Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 494098 times)

Offline DrewXT

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #2200 on: April 16, 2021, 01:17:02 AM »
New bike day the other day, I got myself a Stages SmartBike for winter workouts. I didn't have an indoor trainer or a bike to put on a trainer so whilst expensive the SmartBike was the most cost effective option. I've been on a few Zwift rides getting used to it how it rides, mainly riding with the C grade pace bot which has been good. Looking to do a structured power building training plan. It is all about power on Zwift, there are no technical skills involved.

https://stagescycling.com/us/stagesbike/

Check out Rouvy, I infinitely prefer it to Zwift, as it's real video, and the hill simulation is heaps better...  There's a him climb near Wuhan that you can tear your legs off on if you go hard enough

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #2201 on: April 16, 2021, 05:48:51 AM »
New bike day the other day, I got myself a Stages SmartBike for winter workouts. I didn't have an indoor trainer or a bike to put on a trainer so whilst expensive the SmartBike was the most cost effective option. I've been on a few Zwift rides getting used to it how it rides, mainly riding with the C grade pace bot which has been good. Looking to do a structured power building training plan. It is all about power on Zwift, there are no technical skills involved.

https://stagescycling.com/us/stagesbike/

Make sure that you have plenty of air flow around you and some good music or a good show on the telly to watch.  ;) I have a spin bike plus stationary rollers that I can hook a bike up to but I get as bored as chit on them if, I can't occupy my mind with something else and that includes when I'm in the hurt locker on the them.  :P place a towel or old sheet on the floor for all of the sweat dropping off you and make sure that you give it a good wipe down when ya finished, because corrosion will happen if you don't.  ;)

« Reply #2202 on: April 16, 2021, 07:18:11 AM »
Check out Rouvy, I infinitely prefer it to Zwift, as it's real video, and the hill simulation is heaps better...  There's a him climb near Wuhan that you can tear your legs off on if you go hard enough

Will do, I'll probably use Training Peaks for most of the 'training' rides, so data display only, and then Zwift for some zone 2 or ride with friends rides.

Make sure that you have plenty of air flow around you and some good music or a good show on the telly to watch.  ;) I have a spin bike plus stationary rollers that I can hook a bike up to but I get as bored as chit on them if, I can't occupy my mind with something else and that includes when I'm in the hurt locker on the them.  :P place a towel or old sheet on the floor for all of the sweat dropping off you and make sure that you give it a good wipe down when ya finished, because corrosion will happen if you don't.  ;)

Yup, I've got the tunes and a large industrial pedestal fan for air flow. Underneath the bike I added a couple of those Bunnings gym tiles that work for soaking up the sweat. I'm also thinking of wearing gloves as my hands really sweat up and the bar grip is less than optimal for sprinting etc. I'm loving the sprint shifters though. Going to get some fitted to my race bike.

« Reply #2203 on: April 17, 2021, 08:05:44 PM »

🤣 I like to live and ride another day 😁

You will be amazed how quickly you can unclip when needed, have raced and ridden clipped in all the time even when racing DH, at least i know i will not slip off the pedal when it gets super rough.

Great result on your race

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #2204 on: April 17, 2021, 08:55:35 PM »
You will be amazed how quickly you can unclip when needed, have raced and ridden clipped in all the time even when racing DH, at least i know i will not slip off the pedal when it gets super rough.

Great result on your race

Thanks GG.

It's me who I don't trust being clipped in

Sent from my ANE-LX2J using Tapatalk

2012 MAZDA BT50 GT AND 2010 OUTBACK EXPANDA

« Reply #2205 on: April 17, 2021, 09:35:49 PM »
Thanks GG.

It's me who I don't trust being clipped in

Just adjust the pedals so that they hold your feet in place but if you need to get out quickly, you can.  ;)

« Reply #2206 on: April 18, 2021, 07:39:53 PM »
34km round trip out to Windsor (NSW) today. Been a while since I have been in the saddle and boy am I saddle sore.

« Reply #2207 on: April 18, 2021, 07:53:28 PM »
It will take a while for ya arse to get used to it again. ;D

The following users thanked this post: MDS69

« Reply #2208 on: April 24, 2021, 04:26:29 PM »
Long legs.  :o

The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #2209 on: April 26, 2021, 09:55:03 AM »
Pretty hard to take, when mornings are like this but rolled out another 50klms anyway.  ;D

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #2210 on: April 30, 2021, 07:27:51 AM »
Pretty hard to take, when mornings are like this but rolled out another 50klms anyway.  ;D

Very very nice!!

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #2211 on: May 02, 2021, 05:32:46 AM »
Latest mod for the MTB.  Hope I never need to use it.
https://imgur.com/gallery/h2WNVSa
« Last Edit: May 02, 2021, 02:34:19 PM by Coolblue80 »
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline 6knights

« Reply #2212 on: May 02, 2021, 07:27:51 AM »
Just a quick question on bike mirrors, l was looking around on the net last night to see what's available and was wondering  if riders on here here use one,   and what's good and what should be avoided?  Just thinking it could make things safer on the open road where trafic comes up on me at high speed.
Thanks Trevor
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

« Reply #2213 on: May 02, 2021, 07:40:44 AM »
Latest mod for the MTB.  Hope I never need to use it.

Just remember, tuck & roll :)

Just a quick question on bike mirrors, l was looking around on the net last night to see what's available and was wondering  if riders on here here use one,   and what's good and what should be avoided?  Just thinking it could make things safer on the open road where trafic comes up on me at high speed.

I don't use a mirror, however a few riding buddies have the Garmin radar thingy. It's a camera/radar/light thing that mounts to your seat post and it alerts you via your bike computer.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2021, 07:43:26 AM by D4D »

« Reply #2214 on: May 02, 2021, 07:48:17 AM »
Another bike finished. It's an '82 Pro Miyata, all original except for the seat. It's interesting because Miyata were experimenting with aero a couple of years before the mainstream players.

« Reply #2215 on: May 02, 2021, 11:47:08 AM »
Thanks Trevor

Use one that sits on the end of your handle bars.

Offline 6knights

« Reply #2216 on: May 02, 2021, 02:55:37 PM »
Use one that sits on the end of your handle bars.

That's the sort of thing l was looking at last night, it's probably the preferred option atm.

Just remember, tuck & roll :)

I don't use a mirror, however a few riding buddies have the Garmin radar thingy. It's a camera/radar/light thing that mounts to your seat post and it alerts you via your bike computer.

Thanks D4D l didn't know they made such a thing, l will have to look into it a bit more
2006 100 series towing a 2012 modcon HFA  🙂

Offline whitey001

« Reply #2217 on: May 02, 2021, 08:13:00 PM »
I got one of the radars.  Possibly the best thing I got for the bike.  Can be hooked up to a bike computer or phone app (what I use).  Gives notification of upcoming car at about 140m away and shows it getting closer.  Will also alert if high speed differential between car and bike.

The tail light will also flash at different rates when a car is detected to draw attention to the driver that there is a bike ahead.

Al.
2015 MU-X LST
2019 Jayco Journey 15.48-5

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #2218 on: May 02, 2021, 10:25:47 PM »
I headed back up to the Eildon Mtb Park today.

There has been lots of work taking place on the trails with lots more still happening also.

All up I think I covered 17km and 480m elevation covering a few different loops.
It has something for everyone from new sections to old school trails.

« Last Edit: May 02, 2021, 10:54:47 PM by cruza driver »

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #2219 on: May 02, 2021, 10:29:14 PM »
A couple more pics

« Last Edit: May 02, 2021, 10:55:07 PM by cruza driver »

« Reply #2220 on: May 03, 2021, 06:59:38 AM »
I headed back up to the Eildon Mtb Park today.

There has been lots of work taking place on the trails with lots more still happening also.

All up I think I covered 17km and 480m elevation covering a few different loops.
It has something for everyone from new sections to old school trails.

I've heard good things about the trails there. Might have to head out there one day. I've been riding the road bike too much and become soft :)

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #2221 on: May 04, 2021, 07:28:42 AM »
I've heard good things about the trails there. Might have to head out there one day. I've been riding the road bike too much and become soft :)

I would have done another loop but needed to get back home.
There is lots more going on there to, its going to be good when it's done foe for sure

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #2222 on: May 08, 2021, 10:01:04 PM »
Good ride out at Smiths Gully this morning

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #2223 on: May 09, 2021, 01:10:38 PM »
Good ride out at Smiths Gully this morning

Nice part of the world out there... We very nearly bought 15 acres there a few years back

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline cruza driver

• ''Custom User Title''
« Reply #2224 on: May 09, 2021, 03:07:48 PM »
Nice part of the world out there... We very nearly bought 15 acres there a few years back

Nice mate, and not to far to head for a good ride for us too
« Last Edit: May 09, 2021, 04:04:27 PM by cruza driver »