Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730465 times)

Offline Champin

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5725 on: July 05, 2020, 11:34:27 AM »
I was thinking along the same line Edz. Sort of a slide in/clip in setup so you only have to remove it in off road situations. That bracket certainly looks strong, but I would be concerned that if it would hit something, could that potentially damage the chassis.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #5726 on: July 05, 2020, 11:55:32 AM »
Drawers finished, just need the wife to decide what she wants to do with the inside (foam, soft rubber, etc.). Pretty happy with the result. I have left the front wings open at this stage, and will decide if they need covering after our trip around QLD, starting next week.
All up weight of the drawers is close to 110kg, while the drawers and the battery box are closer to 140kg including a 230ah lithium battery.

Base is in and bolted down.

Top screwed down and wing planks in position.

Finalised with carpet etc.

Drawer dividers in (temp, as they will need to be re-made out of MDF. Ply is just too splintery )

The battery box has a 2000w inverter, a Redarc BCDC12400 battery charger, a 4G mobile booster, and a 5 stage 240v 20amp charger, all bolted on top. My recovery gear also fits comfortably in with the battery.

Just need to fill the suckers up now

Are the drawers full length? They look pretty good.
When I did mine, I went for Off Road System, but only 2/3 length. Reason being, if your parked up close to something and want to get something out of the very back of the drawer, you may not have the room to slide it all the way out. Also, the stress on the hinges when fully extended could be pretty high, if you have too much weight in them. So I have two hatches in front of the drawers, but that can be a problem if you have a lot of stuff in the back of the troopy too. Either was has pros and cons though eh.

Good job mate.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2020, 12:09:48 PM by Troopy_03 »
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #5727 on: July 05, 2020, 12:14:44 PM »
Found some pics of mine. They only extend as far as the big barn door. The handles were changed for "T" latch handles
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #5728 on: July 05, 2020, 02:32:16 PM »
Well done guys,
Those draws look great.

Well today I installed a new stero head in the work ute.
It had a Pioneer unit which didn't have Blu Tooth, do I upgraded. Just need to cut wires so the new units plug was good to go.
It has 2x Blutooth channels, usb, Spotify connection, and a wireles.
This means I can answer/make phone call through voice activation.
Happy Days.

« Last Edit: July 05, 2020, 04:00:02 PM by Hairs »

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #5729 on: July 05, 2020, 03:31:31 PM »
Are the drawers full length? They look pretty good. - They are 1500 long, as there is a battery box in front of them. Thanks, I am pleased with them. 8)
When I did mine, I went for Off Road System, but only 2/3 length. Reason being, if your parked up close to something and want to get something out of the very back of the drawer, you may not have the room to slide it all the way out. Also, the stress on the hinges when fully extended could be pretty high, if you have too much weight in them. - These are running on 25x25x1.6 gal tube plus with 12 skateboard bearing either side of each drawer.

Not me standing in them, but this bloke (the designer) is a lot heavier than anything I will fill them up with :D

Good job mate. - Thankyou. Your set up looks the goods, and definitely lighter than mine, I would guess. Just have to make sure not to completely fill the cavernous back of your troopy

We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #5730 on: July 05, 2020, 04:34:05 PM »
@bmwfreak yep they look solid enough LOL

« Reply #5731 on: July 06, 2020, 06:35:16 AM »

Spadz instead of fitting a crash bar, Maybe look at making the steps  a slide in  / pin setup / removable and give yourself the extra clearance  .. As you say theyve been smashed up a couple of times already ..Just thinking the chassis rail outrigger could take a hiding aswell with a crash bar fitted .
EDIT ; Found Morris 1932's slide in step .

Thats a pretty cool idea, thanks Edz  :cup: Might have to sit in front of it with some beer and thinking music and see what I can come up with  ;D
« Last Edit: July 06, 2020, 07:16:10 AM by Spada »

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #5732 on: July 06, 2020, 07:13:46 AM »
Thats a pretty cool idea  :cup: Might have to sit in front of it with some beer and thinking music and see what I can come up with  ;D

All the best solutions start with a beer in hand
Maybe the politicians could take note
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #5733 on: July 06, 2020, 02:07:43 PM »
I gave the ol girls car some loving today.

I had to roll the ride-on out, then move the BF Falcon ute, so i could get the Cadillac out. (True thing)

Then it was in with the Stato..... nice new set of front struts.
Then chuck its bum up and a set of shocks for the rear.

Then, it was the Statesman back in it's garage space.
Then, put the Cadillac away, put the ute back up behind it and put the mower in..... i'm rooted.  :'(

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #5734 on: July 08, 2020, 05:40:10 PM »
I added three tie down rails to the drawer top, for the Waeco fridge/freezer and the Yamaha generator.
We looked at getting a drop down fridge slide, but we are both shortar5es, and the troopy has had a 2” lift. Standard drop slides are only good for around 300mm height changes. So, with the drawers, and the lift, we would need about 600mm to be able to access the inside of our fridge.

Found the rails at Bunnies

We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

Offline Raym

« Reply #5735 on: July 08, 2020, 07:01:56 PM »
Wasn't sure where this should be but check out item 13 for a flash idea for a canopy.

All pallet wood.

https://www.toowoombahospitalfoundation.org.au/auction

« Reply #5736 on: July 08, 2020, 11:25:42 PM »
Wouldnt have looked out of place in the 60's / 70's Ray .. come to think of it Ive seem a fair share of painted ply and Galvanised sheet ones over the years ..  ;D ..

« Reply #5737 on: July 09, 2020, 06:10:26 AM »
Item #8 looks pretty flash Ryam  ;)

Well done  :cup:

« Reply #5738 on: July 09, 2020, 02:25:54 PM »
The $28  Garage door canopy lock as opposed to the Fleabay  $180 wait 3 months to arrive, might work Chinese  jobbie ..  Bit of Black paint and you wouldnt notice any difference . ;D ;D
« Last Edit: July 09, 2020, 08:45:15 PM by edz »
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

Offline Champin

« Reply #5739 on: July 09, 2020, 03:11:53 PM »
Good worh mr thrifty Looks like it will do the job with a bit of cash left in your pocket to go them 2 kegs per week. Yeah, I know you said cans, but me thinks you protest too much.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #5740 on: July 10, 2020, 12:23:41 PM »
Pulled the dash out of my 200 and pit a screw into that annoying beeper that goes off when you take off your seat belt or open the door   :D
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

Offline Ozsnowman

• "Missus wants an Avan"
  • Travelling with Shirley the van!
« Reply #5741 on: July 10, 2020, 03:59:59 PM »
I gave the ol girls car some loving today.

I had to roll the ride-on out, then move the BF Falcon ute, so i could get the Cadillac out. (True thing)

Then it was in with the Stato..... nice new set of front struts.
Then chuck its bum up and a set of shocks for the rear.

Then, it was the Statesman back in it's garage space.
Then, put the Cadillac away, put the ute back up behind it and put the mower in..... i'm rooted.  :'(

We've swapped from the camper to a van yay! :)

Online Pottsy

« Reply #5742 on: July 11, 2020, 03:58:02 PM »
Finished this morning, off to new homes. Chevrolet Utes

« Reply #5743 on: July 12, 2020, 03:42:55 AM »
fukk pottsy, do you have an assembly line setup at home.

Offline Raym

« Reply #5744 on: July 12, 2020, 08:05:54 AM »

Either that or a dodgy sweat shop down the back  ;D

Nice work again Pottsy

« Reply #5745 on: July 12, 2020, 09:12:09 AM »

Either that or a dodgy sweat shop down the back  ;D

Nice work again Pottsy

Yeah, that would be it.... Chinese workers, toiling a 60 hour week for a bowl of rice, a roll of Shits tickets and a tin of baby formula.

KUDOS Pottsy.  :cup:

« Reply #5746 on: July 12, 2020, 09:22:10 AM »
Yeah, that would be it.... Chinese workers, toiling a 60 hour week for a bowl of rice, a roll of Shits tickets and a tin of baby formula.

KUDOS Pottsy.  :cup:

Jeez, Jeeps, you look after your slaves well! :o >:D

Only 60 hours a week & they get rice, date roll and baby food!!! :o :o :o

« Reply #5747 on: July 12, 2020, 09:28:47 AM »
I'm a good person..... Just ask me.

Online Pottsy

« Reply #5748 on: July 12, 2020, 10:09:27 AM »
My issue is, time means nothing, I get on a roll and away I go, next day I’m just as likely to say f...k it and do nothing. Doesn’t take much longer to knock out multiples of something than a single unit and I was lucky had three orders come in over two days but wouldn’t you know it got an order for another one last night!
I have avoided using Chinese workers as there is some anti Chinese sentiment at the moment!

« Reply #5749 on: July 13, 2020, 10:14:10 AM »
I started repairing and painting an old tractor for Dad yesterday. Nothing too fancy just a coat of enamel on an old MF30.