General => General Discussion => Topic started by: scrapsD40 on June 22, 2016, 10:45:46 PM

Title: Myswag Whisky Drinkers
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 22, 2016, 10:45:46 PM
Might be an age thing, but I seem to have acquired a taste for scotch on ice. Have never been a big scotch drinker. At best JW with Coke on ice. Definitely nice to drink around a campfire.

So far I've tried:
Bushmills
Chivas
Jamieson
Dimple (this one nicest so far)

So figure there might be a few other scotch drinkers out there. What's your favorite and what should I try next.?
Title: Re: Just for Scotch Drinkers
Post by: Hewy54 on June 22, 2016, 10:51:15 PM
Generally have two bottles on the go. The cheapest I can find to mix with coke and one with ice. Dimple is one of the best affordable ones. have tried Johnny Walker Blue and Chivas Blue,  but a bit out of my price range for regular drinking.
Post by: rodsswag on June 22, 2016, 10:52:34 PM
Mine is Jonnie Walker XR
Better than blue label.

Rod..... 
Post by: fergy on June 22, 2016, 10:56:31 PM
Glenmorangie is a nice drop
Just opened a balvenie tonight and I was impressed
The dimple 15 is also nice as is the talisker 25 yo
Danmurphys and check the reviews
Post by: edz on June 23, 2016, 12:14:27 AM
You blokes should try this scotch  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4QNBypC9vs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4QNBypC9vs)
Post by: IanS on June 23, 2016, 12:22:26 AM
It might be an age thing but age and a visit to the Bushmills distillery in Ireland tipped me over the edge.
If you like a mild taste which I do try Strathisla or any Irish Whiskey but if you want the full blown peaty smoky taste try Laphroaig.
I like my nip straight to get all the flavour, my general rule of thumb is, Single Malt at least 10 years, and older if you can afford it.
Cheers Ian
Post by: gordo350 on June 23, 2016, 01:42:40 AM
My favorite at the moment is Talisker Skye. Beautifully peaty and smooth
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 23, 2016, 03:38:38 AM
try the three stooges, nice drop and not expensive.
Post by: Aurian on June 23, 2016, 05:45:24 AM
Tassie does some very nice stuff. Nant is the go for special occasions. Chivas Extra for regular drinks.
Post by: KingBilly on June 23, 2016, 05:50:19 AM
Might be an age thing, but I seem to have acquired a taste for scotch on ice. Have never been a big scotch drinker. At best JW with Coke on ice. Definitely nice to drink around a campfire.

So far I've tried:
Bushmills
Chivas
Jamieson

So figure there might be a few other scotch drinkers out there. What's your favorite and what should I try next.?

Great to hear your taste buds are finally maturing.  But they still have a little way to go yet.  Firstly, try not to use ice, the chill of the ice kills a lot of the flavour.  Instead try a splash of room temp water or if you really want some bubbles, some room temp soda water.

And then start trying some of the single malts for a different taste experieince.  Nothing wrong with some of the blends, the majority are blends of some kind anyway.  Then there are the whiskies of the different countries and the whiskies of the different regions of a particular country.  All have their own distinct flavours.  On of my favourites is Bowmore from Scotland.  It has a stong peat flavour and may not be to your liking at this early stage of your whiskey discovery.

Good info here to assist yiur journey https://www.smws.com.au/?gclid=CMys_NuzvM0CFYJjvAod1wkGTQ (https://www.smws.com.au/?gclid=CMys_NuzvM0CFYJjvAod1wkGTQ)

Have fun and enjoy
Post by: Spada on June 23, 2016, 05:59:35 AM
My favourite- https://www.thewhiskyexchange.com/p/16165/cardhu-18-year-old (https://www.thewhiskyexchange.com/p/16165/cardhu-18-year-old)
Post by: achjimmy on June 23, 2016, 06:17:40 AM
I like mostly blends and lean towards the Irish whiskies. I go to Japan a lot so always bring my scotch back from there. It's nearly half the price of AU. Except for the Japanese scotch which is hideously expensive even in Japan but superb if you want a good drop. Anything Jonny walker up to the blue gives me a headache almost within an hour!
Post by: Swannie on June 23, 2016, 07:21:49 AM
I drink glenfarclas 25 year an amazing drop.
For a cheap one try singleton

Starsky
Post by: JohnT on June 23, 2016, 07:22:10 AM
I have been a Whisky drinker for some time now (im 38) but over the past 5-7yrs I have taken to drinking it straight on ice.

I have also started to collect Australian Whiskys on my travels. So far I have a bottle of Lark, Nant and most recently a Limeburners Limited Edition.

Amongst other bottles (I have about 10 at the moment)I also have a Johnny Walker Spice Road (not a bad drop).

If you are looking for a cheap Whisky that is pretty good over ice (and kicks JW butt IMHO) try J&B Rare (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_11377/j-b-rare-scotch-whisky-700ml.jsp;jsessionid=7BAF63B025F22778C91EB3054DF07BF0.ncdlmorasp1304?bmUID=ljNtCVI (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_11377/j-b-rare-scotch-whisky-700ml.jsp;jsessionid=7BAF63B025F22778C91EB3054DF07BF0.ncdlmorasp1304?bmUID=ljNtCVI))

I have also become partial to Whisky Liqueurs. Dubliner is an awesome drink (again straight on ice) and is cheap we well. https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_360868/dubliner-irish-whiskey-liqueur-700ml (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_360868/dubliner-irish-whiskey-liqueur-700ml)

Post by: GBC on June 23, 2016, 07:42:31 AM
I have been a Whisky drinker for some time now (im 38) but over the past 5-7yrs I have taken to drinking it straight on ice.

I have also started to collect Australian Whiskys on my travels. So far I have a bottle of Lark, Nant and most recently a Limeburners Limited Edition.

Amongst other bottles (I have about 10 at the moment)I also have a Johnny Walker Spice Road (not a bad drop).

If you are looking for a cheap Whisky that is pretty good over ice (and kicks JW butt IMHO) try J&B Rare (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_11377/j-b-rare-scotch-whisky-700ml.jsp;jsessionid=7BAF63B025F22778C91EB3054DF07BF0.ncdlmorasp1304?bmUID=ljNtCVI (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_11377/j-b-rare-scotch-whisky-700ml.jsp;jsessionid=7BAF63B025F22778C91EB3054DF07BF0.ncdlmorasp1304?bmUID=ljNtCVI))

I have also become partial to Whisky Liqueurs. Dubliner is an awesome drink (again straight on ice) and is cheap we well. https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_360868/dubliner-irish-whiskey-liqueur-700ml (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_360868/dubliner-irish-whiskey-liqueur-700ml)

The nant distillery has had issues with one of its owners being a scam artist. Basically wanting you to buy a barrel cheap now and pre fund it for the next 10 years while it matures and brings a fabulous return (on your $21k investment...)
I believe he has now been turfed and has set up a similar scheme selling immature cows ( with big returns when they grow).
My parents nearly got caught 10 odd years ago.
Nice Whisky but.
There will usually be a whisky club in your area if you live in a city. Members pay subs and the money buys expensive bottles of grog that the members sit around and share. The QLD Whisky expo was on last weekend at the transcontinental as well.
Post by: cruiser 91 on June 23, 2016, 07:49:28 AM
Go Single Malts...........

Glenmorangie 18y SM Signet is not bad but prefer below.

Glenfiddich 18y SM
Highpark 18y SM

Yamazaki from Japan...........surprisingly smooth & clean.

Talisker from Tassy is also not bad.

JW is rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!!!all of it............unless you have a palate for it......horrid stuff.

Beware.........not 18y SM are good

And 25y and 36y SM @ $600 are good but only marginally better than 18y. Good 18y SM you can get for around $180
Post by: EagleBoy on June 23, 2016, 08:41:54 AM
I'm only recently getting into the scotch as well, more a bourbon drinker. My favorite so far is the Lagavulin 16 year old, it's a single malt and very tasty.
Post by: UIZ733 on June 23, 2016, 09:03:44 AM

So far I've tried:
Bushmills
Chivas
Jamieson

Wash your mouth out!!!
Bushmills and Jamieson are Irish.  ;D
Black Bush (Aged Bushmills...and not what you are thinking) and 12 Year Old Jamieson are VERY NICE.
Redbrest 12 Year Old Irish is also very nice.
Lark (Tasmanian Scotch style) is good but expensive. Scotch is always more peaty than Irish. If you have to add soft drink $hit to whiskey to make it palatable, it is not worth drinking. I despair when I see people add Coke to a good whiskey.
Post by: Cammo on June 23, 2016, 09:35:31 AM
Whisky is my wife's true love, I came a close second.

(https://s26.postimg.org/6geomm0tx/shrine.jpg) (https://postimg.org/image/6geomm0tx/)

This is her Shrine before she got serious. A few years ago we did the whisky trail in the highlands of Scotland and 2 yrs ago all the Tassy distilleries but she is a top shelf connoisseur and a member of Whiskies of the World.

Post by: ewoksta on June 23, 2016, 10:52:37 AM
Talisker 10yr Single Malt is a nice drop,
Oban,
Writers Tears (Irish)
Dalwhinnie SM 15yr

are all nice drops to drink. Avoid JW unless mixing it. Once you taste Single Malts you wont want JW of any colour! IMHO.
Post by: Bird on June 23, 2016, 11:09:55 AM
scotch to me tastes and always has tasted like paint stripper.. :(
Post by: achjimmy on June 23, 2016, 11:36:02 AM
Wash your mouth out!!!
Bushmills and Jamieson are Irish.  ;D
Black Bush (Aged Bushmills...and not what you are thinking) and 12 Year Old Jamieson are VERY NICE.
Redbrest 12 Year Old Irish is also very nice.
Lark (Tasmanian Scotch style) is good but expensive. Scotch is always more peaty than Irish. If you have to add soft drink $hit to whiskey to make it palatable, it is not worth drinking. I despair when I see people add Coke to a good whiskey.

I have only been drinking 12 yr old Jamison's I pay about $18 a bottle in Japan!  But lately gone off it for some reason, and I still have 4 bottles left! Also have a bottle of black bush  that's $12 a bottle Japan!
Post by: cupcake on June 23, 2016, 11:40:42 AM
For a cheap blend, try Label 5, I find it nicer than JW Red.
I like the smokiness of JW Black, Double Black I find too smokey but if given to me I will drink it, haha.
Dimples 15 yo is nice.
I prefer blends over single.
However I cant stand Chivas.
Post by: achjimmy on June 23, 2016, 11:45:04 AM
Anyone fancy chipping into to try some royal salute? Saw this at Dubai airport last year. Bargain at USD$200k

Title: Re: Myswag Scotch Drinkers
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 23, 2016, 11:51:24 AM
Wow, what has been uncovered here? I've changed the thread name, and I now know what raffle/guessing comp can be set up next.

Jillsy, we might need a new line of merchandise........
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 23, 2016, 11:57:10 AM
I agree Bruce, but now I've tried a few better quality ones, my pallette appears to have changed.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 23, 2016, 12:14:35 PM

Jillsy, we might need a new line of merchandise........

MySwag tumbler and nip dispenser set?
Post by: db on June 23, 2016, 01:48:24 PM
Laphroaig 10 year old, I don't usually have any in the house, 'cause I'll just drink it... But any of the strong flavoured islay single malts are good.
Post by: SambOz on June 23, 2016, 02:01:20 PM
Lagavulin 16 yr, the start of many downfalls   :D - first Scotch I thought had any "taste", tried many since and now that L16 is >$100 and $80+ on special at Uncle Dans have tried a lot of others in the Islay style.

Talisker 10 yr  46% as a b'day/Christmas/Fathers Day pressy, firm fav.  :cup:

Bought an Strathisla 12yr yesterday, first time tasted, very nice easy drinking with a dash of (tank) water, hint of peat, recommend it  ;D

Simple things..Single Malts are usually best & you get what you pay for.
                        Still searching for the <$50 whisky I like as much as Tal 10, it doesn't exist !
                        Your palate changes with the years
                        Never mix it with Coke, that sh*t makes you crook !
                        Ice dulls the flavour, if your not keen on it add plenty ice, not Coke
                        Keep an eye on the prices, you'll see some of your fav. at up to 20% saving on special

ENJOY  ::)

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 23, 2016, 02:30:56 PM
Have a bottle of Glenlivet and Glennfidick on the shelf for when the JD runs out, but for some reason more and more JD keeps appearing ???
Post by: SambOz on June 23, 2016, 02:51:44 PM
See what you did there Scraps...lol

I agree Bruce, but now I've tried a few better quality ones, my pallette appears to have changed.
Post by: Swannie on June 23, 2016, 03:27:11 PM
Actually you need to get on the GIN
Post by: SimpleSi on June 23, 2016, 06:11:01 PM
Talisker wins hands down.
JW red if there's a mix involved
JW double black just ok on-the-rocks.
Post by: Swogjb on June 23, 2016, 06:17:20 PM
Hellyers Road Single Malt is the best I have had to date.
I love it with ice, a bit expensive to be gulping it with coke.

It's a Tasmanian whiskey that is definately worth a try.
I only buy it when it's on special.
Title: Myswag Scotch Drinkers
Post by: tagman on June 23, 2016, 06:24:53 PM
I am liking DUBLINER at the moment.
Maybe more of a liqueur than a scotch?
But it has a hint of honeycomb flavour.

www.tags2u.com.au
Post by: Fizzie on June 24, 2016, 08:43:45 AM
I have only been drinking 12 yr old Jamison's I pay about $18 a bottle in Japan!  But lately gone off it for some reason, and I still have 4 bottles left!

Jimmy, I'll be only too happy to take them off your hands if you don't want tthem any more!  :D

Problem would be having it SwagMailed up here ??? I have this funny feeling that something may just happen to cause the bottles to spring a leak in transit  ???  >:D
Post by: Robbo on June 24, 2016, 09:15:05 AM
JD is my main drink, which is'nt very often these days, but for special ocassions i always have a bottle of Dimple on standby. ????????

Sent from my SM-J500Y using Tapatalk

Post by: scrapsD40 on June 24, 2016, 01:43:40 PM
Jimmy, I'll be only too happy to take them off your hands if you don't want tthem any more!  :D

Problem would be having it SwagMailed up here ??? I have this funny feeling that something may just happen to cause the bottles to spring a leak in transit  ???  >:D
They'd be safe if you sent them with speewa
Post by: DCP on June 24, 2016, 10:26:20 PM
The stock in my caravan is
Always a bottle of Glenfiddic,only drunk straight up no ice
 Lark classic cask single malt, only drunk straight up no ice.
 Lark single malt Slainte liqueur is my favorite again straight up no ice, $50 plus 350 mls
Zubrowka  (bison grass) vodka from Poland is great again straight up no ice. Is expensive.
Cointreau an old favorite of mine.
Wild Turkey is a mixer type of drink, as is  Bells blended scotch.
Southern  Comfort was the drink of my beloved and is only ever drunk as a Liqueur.
there is also an array of port for those quiet evenings around the camp fire.
Post by: Tim - Stratford on June 24, 2016, 10:29:21 PM

X 10,000!

Also Glayva for a more spiced and less sweet flavour. Sullivan Cove from Tassie is very smooth....but the price rise since 2004!

Tim
Post by: slydar on June 25, 2016, 04:41:30 PM
(a bit more sedate that the electrical thread...!)

my mrs loves her scotch as well, and has taken a liking for irish whiskey (note the spelling - scotch/Scottish whiskey does NOT have an 'e' in it!!!)

laphroaig came and went, as did JW Blue - in fact none of the JWs seem to do it for her now except the black label but only when it comes down to $40 a bottle (whereupon she gets a six-pack for Christmas). J&B is the one of choice more than anything else, but I will never forget the bar we found in flinders street whose house scotch was chivas!
Title: Re: Myswag Whisky Drinkers
Post by: Foo on June 25, 2016, 08:59:36 PM
I make a Single Malt, that runs rings around Glenfidick and Dimple and it only costs $8 a bottle.  ;D  :cheers:

Post by: scrapsD40 on June 26, 2016, 06:20:59 AM
I read last night that whisky on ice, in fact most any hard liquer or spirit on ice can be harmful to your body.  So I'm going to limit the risk................and cut back on the ice
Post by: bak79 on June 26, 2016, 07:49:41 AM
my old man grabbed me a bottle of the Hellyers Road from Tassie this year.  haven't cracked it yet but heading away next weekend so it's in the camper  ;D

I usually drink japanese whisky. inlaws are japanese and always look after me when i visit.  favourite to date has been taketsuru 21.  my go to whisky is Balvenie Double Wood 12yr old.  no water or ice for me unless it's cask strength then usually just a bit of water. 

Post by: KingBilly on June 26, 2016, 07:56:39 AM
I make a Single Malt, that runs rings around Glenfidick and Dimple and it only costs $8 a bottle.  ;D  :cheers:

So how many years is it matured in an oak barrel?

Post by: Foo on June 26, 2016, 11:03:02 AM
It's not, just 24hrs in the freezer but had two bottles that I let sit for two years and have another one that has been there for three years.  :cheers:

Post by: MarkVS on June 26, 2016, 11:29:38 AM
I have collected and tried many scotches. Recently I was lucky enough to be in Tassie  and had some 'Sullivan's Cove' that recently won the Worlds best single malt award at the World Whisky Awards.

I do have to say, there is a point where when you go above, telling the difference starts to get very difficult.

A neighbour of mine and I used to have the full collection of every Johnnie Walker made, lined them up in quality order, and over the space on quite a few hours, had a nip of each, starting at the cheapest and working our way up. You certainly can taste the fine differences doing it that way.

But I find it hard to be able to tell specific differences when it's a 1 off.

But I do like a nice scotch, in the evening, dash of soda, with nice company around.

MarkVS

Post by: KingBilly on June 26, 2016, 01:20:56 PM

It's not, just 24hrs in the freezer but had two bottles that I let sit for two years and have another one that has been there for three years.  :cheers:

Sorry mate, it is not whisky then.  It is just flavoured ethanol  :D

Post by: The Caseys on June 26, 2016, 03:57:45 PM
My husband can never decide what he wants, so always has a broad collection for whatever the taste buds feel like.

Tina

Post by: scrapsD40 on June 26, 2016, 04:51:41 PM
Just found this hiding in the back of the cupboard. Must have been an old work Xrissy present. Open now (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160626/8450b5e5ce2e84781346e586d0d7d78a.jpg)
Post by: Bullant4x4 on June 26, 2016, 05:45:23 PM
I acquired a little taste for the real whiskey :-)

Post by: achjimmy on June 26, 2016, 08:31:58 PM

Lol I thought I have an offer or two. I'll manage to get back into it  ;D
Post by: DannyG on June 26, 2016, 08:35:38 PM

I make my own whiskey in various different ways but the stuff thats sitting in the old oak barrel (with a little help from some fresh charred oak chips) is magnificent  ;D
Post by: GUEY on June 27, 2016, 12:03:36 PM
I acquired a little taste for the real whiskey :-)

Agree, the only whiskey to drink has an "E" in it  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on June 27, 2016, 12:19:59 PM
Lol I thought I have an offer or two. I'll manage to get back into it  ;D

It was worth a try!  ;D

:cheers: & enjoy!
Post by: Lou on June 27, 2016, 12:48:58 PM
Nice first threat to leap into.. As a Scot, I try to live by my father's rule - Whisky doesn't have an 'E' in it!

If you like it straight, with ice, water, whatever- the important thing is to enjoy.

Personally, I prefer my whisky as a toddy. Not terribly hot water, but a comfortable temp.. it opens up the whisky and, if like me you like sitting outside in the winter - a very warming drink. Try it, you may well be surprised!!  :cheers:
Post by: fergy on June 28, 2016, 12:45:33 AM
Come on people
Please throw some more names of some nice drops out there in the sub 100 region for me to try
Fergy
Post by: Doweymex on June 29, 2016, 11:59:43 PM

www.tags2u.com.au (http://www.tags2u.com.au)

Try Dubliner with a splash of baileys. Was sceptical at first but man-o-man. Makes a nice cup of 'coffee'

Mate also asked what to get me for my birthday, I said been having a scotch lately, he fronts with a 18yr old SM Glenlivet. Nice friend
I like Chivas and Glenfiddich mainly. Normally straight.

This is a great thread!
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 30, 2016, 09:25:05 PM
Time to up the ante with a live pic

Jamieson 12yo - tick

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160630/d806e1b25622e24668a5c8c25d3b8c2d.jpg)
Post by: scrapsD40 on June 30, 2016, 09:51:20 PM
Cragganmore 12yo - nice

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160630/c60e110b58f408608f3191f5e81db058.jpg)
Post by: KingBilly on July 01, 2016, 07:54:04 AM
How can you tell the difference with that iceberg in there?  Compare again with just a splash of room temp water.  Trust me, I'm a professional  :D

Post by: Foo on July 01, 2016, 12:48:21 PM
How can you tell the difference with that iceberg in there?  Compare again with just a splash of room temp water.  Trust me, I'm a professional  :D

A professional what?  :angel:

Post by: scrapsD40 on July 01, 2016, 01:28:43 PM
How can you tell the difference with that iceberg in there?
accept that it may affect the taste, for now I enjoy the initial chilled hit, then the prolonged melted ice savoring. This may change over time as my taste change
Post by: powerd on July 01, 2016, 01:50:52 PM
My brother is mates with a Whisky importer.  So last year for my 60th, my brothers emptied their piggy banks and went to the mate and asked him to select 3 good bottles. Pic below

The Glenfarclas 12 YO comes with two miniatures in the drawer underneath of 21 and 25YO - all were great, but the 25YO was a standout.  Caol Ila is wonderful, smooth and rich and extremely well balanced.  Haven't opened the Longrow yet but it is rated highly though.

Under $100, my favourites are  Laphroig 10YO (or the Quarter Cask which you might just find at that on special), , Abelour Double Cask 12YO, Smokehead (not everyone's taste, I admit, VERY peaty), Jura Superstition, Lagavulin 16YO, Ardberg 10YO and Oban 14YO.  Abelour A'bunadh is a touch over $100,  but wonderful and worth the stretch. Amrut Fusion from India is well worth a try too, I really like it. I have very little experience of Aussie and Japanese whiskys but have some a few good ones, price is higher for quality though.  Not keen in most Irish, but a couple of premium Jamiesons I had were very good, don't like everyday stuff though.  Less said about Bourbon the better..

Oh to have all of those in the cupboard now!!!  Mind you, my liver would suffer!
Post by: fergy on July 01, 2016, 03:19:18 PM
well I had a look through this thread and done an online order at DMs
here is the haul
ordered these last Friday but powerd you seem to be on the money
fergy
(http://i723.photobucket.com/albums/ww236/danielferg/IMG_23331_zpsdzfejmjx.jpg) (http://s723.photobucket.com/user/danielferg/media/IMG_23331_zpsdzfejmjx.jpg.html)
Post by: KingBilly on July 01, 2016, 03:37:19 PM
A professional what?  :angel:

For an initial consultation fee of $160, I will tell you.  Have PM'd you my bank account details  ;D

Post by: KingBilly on July 01, 2016, 03:40:57 PM
here is the haul
ordered these last Friday but powerd you seem to be on the money
fergy
(http://i723.photobucket.com/albums/ww236/danielferg/IMG_23331_zpsdzfejmjx.jpg) (http://s723.photobucket.com/user/danielferg/media/IMG_23331_zpsdzfejmjx.jpg.html)

Where do you live?  PM is OK as we don't want any riff raff showing up like Scraps/Scarps  ;D

Post by: scrapsD40 on July 01, 2016, 04:08:33 PM
Where do you live?  PM is OK as we don't want any riff raff showing up like Scraps/Scarps  ;D

Bwahahahahaha you can only call yourself a professional because you have ass riff raff to compare to. Without us you'd be lost

One day I can only asspire to be as experienced and knowlegable as you

Sitting in the Q club, I asked for a double Chivas. Was told, sorry sir we can't dispense doubles. I say, no problem, can I have 2 singles please. No problem sir, we can do that
Post by: tracker on July 01, 2016, 04:18:23 PM
Bwahahahahaha you can only call yourself a professional because you have ass riff raff to compare to. Without us you'd be lost

One day I can only asspire to be as experienced and knowlegable as you

Sitting in the Q club, I asked for a double Chivas. Was told, sorry sir we can't dispense doubles. I say, no problem, can I have 2 singles please. No problem sir, we can do that

Do we need some duct tape here ....lol
Post by: scrapsD40 on July 01, 2016, 04:24:03 PM
Do we need some duct tape here ....lol

Nah, it's all fun banter over a glass of quality Johnny Walker Redelectrical thread's been a bit quiet lately......(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160701/04fe922df0613bd2d7838351cd1b1071.jpg)
Post by: powerd on July 01, 2016, 04:32:13 PM
here is the haul

Maaaaate!  Fine collection you got there fergy.  Care to share your address?  I won't tell anyone......

I applaud your choices, some extremely enjoyable drinking there.

Hope you have a wonderful time sampling.
Post by: Swannie on July 01, 2016, 04:59:50 PM
Is singleton single malt any good?
Post by: SambOz on July 01, 2016, 08:49:37 PM
Never tried/heard of it, someone must have !
Post by: powerd on July 02, 2016, 09:09:05 AM
Is singleton single malt any good?
Yes.  Won't go wrong there.

Of course, single malts vary in flavours, like boutique wine.  For example I reckon Pinot Noir is a waste of a good vineyard, but many people love it.  Some people love the stronger smoky, peaty flavours of Laphroig Single Malts but others dislike them.  I even enjoy Smokehead but that can be too extreme even for Laphroig lovers.

I haven't yet tried a single malt I thought was bad, just some I like more than others.  The Singleton is actually 3 sub-brands, different styles from different locations.

I am sure you will enjoy it.
Post by: scrapsD40 on July 05, 2016, 01:04:29 PM
Try Dubliner with a splash of baileys. Was sceptical at first but man-o-man. Makes a nice cup of 'coffee'
This is a great thread!
ouch, tried this up on the Murray last weekend, very easy and smooth to drink. Only problem I found next morning was a whole lot must have evaporated out of the bottle overnight...........and based on camper feedback, it may make people snore loudly
Post by: tagman on July 15, 2016, 06:12:47 PM
Simply awesome find.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160715/be683ca7772dd9dc99ca1418a7970c3c.jpg)

www.tags2u.com.au
Post by: scrapsD40 on July 27, 2016, 05:55:17 PM
Got myself a bottle of Dimple at home. Wondering if they gave it that name as it can affect your chin or ass cheeks?
Post by: SambOz on July 27, 2016, 08:19:37 PM
A bonnie laddie once said "Whisky, makes you feel like you should without it"   ;D

(Unc' D had Dimple on special few months back, round $38, it was quite OK  ;D )
Post by: britts on July 28, 2016, 03:21:25 PM
Was given this yesterday for collecting the blokes mail while he was away for a month.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160728/83fad696983aed7a6d4e77df540b67d0.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Post by: GBC on July 28, 2016, 06:21:13 PM
That looks to be quite collectable. I'd smash it 👍
Post by: SambOz on July 28, 2016, 07:34:57 PM
Well done Britts, wouldn't mind hearing what your thoughts were re that one, never tried it so
interested. Thanks  ;D
Post by: Frostd on July 29, 2016, 06:30:30 PM
I have been a drinker of whisky for many years, with a friend introducing me to the single malts years ago.
Last year we went on a cruise through South Pacific and stopped off at Villa, where I bought these five bottles of whisky for half the price.
They are all stunning and I do have some left.
(http://i964.photobucket.com/albums/ae128/Frost26799/20151001_132532.jpg) (http://s964.photobucket.com/user/Frost26799/media/20151001_132532.jpg.html)

Each year a group of us go a Whisky tasting in Sydney. Top shelf whisky (from all over the world) tasting for three hours for about $80.

Post by: Dogsbreakfast on July 30, 2016, 12:17:53 PM
Laphroaig 1/4 cask my personal fave.
Post by: Discoduck on July 30, 2016, 06:40:16 PM
Laphroaig Select Cask for me. Lovely and smooth, beautiful balance on the palate.
Taken neat of course.
Post by: britts on August 01, 2016, 10:42:15 AM
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160801/b2f0e607e110c099c62c786c3a1c2180.jpg)
Gave this one a nudge on the weekend haven't opened the other one yet

Post by: bigaloz on August 01, 2016, 12:06:11 PM
Whisky is best enjoyed however it works for you. Having said that, ice kills some of the flavour and nearly all of the nose. People often use ice to avoid some of the alcohol hit (fair enough if that takes the enjoyment away). Try room temperature water if you are an ice fan. A few drops will release a whole bunch of new flavours and aromas. If you put a wee dribble of water in, it will take the alcohol hit away and still taste and smell great. You can experiment with this to get the balance right for you.

My fav off the shelf: Ardbeg 10 year old. It is one of the most peaty of stock whiskys. Very smooth. If you are not used to peat, try it with a splash of water (try to use distilled or mineral, chlorine does not do your whisky any favours).

My special treats come from a membership my wife gave me for a birthday years ago. The really serious dudes at the Scotch Malt Whisky Society (www.smws.com.au (http://www.smws.com.au)) are the go. An international club in many countries (based in Scotland), they buy individual casks of whisky from distilleries. Every cask is unique. They do not pollute it by watering it down, colouring it (most commercial drams are coloured with caramel) or cold filtering. Unbelievable. their tasting nights are fun and a revelation.

Sláinte!
Post by: Swannie on August 01, 2016, 05:15:42 PM
I must be the softest bloke on the planet, I cannot in the life of me drink whisky straight or on the rocks.

Post by: scrapsD40 on August 01, 2016, 05:35:32 PM
I must be the softest bloke on the planet, I cannot in the life of me drink whisky straight or on the rocks.

Everyone has different tastes. Some of you also drive Toyotas
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 01, 2016, 05:49:53 PM

Then you are doing it all wrong. Try adding the tequila and you will find it easy  :D :cheers:
Post by: GBC on August 01, 2016, 06:20:36 PM

Your palate also changes as you age. I didn't enjoy scotch or brandy when I was younger, but I like it too much now haha.
Post by: scrapsD40 on August 01, 2016, 06:23:09 PM
Your palate also changes as you age. I didn't enjoy scotch or brandy when I was younger, but I like it too much now haha.
Agree. I used to enjoy a beer or 3 after work. Now I enjoy sipping a noice double serve scotch instead. Don't feel as bloated.
Post by: Swannie on August 01, 2016, 06:30:42 PM
Can drink plenty of gin :)
Post by: GeoffA on August 01, 2016, 06:33:16 PM
Everyone has different tastes. Some of you also drive Toyotas

Nah Scraps....that would indicate no taste..... ;D
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on August 01, 2016, 07:31:58 PM
Laphroaig Select Cask for me. Lovely and smooth, beautiful balance on the palate.
Taken neat of course.

Nice.

I like a drop or two of water. As mentioned, opens it up a bit.
Post by: fergy on August 02, 2016, 12:00:18 AM
Wasn't a big fan of the talisker will have to try it with some water
A'bundah amberlour is very nice
Post by: GBC on August 18, 2016, 05:59:46 PM
Just spotted in the Aldi catalogue, they look the same as the 'scotch rocks' I was given a few years back. I've been chewing on ice in rum and coke for so long now that I just can't bring myself to put frozen pieces of granite in my glass for fear of stuffing up, but it may be of use for some.
Post by: xcvator on August 18, 2016, 11:39:01 PM

Ah, c'mon KB , ALL spirits are really just flavoured ethanol, just the method of flavouring differs , and whisky is whisky, whether 2 hours or 25 years old, and ageing smooths it a bit  >:D ;D
Post by: Banjo16 on August 29, 2016, 05:20:54 PM
Birthday treat.
Post by: JohnT on August 29, 2016, 05:49:26 PM
Simply awesome find.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160715/be683ca7772dd9dc99ca1418a7970c3c.jpg)

www.tags2u.com.au (http://www.tags2u.com.au)

Awesome isnt it :)
Post by: slydar on August 29, 2016, 09:33:31 PM
Can drink plenty of gin :)

drank too much of it in new Zealand one night - was our last night there and we weren't sure if theyd let us on the plane with an opened bottle so mrs told me to finish it - well, didn't I get drunk, get sick and have a hangover all in the one night - I was all but comatose! serves me right - and shakey the next day as well - but I still love my gin - in moderation
Post by: bmwfreak on August 30, 2016, 05:44:00 PM
Drank Talisker 10yr for about 5 years, then the local pub (only place I could get it consistently on the way home from work) was bought out by a named bottle shop group. The price went from 72 to 86 in one hit, and kept going up.
I enjoy many different scotches, all straight, and the following are favourites
SINGLES
Talisker 10yr
Talisker Storm
Laphroaig (any)
Lagavulin
Glenmorangie (a bit soft/smooth, and tends to disappear too quickly)
Glenlivet
BLENDED
Dewars (my day to day quaffer)
There are lots more singles that I haven't sampled, but being retired now, will need to wait for VERY special occasions, as the wife doesn't drink scotch.
The attached was for my birthday this month. Very nice!

Post by: Swannie on August 30, 2016, 08:51:28 PM
drank too much of it in new Zealand one night - was our last night there and we weren't sure if theyd let us on the plane with an opened bottle so mrs told me to finish it - well, didn't I get drunk, get sick and have a hangover all in the one night - I was all but comatose! serves me right - and shakey the next day as well - but I still love my gin - in moderation

Post by: SambOz on August 30, 2016, 09:03:04 PM
BMW F, could not disagree if I tried, all excellent to my palate down the list to & including LAGAVULIN, the TALISKERS are just "right", getting them on special is the go to be more affordable  ;D

ie Storm round $67 and 10yr round $72 recently.

Haven't tried the Glen Morangie & Glen Livet.
Post by: SambOz on September 05, 2016, 06:48:53 PM
Have to love this tasting note -

"Like a shepherd’s old woollen sock after a two-day tramp through a peat bog. A really weird mix of (sweaty) cheese and nuts, with some smoke also trying to inveigle itself. With water it becomes Ledaig-like with the flock, wool dripping with lanolin, munching on mangelwurzels"

:D ;D
Post by: SambOz on October 04, 2016, 07:23:51 AM
STOP PRESS  ;D

TALISKER 10YR OLD......$69 at Uncle Dans at the mo' for members.

Saw these just recently in a supermarket locally for $99, I kid you not !

Good value at this $$, just got to think of a special occasion (reason) for buying this one.........or two  :angel:
Post by: scrapsD40 on October 04, 2016, 07:44:28 AM
STOP PRESS  ;D

TALISKER 10YR OLD......$69 at Uncle Dans at the mo' for members.

Saw these just recently in a supermarket locally for $99, I kid you not !

Good value at this $$, just got to think of a special occasion (reason) for buying this one.........or two  :angel:
thnx
Post by: Fizzie on October 05, 2016, 07:14:25 AM
just got to think of a special occasion (reason) for buying this one.........or two  :angel:

Christmas is only 2 months away & the Missus would love one, & the kids need to give you something (from each of them, not all of them  ;D) ...

Post by: SambOz on October 05, 2016, 10:03:11 AM
Christmas is only 2 months away & the Missus would love one, & the kids need to give you something (from each of them, not all of them  ;D) ...

Ideas man fizzie, I like your work  ;D

G/sons 11th b'day, that'll do, totally irrelevant to him but OK.................. ::) ;D

(Got one @ $69, should have got three, lovely drink !! )
Post by: Fizzie on October 05, 2016, 03:15:24 PM
Only too happy to help!  ;D

Now, with regard to little Jimmy, you have to get 2 bottles - one for taste testing to make sure it's acceptable quality  :angel:, & the other gets marked as Jimmy's 11th Birthday, then get's stashed in the back of the wardrobe till his 21st, when Granddad presents it & helps taste that one as well (just to make sure it hasn't gone off over the 10 years)  ;D

Post by: SambOz on October 05, 2016, 03:32:31 PM
Did you say store for 10 years, scary concept  ;D

Quite concerned about evaporation in that time, think it's only fair to show
him a picture of an empty as a warning of something to avoid............unlike his
Grandad who is indeed as bad a Mum and Nanny tell him   ;D
Post by: scrapsD40 on November 11, 2016, 08:25:43 PM
Tonight's nice little drop. This one may go fast(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161111/25b05b5aba6defec5672ba1e2fb963d8.jpg)
Post by: peter01 on November 11, 2016, 08:27:48 PM
Bring it next weekend, Linda will destroy it !!!
Post by: xcvator on November 11, 2016, 08:45:04 PM
Tonight's nice little drop. This one may go fast(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161111/25b05b5aba6defec5672ba1e2fb963d8.jpg)

Was that my bottle  >:D you said it was scotch ya fibbing bastard
Post by: scrapsD40 on November 11, 2016, 08:46:20 PM
Was that my bottle  >:D you said it was scotch ya fibbing bastard
It's very noice
Post by: xcvator on November 11, 2016, 09:35:19 PM
It's very noice
So is mine
Post by: tedota on November 12, 2016, 12:34:09 AM
Anyone tried "Lark" scotch from Tassie?
Post by: gordo350 on November 12, 2016, 05:32:23 AM
No haven't yet but it's up the top of my list
 Saw it on 60 minutes last week and it peaked my interest
Post by: SambOz on November 12, 2016, 12:46:24 PM
Haven't tried the Tassie whiskies, keen to !

We'll be over there next year, that might be the time
to check out a couple of distilleries.

A guide for the discerning Tassie boozer - http://www.whiskyandwisdom.com/?p=1517 (http://www.whiskyandwisdom.com/?p=1517)

e.g. - "Sullivans Cove should need no introduction, having had one of its barrels awarded best whisky in the world back in 2014."

Best in the World, the Scootsmen must be flinging the caber over the house roof with that award leaving their shores.  ;D
Post by: bbbflash on November 12, 2016, 03:11:01 PM
I too am getting into whiskey. It's so much easier to have a bottle or two in the caravan than a case if beer...or two. I like the adaptability of it as I drink it with coke, lemonade, neat or...in coffee. Don't knock it, if you like sugar in your coffee, the toffee/burnt sugar/vanillans really pop. I only need a small splash and bam! Neat is how I prefer to drink it at the moment. I am trying to learn all the subtle flavours of the whiskey before I cover it up with anything. I am not sure I believe in the ice is bad idea yet, but the more I drink the more I will learn and I do like to learn! I just finished a Wild Turkey Kentucky Straight Bourbon. Never again. I could never shake the terps  flavour that I found very prevalent. My favourite and one I am purposely not buying is Buffalo Trace. I personally find it fantastic all round. I have my eye on Bulleit as I have been having this bourbon in my old fashions and I am really interested in how I find it neat/wet/with ice. Look forward to reading your discoveries and suggestions.
Post by: SambOz on November 12, 2016, 06:13:33 PM
The yank stuff needs sugary mixers, try a single malt with some peat/smoke influence, water to taste and you'll love it !!

Reminds me, must go get one  :angel:
Post by: BrindleHounds on November 12, 2016, 08:46:54 PM
Here is one if you need to put yourself to sleep.

Very peaty on the nose but not much after that on that palate.

It can also fuel your chainsaw if you run out of 2 stroke 😅

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161112/4adabd153452330425bd201bd6de4ea0.jpg)

Post by: fergy on November 12, 2016, 09:15:36 PM
Spey something tonight
Tasisker returned to the cupboard last week just not my taste
Sure I will finish it one day but not when there are others to try that promise more
Post by: timmyh80 on November 22, 2016, 07:55:14 AM

If your down Tassie way, and visit the distillery, the tour is great and you can pour your own bottle of cask strength!
Just finished mine over the weekend up at Dargo.
Also enjoyed a few nips of this:
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161121/180869747b648744967c25224bd651e1.jpg)

Post by: timmyh80 on November 22, 2016, 08:01:47 AM
For those considering storing a bottle for future events:

"Unlike wine, whisky does not mature in the bottle. So even if you keep a 12 year old bottle for 100 years, it will always remain a 12 year old whisky. As long as the bottle is kept out of direct sunlight, the Scotch Whisky will neither improve nor deteriorate, even if it is opened." http://www.scotch-whisky.org.uk/understanding-scotch/faqs/

Post by: Fizzie on November 22, 2016, 02:20:13 PM
"Unlike wine, whisky does not mature in the bottle. So even if you keep a 12 year old bottle for 100 years, it will always remain a 12 year old whisky.

Nooooo don't say that Timmy  :'(

We've got an 8yo, 12yo Scotch in the cupboard to be opened next year for my eldest bloke's 21st, & another with 6 years to go for the young bloke's  :-[
Post by: scrapsD40 on November 22, 2016, 03:40:00 PM
Every whisky I drink seems to have the same end result or chemical reaction.

Tastes great on the way down however
Post by: timmyh80 on November 22, 2016, 04:44:41 PM
Nooooo don't say that Timmy  :'(

We've got an 8yo, 12yo Scotch in the cupboard to be opened next year for my eldest bloke's 21st, & another with 6 years to go for the young bloke's  :-[
Sorry Fizzie, been a ex liquor store manager I feel I should share what knowledge I have.

They will still taste great though, and, well done! Remarkable effort to leave them sitting there and not touching them. I am impressed

Post by: Steffo1 on November 22, 2016, 05:32:22 PM
Personally, I don't find Whisky/Whiskey suits my palate but, when in Scotland in '96 we visited the Glenturret distillery & I had a very wee taste & found it tolerable. Straight it was too. I still wouldn't buy it to drink.
Post by: Fizzie on November 23, 2016, 12:56:21 PM
Sorry Fizzie, been a ex liquor store manager I feel I should share what knowledge I have.

So is it only whisky that doesn't keep aging, or are all spirits the same?

I've read somewhere that brandy continues to improve with time

They will still taste great though, and, well done!

I'll make sure that I report back  :D

Post by: Dogsbreakfast on November 24, 2016, 06:42:29 AM

Yeah mate - the whisky's from tas are great, especially the lark distillery ones are fantastic 👌
Post by: timmyh80 on November 24, 2016, 07:32:54 AM
So is it only whisky that doesn't keep aging, or are all spirits the same?

All Spirits, once bottled, are as old as they will get. It is the time they spend maturing in the cask that the age refers to.

There are many different ways that the final taste can be affected during the maturing stage though, from type of cask used (new or old barrels, French or American oak).

If they are old barrels, the previous contents will affect taste (bourbon, sherry, port, red/white wine etc).

The size of the barrel plays a big part as well, as the great the contact with the wood (eg 1/2 cask or 1/4 cask).

Some fortified wines will get better with more time spent in a barrel (eg port) but make sure it is a wooden not metal one (these are just decorative). Some people will also put other spirits into them, but results are hard to be consistent with. (Personally, I am happy to play with 10 litres of port, but the cost of 10 litres of S.M. To try improve the taste is out of my budget).

There is so much to discuss in regards to this one aspect of liquor I could go on for hours.

Post by: timmyh80 on November 28, 2016, 10:10:24 PM
Whisky should be your drink of summer - The Age
https://apple.news/AmAgFUbeQRQaBi5ctmRi_fQ

Post by: SambOz on November 29, 2016, 07:09:42 PM
Good read Tim, thanks  ;D

Unfortunately the author didn't mention Talisker and to compound his naivete
put some foreign cr*p in the glass, grounds for a firing squad at dawn  :cheers:

Post by: timmyh80 on November 29, 2016, 11:13:13 PM
Good read Tim, thanks  ;D

Unfortunately the author didn't mention Talisker and to compound his naivete
put some foreign cr*p in the glass, grounds for a firing squad at dawn  :cheers:

Each to their own SambOz. I personally tend to agree with you, why drink good whiskey and kill its unique tastes and characteristics with extra unnecessary stuff.

But I don't mind the idea of a whiskey cocktail, I would use a blend though. 3 monkeys wasn't half bad last time to tried one.

Post by: fergy on November 29, 2016, 11:25:38 PM
Anyone in the whisky  club thingy
http://thewhiskyclub.com.au/ (http://thewhiskyclub.com.au/)
Post by: tk421 on November 30, 2016, 07:16:12 AM
I couldn't stand whisky when younger (immature palate maybe?) then some old airforce guy insisted I try Irish Single Malts and I was converted. Still not a regular drinker but definitely appreciate it when I do. I'm a fan of the Scottish Speyside malts too.

Going to give a little plug for Adnams Whisky here. My mother's side of the family operate a brewery on the east coast of the UK. They've recently diversified into spirits including a 3yr old Single malt. Made from 100% locally grown barley and matured in new French oak barrels, only 10 barrels were made in the first batch. There were some nervous people at the first tasting but it has got some awards along the way.

http://adnams.co.uk/spirits/our-spirits/adnams-single-malt-whisky-no-1/ (http://adnams.co.uk/spirits/our-spirits/adnams-single-malt-whisky-no-1/)

https://www.connosr.com/article/adnams-copper-house-169 (https://www.connosr.com/article/adnams-copper-house-169)
Post by: juniorgc on December 06, 2016, 08:16:58 PM
Yep I tried a few Australian ones at the Whisky bar in Melbourne.  Can try a wide range of whisky from around the world.  Lark was good, as well as one from Bendigo (can't remember the name just now).  Also have a Starwards from Essendon Fields and it a nice drop too.

Post by: SambOz on December 06, 2016, 09:08:07 PM
Ardbeg 10 at DanM's <$70 until 11/12/2016.

Good price  ;D
Post by: britts on December 16, 2016, 02:54:42 PM
Ok I chasing a good single malt between $150- $200, recommendations??

Post by: Frostd on December 16, 2016, 06:44:55 PM
 Britts, do you want smokiness (peat) or non smoke.  One of the best I like with a little smoke if Tobermoray 15 yr old.

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_708683/tobermory-15-year-old-scotch-whisky-700ml (https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_708683/tobermory-15-year-old-scotch-whisky-700ml)
Post by: britts on December 16, 2016, 07:01:03 PM
Smoky/peaty = good

Post by: britts on December 20, 2016, 12:09:34 PM
Ended up with this one,
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161220/a0dbe6c4d5a419099957d3732b6a0f09.jpg)

Post by: Frostd on December 20, 2016, 03:52:53 PM
Ended up with this one,
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161220/a0dbe6c4d5a419099957d3732b6a0f09.jpg)

That looks neat. 

Post by: SambOz on December 20, 2016, 08:32:13 PM
Would be DELISH' Britts  :cup:

See Uncle Dans still has Ardbeg 10 sub $70 and Taliskers a little over $70(10yr old and Storm).
Post by: britts on December 21, 2016, 04:59:08 AM
I've tried the ardbeg and wasnt keen on it.

Post by: britts on March 16, 2017, 06:52:44 AM
Shouted myself a bottle of Glenrothes the other day, not to bad,

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170315/113600370d68185eaf2ac21e47197e05.jpg)

Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 16, 2017, 07:42:43 PM
Lark night cap in Launceston(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170316/87cb6598db327238c8c091b669e7e0c8.jpg)
Post by: JohnT on March 17, 2017, 06:20:31 AM
Im in the process of collecting Australian Whisky as I travel around.

My most recent purchase is a bottle of Fleurieu Distillery from South Australia. The bottle I have is from their very first batch (limited edition) and set me back about $230.

I also have:

Nant: Tassie
Lark: Tassie
Limeburners: WA

Next on the hit list is a bottle from Tim Boon in Victoria. Should be with me in about a week when I pass through there.

My only regret so far is I opened by bottle of Nant and then found out they were going through the hoop. Luckily they have been saved so Ill need to get a new bottle for the collection :)
Post by: britts on March 17, 2017, 08:53:33 PM
Landline has an episode on limeburners coming up soon i believe

Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 31, 2017, 08:04:17 PM
Just got home from a week of travel with work and my Mansfield Meet Whisky has arrived.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/fcdf0846303c4fddf8a6ad601d9ac68d.jpg)

Footnote:
Now some they do and some they don't
And some you just can't tell
And some they will and some they won't
With some it's just as well
Post by: KingBilly on March 31, 2017, 08:08:04 PM
Sharing?

Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 31, 2017, 08:12:06 PM
Sharing?

If you happen to wander by my camp for a yarn with a glass in hand, I've been known to

Footnote:
Post by: Frostd on March 31, 2017, 08:12:14 PM
Now that looks nice........I'll bring my glass ;)
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 31, 2017, 08:13:17 PM
I'd better order a 2nd then

Footnote:
Post by: xcvator on March 31, 2017, 09:14:40 PM
I'd better order a 2nd then(https://emoji.tapatalk-cdn.com/emoji848.png)

Footnote:
Better order a couple more  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
Post by: ScarpsD40 on March 31, 2017, 09:49:31 PM
Better order a couple more  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
Ordered and on it's way. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170331/392369a6a14eb296e372306dbba95a40.jpg)
Post by: Swannie on April 02, 2017, 08:57:09 AM
I'll stick to my gin and get all emotional and depressed

Post by: ScarpsD40 on April 02, 2017, 07:01:50 PM
I'll stick to my gin and get all emotional and depressed

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170402/8ba317ef5506fc734be76c189774715c.jpg)
Post by: Rusty on April 03, 2017, 08:23:29 PM
Just having a couple of these in Dubbo (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170403/7a77cc531646fb1fc1adc0ae02a23a11.jpg)

Post by: britts on April 03, 2017, 08:29:26 PM
Nice

Post by: Frostd on April 03, 2017, 09:01:08 PM
Very nice. I cant see that lasting until Good Friday.
Post by: Rusty on April 03, 2017, 09:03:26 PM
Very nice. I cant see that lasting until Good Friday.
if it does I will give you one  :cheers:
Post by: Wortho on April 05, 2017, 05:40:10 PM
Went to the Baxter Inn Sydney last week and they had quite a selection of Whiskey on offer  :cheers: There was one in particular where the price went up each time a glass was poured due to the scarcity.
Post by: ScarpsD40 on April 12, 2017, 08:21:54 PM
There's going to be a fine old mix of brands at Mansfield this weekend. Will get some pics up when we can
Post by: lincolnland on April 12, 2017, 08:41:30 PM
yum!
Post by: Swannie on April 12, 2017, 08:42:11 PM
There's going to be a fine old mix of brands at Mansfield this weekend. Will get some pics up when we can

Just packed a bottle for ya collection
Post by: ScarpsD40 on April 12, 2017, 08:51:36 PM
Just packed a bottle for ya collection
Champion

In this dirty old part of the city
Where the sun refused to shine
People tell me there ain't no use in tryin'
Post by: peter01 on April 12, 2017, 09:11:18 PM
Just be warned, the bundy bar has a special location nd been open since 12.23pm
Post by: ScarpsD40 on April 13, 2017, 02:11:35 AM
Just be warned, the bundy bar has a special location nd been open since 12.23pm
seems appropriate
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170412/f2be395815ebd93ab5290aee9d036215.jpg)

Last night I had a crazy dream
A wish was granted just for me
It could be for anything
Post by: glenm64 on May 14, 2017, 05:37:36 PM
Just cracked my Deanston 12yo.
Mmmmm very smooth

Post by: glenm64 on May 15, 2017, 08:45:38 PM
Tonight enjoying Redbreasr 12yo.
A real treat.

Post by: Ragman on May 16, 2017, 12:14:41 AM
do you need any help with those glenm64?
I've only got a Jameson triple distilled to keep me warm tonight.
Post by: glenm64 on May 16, 2017, 07:48:13 PM
do you need any help with those glenm64?
I've only got a Jameson triple distilled to keep me warm tonight.
Already got an assistant. Son #1 was over last night and he was very impressed with the Redbreast.
Its a very nice drop.

Post by: Chappie on December 11, 2017, 06:55:00 PM
Anyone keen to offer up an opinion on what to request for Christmas?  I am only starting out, have tasted Glenfiddich 12yo but no other single malts and have been steadily getting more confused as I troll through the Dan Murphy reviews.
The important part is it can be up to $100.  So fire away.
Chappie
Post by: gordo350 on December 11, 2017, 07:12:15 PM
Have a go at some Talisker.  Lovely drop
Post by: glenm64 on December 11, 2017, 07:24:27 PM
Nikka from the barrel is a nice Japanese whiskey.
Redbreast 12 year old single pot (Irish) is a favourite of mine.
Post by: Fizzie on December 12, 2017, 08:25:11 AM
Anyone keen to offer up an opinion on what to request for Christmas?  I am only starting out, have tasted Glenfiddich 12yo but no other single malts and have been steadily getting more confused as I troll through the Dan Murphy reviews.
Chappie

Chappie, I think the only way of doing this properly is to approach it scientifically.

You buy one bottle of each of the likely candidates, then get a heap of Swaggers round to your place to sample them all & vote on which they think is the best. You can then tell the family "I'd like this one please" :D

When & where would you like us to come ??? :D

Post by: Chappie on December 12, 2017, 10:03:31 AM
What a great idea, however I can see a couple of issues the most pressing would be I can't afford the amount of free whisky I would need for all the freeloading myswagging whisky drinkers.

How about we meet down the coast somewhere, maybe at the Casa del Fizzie? we could check the truth (scientifically of course) about the quality of stored whisky not changing?

Thanks for your help??  also Glen and Gordo, Talisker Storm and 10 were among those I had looked at but not the Irish or Japanese drops.
Chappie
Post by: GBC on December 12, 2017, 10:12:52 AM
Chappie

Throw a dart mate, nobody can guess what your palate likes and MOST CERTAINLY paying $100 for any bottle doesn't guarantee you won't like a $50 bottle more. Same with wines. The problem with $100 bottles is if you find one that knocks your socks off, you have to keep buying them - or not.
Post by: Hewy54 on December 12, 2017, 10:31:19 AM
All depends on personal palate.
Tried an experiment a few weeks ago.
Had several to try- Red label, gold label, dimple, Singleton, 12 yo Chivas and Grants.
Did a blind tasting with 4 of us, and for each bottle opinions were evenly divided.
Post by: britts on December 12, 2017, 11:43:39 AM
Dimple i find terrible, Singleton on the other hand

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Hewy54 on December 12, 2017, 12:01:44 PM
Just a matter personal choice.
I have found the Chivas to my liking.
Post by: gordo350 on December 12, 2017, 02:18:53 PM
All depends on personal palate.
Tried an experiment a few weeks ago.
Had several to try- Red label, gold label, dimple, Singleton, 12 yo Chivas and Grants.
Did a blind tasting with 4 of us, and for each bottle opinions were evenly divided.
I did a blind testing last Friday.  Well, I didn't start out blind 😎
Post by: Mace on December 12, 2017, 03:34:01 PM
Monkey Shoulder is my current favourite. Around $50 per 700ml.  Worth a try IMO.
Post by: glenm64 on December 12, 2017, 03:56:37 PM
Its out 30th anniversary, my pressie from her.???(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171212/932b4de26c118b199ee064c9b1c6673d.jpg)

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on December 12, 2017, 05:46:39 PM
Well done.  She is spoiling you, do you think?

Or is she teasing you, by not letting you have any before the big day?
Post by: glenm64 on December 12, 2017, 05:57:59 PM
Well done.  She is spoiling you, do you think?

Or is she teasing you, by not letting you have any before the big day?
I reckon Im worth it, though others may have a slighly different opinion.

Post by: Chappie on December 14, 2017, 11:32:52 AM
This Jim Murray bloke agrees with one of your favourites Glen

Top three picks in the Whisky Bible this year were;

2018 World Whisky Of The Year – Colonel EH Taylor Four Grain Bourbon
Second Finest Whisky In The World – Redbreast 21 Years Old
Third Finest Whisky In The World – Glen Grant 18 Years Old

The rest of his list is here
https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/australian-whisky-wins-award-jim-murrays-whisky-bible-2018/ (https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/australian-whisky-wins-award-jim-murrays-whisky-bible-2018/)
Post by: glenm64 on December 14, 2017, 05:44:45 PM
This Jim Murray bloke agrees with one of your favourites Glen

Top three picks in the Whisky Bible this year were;

2018 World Whisky Of The Year – Colonel EH Taylor Four Grain Bourbon
Second Finest Whisky In The World – Redbreast 21 Years Old
Third Finest Whisky In The World – Glen Grant 18 Years Old

The rest of his list is here
https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/australian-whisky-wins-award-jim-murrays-whisky-bible-2018/ (https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/australian-whisky-wins-award-jim-murrays-whisky-bible-2018/)
Havent tried the 21yo, just the poor mans 12yo.

Post by: Frostd on December 22, 2017, 07:01:55 AM
For my 2 cents worth, when you are just starting out.

Any of the Bowmore range - ($70 upwards) a little smoke and lovely balance.
If you want something heavier in smoke try 16 Lagavulin. You can pick it up on special for about $90. This is one of the best.
I just bought Starwards - $95. Its an Australian whisky which has won many awards and is stunning.

You are going to have fun trying to work out which one to buy. ;)
Post by: timmyh80 on December 27, 2017, 01:13:31 PM
Chappie
I know it is past Christmas, but my 2 cents worth:
Jura superstition
Clynelish 14 y.o
Bowmore 12 y.o
Lagavulin 16 y.o
Glenkinchie 12 y.o
The Balvinnie 12 y.o double wood
Highland park 12 y.o
Bruichladdich rocks (or anything else from them)
Monkey shoulder.
Post by: Frostd on December 27, 2017, 08:13:56 PM
I know it is past Christmas, but my 2 cents worth:
Jura superstition
Clynelish 14 y.o
Bowmore 12 y.o
Lagavulin 16 y.o
Glenkinchie 12 y.o
The Balvinnie 12 y.o double wood
Highland park 12 y.o
Bruichladdich rocks (or anything else from them)
Monkey shoulder.

That is a very nice list timmyh80. That would make for a great night. lol
Post by: gordo350 on December 28, 2017, 06:33:38 AM
Yeah
 Nice list. Just be careful not to  confuse highland Park with highland mist. Bought the mist once by mistake.  Couldn't disguise the taste with coke 😲
Post by: MadMarv on December 28, 2017, 12:54:44 PM
This is more from the bourbon side off whiskey ,

Drunk many over the years however i did love Wild Turkey , Rare Breed was very yumm , but then i found Elijah Craig extremly tasty ...
Post by: Chappie on January 22, 2018, 09:13:01 AM
Thanks for the suggestions. 
I ended up with a bottle of Glenlivet and Dalwhinnie.
I also have a list to look at when they are on special,
Lagavulin, Talisker, Bowmore, Redbreast to start off with.
Also bought a bottle of Jaimeson's to try as it is on special at the moment.
Cheers Iain

Post by: xcvator on January 22, 2018, 11:11:01 AM
I don't think most of you should be voicing any opinions   :-* coz you're not qualified, but I am  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D since 1997  :cheers:
Post by: gordo350 on January 22, 2018, 12:44:15 PM
Yeah but. That's irish whisky.  They give them to anyone 😎
Post by: xcvator on January 22, 2018, 07:56:41 PM
Yeah but. That's irish whisky.  They give them to anyone 😎
Tis true it's at an Irish distillery, but it was a blind sniff/taste test  ;D with real whisky , not American hooch  >:D
Post by: Ragman on January 22, 2018, 09:18:16 PM
I don't think most of you should be voicing any opinions   :-* coz you're not qualified, but I am  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D since 1997  :cheers:

I'm quite a fan of Irish whisky.

Lately we've been sipping "Rusty Nail" during cocktail hour or 2.
in case you don't know, 2 parts Scotch whisky (or Irish) 1 part Drambuie. some put ice and a slice lime, but I don't need the extras.

A very nice tipple.
Post by: britts on February 21, 2018, 07:45:51 PM
Currently sipping on this one, Marinated a steak in it over the weekend, Awesome.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180221/56d52a9c68407a24d6803c0072c5be6e.jpg)

Post by: tennismark on February 22, 2018, 01:58:08 PM
For those who live in Melbourne or visiting and you have the need/urge for some high quality whisky......
then head to a bar in Collingwood called Bad Frankie. The main guy the Seb, only stocks boutique Aussie distillers for whisky, gin and other spirits. He knows everything there is to know and won't mind a chat either. Have the tasting plate and you will walk away with knowledge and even more appreciation for Aussie spirits.
Google Bad Frankie, the bar is all Aussie and very welcoming. Thats my level of whisky love.....gin on the other hand!!!!

Let me know if you go or have been....cheers.
Post by: glenm64 on February 27, 2018, 07:09:25 PM
This is a great drop. Aultmore 12yo, from what I understand they only do a release every few years.
If you can find a bottle grab one, its a great drop.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180227/24b54fc4cb35df320bb1369b0716b72b.jpg)

Post by: envee on March 01, 2018, 06:30:10 PM
Got these for Xmas.

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/TWv2J4m93VztSiWqRWUL8YxqgxXEGRPziELJx1wjsPBXKmJfRsjEBmRu-_fUBZUgUnY__aXCE_gow7pmnwW2NVQVpWxjbqHnrceBnul8PET9ZxCqfltiVqzFH5tVKzBVqzhgCJ6fr25FKGpgPkXlewnrDfA0sdrH-qzxSQ6RO1jWhbRKMgNTw1MyrWWRd9cVHH1a0atKxVNbOsBOgslMmeqvjG7S0AMUswNF5rCuwp0pZrwbo2rcHGMCGdEFgADa7ybd004HxCqWjK5_TqHU3Fse5xjRWeFhAJAeoi4HZ6eMSwDktK7ZwIxI_MgSJpEJxdj1YFUHJgMf8TBWcT0JENM_bJb4cmbEd4Z1C9MBaTuoeW_Yu8C2ql4jJ-8MJ-G5ngXTSdR7x1vLNIB6ceX6Hpc20DjPNwrRE-v9l5nnlaM0fdPIJ15O26j5QQK_i4S6fBCIPaj7D8KpX43MKkR7hUxcOzg7ZvDST6UJ6Z2VRBvPQcKAT0k7Yq-FvAoBdPwQwDqtB9p4q936BuuyqVenNDEv6cz17JVS5fCyctS9a1evpj3QeYWZGdyEdedQG4hOj1sAWeYPXE0vMmxGG06cCi881P14IQb5Y87xAlY=w498-h884-no)

The Writers Tears is a very nice drop full of flavour.  The Lagavulin is VERY peaty and smokey and the one I probably prefer where as my wife prefers the other.

For a quiet scotch at the end of a hard day we have been drinking JW red for quite a while now and enjoying it.  Bought this duty free on a recent trip and it's very nice. 

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/HA_K_DgoDbCl5cht_-zGT2jg5b42SzVJnTj4-LCNpPGDDAS7jqtJuPU9kB3CHdvU1hZRYGiAW0v0ea0o9OLPigdPqHHtm7yiC7euFjsAR3VDMrq5ATuiEOhaeV5t2H-5wn6gADkZ2c_GFdWyUnEgmAZW-OluGINES6XiRwAjEu_bmPgq9Ezjn8hm3O-AQtkpcV7FYs3fAwQ76k7PQ4Nj16DANSkP3f3R0UiU5_SpDSAPNwBhte-gJgtQh4ypoEk8SThOSHZUhGqE_EDzs9ejsfgySB3TmZ3IlTrTrrWOL-3QLg1yl1UVMIZWEh4gGJdi_ijq47xMFmElq6-_qY6_f6-prMNMxItQP40CLu3GTns8O4MeLenOZa-BVoH5y7kGWNQxAEzouWNOFWMk39G-R8YNbKNfiAzC0yr6Z2Q90FjKeudgDJBxmQfa-_XDWM4E9q0WnVq-Icdgjv6YDCzyP3pHZnw_wnCS1b9BTI3PiYw8bn__2IJsLprex5VsDNh8vTPiOVZuF25Lzi5yICrpr4RH3Ht7VByFIrBSEGXaAPBGXdYw_bZjOA439CEysgJKYI3ZuNx52blea-llwAnx7sTKNUFByPx9iLdwY2U=w130-h229-no)

Will become our quiet scotch at the end of a hard day I think !
Post by: Pete79 on March 02, 2018, 08:50:38 PM
Nice night to finally break the seal on a Lively one.... ;D

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180302/98d8a61869e03f411b75ca43ab4ca238.jpg)
Post by: plusnq on March 09, 2018, 07:53:29 PM
It is Friday. Very nice drop
Post by: britts on March 13, 2018, 07:25:44 PM
Another nice one(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180313/3286c947b2d94797cef2ef546883193f.jpg)

Post by: Frostd on March 13, 2018, 07:27:03 PM
Real nice drop Britts!!
Post by: britts on March 13, 2018, 08:11:29 PM
Its certainly is.

Post by: glenm64 on May 31, 2018, 07:21:56 PM
Im not really a rum drinker, but this stuff is stunning. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva. Its not whiskey I know, but it's a fantastic drop that any whiskey drinker should really enjoy. My youngest fella schooled me on it last week, so, I bought myself a bottle today....(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180531/59dceb6dbf1b13eb7991a8c40fbf9209.jpg)

Post by: Spada on June 07, 2018, 07:47:25 AM
Opened this bottle last night........and found it to be quite addictive

The tasting note suggest butterscotch and vanilla, but I thought it had a real nice smokey afterglow  ;D

https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/product/the-macallan-select-oak-highland-single-malt-scotch-whisky/ (https://www.thewhiskycompany.com.au/product/the-macallan-select-oak-highland-single-malt-scotch-whisky/)
Post by: Chappie on August 20, 2018, 10:44:53 AM
Little sister was wasting time in the duty free on her way home and decided to buy me a present because I am such a good brother. So pleased, she chose very well.
Post by: plusnq on August 20, 2018, 01:56:18 PM
Little sister was wasting time in the duty free on her way home and decided to buy me a present because I am such a good brother. So pleased, she chose very well.

It’s a nice drop that one. My father sent me one for my birthday. Sadly already emptied .
Post by: Fizzie on August 20, 2018, 03:47:29 PM
Just saw this https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/fjordwhisky/the-fjord-whisky-glass?ref=section_design-tech_popular (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/fjordwhisky/the-fjord-whisky-glass?ref=section_design-tech_popular)

May be of interest to some of our drunks fanatics connoisseurs ;D
Post by: glenm64 on August 20, 2018, 05:36:00 PM
The latest addition. Very nice.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180820/72bbc7c9534ad4ddf67535892c8cc6dd.jpg)

Post by: KingBilly on October 06, 2018, 08:18:07 AM
When money is not a consideration

Post by: Fizzie on October 06, 2018, 02:25:56 PM
Be a bugger waking up after a big party to find that one lying empty on the floor! >:D
Post by: Fizzie on March 04, 2019, 08:26:39 AM
If you need to find a birthday / Chrissie present for the family to give you, here you go  ;D
https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scotch-whisky-adventuring-with-secret-spirits?utm_content=campaigns_one_column12_hero_image&utm_source=sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=bck-03032019sunday#/ (https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scotch-whisky-adventuring-with-secret-spirits?utm_content=campaigns_one_column12_hero_image&utm_source=sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=bck-03032019sunday#/)

Post by: Spada on March 04, 2019, 11:50:20 AM
If you need to find a birthday / Chrissie present for the family to give you, here you go  ;D
https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scotch-whisky-adventuring-with-secret-spirits?utm_content=campaigns_one_column12_hero_image&utm_source=sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=bck-03032019sunday#/ (https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scotch-whisky-adventuring-with-secret-spirits?utm_content=campaigns_one_column12_hero_image&utm_source=sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=bck-03032019sunday#/)

Sounds yummy.........but works out at $10 per shot (25ml), or the equivalent of $280 for a 700ml bottle  :'(
Post by: rockrat on March 04, 2019, 12:18:58 PM
Might have to check out the duty free when I fly back from NZ to Aus on Friday.  Not a huge whiskey drinker, but hey I can learn. :cheers:
Post by: Bird on March 04, 2019, 12:27:35 PM
Quote from: rockrat
Might have to check out the duty free when I fly back from NZ to Aus on Friday.  Not a huge whiskey drinker, but hey I can learn. :cheers:

I dont think Duty free is really worth the effort anymore is it?
Post by: rockrat on March 04, 2019, 12:34:07 PM
I dont think Duty free is really worth the effort anymore is it?
I think there is still a bit to be saved on spirits as they have a high duty rate - guess I’ll find out Friday.

But a lot of stuff is crazily expensive - things like M&Ms are probably twice what it costs at coles.
Post by: Bird on November 16, 2019, 06:36:24 PM
(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/R-MAAOSw4fhdxZO8/s-l1600.jpg)

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/174090028910 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/174090028910)
Post by: tagman on November 17, 2019, 08:59:55 AM
I won a district golf competition last week. Prize was a $250 Coles/Myer gift card. So off to Liquorland for two bottles of single malt. (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191116/77cc1dc1585be40a9af07b3511ecf84e.jpg)

Post by: tagman on June 16, 2020, 04:22:16 PM
Joined up to “the whisky club” mail order.
First delivery
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200616/4bb63ad56f30b7ed7dfad16e5a949aa9.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on June 20, 2020, 12:57:30 PM
http://www.mygc.com.au/man-racks-up-53000-bill-at-gold-coast-dan-murphys-store/ (http://www.mygc.com.au/man-racks-up-53000-bill-at-gold-coast-dan-murphys-store/)

I can't match what they say he bought to how much they say he spent, but he obviously knows what he wants!

& before you ask, no, it wasn't me! ;D

Post by: xcvator on June 20, 2020, 03:29:04 PM
http://www.mygc.com.au/man-racks-up-53000-bill-at-gold-coast-dan-murphys-store/ (http://www.mygc.com.au/man-racks-up-53000-bill-at-gold-coast-dan-murphys-store/)

I can't match what they say he bought to how much they say he spent, but he obviously knows what he wants!

& before you ask, no, it wasn't me! ;D

Fluck me, I always thought Scotch came from Scotland
Post by: discoteddy on August 28, 2021, 10:14:41 AM
Anyone tried one of these??

Purchased one at Dans after watching a little doco about Scottish railways (makes me sound older than I am👍🏻) really small distillery. Cracking dram straight, no water or ice, just enjoy.

Discoteddy
Post by: bmwfreak on August 28, 2021, 10:18:47 AM
You’ll spill some if you store it like that ;D
Post by: discoteddy on August 28, 2021, 10:30:55 AM
Good call, you’d think I’d had one or two already!
Post by: Foo on August 28, 2021, 10:35:15 AM
You’ll spill some if you store it like that ;D

But it requires no effort on his behalf when drinking it from the bottle = breath in, amber nectar flows into the mouth, breath out, gives time to savor and swallow it and repeat exercise.  ;D :cheers:

Post by: discoteddy on August 28, 2021, 12:11:31 PM
I resemble that last comment 👍🏻🥃
Post by: Banjo16 on August 28, 2021, 02:21:17 PM
Birthday & Father's Day pressies, waiting for tomorrow.
Which one first?
Post by: Fizzie on August 28, 2021, 02:31:36 PM
Happy Birthday!  ;D

But you don't get Father's Day for another week yet >:D
Post by: discoteddy on August 28, 2021, 03:08:29 PM
Birthday & Father's Day pressies, waiting for tomorrow.
Which one first?

Aberlour first, then unleash the peat🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🥃
Post by: Banjo16 on August 29, 2021, 02:34:18 PM
I'm liking this birthday, now they have multiplied.
Post by: discoteddy on August 29, 2021, 03:49:22 PM
Sweet lord, there’s money to be made there👍🏻
Post by: discoteddy on August 29, 2021, 04:40:19 PM
Just because it’s cold in Canberra🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🥃
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 30, 2021, 10:49:37 AM
Just because it’s cold in Canberra🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🥃

Must be cold, you tipped the bottle sideways and the whisky is still in the bottom of the bottle... frozen solid LOL
Post by: discoteddy on August 30, 2021, 05:45:56 PM
Ooops👍🏻
Post by: Banjo16 on September 04, 2022, 09:48:00 AM
Gotta love it when your birthday & Father's Day are in the same week.
Post by: Spada on September 04, 2022, 12:52:59 PM
Thats a nice looking trifecta  :cheers:
Post by: Banjo16 on September 04, 2022, 05:00:10 PM
Thats a nice looking trifecta  :cheers:
Post by: Banjo16 on September 04, 2022, 05:02:10 PM
The two on the left are new to me,very nice I must admit.
Post by: GBC on September 05, 2022, 06:33:00 AM
Had a couple of bottles of monkey shoulder appear at my front door (builder’s currency) a while back. Not what I’d usually buy but a nice blend.