Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1729978 times)

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #200 on: May 21, 2013, 08:14:59 AM »
Greased the bearings and shackles on my trailer build to get it ready to tip over..

Welded on the A frame, went and bought a hitch plate.. 4 hole..
« Last Edit: May 21, 2013, 05:03:33 PM by Brumbypt »
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #201 on: May 21, 2013, 01:55:31 PM »
Well, put together another set of selves for all the camping gear to go on which saved alot more room.

Cut the cable on the compressor to put an anderson plug connection in! Can just plug it into the anderson plug on top of the portable battery to run it when we are up the beach!!

Next on the list, put in the new water pump and fly screen on the drifta kitchen!

Offline Roo

• Is hitting the road Jack.
« Reply #202 on: May 21, 2013, 03:17:42 PM »
Cleaning! We're packing up the house to travel and I'm having a hard time sending all the useless junk I've hung onto for too long to the bin....tuff gig but the payoff is a looooong fishing/camping trip. 10 days to go:-D
[insert witty comment]

Offline StrvnMrvn

« Reply #203 on: May 21, 2013, 03:21:49 PM »
Roo,

The missus made me do it! Promise!!  :laugh: :angel:

Enjoy your holiday mate!

Offline firecracker

« Reply #204 on: May 22, 2013, 02:27:06 AM »
I've been moving the stuff out of the cave into the garage after putting new floor tiles down,hope to claim the cave back and fit it up with my woodworking gear, can't have all that dust on the new floor (SWMBO) ???
D3 HSE, Compomotive18"275x65 Cooper ATs, Sumpguard, GVNP.rods, Prospeed tree sliders, Brembo 4pot
Out laning/camping when i can.(ongoing trailer build)

nbd73

« Reply #205 on: May 22, 2013, 04:55:14 AM »
I love that set, if you click in the link below and then on alternate images, the second was my favorite model to build.
I'm a bit of a Lego nut actually, that and mechano.
http://www.brickset.com/detail/?set=42000-1

Evo

I loved Lego as a kid, but this seems to be a trend these days with adults getting right into it. The age bracket on the boxes should be changed so there's no upper limit.

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #206 on: May 22, 2013, 11:59:35 AM »
Discovered this Lego f1 car. Masters 5 and 3 have helped me with a lot of the harder models. And they have a lot of their own Lego now. So ive decided This one is mine :)) (is that fair)
That's about 20% built. Took me 2hrs. :)

Little image #1 got this for his birthday.
A photo every 5 min while building it and it took over 4 hrs.
Nathans Birthday present

He loves his lego!
Reagards
Crispy
« Last Edit: May 22, 2013, 12:01:09 PM by Crisp Image »

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

« Reply #207 on: May 22, 2013, 12:21:53 PM »
I'm 47, Had a truck load of Lego as a young fella.
Didn't have all the fancy bits that they have these days, it was still fun to play with tho.
Young Jack is 11 and he loves his,  he is always pulling it apart and building something new.
My Brother buys him something each birthday & Christmas, he looks forward to it eager to build it & then dismantle only to make something combine it all.
Thanks for sharing guys.

Edit,
And how many kids have that kinda mat that's on the floor LOL

Offline StrvnMrvn

« Reply #208 on: May 26, 2013, 03:44:41 PM »
There is a list:

1. Water pump install (Thanks KB for the ideas)
2. Tap install in the Drifta kitchen (Thanks KB for the ideas)
3. Installed a bit of timber to stop the table from sliding forward and falling down into the storage box
4. Using spreader bars from the tent and a left over piece from a kids swing set, made a light and tea towel hanging bar above the kitchen.

P.S. Pulled out the lego and showed my little girl (Kaylah, 2) how to build a car, now she can't get enough of it!!

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #209 on: May 26, 2013, 03:51:43 PM »
Thursday.. Helped a. Mate change a cv joint on his cruiser..

Saturday. Did the long welds down the middle of my trailer build and started to fit the front to my trailer build..
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #210 on: May 26, 2013, 03:53:28 PM »
1. Water pump install (Thanks KB for the ideas)
2. Tap install in the Drifta kitchen (Thanks KB for the ideas)

No probs mate.  Glad I could help.  Enjoy.

Offline StrvnMrvn

« Reply #211 on: May 26, 2013, 03:55:24 PM »
How did you go with the new electrical setup KB? Surely you did something in the man cave today!

« Reply #212 on: May 26, 2013, 03:59:20 PM »
Yeah mate, just having some lunch at 4pm.  Will post an update soon but got the 3 new batteries hooked up in the new battery box.  Still a bit of light left so plan to cut a new shelf to fit the charger etc before packing up.  Starting to get a bit cold up on the hill.

Offline toeball

« Reply #213 on: May 26, 2013, 04:16:13 PM »
Gave the handbrake's scoobydoo forester a birthday, oil and oil filter change, air filter, fuel filter, adjusted the handbrake, degreased the engine bay tightened the fan belt, new headlight globes, buffed the yellow sunburned faces of the lights so they work better. Now it needs an exterior detail, the inside is her department, it is decorated similarly to a rubbish skip.... ???

My DMAX is going in for its 10k service this week so I've been through the book to see what they are meant to do and marked everything they are meant to touch.... Watch this space!!
I-zoo-zoo D-MAX and a Lifestyle Explorer + (+ more)

« Reply #214 on: May 26, 2013, 04:33:05 PM »
Its always the same with woman and their cars.

Offline corynmelnkids

« Reply #215 on: May 26, 2013, 07:28:12 PM »
Had busy weekend in the man cave firstly changed the bearings on the box trailer then cleaned up a bit of rust on the tailgate. Then i pulled a pallet apart and made a heap of new shelves in the cave and than gave the prado a wash for the boss.
2003 Toyota Prado Turbo dsl
Cub Supamatic Escape Offroad
Stacer 349 Cartopper with a Suzuki 5hp 4 stroke
All set now for a big trip just need the money
and time off work.

« Reply #216 on: June 01, 2013, 08:21:21 AM »
Think I might build a rear tube bar for our Patrol today.....Ill post a pic or two tomorrow arvo if everything has gone well ;)

« Reply #217 on: June 01, 2013, 08:32:50 AM »
Had a rush of blood to the head & decided to remove some of the preloved ,broken ,totally stuffed , possible projects to another place . Where somebody else can find them & take them home to do the same with later . Found about 20 meters in the shed of unused floor space , amazing . Swept it clean , at present decicing on what to cover it with looks so bare  :angel:    :cheers:

« Reply #218 on: June 01, 2013, 09:01:01 AM »
walked in opened the fridge and suddenly broke out in a sweat and shivers wondering how am i going to keep the fluids up at work to-day

« Reply #219 on: June 01, 2013, 09:02:02 AM »
Think I might build a rear tube bar for our Patrol today.....Ill post a pic or two tomorrow arvo if everything has gone well ;)
dont want to wack together a set of rock sliders for a Prado why your at it ?

« Reply #220 on: June 01, 2013, 09:12:24 AM »
dont want to wack together a set of rock sliders for a Prado why your at it ?

Anything is possible after we get back from the top end :)

« Reply #221 on: June 01, 2013, 09:30:04 AM »
Anything is possible after we get back from the top end :)
sounds like i trip to the bottle shop is in order when you get back

« Reply #222 on: June 01, 2013, 11:40:54 AM »
look out now the lego bug has bitten Crisp, hope the shed is pretty big for the next lego project ..
World's Largest Lego Model: A life-size X-wing fighter, made of 5.3 million Lego bricks

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #223 on: June 01, 2013, 03:11:26 PM »
My man tony down in the man cave as I type replacing the shocks and springs on the patrol.  He loves his hoist and air rachet ;D cheers rellbell

« Reply #224 on: June 01, 2013, 04:27:32 PM »
I'm testing the new esky.

Using some frozen salt water and other home made ice bricks, packed it full of beer and coke and threw the thermo in to suss it out. Most of the drinks went in cold, but i did throw in a six pack that was warm.
We're gunna open it 10 or 15 times a day to try to get a true reading.
As we keep the esky in the tent itself when camping, i've put it in the garage, hoping that bit of temp from parking the car in there will be compatable... maybe....

Within 1/2 an hour, recording -4 degrees.

Lets see if it really does 10 to 15 days huh.