Author Topic: Towing a Goldstream to the Rotary Shelter Shed Campground, Mt Moffatt  (Read 2698 times)

We are staying at Dargonelly campground at Mt Moffatt for a few nights and was wondering whether to book a night or two further up the range at the Rotary Shed site. Once at Dargonelly I could go for a scenic drive to check the track out but was trying to get things relatively planned/booked before leaving home as there are only 4 camp sites at Rotary.
Rig is a Goldie Wing 1 and Disco 3.

Re: Towing a Goldstream to the Rotary Shelter Shed Campground, Mt Moffatt
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2018, 07:12:44 PM »
All good now. Have had some advice from a mate who was there recently.

Thread can be deleted.

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2018, 08:20:14 PM »
All good now. Have had some advice from a mate who was there recently.

Thread can be deleted.
or you could tell us if it's a good idea or not for future reference ;)

Offline aussie9

« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2018, 08:59:39 PM »
We towed our Modcon Granduar up to the Rotary area..12 months ago.....no worries with any sort of camper really. It's a fair gravel Rd with a few contours graded across it
 The Rotary area has maybe enough room for 6 campers but it's on the edge of the escarpment and the wind howled the time we were there. Nice spot though. 
The track to the policeman's grave is easy but scenic..  do the walks to the art sites too.
Take firewood as it's scarce as. And it's the whole NP thing too
It's a nice spot although I'll bet is dry at present..
I'd go again..  we spent a week in the park and never saw another person

Sent from my Moto G (5) using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 09, 2018, 09:11:12 PM by aussie9 »
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1

Offline hainess

« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2018, 09:46:44 PM »
The wind does whistlle thru there. Probably 5 degrees colder than Dargonelly.
It's a pretty steep track with some largish contours graded across it.
Take it steady and you should be ok.
We spent a couple of nights at Dargonelly in June. A washing basin with an inch of water was frozen solid one morning.
The road from Womblebank gets progressively worse the closer you get to the park.
There is one climb up over a ridge that is mostly bulldust.
A bloke camped at Dargonelly snapped the rear axle in his hightop Troppy the day before on the climb.
This is before the park entrance.
Take it steady
the views are worth it.
Rod
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1

« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2018, 09:48:07 PM »
I'd go again..  we spent a week in the park and never saw another person

we tried going there years ago, the rear diff decided it needed new bearings after getting to the top of Toowoomba Range, managed to drive the vehicle back to Brisbane and had the diff rebuilt that arvo / the next morning, then got to Roma that afternoon. We wouldn't have gotten into the main section of tbe park that day anyhow due to flooding, spent several days after that doing walks in the main section then started driving to Mt Moffatt section.  As we fuelled up at Injune a massive thunderstorm hit the area, made the road into Mt Moffatt undriveable (I tried but slid off the road a short distance in).  We ended up cutting our trip short and going home, that was nearly 20 years ago and never made it back there yet.

« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2018, 08:25:04 AM »
or you could tell us if it's a good idea or not for future reference ;)

Yea, RP, while sitting around the fire last night, that exact plan was hatched  :laugh:

« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2018, 08:16:56 PM »
Yea, RP, while sitting around the fire last night, that exact plan was hatched  :laugh:
look forward to a future trip report to read then  ;D
« Last Edit: September 10, 2018, 08:54:26 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2018, 08:19:21 PM »
look forward to a future trip repiirt to read then  ;D

Gotta have pictures too.  As they say  :worthles:

« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2018, 08:52:04 AM »
Gotta have pictures too.  As they say  :worthles:

Yes, yes, I know!  :cheers: