Author Topic: Myswag Whisky Drinkers  (Read 71845 times)

scrapsD40

Re: Myswag Scotch Drinkers
« Reply #25 on: June 23, 2016, 11:57:10 AM »
scotch to me tastes and always has tasted like paint stripper.. :(
I agree Bruce, but now I've tried a few better quality ones, my pallette appears to have changed.
The following users thanked this post: SambOz

« Reply #26 on: June 23, 2016, 12:14:35 PM »

Jillsy, we might need a new line of merchandise........

MySwag tumbler and nip dispenser set?

Offline db

« Reply #27 on: June 23, 2016, 01:48:24 PM »
Laphroaig 10 year old, I don't usually have any in the house, 'cause I'll just drink it... But any of the strong flavoured islay single malts are good.
Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R

Offline SambOz

« Reply #28 on: June 23, 2016, 02:01:20 PM »
Lagavulin 16 yr, the start of many downfalls   :D - first Scotch I thought had any "taste", tried many since and now that L16 is >$100 and $80+ on special at Uncle Dans have tried a lot of others in the Islay style.

Talisker 10 yr  46% as a b'day/Christmas/Fathers Day pressy, firm fav.  :cup:

Bought an Strathisla 12yr yesterday, first time tasted, very nice easy drinking with a dash of (tank) water, hint of peat, recommend it  ;D

Simple things..Single Malts are usually best & you get what you pay for.
                        Still searching for the <$50 whisky I like as much as Tal 10, it doesn't exist !
                        Your palate changes with the years
                        Never mix it with Coke, that sh*t makes you crook !
                        Ice dulls the flavour, if your not keen on it add plenty ice, not Coke
                        Keep an eye on the prices, you'll see some of your fav. at up to 20% saving on special

ENJOY  ::)

« Reply #29 on: June 23, 2016, 02:30:56 PM »
Have a bottle of Glenlivet and Glennfidick on the shelf for when the JD runs out, but for some reason more and more JD keeps appearing ???

Offline SambOz

« Reply #30 on: June 23, 2016, 02:51:44 PM »
See what you did there Scraps...lol

scotch to me tastes and always has tasted like paint stripper.. :(

I agree Bruce, but now I've tried a few better quality ones, my pallette appears to have changed.

« Reply #31 on: June 23, 2016, 03:27:11 PM »
Actually you need to get on the GIN

Offline SimpleSi

« Reply #32 on: June 23, 2016, 06:11:01 PM »
Talisker wins hands down.
JW red if there's a mix involved
JW double black just ok on-the-rocks.

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #33 on: June 23, 2016, 06:17:20 PM »
Hellyers Road Single Malt is the best I have had to date.
I love it with ice, a bit expensive to be gulping it with coke.

It's a Tasmanian whiskey that is definately worth a try.
I only buy it when it's on special.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline tagman

• unique test tags / labels
Myswag Scotch Drinkers
« Reply #34 on: June 23, 2016, 06:24:53 PM »
I am liking DUBLINER at the moment.
Maybe more of a liqueur than a scotch?
But it has a hint of honeycomb flavour.

www.tags2u.com.au
« Last Edit: June 23, 2016, 06:26:48 PM by tagman »
www.tags2u.com.au

Re: Just for Scotch Drinkers
« Reply #35 on: June 24, 2016, 08:43:45 AM »
I have only been drinking 12 yr old Jamison's I pay about $18 a bottle in Japan!  But lately gone off it for some reason, and I still have 4 bottles left!

Jimmy, I'll be only too happy to take them off your hands if you don't want tthem any more!  :D

Problem would be having it SwagMailed up here ??? I have this funny feeling that something may just happen to cause the bottles to spring a leak in transit  ???  >:D

« Reply #36 on: June 24, 2016, 09:15:05 AM »
JD is my main drink, which is'nt very often these days, but for special ocassions i always have a bottle of Dimple on standby. ????????

Sent from my SM-J500Y using Tapatalk

scrapsD40

« Reply #37 on: June 24, 2016, 01:43:40 PM »
Jimmy, I'll be only too happy to take them off your hands if you don't want tthem any more!  :D

Problem would be having it SwagMailed up here ??? I have this funny feeling that something may just happen to cause the bottles to spring a leak in transit  ???  >:D
They'd be safe if you sent them with speewa

Offline DCP

« Reply #38 on: June 24, 2016, 10:26:20 PM »
The stock in my caravan is
Always a bottle of Glenfiddic,only drunk straight up no ice
 Lark classic cask single malt, only drunk straight up no ice.
 Lark single malt Slainte liqueur is my favorite again straight up no ice, $50 plus 350 mls
Zubrowka  (bison grass) vodka from Poland is great again straight up no ice. Is expensive.
Cointreau an old favorite of mine.
Wild Turkey is a mixer type of drink, as is  Bells blended scotch.
Southern  Comfort was the drink of my beloved and is only ever drunk as a Liqueur.
there is also an array of port for those quiet evenings around the camp fire.

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #39 on: June 24, 2016, 10:29:21 PM »
I am liking DUBLINER at the moment.
Maybe more of a liqueur than a scotch?
But it has a hint of honeycomb flavour.

X 10,000!

Also Glayva for a more spiced and less sweet flavour. Sullivan Cove from Tassie is very smooth....but the price rise since 2004!

Tim
« Last Edit: June 24, 2016, 10:32:13 PM by Tim - Stratford »

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline slydar

« Reply #40 on: June 25, 2016, 04:41:30 PM »
(a bit more sedate that the electrical thread...!)

my mrs loves her scotch as well, and has taken a liking for irish whiskey (note the spelling - scotch/Scottish whiskey does NOT have an 'e' in it!!!)

laphroaig came and went, as did JW Blue - in fact none of the JWs seem to do it for her now except the black label but only when it comes down to $40 a bottle (whereupon she gets a six-pack for Christmas). J&B is the one of choice more than anything else, but I will never forget the bar we found in flinders street whose house scotch was chivas!

Re: Myswag Whisky Drinkers
« Reply #41 on: June 25, 2016, 08:59:36 PM »
I make a Single Malt, that runs rings around Glenfidick and Dimple and it only costs $8 a bottle.  ;D  :cheers:

scrapsD40

« Reply #42 on: June 26, 2016, 06:20:59 AM »
I read last night that whisky on ice, in fact most any hard liquer or spirit on ice can be harmful to your body.  So I'm going to limit the risk................and cut back on the ice

Offline bak79

• Kropp's Go Camping
« Reply #43 on: June 26, 2016, 07:49:41 AM »
my old man grabbed me a bottle of the Hellyers Road from Tassie this year.  haven't cracked it yet but heading away next weekend so it's in the camper  ;D

I usually drink japanese whisky. inlaws are japanese and always look after me when i visit.  favourite to date has been taketsuru 21.  my go to whisky is Balvenie Double Wood 12yr old.  no water or ice for me unless it's cask strength then usually just a bit of water. 

Hellyers Road Single Malt is the best I have had to date.
I love it with ice, a bit expensive to be gulping it with coke.

It's a Tasmanian whiskey that is definately worth a try.
I only buy it when it's on special.

« Reply #44 on: June 26, 2016, 07:56:39 AM »
I make a Single Malt, that runs rings around Glenfidick and Dimple and it only costs $8 a bottle.  ;D  :cheers:

So how many years is it matured in an oak barrel?

« Reply #45 on: June 26, 2016, 11:03:02 AM »
It's not, just 24hrs in the freezer but had two bottles that I let sit for two years and have another one that has been there for three years.  :cheers:

Offline MarkVS

« Reply #46 on: June 26, 2016, 11:29:38 AM »
I have collected and tried many scotches. Recently I was lucky enough to be in Tassie  and had some 'Sullivan's Cove' that recently won the Worlds best single malt award at the World Whisky Awards.

I do have to say, there is a point where when you go above, telling the difference starts to get very difficult.

A neighbour of mine and I used to have the full collection of every Johnnie Walker made, lined them up in quality order, and over the space on quite a few hours, had a nip of each, starting at the cheapest and working our way up. You certainly can taste the fine differences doing it that way.

But I find it hard to be able to tell specific differences when it's a 1 off.

But I do like a nice scotch, in the evening, dash of soda, with nice company around.

MarkVS

2020 Patrol Series 5
2015 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

2013,2015,2017 National Meet
Survivor 2013 McGirr Across the Gulf trip
2014 McGirr Cape trip
2016 Duggie Savannah trip
2018 McGirr Kimberley

For every situation you have 3 choices. Live with it, change it, or leave it. But only pick one

« Reply #47 on: June 26, 2016, 01:20:56 PM »

So how many years is it matured in an oak barrel?

It's not, just 24hrs in the freezer but had two bottles that I let sit for two years and have another one that has been there for three years.  :cheers:

Sorry mate, it is not whisky then.  It is just flavoured ethanol  :D

Offline The Caseys

« Reply #48 on: June 26, 2016, 03:57:45 PM »
My husband can never decide what he wants, so always has a broad collection for whatever the taste buds feel like.

Tina

scrapsD40

Myswag Whisky Drinkers
« Reply #49 on: June 26, 2016, 04:51:41 PM »
Just found this hiding in the back of the cupboard. Must have been an old work Xrissy present. Open now
« Last Edit: June 26, 2016, 04:53:21 PM by scrapsD40 »