Author Topic: Camper and Car Nicknames  (Read 22034 times)

Offline Moto Moto

Camper and Car Nicknames
« on: April 08, 2011, 07:15:53 PM »
Wondering if other members give their camper and/or car a nickname?

I wanted to call our Jayco Hawk "Bob", as in the beer drinking PM, my girls wanted to call it "Rainbow Unicorn Princess" :o

We settled on "Gloria". The Patrol gets "Big Red".

We have a new Van on the way and have started thinking about a new nickname, which got me thinking about whether other Myswag members do the same? So what nicknames does your rigs have?
KC
2012 BT-50 XTR and Jayco Expanda 14.44-4 Outback

Re: Camper and Car Nicknames
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2011, 07:20:35 PM »
I called my old black GQ shorty Divine. You work it out :)

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2011, 07:25:51 PM »
I worked with folks that always name their vehicles

they had a patrol that had heaps of rust so they called it............ yeah... Rusty

they bought another one later and it had only a littl ebit of rust, so they called it .... mmmm..... Notso!

I just call it "the truck"!
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2011, 07:40:24 PM »
My CT " The Black Pearl " ,,,,, Cpt Jack Sparrow  Said ,, Bring the that horizion ,,,, & it will follow me there .  & back ,, :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2011, 07:42:01 PM »
I call my GU, "The Patrol" and my camper, "The Camper" mmm alot of thought into that.

I did have a Datsun 200B It was a silver Aspen. i called it "Lightning".

Offline Moto Moto

« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2011, 07:42:39 PM »
Friends of ours called their camper "Allsorts".
It has stripy multi coloured canvas and looked like a licorice allsort ;D
2012 BT-50 XTR and Jayco Expanda 14.44-4 Outback

Offline morgue

« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 08:08:02 PM »
I have not a name for a car or a camper, once you do that, it means that you have fallen in love with it, a bad thing to do when it comes to sell it.
But if I was going to call the Holden ute something, it would be "The Ute", as for the camper.."Gal".
But, I have called my Bushman 12v fridge "Kevin", it was because the Kevin 07, gave out the money for the stimulus, he gave me $990.00, thank's Kev, the money was good but the fridge is even greater...(I think I have heard that expression, or something before...)

« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2011, 08:10:49 PM »
But, I have called my Bushman 12v fridge "Kevin", it was because the Kevin 07, gave out the money for the stimulus, he gave me $990.00, thank's Kev, the money was good but the fridge is even greater...(I think I have heard that expression, or something before...)

Ah yes the reason why the country is now in debt, Kev buying votes during the recession we didn't have. I digress...

« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2011, 08:20:02 PM »
Hey Rich, was that grease lightning

Offline ralphedward

« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2011, 08:22:23 PM »
I don't know what you're talking about!

Look below
SWMBO made me do it (whatever it was I did)!
VW Amarok & 'Cooper' the Tambo.

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2011, 08:44:31 PM »
As I went from a smart to a D40 Navara my fuel bills have increased somewhat, the Navara's benn named Freddy, after the kid in the Quik ads a number of years ago that had the catchphrase "Drink it, Freddy, drink it".

Our CT once it has been purchased will probably get some African name since it will be partially built in South Africa and me working over here will be paying for it.

Offline albyback1

« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2011, 08:46:21 PM »
It is the month of August, in a quaint, historic resort town. It is raining, and the little town looks totally deserted. It is tough times, everybody is in debt, and everybody is living on credit.

Suddenly, a tourist comes to town.

He enters the hotel, lays a 100 dollar bill on the reception counter, and goes to inspect the rooms upstairs.
The hotel proprietor quickly takes the 100 dollar bill and runs to pay his debt to the butcher.
...The Butcher takes the 100 dollar bill, and runs to pay his debt to the farmer.
The farmer takes the 100 dollar bill, and runs to pay his debt to the supplier of his feed and fuel.
The supplier of feed and fuel takes the 100 dollar bill and runs to pay his debt to the town's prostitute that in these hard times, gave her "services" on credit..
The prostitute runs to the hotel, and pays off her debt for the rooms that she rented when she took her clients there.
The hotel proprietor then lays the 100 dollar bill back on the counter. At that moment, the tourist comes down after inspecting the rooms, and, after saying that he did not like any of the rooms, takes his 100 dollar bill and leaves town.

Although no one earned anything, the whole town is now without debt and looks to the future with optimism.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how the United States, Australia and British Governments are doing business today
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2011, 08:56:42 PM »
It is the month of August, in a quaint, historic resort town. It is raining, and the little town looks totally deserted. It is tough times, everybody is in debt, and everybody is living on credit.

Suddenly, a tourist comes to town.

He enters the hotel, lays a 100 dollar bill on the reception counter, and goes to inspect the rooms upstairs.
The hotel proprietor quickly takes the 100 dollar bill and runs to pay his debt to the butcher.
...The Butcher takes the 100 dollar bill, and runs to pay his debt to the farmer.
The farmer takes the 100 dollar bill, and runs to pay his debt to the supplier of his feed and fuel.
The supplier of feed and fuel takes the 100 dollar bill and runs to pay his debt to the town's prostitute that in these hard times, gave her "services" on credit..
The prostitute runs to the hotel, and pays off her debt for the rooms that she rented when she took her clients there.
The hotel proprietor then lays the 100 dollar bill back on the counter. At that moment, the tourist comes down after inspecting the rooms, and, after saying that he did not like any of the rooms, takes his 100 dollar bill and leaves town.

Although no one earned anything, the whole town is now without debt and looks to the future with optimism.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how the United States, Australia and British Governments are doing business today

Ok so do u call your trailer, vehicle $100?

Offline albyback1

« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2011, 09:01:54 PM »
Sorry about that.. I should have put in a preamble before posting...

I was reminded about this email that I posted when I read about the fridge "Kevin"...

the stimuless some might say!

Offline cheekygirl668

• Rebel without a clue...
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2011, 09:06:31 PM »
No name for the CT yet we pick it up tomorrow and my Sorento is called Mudlark and Muddie for short cause when we went to Tassie last year for our honeymoon lan managed to drive through every puddle in the state and she was soooooooooo filthy.....lol

« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2011, 09:12:49 PM »
My truck doesn't have an name as such but it gets called a lot of things and answered to none of them.

Jan through good hearted banter developed a bit of a persona shall we say with our group of friends, so now her vehicle, a Suzuki Grand Vitara is called the Broomstick and when the Camper Trailer is connected she calls it the Cauldron.

« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2011, 09:22:09 PM »
Hey Al,
Our wives must be related. Mine also has a Grand Vitara ,& the bit about a broom stick..... Yep definately sisters I reckon mate.  :cheers:

« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2011, 09:39:43 PM »
Hey Rich, was that grease lightning
Nah mate I'm not that old  >:D ;D

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2011, 09:52:31 PM »
The Car has always been the The Subee or The Scoobee. The camper? well the wife named her Lucy, i call it Goosey or "The Goose" after all it is an old swan..

« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2011, 10:01:03 PM »
The Camper has no name, other than the Camper.  The cruiser is called "My Car" as in "no dear you can't take MY CAR"

Offline Nutto

• Burning desire to camp.....
« Reply #20 on: April 08, 2011, 10:05:06 PM »
Hehe
I'll start with the camper, cos the name has only recently come up.
My Hawk Outback is 'the Hi-rider', Teabags is 'the Lo-rider'    ;D ;D ;D ;D   long story >> http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=12084.0

The Hilux is easy - 'slowlux'
Don't have one for the new D-max yet.....

« Reply #21 on: April 08, 2011, 11:06:16 PM »
Hey Al,
Our wives must be related. Mine also has a Grand Vitara ,& the bit about a broom stick..... Yep definately sisters I reckon mate.  :cheers:

ha ha being just up the road a bit bullfrog, we might just find out about that. ;D

« Reply #22 on: April 09, 2011, 12:00:46 PM »
I call my Nissan, Nisota, I should call the camper “never finished”. ;D

Offline kranky al

• theeee winaaaaaaar
« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2011, 12:27:27 PM »
mr hankey and the abortion  - the abortion because its such a mishmash - mr hankey because the cruiser is brown and - well .....mr hankey like

if nissan made a prop plane using the zd30 - would you fly in it?

if fishing were easy it would be called "your mum"

www.pixelpac.com.au

« Reply #24 on: April 09, 2011, 12:46:22 PM »
We call ow tug silver after the lone rangers horse

ow camper is simply cub
lol