ‘Real Deal’ LC Torana

https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/ferrari-v12-real-deal-holden-lc-torana

Offline Champin

« Reply #2656 on: June 27, 2021, 03:50:06 PM »
The Rod Shop to put a Ferrari V12 into its ‘Real Deal’ LC Torana

https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/ferrari-v12-real-deal-holden-lc-torana

I've been watching that build. Reckon you'd need a desent set of nuts to drive that sucker.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

« Reply #2657 on: June 27, 2021, 05:34:20 PM »
I've been watching that build. Reckon you'd need a desent set of nuts to drive that sucker.

challenge accepted :D

« Reply #2658 on: June 27, 2021, 06:20:04 PM »

Insurance for one would be through the roof.

I'd rather a 2 or 3 nice classics you can drive the wheels off.

For cruising around, a nice “fake” classic car is all you need.
99% of XY Falcons you see are fakes. Still look good though.

« Reply #2659 on: June 27, 2021, 09:34:00 PM »
Shannons End of An Era celebrates Australian automotive manufacturing spanning 120 years of our nation's history. The story of Aussie ingenuity, the cars and the people who shaped our motoring history, as told by Shane Jacobson.

https://www.shannons.com.au/club/videos/channel/shannons-end-of-an-era/

« Reply #2660 on: July 02, 2021, 11:45:26 AM »

https://www.lloydsonline.com.au/LotDetails.aspx?stype=0&stypeid=0&kw=Torana&cid=0&smode=0&lid=2935685&pgn=1&pgs=100

Description:
Description/extras: GENUINE 1977 Holden Torana A9X Hatch GMP & A with a VERIFIED 475 kilometres on the clock from new! What an opportunity to own arguably one of the most sort after Aussie muscle cars in the country, as good as it gets!

1977 Holden Torana A9X sells short of $1 million target but sets record for the model

At another muscle car auction on the weekend, the hammer fell at $775,000 for a Holden Torana A9X – and a low-kilometre Holden Commodore VK Group A 'Blue Meanie' sold for close to half a million dollars.

Offline geopaj

« Reply #2661 on: July 02, 2021, 04:51:35 PM »

Description:

1977 Holden Torana A9X sells short of $1 million target but sets record for the model

At another muscle car auction on the weekend, the hammer fell at $775,000 for a Holden Torana A9X – and a low-kilometre Holden Commodore VK Group A 'Blue Meanie' sold for close to half a million dollars.

How much did the GMP&A 475km Torana sell for?
NT Pajero VRX (My build - https://www2.pajeroclub.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=47893 )

Sar Major Camper Trailer (My Build - http://www.myswag )

« Reply #2662 on: July 03, 2021, 12:57:10 PM »

Over the past year, rare and significant Holdens have increased in value.

“The very last Holden off the production line sold for $750,000, a Harvey A9X Torana sold for $910,000 and a special one of four Holden Maloo Ute sold for $1,100,000 in January. Now this one of only 33 Torana A9Xs has broken records for over three quarters of a million dollars,” the spokesperson said.

https://neoskosmos.com/en/203916/iconic-holden-torana-fetches-record-800000-at-auction/
« Last Edit: July 03, 2021, 01:07:20 PM by Bird »

« Reply #2663 on: July 03, 2021, 03:38:53 PM »
Who writes these bits of info they put go these photos,  quote..Four door Torana hatch sold for 800,000.  Hahaha four door A9X Torana Hatchback  .Yep Ok ..

« Reply #2664 on: July 03, 2021, 07:07:11 PM »
Who writes these bits of info they put go these photos,  quote..Four door Torana hatch sold for 800,000.  Hahaha four door A9X Torana Hatchback  .Yep Ok ..
HaHa, good spotting edz.  I'm looking hard at that pic and i'm darned if i can see the extra two doors they are quoting.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

« Reply #2665 on: July 08, 2021, 01:57:55 PM »
« Last Edit: July 18, 2021, 12:21:02 PM by Bird »

« Reply #2666 on: July 18, 2021, 10:46:24 AM »
Interesting ... but the dude loving a Honda City ???

The Department of Transport is currently conducting a review of Victoria’s road rules, with access to the club permit scheme and its cheap rego set to be tightened.

Among the changes being proposed is an increase to the age for an eligible car from 25 to 30 years, while new penalties will also be considered for those who breach the rules.

Iain Ross, president of the Association of Motoring Clubs, said that a major issue with the scheme at the moment was there was no definition of what vehicles were eligible.

“It doesn’t matter once a car turns 25, it can be an old truck or a rusty Ford Laser,” he said.

“That’s meant a lot of daily drivers are slipping onto the scheme when they turn 25 years old. We need to define what constitutes a classic or historic vehicle, it’s a very difficult task.”

The matter of average motors getting around on club plates has become enough of a sore point that a Twitter page, @ShitCarsOnClubRego, was set up to document them.

One issue was that some people were using cars for commercial purposes, such as driving tools to work as part of a landscaping business or hiring out vehicles for weddings.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/days-of-cheap-rego-loophole-for-classic-cars-could-be-numbered-20210714-p589o2.html
« Last Edit: July 18, 2021, 12:21:40 PM by Bird »

« Reply #2667 on: July 18, 2021, 03:36:06 PM »
I pay full rego on the Fleetwood, and will do the same on Marvin.

That way, just drive where-ever, when-ever..... and no dramas.

Plate recognition would tell the cops straight up its full reg too.
Mind you, i haven't heard of too many getting dusted for doing Shit either.

« Reply #2668 on: July 18, 2021, 04:42:28 PM »
I pay full rego on the Fleetwood, and will do the same on Marvin.

That way, just drive where-ever, when-ever..... and no dramas.

Plate recognition would tell the cops straight up its full reg too.
Mind you, i haven't heard of too many getting dusted for doing Shit either.
mate has 5-6 cars on club rego. paying full rego on 8 odd cars (his and her daily + work truck) @800+ each can get expensive + insurance specially if you only use them occasionally.

« Reply #2669 on: July 18, 2021, 06:28:17 PM »
mate has 5-6 cars on club rego. paying full rego on 8 odd cars (his and her daily + work truck) @800+ each can get expensive + insurance specially if you only use them occasionally.

I know someone with one car on club rego. Think a few of the clubs are setup as a front  and when someone wants to drive their car of a weekend, the club or the person has a dodgy club run that weekend. Don’t know how much gets documented, but I know this person has never been on a club run and he doesn’t know if they ever have one.

« Reply #2670 on: July 19, 2021, 03:20:50 AM »

Each to their own, but i'd never have 5 or 6 cars on club reg anyway. (i'm not that rich.... even a little bit)  :D
The Fleetwood is down for approx 10,000klm a year, insurance isn't to bad with $43,000 value.

It did cover around 650klm this last week while the Statesman got some loving.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2021, 06:35:33 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2671 on: July 19, 2021, 06:27:49 AM »
I know someone with one car on club rego. Think a few of the clubs are setup as a front  and when someone wants to drive their car of a weekend, the club or the person has a dodgy club run that weekend. Don’t know how much gets documented, but I know this person has never been on a club run and he doesn’t know if they ever have one.
And some clubs take it very seriously.

We get requests from random people all the time wanting to join our club just to get their cars on club plates.
Needless to say they are all rejected. Only active members that attend meetings, events or help with the running of the club are considered.

I’ve got my toy on club rego because it only ever gets driven on club trips.
My car has been built up over many years for one specific purpose and our club runs plenty of members only runs to satisfy my needs.

« Reply #2672 on: July 19, 2021, 08:37:18 AM »
And some clubs take it very seriously.

We get requests from random people all the time wanting to join our club just to get their cars on club plates.
Needless to say they are all rejected. Only active members that attend meetings, events or help with the running of the club are considered.

I’ve got my toy on club rego because it only ever gets driven on club trips.
My car has been built up over many years for one specific purpose and our club runs plenty of members only runs to satisfy my needs.

On club rego, are you allowed to drive down to the local shops or are you strictly limited to a club run.?

« Reply #2673 on: July 19, 2021, 09:49:18 AM »
On club rego, are you allowed to drive down to the local shops or are you strictly limited to a club run.?
Each state seems to have slightly different rules.
Here in QLD we’re allowed to do maintenance runs within a certain radius of home (I think it’s something like 20 or 30km), you can also drive to get work done on the vehicle (can’t remember, but don’t think there is a km limit on that one).
Other then that, it’s driving to meetings, doing club trips or reccies for club trips only. Everything must be noted in the club meeting minutes to be official.

The biggest problem that I have with the system at the moment is that our club has moved from a web based forum to Facebook for all trips.
I’m not in Facebook, so if I get pulled up on my way to meet up with the group and don’t have any other members traveling with me at that time I can’t prove that I’m actually doing an official trip. ::)

« Reply #2674 on: July 19, 2021, 10:42:50 AM »
Quote from: gronk
https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/registration/limited-use-permits/club-permit-scheme/car-club-permits

Every weekend down here there are 100's of cars on Club plates out for a cruiser on their own, and lots in groups... I believe as long as you write it in your log book, your fine.

In the article it says 'few 100mtrs for test drive'... take that as you will.