Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1757482 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #6875 on: July 27, 2023, 06:50:55 AM »
GC Council will allow you to build a granny flat in the back yard, but, it has to be built of the same materials as the main house so that it looks seamless from the street ... ::)

Despite the fact that from the street you can hardly see into our front yard, let alone the back! & the other issue is that the bricks that the house is made from went out of production 20+ years ago :'(

« Reply #6876 on: August 03, 2023, 12:38:59 PM »
Started my switch panel install & power setup.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2023, 12:40:58 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #6877 on: August 03, 2023, 02:26:22 PM »
:police: :police: :police: :police: :police: :police:
ELECTRICAL THREAD ONLY
 :police: :police: :police: :police: :police: :police:

« Reply #6878 on: August 03, 2023, 02:30:31 PM »
Arh, But I didn't ask a question or mention technical crap

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

« Reply #6879 on: August 03, 2023, 02:32:53 PM »
It's the showing off

Sent from my SM-X806B using Tapatalk

« Reply #6880 on: August 03, 2023, 02:34:42 PM »
Ahahahaha ;)

« Reply #6881 on: August 04, 2023, 01:03:44 PM »
Ahhhh a smoke dispenser 😂😂

« Reply #6882 on: August 04, 2023, 05:17:59 PM »
Ahhhh a smoke dispenser
You bring the disco ball, And it's on.

« Reply #6883 on: September 09, 2023, 04:06:20 PM »
Changed my front flexible brake Hoses this morning.
Found a split in one Monday when I had the plates welded to the chassis where steering cracks happen on an 80.
Easy enough, went to do the centre hose, dohlt :O
Forgot to order lines for a 3" lift :(
That'll be next weekend's job.

« Reply #6884 on: October 14, 2023, 02:41:52 PM »
We recently got told about CRC Evaporust, which is supposed to be fantastic for cleaning off rust, so Son 2 got some & we tried it on some old tools, that had a certain amount of rust on them.

Impressed! :cup:

Here are before & after shots, & it even cleaned out the bottom of the tub that I used to de-rust things using vinegar a while back!

That was after ~48 hours, Thursday morning > Saturday morning, but they were already pretty good on Thursday arvo & Friday morning!

Definitely not what you would call cheap: https://www.supercheapauto.com.au/brands/evapo-rust, but they say you can just pour it back in the bottle & keep using it, so probably worth it in the end.

No idea what it does, but there was no real residue left behind, as you get using vinegar.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2023, 02:44:23 PM by Fizzie »

« Reply #6885 on: October 14, 2023, 06:32:03 PM »
We recently got told about CRC Evaporust, which is supposed to be fantastic for cleaning off rust, so Son 2 got some & we tried it on some old tools, that had a certain amount of rust on them.

Impressed! :cup:

Here are before & after shots, & it even cleaned out the bottom of the tub that I used to de-rust things using vinegar a while back!

That was after ~48 hours, Thursday morning > Saturday morning, but they were already pretty good on Thursday arvo & Friday morning!

Definitely not what you would call cheap: https://www.supercheapauto.com.au/brands/evapo-rust, but they say you can just pour it back in the bottle & keep using it, so probably worth it in the end.

No idea what it does, but there was no real residue left behind, as you get using vinegar.

I posted a bit about rust removal using electrolysis a while back, but can't find it.. cost was bugger all, but you needed a power supply to provide volts and amps...
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #6886 on: October 15, 2023, 10:34:24 AM »
Started marking the position for my drawers in the tray of my Triton and then lost interest before I started drilling holes in the tray. :-\ Once the first hole for the rivnut is done, I'll be able to do the rest but making that first hole is hard for my brain to get around, seeing as the Ute is not 1yr old yet. :P

The following users thanked this post: Bird

« Reply #6887 on: October 15, 2023, 11:29:03 AM »
Started marking the position for my drawers in the tray of my Triton and then lost interest before I started drilling holes in the tray. :-\ Once the first hole for the rivnut is done, I'll be able to do the rest but making that first hole is hard for my brain to get around, seeing as the Ute is not 1yr old yet. :P

Geeze Foo,grow a couple, it's only a car   :cheers: if the holes in  the wrong place just bog it up and try again  ;D How do you think I went when I cut a 600mm square hole in the side of our caravan ?

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #6888 on: October 15, 2023, 02:52:15 PM »

Drilling holes in a tray doesn’t phase me
Try taking a hole saw to the guard on ya new 200 😂😂
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #6889 on: October 15, 2023, 06:40:37 PM »
Geeze Foo,grow a couple, it's only a car   :cheers: if the holes in  the wrong place just bog it up and try again  ;D How do you think I went when I cut a 600mm square hole in the side of our caravan ?

You had two buckets of bog beside you?  ;D :angel:

« Reply #6890 on: October 15, 2023, 06:42:50 PM »
Drilling holes in a tray doesn’t phase me
Try taking a hole saw to the guard on ya new 200 😂😂

:laugh: It didn't bother me with my previous one but this one it has for some reason.  :-\

The following users thanked this post: NZMarkb

« Reply #6891 on: October 15, 2023, 09:35:04 PM »
You had two buckets of bog beside you?  ;D :angel:

Nah,1bucket of bog, 10 rolls electrical wire of different sizes and huge packet of valium  :cheers: :cup:

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #6892 on: October 17, 2023, 11:34:02 AM »
Started marking the position for my drawers in the tray of my Triton and then lost interest before I started drilling holes in the tray. :-\ Once the first hole for the rivnut is done, I'll be able to do the rest but making that first hole is hard for my brain to get around, seeing as the Ute is not 1yr old yet.

When I did my drawers, I used all factory tie down points, and lined up holes and plates to bolt everything down without drilling holes.

They've survived for 7 years so far, and I've done a couple of sets for mates using the same concept

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #6893 on: November 03, 2023, 08:15:56 PM »
Started making a mud kitchen for the 2yo granddaughter using $30K of woodworking machinery. Will be the most expensive mud kitchen ever made lol.
It is utilising my retirement plan stuff though. Other wise it will sit there getting rusty.
She is loving the bedframe I made her last month.

« Reply #6894 on: December 08, 2023, 02:01:14 PM »
Just been up to the garden shed to put some stuff away & realised I'd left a Ryobi battery sitting on the bench (not plugged in to any tools) for the last couple of ~32° days.

Picked it up & it's quite warm to the touch.

Is that right / normal ??? :-\

No direct sunshine, just sitting in an enclosed 6x3m Colourbond shed, which would have to be high 30s.

« Reply #6895 on: December 11, 2023, 07:46:46 AM »
Not in the shed, but beside it. The new van wont fit in the shed and there wasn't enough room beside it... so I fixed that  ;D

It's been a project over the last few months, but I moved a retaining wall over 1200mm to create a 9 x 4.5 space & built a carport to house the new caravan when it arrives in the new year.

I already had the gal posts lying around, used seconds pavers & bought the purlins & batons from a 2nd chance supplier, had to by new tin though. In hindsight, it would have been cheaper & easier to run the tin all the way down the side instead of the plastic trellis, but all up it cost around $6k which I'd recon was a bit of a saving from buying a kit carport  8) I did stuff up on the measurements for the flashing & I'd like to fix that at some point so it doesn't look so bad, but it'll do for now.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2023, 08:12:54 AM by Spada »

« Reply #6896 on: December 11, 2023, 10:53:56 AM »
Quote from: Spada
so I fixed that  ;D
**** Im jealous as hell :'(

« Reply #6897 on: December 11, 2023, 01:13:27 PM »
Well done mate, love your work, your's looks a bit straighter than mine. LOL,   :cup:
We've just gone through the same problem, ..... bought a van and there's no way it was fitting it the existing shed ( it's already full ).
So we had to build another one up the back yard, we were very lucky, the shelter was free from a client ( had to lower it 1.2m and shorten it by 1.5m ) ended up being 8m x 3.6m and the blue tin on the sides came from another client, also for free, ......... all up it was about $4500 for the slab and about $500 on screws / bolts etc.
But It's a hell of a job on your own  >:(
« Last Edit: December 11, 2023, 03:17:03 PM by jk »

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, Spada

« Reply #6898 on: December 11, 2023, 01:54:48 PM »
We're looking at doing something similar, but probably only shadecloth / waterproof ???

If we could only get somebody to return calls / messages asking for a quote! :'( >:(

« Reply #6899 on: December 11, 2023, 03:14:41 PM »
We've run shade colth around the sides, it's double thickness and 850mm up from the slab. It was only about $80 on Marketplace for 30m ! Helps keep the grass and feaves out  :cup:
« Last Edit: December 11, 2023, 03:18:52 PM by jk »

The following users thanked this post: Fizzie