General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bigfish on April 10, 2020, 04:49:00 PM

Title: Once the situation returns to a somewhat acceptable way of life.
Post by: Bigfish on April 10, 2020, 04:49:00 PM
Like most of the folks on here I,m chaffing at the bit to get away camping.  I reckon first trip will be a trip to Goshen station for a weeks real isolation!  Wouldn't mind heading up to Burketown to chase some threadfin and barra.  Got all the electrics in the camper done...bought camper in Nov. 2019 and it still hasn't been used...  Missus wants to visit kids and grandkids down in Vic. but we will have to wait on planes and Vic. getting on with it. Looking forward also to seeing a change in some way of our work practices, the way govt approaches Oz business,s and hopefully small business,s returning .  Reckon we will get the ok to travel (albeit with provisos) just in time for fuel to be at $1.50 again....

Yep...looking forward to it alright.
Title: Re: Once the situation returns to a somewhat acceptable way of life.
Post by: gronk on April 10, 2020, 06:22:25 PM
Like a lot of people, travel may depend on whether I have a job, or unemployed.
But at this stage, weekends are are definite go....when ever ??
Post by: Marcus73 on April 11, 2020, 09:10:40 AM
just in time for fuel to be at $1.50 again....

Again?..... still is here
If business keeps going as well as it is, as soon as things are back to the new normal, I’ll defend be packing them camper and heading somewhere for a well earned break. As crazy as it sounds, I sometime wonder whether it’d be less stressful knowing I haven’t got any work rather than wondering how long it’s going to last. I’ve got a good mate who’s an events photographer and he lost all of his work in one day and mentioned to me that he was relieved as at least he now knows what he has to deal with

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on April 11, 2020, 10:49:29 AM
I am lucky we own everything and I have a Government job, It Is not big money but I am home every day and its close buy, That to me after years at sea is everything, We to are chaffing at the bit to get away with the kids first somewhere, My 4wd and gear is ready just need to load up and head off, I have no Idea were to go at the moment will just wait and see what Time our 12 year old daughter will have, Places we would love to go is Inskip, North of Weipa, the Tip and back, the Darling river run, I would love to revisit WA and Kimberly, And a mates fishing trip to visit my mate at  Gove, Craig 
Post by: KeithB on April 11, 2020, 10:53:37 AM
I am wondering if, once we are free to travel throughout Australia, whether the ban on overseas travel will still be on. If that's the case I am betting that domestic tourism will go through the roof. Caravan parks and camping areas will be packed out.
Keith
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on April 11, 2020, 11:11:56 AM
I was thinking the same Keith,
Craig
Post by: Bigfish on April 11, 2020, 11:17:50 AM
I mentioned that the other day.  Cruise Liners could become floating hotels/hospitals. International travel will take years to get back on track and domestic airplanes will be packed. Tourism has taken a big hit everywhere. Hopefully the bush places wont change too much but I doubt that.  The weekend warriors will be out and about as soon as they can.  2021 will see the Cape like Bourke street on a Saturday morning.  Be interesting to see how caravan parks operate as well.  Must admit it is a good time to sort all the gear out...replace fuses, grease, lighten load, rearrange etc.etc.
Stay safe and just keep dreaming... :cheers:
Post by: austastar on April 11, 2020, 11:54:23 AM

Hopefully the bush places wont change too much but I doubt that.
   Ditto, but I suspect population pressure and the continuous retail advertising things like "go your own way" and other ridiculous scenes portraying the new ute owner and co. zooming through water and ascending scenic hills will not help retain the status quo.
Tread softly and leave no trace has zero appeal to the advertising world pushing the potential for instant self gratification by buying the promoted product.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: sharkcaver on April 11, 2020, 03:16:07 PM
International travel will take years to get back on track and domestic airplanes will be packed.

I personally believe the aviation industry is screwed, both international and domestic. There wont be masses of domestic air travellers because we have seen the last of low cost fares for some time to come. The losses in aviation are simply staggering and someone will be paying -IE,  the customers. I doubt Virgin will last and we will be back to a monopoly airline who will set the bar for the maximum price the customer will bear. With no competition, if you want to fly, you will pay.
Post by: Paddler Ed on April 11, 2020, 03:32:14 PM
I personally believe the aviation industry is screwed, both international and domestic. There wont be masses of domestic air travellers because we have seen the last of low cost fares for some time to come. The losses in aviation are simply staggering and someone will be paying -IE,  the customers. I doubt Virgin will last and we will be back to a monopoly airline who will set the bar for the maximum price the customer will bear. With no competition, if you want to fly, you will pay.

I don't think the flight cost is the issue, it's more the realisation that travelling ~6+hrs for a meeting in Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane is a WOFTAM - you could the meeting all online and be right. I think that the Capital City to Capital City flights will suffer, but I think that the regional flights will continue (until the medical sector realise that things can be done online or the state health authorities realise that centralisation has it's pitfalls)

Certainly my brother is planning to cut his travel down; no longer any need to fly MEL-SYD twice a month for meetings, they've seen that they can all be done online instead, and probably only do it once a quarter. Now that saves him the time to get to MEL airport, the waiting time at the airport, the flight and then the time to get to the Sydney venue and then then the return journey.
Post by: plusnq on April 11, 2020, 03:47:58 PM
I don't think the flight cost is the issue, it's more the realisation that travelling ~6+hrs for a meeting in Sydney/Melbourne/Brisbane is a WOFTAM - you could the meeting all online and be right. I think that the Capital City to Capital City flights will suffer, but I think that the regional flights will continue (until the medical sector realise that things can be done online or the state health authorities realise that centralisation has it's pitfalls)

Certainly my brother is planning to cut his travel down; no longer any need to fly MEL-SYD twice a month for meetings, they've seen that they can all be done online instead, and probably only do it once a quarter. Now that saves him the time to get to MEL airport, the waiting time at the airport, the flight and then the time to get to the Sydney venue and then then the return journey.

I'll just pop in here to say the medical sector have been pushing telehealth since the mid-1990s. Federal Government dragging their feet on creating a billing framework in Medicare is a big part of the issue there. Of course, some things can't be done remotely such as surgery, oncology, medical imaging etc, which will always require travel.

I was the team leader in Kirwan Women's Hospital in Townsville when we researched and figured out how to do live Ultrasound to the feto-maternal specialists in the Mater Women's Hospital in Brisbane in the mid to late 1990's. A project which continues to this day. Government of all persuasions, have long been reluctant to put in place a framework for appropriate billing for tele=health. Hopefully after this crisis, it will be re-examined.
Post by: Fizzie on April 11, 2020, 04:07:51 PM
I'll just pop in here to say the medical sector have been pushing telehealth since the mid-1990s.

Saw my GP during the week for an injection & he said that it's taken off in a big way over these last couple of weeks, especially, in a lot of cases, for the elderly who need a script renewed.

Phone call, confirm details, script e-mailed straight to the pharmacy - done! :cup:
Post by: Raym on April 11, 2020, 08:52:54 PM
I'll just pop in here to say the medical sector have been pushing telehealth since the mid-1990s. Federal Government dragging their feet on creating a billing framework in Medicare is a big part of the issue there. Of course, some things can't be done remotely such as surgery, oncology, medical imaging etc, which will always require travel.

4 year old granddaughter had a specialist appointment via the phone/video thingy this week. Daughter said went well & surgery scheduled for who knows when after all this goes away.
Post by: Fizzie on April 12, 2020, 08:31:30 AM
surgery scheduled for who knows when after all this goes away.

Yep :'(

I'm having hip problems at the moment, & Doctors are starting to think may need to be surgery ??? :'(, but he then added that absolutely no idea how long it could be, but he'd guess at minimum 12 months wait :'(

Hope everything goes well for your granddaughter
Post by: Bigfish on April 12, 2020, 03:46:10 PM
Yep :'(

I'm having hip problems at the moment, & Doctors are starting to think may need to be surgery ??? :'(, but he then added that absolutely no idea how long it could be, but he'd guess at minimum 12 months wait :'(

Hope everything goes well for your granddaughter

Is that with private health Fizzie?
Post by: plusnq on April 12, 2020, 03:53:56 PM

Only Category 1 patients ( urgent and must be treated within 30 days) can get private surgery at the moment. The Federal Government mandated that on April 1.

https://www.qld.gov.au/health/services/hospital-care/waiting-lists (https://www.qld.gov.au/health/services/hospital-care/waiting-lists)
Post by: Paddler Ed on April 12, 2020, 04:00:51 PM

I was the team leader in Kirwan Women's Hospital in Townsville when we researched and figured out how to do live Ultrasound to the feto-maternal specialists in the Mater Women's Hospital in Brisbane in the mid to late 1990's. A project which continues to this day. Government of all persuasions, have long been reluctant to put in place a framework for appropriate billing for tele=health. Hopefully after this crisis, it will be re-examined.

I might not have worded that quite right, I think it's the rocket to accelerate the process to enable easier bulk billing and integration into the current system. As is so often the case the enabling element (the government in this case) are a bit behind the times...

As the examples given by Fizzie and Raymond prove it is being used more than it would have done so in the past.
Post by: plusnq on April 12, 2020, 04:07:27 PM
I might not have worded that quite right, I think it's the rocket to accelerate the process to enable easier bulk billing and integration into the current system. As is so often the case the enabling element (the government in this case) are a bit behind the times...

As the examples given by Fizzie and Raymond prove it is being used more than it would have done so in the past.

Totally agree. COVID 19 has been a catalyst for change. I said that change would be coming in another thread at the beginning. Lots of business models  will see change from this as we adapt, and they realise that not everyone needs to be co-located to work.
Post by: prodigyrf on April 12, 2020, 04:45:58 PM
Australia is the Lucky Isle in the sense we'll most likely be able to knock the virus out by diligent tracking and testing. However international tourism will be smashed forever as anyone coming here by air or sea including locals returning will cop at least 14 days user pays quarantine. That will be in special facilities and you'll pay for the regular medical testing along with the accommodation and that be well north of the $2500 a head now as we're using empty hotels. Big changes for any tourist locales relying on international tourism (Cairns to Uluru) and as well it's going to knock the short term 457 visas and university sector for six. Caravanners and Swaggers will be very welcome everywhere under the circumstances.
Post by: McGirr on April 12, 2020, 04:50:13 PM
Interesting replies.

It all depends how people come out of isolation and how the economy goes. Human nature, we will see people go back to normality once this is all over. Back to their jobs and normal way of life. People do not like change.

How long will this takes, no ones knows.

I personally don’t follow all the information being bombarded on social media, the news etc on the virus. Too much misinformation is being put out their.

For us we will continue working in remote communities and get on with life.

Post by: Raym on April 12, 2020, 05:48:52 PM

I should have said changed from a paid consult to bulk billed so that was a bonus.
Post by: Fizzie on April 13, 2020, 08:26:46 AM

He didn't specify either public or private, although we do have private cover, but as Plus said, ain't nuffin' happenin' nowhere at the moment or for the foreseeable future :'(
Post by: prodigyrf on April 13, 2020, 05:41:33 PM
Here's the new travel paradigm in of all places China right now-
https://news.mb.com.ph/2020/04/13/chinas-new-coronavirus-cases-near-6-week-high-russian-border-new-battleground/

'Suifenhe and Harbin, capital of Heilongjiang, are now mandating 28 days of quarantine for all arrivals from abroad as well as nucleic acid and antibody tests.'

“I don’t need to worry,” Zhao Wei, another Suifenhe resident, told Reuters. “If there’s a local transmission, I would, but there’s not a single one. They’re all from the border, but they’ve all been sent to quarantine.”

And that's the way it will be- Eff off we're healthy and you can't join us until you absolutely prove likewise. Oh and don't expect us to pay for your quarantining and testing as all it's user pays dummy.
Post by: Bird on April 14, 2020, 10:15:25 AM
Once the situation returns to a somewhat acceptable way of life

...in 12-18 months time, footy will have a proper season not some 1/50239482039403298032948th baked few round season, MotoGP will also have real racing not this bullShit "E"racing rubbish, and overseas holidays will be cheap as chips.
I'd say they'd pay you to go on a cruise by then too!
Post by: Rodt on April 14, 2020, 10:41:08 AM
I'd say they'd pay you to go on a cruise by then too!

Hope your right. We had a 3 day comedy cruise booked in June. They sent us an email to say they could either give us a full refund or give us credit. To sweeten the credit offer they said if we took it they would add an extra $200 to the total. With the potential price reductions coming we may get a pretty good deal in the future
Post by: Bird on April 14, 2020, 11:16:12 AM
Quote from: Rodt
Hope your right. We had a 3 day comedy cruise booked in June. They sent us an email to say they could either give us a full refund or give us credit. To sweeten the credit offer they said if we took it they would add an extra $200 to the total. With the potential price reductions coming we may get a pretty good deal in the future
I dont think at any price I'd go on a cruise in the foreseeable future!!! A whole $200? ;)
Post by: Bigfish on April 14, 2020, 11:24:35 AM
I dont think at any price I'd go on a cruise in the foreseeable future!!! A whole $200? ;)

I doubt if any of the cruise liner industries will survive.  Tourism will not take off until a vaccine has been found and given out. This could take 2 years.  International travel will be very hard hit. Tourism, like here in Cairns , will and is taking a hiding. Will do for many, many months to come.  I can see domestic tourism taking off, even if we are limited to our own state for the foreseeable future. I would much rather see our tourism dollar staying here than being given to Bali, cruise ships, USA or any other place...Who knows?  We are all just guessing.
Post by: Bird on April 14, 2020, 11:39:46 AM
Quote from: Bigfish
I doubt if any of the cruise liner industries will survive.  Tourism will not take off until a vaccine has been found and given out. This could take 2 years.  International travel will be very hard hit. Tourism, like here in Cairns , will and is taking a hiding. Will do for many, many months to come.  I can see domestic tourism taking off, even if we are limited to our own state for the foreseeable future. I would much rather see our tourism dollar staying here than being given to Bali, cruise ships, USA or any other place...Who knows?  We are all just guessing.

Agree with the cruise line stuff..
yep will be an amazing opportunity for local state tourism to really shine.
Post by: Fizzie on April 14, 2020, 11:44:26 AM
I doubt if any of the cruise liner industries will survive.

You're not the only one!

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-04-13/coronavirus-spells-the-end-of-the-line-for-cruise-ships/12141140 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-04-13/coronavirus-spells-the-end-of-the-line-for-cruise-ships/12141140)
Post by: doc evil on April 14, 2020, 11:54:21 AM
Be interesting to see how long the break is until the crap shows like I shagged so n so at first sight, the numpty wants a dog that is married to a pidgeon, fix my place and paint yours a horrid pink etc. are back terrorising our screens. The virus has been good to stop this rot, at least only temporarily............
Post by: Bird on April 14, 2020, 12:05:26 PM
Quote from: doc evil
Be interesting to see how long the break is until the crap shows like I shagged so n so at first sight, the numpty wants a dog that is married to a pidgeon, fix my place and paint yours a horrid pink etc. are back terrorising our screens.
Thats the worst thought of this whole thing!!!! Sadly there will be more of these zero budget shows :'(

The virus has been good to stop this rot, at least only temporarily............
yep!
Post by: prodigyrf on April 14, 2020, 12:15:43 PM
When will 'the situation' return? Well here tis from the most experienced at that-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=0&v=gAk7aX5hksU&feature=emb_logo

So you can see where the Minister is coming from beginning to let the jetsetters down gently-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/australias-tourism-minister-issues-warning-international-travel-unlikely-to-resume-until-at-least-2021/ar-BB12zRR6

Taxpayers are prepared to wear the cost of getting those of us caught on the hop with this virus back home and into quarantine but once that's done it will be full user pays from then on.(Notice the NT stance already?) Like China now you could be up for 28 days worth with very sophisticated testing costs so get that through your thick scone right now jetsetters and I don't think we have to worry about the cruisers with all that scrap metal although the owners might salvage some for freighters.
Post by: Rodt on April 14, 2020, 12:34:56 PM

Better in my pocket than theirs is the way I look at it  :cheers:

A lot of negatives get posted around the place in regards to cruises. I have been on two and never saw any of the issues such as gastro etc. Friends of mine have gone on about 10 all around the place and they haven't either. Don't doubt that they do occur but the actual number vs the amount of cruisers would be pretty low I reckon.

I don't prescribe to the thoughts that all cruise lines are dead because of this and would much prefer to look on the optimistic side. Only time will tell   
Post by: Bigfish on April 14, 2020, 01:04:55 PM
When will 'the situation' return? Well here tis from the most experienced at that-
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=0&v=gAk7aX5hksU&feature=emb_logo

So you can see where the Minister is coming from beginning to let the jetsetters down gently-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/australias-tourism-minister-issues-warning-international-travel-unlikely-to-resume-until-at-least-2021/ar-BB12zRR6

Taxpayers are prepared to wear the cost of getting those of us caught on the hop with this virus back home and into quarantine but once that's done it will be full user pays from then on.(Notice the NT stance already?) Like China now you could be up for 28 days worth with very sophisticated testing costs so get that through your thick scone right now jetsetters and I don't think we have to worry about the cruisers with all that scrap metal although the owners might salvage some for freighters.

"Carnival Corporation is headquartered in Miami, as are the second and third biggest cruise corporations, Royal Caribbean and Norwegian. But Carnival is incorporated in Panama, Norwegian in Bermuda, and Royal Caribbean in Liberia.

Now these "incorporations of convenience" threaten their survival. Their revenue has been cut to zero. The US Government is offering no assistance because they're foreign companies and their employees are spread across the world. Other governments are unlikely to do more.

Industry analysts say the big cruise operators have enough reserves to last six months. After that, if they don't secure funding, they face going out of business.
Sailing into the sunset

If that happens, many will not mourn the loss.

Long before this crisis, the cruise ship industry was on the nose for its social and environment problems."
Post by: Brij on April 14, 2020, 01:21:17 PM
Be interesting to see how long the break is until the crap shows like I shagged so n so at first sight, the numpty wants a dog that is married to a pidgeon, fix my place and paint yours a horrid pink etc. are back terrorising our screens. The virus has been good to stop this rot, at least only temporarily............

Just wait until they start the reruns  >:D
Post by: prodigyrf on April 14, 2020, 01:51:50 PM
It won't be just the jet and cruise liner owners watching their values evaporating-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/fear-of-impending-car-price-collapse-grips-auto-industry/ar-BB12zMjI
Post by: prodigyrf on April 14, 2020, 09:48:56 PM
The mortgage lenders are now putting it in black and white to brokers and those in the RE industry not to waste paper with the following, as if the industry hadn't already guessed with the number of loan pre-approvals being subsequently refused after signing contracts to buy subject to that finance-
Post by: prodigyrf on April 16, 2020, 11:29:26 AM
Bolty asks the hard question- https://www.skynews.com.au/details/_6149510233001

Which is now very relevant for SA as like the NT before us we're experiencing no new Covid infections. Consequently SA Health is asking anyone with even the mildest flu like symptoms to get tested. Presumably to ferret out any asymptomatic cases and they have the testing capacity up to pace. Just that with such sniffle testing you'll have to go into lockdown for up to 48 hours until the test results come back all clear.

So Bolty makes a very good point and why can't SA and NT now join forces for free movement within and between those jurisdictions and back to work and the rest of you laggards can join us when you experience likewise? After all there's no threat from outside with international or interstate travel requiring quarantine now so let's get back to business and add other States in due course.
Post by: Pete79 on April 16, 2020, 12:23:03 PM
Bigot gets on his high horse and tries to use his privileged position to influence politics and get his own way, again - https://www.skynews.com.au/details/_6149510233001 (https://www.skynews.com.au/details/_6149510233001)

It could be argued that those enforcing these poorly planned laws are the ones on the power trip, more so then a couple of specific politicians and some opinionated columnists.

https://abc.net.au/news/2020-04-16/coronavirus-fines-police-powers/12146978?pfmredir=sm (https://abc.net.au/news/2020-04-16/coronavirus-fines-police-powers/12146978?pfmredir=sm)

Next on the list is removing all of our rights for privacy.
While the politicians will certainly be to blame for writing the laws removing these rights under the guise of the corona issue.
It will be the ones charged with enforcing those poorly planed laws that will be abusing their powers and looking into every aspect of your private life without justification.
Post by: Wazza999 on April 17, 2020, 01:22:52 PM
Federal minister Stuart Robert seems to be the one who will oversee the roll out of the Covid 19 contact tracing app. The possiblities with that are mind boggling.

2011 NT Pajero; 2007 Goldstream Crown 4B

Post by: Bird on April 17, 2020, 01:47:21 PM
Quote from: Wazza999
... roll out of the Covid 19 contact tracing app. The possiblities with that are mind boggling.

Pass me a foil hat - but that was my first thought.. not sure how it works.
How can an app can tell you you have or dont have, or the bloke next to you has it or doesnt or the bloke on other end of the phone has or doesnt have it. Wonder if its backed by huawei
Post by: Fizzie on April 17, 2020, 02:38:36 PM
What I understand from reading the blurb is that it will track everybody, everywhere, all the time, then when you get identified as a carrier, they can track back everybody that's been in bluetooth range of your phone for the last 2 weeks, & send them a message "You have potentially been exposed, please come in & get tested" ???

& the logistics of that would be unbelievable :o
Post by: Wazza999 on April 17, 2020, 03:19:17 PM
From what I have gleaned it's a contact trace, not location. So if two phones running the app are close enough for 15 minutes a (Bluetooth) contact will be registered, location not relevant. If in the future one of the two, records a positive test, the other person will be notified. Perhaps geolocated but not necessary for the system to work.

2011 NT Pajero; 2007 Goldstream Crown 4B

Post by: Spada on April 18, 2020, 07:10:17 AM
Tracking app info - https://7news.com.au/lifestyle/health-wellbeing/coronavirus-australia-how-covid-19-tracking-app-will-work-c-982093 (https://7news.com.au/lifestyle/health-wellbeing/coronavirus-australia-how-covid-19-tracking-app-will-work-c-982093)

“(It’s) simply an app or digital way of replicating a manual process,” Government Services Minister, Stuart Robert told Sunrise.

“Right now, if you’re (sic) tested positive for COVID-19, health officials will sit down and talk you through who you’ve been in contact with,” he said.

“The COVID trace app simply digitises that process, so if your app has been within 15 minutes duration of someone, within 1.5 metres proximity, there’ll be a swapping of phone numbers.

If you’ve been close to someone who’s later diagnosed with COVID-19, health authorities can let you know.
If you’ve been close to someone who’s later diagnosed with COVID-19, health authorities can let you know. Credit: Supplied
“That will stay on your phone and then of course if you test positive, you’ll give consent, and those numbers will be provided securely to health professionals and they’ll be able to call people you’ve been in contact with

On the tele last night there was talk that a relaxation of the social distancing rules might be dependent on at least 40% of the population having the app (the threshold for it to be considered effective)? and the talking heads also suggested that potentially it may become compulsory?
Post by: Kangaron on April 18, 2020, 10:53:23 AM
Pass me a foil hat - but that was my first thought.. not sure how it works.
How can an app can tell you you have or dont have, or the bloke next to you has it or doesnt or the bloke on other end of the phone has or doesnt have it. Wonder if its backed by huawei

Via bluetooth it records everyone you come into close contact with.
So, if at a later stage you test positive,
the app can tell health Officials extactly who you have been close to, and they can trace the contacts, and test them and trace the source.

It is a tracing App, not a Tracking app.

It does not reveal locations, you can even turn the GPS Function on your phone off.
The app does not use it nor need it.
Post by: Fizzie on April 18, 2020, 11:00:47 AM
you can even turn the GPS Function on your phone off.

Or turn bluetooth off!
Post by: austastar on April 18, 2020, 11:45:51 AM
Or turn bluetooth off!
   That would stop it.
From what I understand.....
1/ It is a rolling data base of 20 day's contacts and holds the phone number of your 'close (bluetooth) contacts'
2/ The data stays on your phone until....
   a/ You present with symptoms and/or test positive.
   b/ Your phone shows as a contact with a person who has shown positive.
3/ You only upload the data when requested to do so. If you are not a contact, or not diagnosed, the data is not wanted.
4/  The data should expire as it rolls over 20 days with no Bluetooth contacts.

The above could be wrong.

Post by: AllanK on April 18, 2020, 11:48:17 AM
So how does it work when you have contact with some people who don’t have a mobile or aren’t carrying it on them at the time.🤔 Bugger, back to the drawing board. 😩
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2020, 11:57:13 AM
Quote from: Spada
...  and the talking heads also suggested that potentially it may become compulsory?
heard the same thing
Post by: Fizzie on April 18, 2020, 12:09:37 PM
Scotty has said No, it won't ::)
Post by: alnjan on April 18, 2020, 12:14:32 PM

Not so much that he wont, but he would like Australian's to do the right thing and do it. 
Post by: tryagain on April 18, 2020, 12:32:34 PM

Seems there could be a bit of wiggle room there, not compulsory, you don't have to have it, you just don't get the relaxation of the current requirements.
Post by: austastar on April 18, 2020, 01:28:52 PM
So how does it work when you have contact with some people who don’t have a mobile or aren’t carrying it on them at the time. Bugger, back to the drawing board.
    That is factored in. 100% is not needed to keep the spread to controllable levels.
Controllable levels is what it is all about.

A bit like having a boat in a storm. Leaks are not wanted, but as long as the bilge pump can pump more water than leaks in, the problem is under controll.

I don't  have a smart phone, just a button and LCD screen. And I only turn it on when I want to call someone.

Post by: Fizzie on April 18, 2020, 01:30:40 PM
Just reading the latest news about the app & noticed

"If those two phones are within 1.5 metres for 15 minutes. It simply swaps phone numbers and names"

Where does it get the name from ???
Post by: prodigyrf on April 18, 2020, 01:43:17 PM
The media are starting to recognise the possibility- https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/comment-it-wasnt-planned-but-australia-is-on-the-verge-of-an-exciting-possibility/ar-BB12MDrG

As for the tracing app they missed the golden opportunity with making all the handouts dependent on signing onto the app. You can only buy booze and toilet paper if you can show the app on your phone which won't allow it to turn off Bluetooth. LOL.
Post by: Kangaron on April 18, 2020, 01:44:27 PM
Just reading the latest news about the app & noticed

"If those two phones are within 1.5 metres for 15 minutes. It simply swaps phone numbers and names"

Where does it get the name from ???

Whatever the name you put into your phone to identify yourself.
I don't use my real name in my phones, never have.
Post by: prodigyrf on April 18, 2020, 02:05:25 PM
Whatever the name you put into your phone to identify yourself.
I don't use my real name in my phones, never have.

Well you need to appreciate what the app is about and it's not so much about who you are but have you been tested positive for Covid or has someone you've seriously been in contact with tested positive. In that sense with a suitable time threshold for phone to phone that largely means your family some workmates and the odd friend contact. ie you're not going to be spending more than 15 mins say interacting with the checkout chick at the super. So in that sense grandma might want to know that grandson has Covid or been around someone who has and you're all notified about that. Recall a handful of Qantas baggage handlers at Adelaide airport getting Covid and 750 contacts have to self quarantine but many of those may not have had any/much contact with the infected yet that's the outcome of manual tracing. The app could narrow that down and result in swifter response times so it has merit.
Post by: edz on April 18, 2020, 02:21:29 PM
If it means, I go on a register and get a permit to travel freely around, All good, dont know if my old phone will take apps, do they work without  internet ...
As for tracing me Good luck with that .. My phone lives on the fridge roughly 11 months a year with a flat battery ..Hows their fancy phone tracer going now ..
Post by: prodigyrf on April 18, 2020, 08:56:56 PM
Italians are different to us because they're part of Europe so they need 50% more app take-up than we do despite their misgivings and us being part of Asia  ??? 

"Smartphone apps and other technology have been widely used in Asian countries such as Singapore and South Korea to help rein in contagion, but there have been deep misgivings in Europe over the potential for data abuse and privacy violations."

"Experts say the app would need to be downloaded by at least 60% of the population to help to achieve so-called digital herd immunity."

https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/coronavirus/italy-tests-contact-tracing-app-to-speed-lockdown-exit/ar-BB12MVVf
Post by: Bird on June 05, 2021, 12:52:17 PM
Returning to normal... I remember thinking that
Post by: alnjan on June 05, 2021, 06:21:42 PM
Hasn't really changed that much for us
Post by: Pottsy on June 05, 2021, 06:31:40 PM
Hasn't really changed that much for us

Have to agree, other than the 5 day lockdown we have been pretty lucky in SA, normal is now QR codes at business premises and more travel intra-state rather than interstate.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 06, 2021, 04:08:42 AM
Life in Qld... well, for us anyway, hasn't really changed at all.

Post by: GeoffA on June 06, 2021, 07:05:10 AM
Count your blessings, gents.....
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 06, 2021, 07:12:21 AM
Count your blessings, gents.....

Oh hell yeah..
We're lucky, as we haven't had a lock down where we are at all.
Mrs Jeepers was working from home for a bit, but has been back to the office for some time now.

We were only saying last night, how Vic/Melbourne seems to be the place to be as far as covid goes now.
Buggered if i know why.

I watched the news last night for the first time in months.... which was were the conversation came from.
Normally, i just read the odd news site.
Post by: GeoffA on June 06, 2021, 07:26:39 AM
Buggered if i know why.

A multi-cultural society, combined with sub-optimal quarantine arrangements....
Post by: D4D on June 06, 2021, 07:28:57 AM
A multi-cultural society, combined with sub-optimal quarantine arrangements in other states....

I fixed it for you
Post by: GeoffA on June 06, 2021, 07:32:17 AM
I fixed it for you

Correct Jamie. I was trying to keep it generic...
Post by: Pete79 on June 06, 2021, 08:17:52 AM
A multi-cultural society
I know this wasn’t the point of this thread, but I read a very interesting article recently trying to work out why VIC is such a hot spot.
It didn’t have any answers, but did squash a heap of myths going around at the moment.

I’ll see if I can find it later and put a link up, but some of the main points were;

WA is actually the most multicultural state in Australia, with considerably more people born in countries other then AU living there.

NSW is overall more densely populated then VIC and Sydney has more individual high density property developments then Melbourne.

Both NSW and VIC are pretty much equal in their use of public transport. I’m pretty sure NSW used trains/trams/buses/etc slightly more the VIC.

So there isn’t really any statistical reason for you guys to be suffering so much worse then the rest of the country.

Edit;
Found it;  https://theconversation.com/why-has-victoria-struggled-more-than-nsw-with-covid-to-a-demographer-theyre-not-that-different-161996 (https://theconversation.com/why-has-victoria-struggled-more-than-nsw-with-covid-to-a-demographer-theyre-not-that-different-161996)
Post by: GeoffA on June 06, 2021, 08:42:34 AM
You've cherry-picked there, Pete.
Multi-culturalism on its' own isn't the issue.
It's the COMBINATION that's creating the issues for us.

Post by: edz on June 06, 2021, 08:58:19 AM
"  Attitude "  Of all involved in the issue .. Best described by the Swiss Cheese  model .. Lax Attitudes and the holes in the cheese start to line up till there is a straight through path and another outbreak ..
Post by: Pete79 on June 06, 2021, 09:26:20 AM
You've cherry-picked there, Pete.
Multi-culturalism on its' own isn't the issue.
It's the COMBINATION that's creating the issues for us.

Sorry mate, wasn’t trying to argue, just thought that article was an interesting comparison of the demographics of the states. I know I was surprised with some of those numbers.

The other half of that combination is just a complete cluster f..... :(
Post by: Hairs on June 06, 2021, 09:46:20 AM
This is going to keep mutating, out breaks are going to happen. We can play the blame game, but what does that achieve?

It will be with us for a long time, until we build purpose facilities(and even then it will escape) to house ALL Travellers into this country, get use to outbreaks, We(humans) can't stay in one place, Humans spread it.
We have sports people, Politicians, business people, airlines are still flying in(goods, food, the Shite we buy from china & around the globe), just check out Flightradar24.
Just my 2 bobs worth.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210605/654afa01a14dc5cde6d66676d8d877d4.jpg)
Post by: Fizzie on June 06, 2021, 01:06:04 PM
That's actually pretty quiet for Oz, compared to Ye Olde Normal Times!

But have a look at the place that everybody is apparently still going to in a few weeks time, for some God-unknown reason ??? ::), & the other place that must remain Nameless :-X, & which the rest of the World keeps making nasty accusations about ::) >:D

https://www.flightradar24.com/39.85,130.47/4 (https://www.flightradar24.com/39.85,130.47/4)