Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 331521 times)

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #1550 on: September 05, 2021, 05:31:15 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Bet they're fun and costly to rebuild.
the ex mistake has a ASX with one of those CVT boxes in it... they are horrible to drive. gimme normal gears anyday

« Reply #1551 on: September 06, 2021, 04:37:25 AM »
OH hell yeah.

They spruik these cars are the future, but i still think we're getting too smart for our own good.

When we were towing down the Peachester twistys on Saturday, the mountain cutting is right next to you in one spot.

The amber light in the left mirror flashed on.......  ???

I started saying in a deep voice...... Terrain Pull Up............. Terrain Pull Up.............. Terrain Pull Up........... Terrain Pull Up.

I think Doug was over it by the bottom of the twistys.

« Reply #1552 on: September 06, 2021, 05:56:51 AM »
Try driving a car with collision avoidance through long grass.  It will keep jamming on the brakes

« Reply #1553 on: September 06, 2021, 06:30:06 AM »
Try driving a car with collision avoidance through long grass.  It will keep jamming on the brakes

ha ha ha.... does it really. that is funny.

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #1554 on: September 06, 2021, 08:02:32 AM »
Bet they're fun and costly to rebuild.

Designed to be thrown away when worn out
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #1555 on: September 06, 2021, 08:47:28 AM »
Designed to be thrown away when worn out

And that, is the problem with the modern automobile right there.

Everything, is just throw away.

No wonder we have mechanics and dealer technicians as two totally different animals.
Mechanics fix things..... techs just unbolt and bolt in new parts.

« Reply #1556 on: September 06, 2021, 10:36:08 AM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
ha ha ha.... does it really. that is funny.

The hire truck I had other day to move has that lane detection Shit on it, and everytime you moved 1mm on the white line it alarms and Shit went mad

« Reply #1557 on: September 06, 2021, 11:47:20 AM »
I need to do some ghetto data cabling. I have to run a single patch cable to my son's new gaming PC.

Given lockdown and all, and the fact my eyes are not what they used to be, I'm not planning on terminating the cable myself. Instead, I am buying a long already terminated patch lead and plan on feeding it through a hole in the floor and running it under the house where I have plenty of room to crawl around.

As the cable is already terminated the challenge is to drill a big enough hole to get the cable and plug through the floor. I have a 20mm hole saw I was planning to use. One end of the cable is going into the cupboard where the switch is, it's through carpet and yellow tongue. I plan to drill into the corner and plug the hole with a cork or similar once the cable is in. I'll drill this hole first because it will never be seen in case I bugger it up. The second hole is the challenge, even though it will be up against the skirting board, it will be in the middle of a wall and could be seen in the future if furniture is moved around.

Question - should/can I pull an edge of carpet up, or should I just drill straight through it? Any other tips gratefully accepted :)

« Last Edit: September 06, 2021, 11:49:48 AM by D4D »

« Reply #1558 on: September 06, 2021, 11:51:02 AM »
Quote from: D4D
Any other tips gratefully accepted :)
Get a sparky to run a cable into a wall plate.... no holes you have to worry about thats his problem... no holes to see if you move furniture..

« Reply #1559 on: September 06, 2021, 11:53:44 AM »
Get a sparky to run a cable into a wall plate.... no holes you have to worry about thats his problem... no holes to see if you move furniture..

That would be too easy and it's not 'emergency work', as much as my son thinks gaming over wi-fi constitutes an emergency, so sparky not legally allowed to work at the moment.

« Reply #1560 on: September 06, 2021, 12:00:11 PM »
Don’t drill thru the carpet, the holesaw will catch and pull threads galore, lift the carpet and underlay back, drill your hole and then put a neat cut in the carpet and underlay so it fits neatly around the cable.

« Reply #1561 on: September 06, 2021, 12:10:23 PM »
Don’t drill thru the carpet, the holesaw will catch and pull threads galore, lift the carpet and underlay back, drill your hole and then put a neat cut in the carpet and underlay so it fits neatly around the cable.

Thanks, another dumb question. What's the best way to lift the carpet and underlay? It's hard up against the skirting board.

« Reply #1562 on: September 06, 2021, 12:29:54 PM »
Thanks, another dumb question. What's the best way to lift the carpet and underlay? It's hard up against the skirting board.
Working on the assumption that the carpet is held in place by smooth edge you should be able to lever it up with a wide bladed screwdriver or even carefully lift it with pliers at the corner and it will peel back along the smooth edge. Be careful of the smooth edge it bites, sharp tack edges will be exposed.

Just go gently.

« Reply #1563 on: September 06, 2021, 12:36:07 PM »
Working on the assumption that the carpet is held in place by smooth edge you should be able to lever it up with a wide bladed screwdriver or even carefully lift it with pliers at the corner and it will peel back along the smooth edge. Be careful of the smooth edge it bites, sharp tack edges will be exposed.

Just go gently.

Thanks, wish me luck :)

« Reply #1564 on: September 06, 2021, 12:47:48 PM »
Thanks, wish me luck :)

What's your address, I'll send you some band aids   ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #1565 on: September 06, 2021, 12:48:07 PM »
That would be too easy and it's not 'emergency work', as much as my son thinks gaming over wi-fi constitutes an emergency, so sparky not legally allowed to work at the moment.
your kiddin.. had one out twice as has the ex.... and judging by the 1000's of tradie utes going by home every morning/evening... everybody is "emergency work"  :)

« Reply #1566 on: September 06, 2021, 01:18:50 PM »
I need to do some ghetto data cabling. I have to run a single patch cable to my son's new gaming PC.

The second hole is the challenge, even though it will be up against the skirting board, it will be in the middle of a wall and could be seen in the future if furniture is moved around.

A small hole under the carpet in the corner of the cupboard is simple enough to hide. For the visible one, could you drill up from underneath through the bottom plate of the wall? Should only need about a 12mm hole to thread your cable through. Fit a wall plate and connect with one of these joiners - https://www.jaycar.com.au/cat-5e-coupler-8p-8c/p/YN8032
Other option is to put one of these wall plates on and just pass the cable trough - https://www.jaycar.com.au/brush-cable-entry-wall-plate/p/PS0291 It would be much easier to patch the hole in the plaster than the floor if you ever needed to?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2021, 02:00:48 PM by Spada »

« Reply #1567 on: September 06, 2021, 02:09:50 PM »
A small hole under the carpet in the corner of the cupboard is simple enough to hide. For the visible one, could you drill up from underneath through the bottom plate of the wall? Should only need about a 12mm hole to thread your cable through. Fit a wall plate and connect with one of these joiners - https://www.jaycar.com.au/cat-5e-coupler-8p-8c/p/YN8032

I like that coupler, I didn't know they existed  :cheers:

« Reply #1568 on: September 06, 2021, 04:55:20 PM »
Basically ends up like this

« Reply #1569 on: September 06, 2021, 06:47:44 PM »
Wardrobe hole drilled, turned out ok and the carpet goes back nicely. I used a car interior panel remover thingy to lift the carpet. I'll use a blob of bluetac to fill the hole around the cable. Only problem I encountered was I had the drill chuck too close to the skirt and took some paint off. A quick touch up and nobody will know. Now waiting on my click and collect order for the cable so I can drill the other end. Amazing how exciting small projects are when you're in lockdown...

Offline corndog

« Reply #1570 on: September 06, 2021, 06:54:59 PM »
If you are that excited over drilling a hole in your floor best you seek some help from a health professional.

« Reply #1571 on: September 06, 2021, 07:49:43 PM »
If you are that excited over drilling a hole in your floor best you seek some help from a health professional.

Why? Do they have better drills? ;D
« Last Edit: September 06, 2021, 07:59:16 PM by D4D »

Offline corndog

« Reply #1572 on: September 06, 2021, 07:56:43 PM »
Not unless you go see a dentist

« Reply #1573 on: September 06, 2021, 07:59:37 PM »
Not unless you go see a dentist

But it's not 2:30...

« Reply #1574 on: September 06, 2021, 08:14:48 PM »
Hold the laughing gas, comedians galore here. :cheers: