Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1754439 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #6575 on: October 26, 2021, 07:02:45 PM »
Umm, who ya gonna talk to with more power, if a piece of wire strung up lets you talk around the world😜

You can never have enough  :laugh:

« Reply #6576 on: October 31, 2021, 07:20:02 AM »
Bringing it across here to ask a question ...

don’t forget to allow for drying and shrinking and shaking of ends.

What does "shaking" refer to, Pottsy ???

« Reply #6577 on: October 31, 2021, 08:21:04 AM »
Bringing it across here to ask a question ...

What does "shaking" refer to, Pottsy ???

The end of a milled plank will dry out quicker than the centre of the board and this causes shaking/splitting of the end of the plank. When you look at the end of the plank it usually has a coating on the end, something like wax, paint or a chemseal coating, this helps to slow down the drying of the end grain and prevent shaking, splitting.
The following users thanked this post: Spada, Fizzie

« Reply #6578 on: October 31, 2021, 01:58:28 PM »
For about 12 months the 80's tailgate Central locking hasn't been working.
So I thought I would find out why. The agitator is working if I supply power to it, just no power getting to it.
I got hold of an central locking module from a mate, pull the drivers door trim off, plug it in, still no luck. Went through the Gregory's manual. Checked every plug all the way to the roof at the upper tailgate, These is power to the plug there, I pull the wires out of the Rubber hose that goes from the Body to the upper tailgate, There she is, a broken wire.
Solder, heat shrink, jobs done. An easy fix :)

« Reply #6579 on: November 01, 2021, 03:53:11 PM »
For about 12 months the 80's tailgate Central locking hasn't been working.
So I thought I would find out why. The agitator is working if I supply power to it, just no power getting to it.
I got hold of an central locking module from a mate, pull the drivers door trim off, plug it in, still no luck. Went through the Gregory's manual. Checked every plug all the way to the roof at the upper tailgate, These is power to the plug there, I pull the wires out of the Rubber hose that goes from the Body to the upper tailgate, There she is, a broken wire.
Solder, heat shrink, jobs done. An easy fix :)
at least ya found the issue :)

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #6580 on: November 01, 2021, 04:17:12 PM »
2 green waste runs to the tip, unloaded and packed the floating box trailer to bring home about 1/3 of the crap I've had at my parents place for 7 years...

I gave up counting at 25 fishing rods, plus there are more at home, I think I have a problem...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #6581 on: November 01, 2021, 05:09:50 PM »
Yep, and a simple fix. :)
It pays to have pdf files of ya vehicle.
Also, even tho I've owned her since 2005, there is always something new to learn, fix :)

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #6582 on: November 02, 2021, 10:44:53 PM »
Repacked the shed so I could fit the third trailer in...

Missus thinks we need a hoist to clear up some floor space!  Winning!!!

Sent from my SM-T835 using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #6583 on: November 03, 2021, 07:34:55 AM »

Online GeoffA

« Reply #6584 on: November 03, 2021, 07:39:30 AM »
How about one of these ???

OK for stacking, but no good for working on the car.

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #6585 on: November 03, 2021, 07:40:41 AM »
OK for stacking, but no good for working on the car.

Great for Rovers, so they don't leak on each other  :laugh: :laugh:
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #6586 on: November 03, 2021, 09:57:03 AM »
This was finished off this morning, reminiscent of the Griswalds family truck.
No plans for the truck, put it together as I went along. This one is up for sale as a package, I will post it in the classified section later.

Offline A-frame81

« Reply #6587 on: November 03, 2021, 11:26:34 AM »

I gave up counting at 25 fishing rods, plus there are more at home, I think I have a problem...

I'm not really seeing a problem here. My problem is I only have about 6 rods and 5 reels..... and my only boat is a kayak...

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #6588 on: November 03, 2021, 12:31:58 PM »
How about one of these ???

https://levantapark.com.au/car-stackers-without-a-pit/bipark/
At this stage we're looking at a couple of different portable hoists, that can be moved around (without anything on them of course), and it's a 6 inch slab for this eventuality

2013 Amarok Highline

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #6589 on: November 03, 2021, 01:38:40 PM »
I'm not really seeing a problem here. My problem is I only have about 6 rods and 5 reels..... and my only boat is a kayak...
We bought a couple of kayaks before we had kids, I still enjoy going for a fish in the yak, heaps faster to get out and back in

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #6590 on: November 09, 2021, 09:48:24 AM »
When we cleared the in-laws unit out a few years ago, they had two fire-bottles, one in the kitchen, one in the garage, which really is a good idea :D

But, the gauges on them both are showing that they've lost pressure, & they're both well & truly past their use-by date, so we may as well ditch these two & get a new one to sit out near the barbie.

So, we've got a load of rubbish to take to the dump so we'll ask dropping them there ??? "Sorry, mate, no, we can't take them. We used to, but they changed the rules & we can't any more because they're now hazardous waste. I think the firies take them so try them".

Ring the local fire station. "Sorry, mate, no, we can't take them. We used to, but they changed the rules & we can't any more. Try the fire safety places who sell them"

Ring a local one of them. "Yeah, sure thing, we'll take them, but we've got to charge you $10 each to take them, as we're then charged to dispose of them!" :o ::) >:(

I'm sorry, but I think that these extinguishers may accidentally be let off, then get dropped in the bin >:(

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #6591 on: November 09, 2021, 10:34:25 AM »

I'm sorry, but I think that these extinguishers may accidentally be let off, then get dropped in the bin >:(

Once you let them off unscrew the valve then their not a pressure vestal  :cheers:
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #6592 on: November 09, 2021, 10:50:46 AM »
apparently the recycling depot at Helensvale will take fire extinguishers for recycling
2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #6593 on: November 09, 2021, 10:56:19 AM »
Once you let them off unscrew the valve then their not a pressure vestal  :cheers:

apparently the recycling depot at Helensvale will take fire extinguishers for recycling

Thanks Drew, but it was the Council recycling place at Burleigh that said no ???

« Reply #6594 on: November 09, 2021, 10:57:33 AM »

I attended a fire safety evening at the local boat club where they lit up a tray of fuel and you had to put it out with an extinguisher, it was an interesting exercise. They had a heap of old extinguishers they were using for the demo. Maybe see if your local boat club runs the same session and you can offload them there. They also ran a flare night where we let expired flares off, that was a lot of fun too  >:D

« Reply #6595 on: November 09, 2021, 11:04:00 AM »
Thanks - worth checking into but I know that with doing basic crew safety at VMR, we have to use current, in-date, flares! ::) (Which we then have to pay for to replace >:()

« Reply #6596 on: November 09, 2021, 01:15:59 PM »
I attended a fire safety evening at the local boat club where they lit up a tray of fuel and you had to put it out with an extinguisher, it was an interesting exercise. They had a heap of old extinguishers they were using for the demo. Maybe see if your local boat club runs the same session and you can offload them there. They also ran a flare night where we let expired flares off, that was a lot of fun too  >:D

Back in the 70's in the RAAF, we had a fire lecture day, with the Fireys there to show us how to put out fires. They had some fuel soaked rags in a tray on the ground, and got us to gather around, and one of the Fireys proceeded to show us how to put it out. I can't remember now if he had a hose, or an extinguisher now, be he was demonstrating what not to use. He let go a blast at the base of the flame, as you would expect, but one of the burning rags got blown out of the tray and nearly set one of the troops on fire. Firey was a bit red faced after that LOL
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #6597 on: November 19, 2021, 12:08:06 PM »
Question for the metalwork experts, please ;D

Want to cut a couple of nice round ~50mm discs out of a fairly (2-3mm) thin sheet of aluminium.

I've got a hole saw which would definitely do it, but I don't want a hole in the middle of the disc, I want it solid.

Any suggestions as to how, or what gadget I need ???

Edit to add size! Doh :-[
« Last Edit: November 19, 2021, 05:43:09 PM by Fizzie »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #6598 on: November 19, 2021, 12:35:42 PM »
Bandsaw🤔
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #6599 on: November 19, 2021, 12:42:00 PM »
Question for the metalwork experts, please ;D

Want to cut a couple of nice round discs out of a fairly (2-3mm) thin sheet of aluminium.

I've got a hole saw which would definitely do it, but I don't want a hole in the middle of the disc, I want it solid.

Any suggestions as to how, or what gadget I need ???

Drill the hole in a piece of timber with the holesaw. clamp it to the steel, remove arbour out of hole saw and then drill using the timber as a guide