Author Topic: Arctic Blast Coming  (Read 11324 times)

Re: Arctic Blast Coming
« Reply #25 on: June 24, 2016, 04:19:55 PM »
ohhh did someone say hail?? I need a second 2hungy  >:D

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #26 on: June 24, 2016, 04:32:45 PM »
good thing i just fixed the heater core in the cruiser after 7 years without  :angel:
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

« Reply #27 on: June 24, 2016, 05:25:11 PM »
What is that white stuff on the chain wire....????  I'v never seen that before up here in QLD..... ;D ;D ;D ;D

Snow has been recorded at Bloomsbury mate. I can't tell you when exactly but it was a long time ago. Some old blokes up your way may remember as, in the early 80's, someone from Prossie told me.
Have a look at this & scroll down to Snowfalls. Mackay gets a mention!
http://www.qgso.qld.gov.au/products/reports/qld-past-present/qld-past-present-1896-1996-ch02-sec-02.pdf
« Last Edit: June 24, 2016, 05:32:25 PM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #28 on: June 24, 2016, 07:59:09 PM »
Our trip to Currawinya/Kilcowera station has been canned on account of the floods not getting to max height in Hungerford until Monday, so we've booked giraween for Sunday Monday and heading down through Guyra next week. We will see. I don't mind a bit cold but the wind is going to be a bastard. I reckon we will come home with our tails between our legs after two nights at giraween.

« Reply #29 on: June 24, 2016, 08:05:12 PM »
It's days like this that I will get homesick. After 30 years living in the Blue Mts and now residing here in  SE Queensland, hearing and seeing reports of the snow falling down there does make me want to head down there. But on the positive I found a pair of socks to put on tonight to keep me warm here on the lounge watching the footy, they say winter should be over by next week here in Brissy.

« Reply #30 on: June 24, 2016, 08:31:54 PM »
Posting from inside my swag at Crows Nest NP after a good feed at the pub... Not the only ones here either.

Does help being a Pom who lives in Armidale so anywhere is warmer...

« Reply #31 on: June 24, 2016, 08:40:56 PM »
Gusty 45km+ winds atm ... 

Our old tin & timber on the hill ....  rattling away.....   Built 1920's - probably built by totally amateur bushie types.....   

Original roof too; gulp!!

6 degrees predicted for Brisvagas Sunday evening. ....

« Last Edit: June 24, 2016, 08:42:37 PM by BaseCamp »
You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #32 on: June 24, 2016, 09:06:12 PM »
But on the positive I found a pair of socks to put on tonight to keep me warm here on the lounge watching the footy,
geez I'm just wearing shorts and a t shirt, don't reckon it's that cold at all tonight myself. In saying that, I reckon our fire place might get a run on Sunday night though

Offline Moggy

« Reply #33 on: June 24, 2016, 09:18:10 PM »
Snow has been recorded at Bloomsbury mate. I can't tell you when exactly but it was a long time ago. Some old blokes up your way may remember as, in the early 80's, someone from Prossie told me.
Have a look at this & scroll down to Snowfalls. Mackay gets a mention!
http://www.qgso.qld.gov.au/products/reports/qld-past-present/qld-past-present-1896-1996-ch02-sec-02.pdf

Was only ash from a cane burn. Snow above the Capricorn line is a myth. The only reliable report is eungella but apparently it melted before making landfall

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #34 on: June 24, 2016, 09:20:18 PM »
geez I'm just wearing shorts and a t shirt, don't reckon it's that cold at all tonight myself. In saying that, I reckon our fire place might get a run on Sunday night though

Yes I know socks and shorts not a god look,
We have a jet master open fire in the new place and daughter asked can we get it going this weekend.
Might cut some wood tomorrow

Offline Hotdognz

« Reply #35 on: June 24, 2016, 10:01:40 PM »
Heading to Sundown NP for the night on Sat, should be fun,b it we have camped cold in NZ many times, feel sorry for the true QLDs wth me though ????

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #36 on: June 24, 2016, 10:02:22 PM »
It's called Winter, it's finally arriving.

its going to be a sunday this year.
https://t.me/pump_upp

Offline westvic

« Reply #37 on: June 25, 2016, 09:01:36 AM »
Widespread snow in Ballarat yesterday.....son still went to school in shorts!

http://www.thecourier.com.au/story/3987336/snow-hits-ballarat-photos-videos/?cs=61
Getting there if half the fun

The other half is a cold beer when you do.

« Reply #38 on: June 25, 2016, 12:11:15 PM »
I was planning to do a ride over the Bells Line, Jenolan Caves and Shooters Hill roads to meet up with some old riding mates at the Abercrombie river (Bummaroo)crossing on the Goulburn rd.  Alas, the roads are all closed due to snow n ice.  >:(
« Last Edit: June 26, 2016, 06:42:34 PM by Snow »

« Reply #39 on: June 25, 2016, 01:47:11 PM »
Bit warmer here in Tin Can Bay than it was going to be at home... -7 forecast tonight for Armidale...

« Reply #40 on: June 26, 2016, 02:37:19 PM »
Went camping here in SEQ as planned, didn't think the weather was anything to write home about....just your standard Winter temperature really

« Reply #41 on: June 26, 2016, 04:56:19 PM »
Went camping here in SEQ as planned, didn't think the weather was anything to write home about....just your standard Winter temperature really

Yep, it wasnt that bad. Snowing at my brothers house in Mt Victoria though. Sent me a vid when i got home.

Offline Coiled

« Reply #42 on: June 26, 2016, 05:27:13 PM »
Yep not bad at all!

5deg Friday night and 4deg Saturday night. Had a jumper but stayed in shorts the whole weekend albeit beside as blazing fire at night. Didn't even run the heater in the camper on Friday night.
2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

« Reply #43 on: June 26, 2016, 05:57:32 PM »
Yep, it wasnt that bad. Snowing at my brothers house in Mt Victoria though. Sent me a vid when i got home.
snowed abit closer to home also just over the border at Guyra and Black Mountain, but that's not unusual for Winter.

« Reply #44 on: June 26, 2016, 07:14:21 PM »
We had 2 here this morn & my sister had -2 at Moore.

Offline woftam

• Conanti dabitur
« Reply #45 on: June 27, 2016, 09:48:14 AM »
-7 forecast tonight for Armidale...
Didn't get there. Was up visiting the youngest. Had the CT with me but youngest "forced" me to sleep inside as they saw that forecast as well and didn't want dear old dad to ice up overnight.
“Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”
-Dr. Seuss