General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2009 Crowdy Head Trip => Topic started by: BigJules on June 30, 2009, 06:42:15 AM

Title: Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009
Post by: BigJules on June 30, 2009, 06:42:15 AM
I'm organising a forum gathering to the beautiful NSW coast, ad you're all welcome to come along.

Deau, Jervis Bay, Abercrombie, Point Plomer, Crowdy Head:
;D  Bigjules   (1 adult, 1 6yo girl)
 ;D  Gronk   (2 adults)
 ;D  Gunna Do   (2 adults, 2 kids 11 & 14)
 ;D  Laith   (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12)
 ;D  Bullfrog   (2 adults, 3 kids 8, 10 & 13)
;D  HEM19X   (2 adults)
:-\  TRUPM   (1 adult, -wife? ? )
:-\  Snow   (2 adults)

Info on Crowdy Head  (http://www.totaltravel.com.au/travel/nsw/northcoastnsw/taree/travel-guides/Destinations/crowdy-head)

Put your hand up and meet some other keen camper trailer users. Families, couples, even Kranky Al  8), you're all welcome.
Title: Re: Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009
Post by: Gunna Do on June 30, 2009, 07:39:29 AM
Looking forward to both trips now.  Hopefully there will be no chance of us GUNNA DO'S getting lost, guided by a new GPS of some sort and size. ???

Now if I have this correct, there is no camping at Crowdy Head (caravan parks at Harrington being the closest), however there is a choice in Crowdy Bay National Park (http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au/NationalParks/parkCamping.aspx?id=N0009), including caravan park type camping (Diamond Head) and wilderness camping at Kylies and Indian Head.

Have I got this right?

Have camped at Diamond Head years ago, which was nice, and have heard good things about Kylies as well as Indian Head.  Can someone in the know give us a bit more info on the last two including proximity to beach etc..

Post by: BigJules on June 30, 2009, 08:12:12 AM
Laith is a local and has offered to provide more info and possibly some photos.
Post by: gronk on June 30, 2009, 09:24:34 AM
Have been to both, and while more vans seem to go to Diamond, it isn't really a van park as such, just a grassed campground, which I don't think is as nice as Kylies, but is closer to the beach.....as in 50m away compared to 2 or 300m for Kylies..
On any given weekend ( except for holidays/long weekends ) Kylies is a lot quieter than Diamond ( except for the Kangas,monitors and occasional Koala )
Bring your own firewood or buy it at Diamond ( was $5 a bag last time I was there...very cheap )
Post by: Laith on June 30, 2009, 11:06:28 AM
There are 3 spots to camp at Crowdy Head NP.
Diamond Head, Indian Head & Kylie's.

Diamond head is the more popular (read busy) and is close to the beach and has the rangers hut where you pay fees and buy firewood ect.

Indian is the next one and is a nice grassy clearing with 2 separate lots of pit toilets. (Not sure about shower). Its a fair bush walk from the beach.

Kylie's is next and our favorite. It has 2 lots of pit toilets (one at either end) and the main lot have two cold water showers as well.
As Gronk said its about 200m walk/drive to the beach. 4wd beach access is also available from Kylie's. (although you are supposed to have a council permit).
There are bins for rubbish.
Fees: $5.00 per adult per night, $3.00 per child per night. Minimum site fee of $10. Annual pass or daily vehicle entry fee of $7 also required.
I have a annual pass that cost $21.00 for my car so I don't pay the $7.00 per night fee.

I went for a drive this morning while I was out working at took a few pics of Kylie's. (only with my Phone so excuse the quality).

Post by: Gunna Do on June 30, 2009, 02:04:14 PM
Looks like a tuff job you have there Laith, thanks for the pics.
Post by: Laith on June 30, 2009, 04:29:03 PM
lol.. ;D

One of the benefits of being your own boss. (Please don't tell my missus that I said I'm the boss). :-[
Post by: bullfrog on June 30, 2009, 07:23:15 PM
G'day all,
At this stage, we would love to join in & meet some of the Myswag gang. Crowdy is not too far South of us (home being Grafton ). 99% sure of being there, will confirm a bit closer to time. Not sure yet if it will be Mr &  Mrs Bullfrog or us +Tadpoles. Would be great to put faces/ names together. :cheers: Bevan & Judy.
P.S Hey HEM19X, What ya doin' mate , better come along too ;D ;D
Post by: TRUPM on June 30, 2009, 07:25:41 PM
This looks like it would be a great spot to stay, especially for a myswag get together. Unfortunately, it appears the wife will at TAFE that Saturday at Macksville, so that will count us out. Our calendar is free the following weekend......Might even just have to make a day trip down and come and say Gday and check the place out as its not far from us.
Post by: BigJules on June 30, 2009, 07:45:24 PM
Your names are on the list now, so you'll have to turn up.
Post by: HEM19X on July 01, 2009, 08:18:36 PM
bigjules,

Count the Hem's in... sound's like a plan - would be great to meet the gang.

I'm sure more detail will emerge.

Mark & Kate
Post by: bullfrog on July 01, 2009, 10:45:41 PM
Howdy
 Of the group going to Crowdy Hd, who will have kids along for the trip? We have 3 girls(13,10,8 yrs), just wondering if any other kids will be there. :cheers: Bevan & Judy.
Post by: Laith on July 01, 2009, 10:48:42 PM
I have a 12y old daughter and a 10y old son.

I'm hoping they have some company as well.
Post by: Gunna Do on July 01, 2009, 11:06:36 PM
My son (14yrs) and daughter (12yrs) will be with us as usual.
Post by: BigJules on July 02, 2009, 06:15:35 AM
I've got a 6yo girl.

Wanting to go camping with others who have children is one of the things that brought us to myswag, as all our friends kids are infants or teens.

The kids all had a good time at the Lostock Dam gathering.
Post by: gronk on July 02, 2009, 09:24:04 AM
I used to have kids ( now they are adults ) and it's amazing how quick kids will meet and bond together.....all that prejudice and stuff comes later..
Post by: Laith on July 02, 2009, 09:42:03 AM
Except with brothers and sisters (well my 2 anyway). Mine bicker more than bond  :'(

With other kids though your on the money Gronk.
Post by: gronk on July 02, 2009, 10:28:51 AM
Except with brothers and sisters (well my 2 anyway). Mine bicker more than bond  :'(

With other kids though your on the money Gronk.

Ha ha....I think brothers and sisters are taught to hate each others guts....it used to fun when travelling in the car !!!!!   These days are a bit easier since the invention of that great travel device.....in car DVD players... ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on July 02, 2009, 11:12:07 AM
I am a maybe on this trip, if my wife can sort her roster out we will be there.  I will definately have one child 12 year old girl and perhaps one cranky, somewhat attitudnal 15 year old female adolescent may choose to grace us with her prescence.  
Post by: austastar on July 02, 2009, 11:22:44 AM
Ha ha....I think brothers and sisters are taught to hate each others guts....it used to fun when travelling in the car !!!!! 

I can still hear it, only 40km into a 200km trip; "Mum, he's looking out my window, tell him to stop it".

Grrrr!

But hey, the other day they shouted us out to lunch, so perhaps it is all worth it.

Post by: BigJules on July 02, 2009, 11:30:10 AM
Attendees so far:
;D  Bigjules (1 adult, 1 6yo girl)
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 11 & 14)
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12)
;D  Bullfrog (2 adults, 3 kids 8, 10 & 13)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
:-\  NewcastleKnight (2 adults, 2 kids 12 & 15)
;D  TRUPM (2 adults, 2 kids 3 & 1)
:-\  Snow (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
:-\  BlueBravo (2 adults)
:-\  Goldy
;D  Darren (2 adults, 2 kids 6 & 9)

Post by: TRUPM on July 02, 2009, 06:33:55 PM
Regards to kids, we have 2 - Rhys 3 and Madayln 1 + the wife. Put us down, but we will be down late on Saturday arvo, so everyone will just have to help us set up  :cheers: so we can crack a coldie and get to meet everyone and the kids can play. This looks like it is going to be a good turnout.  :cup:
Post by: HEM19X on July 02, 2009, 08:20:08 PM
Ahh, the joy of it...Hems, Gronks & Snows having a nice peaceful weekend with everybody else's "Billy Lids" running amok.... only kidding guys..the Tadpoles call me "Uncle Arthur".

Looking Forward to it.
Post by: Goldy on July 02, 2009, 08:52:16 PM
Not sure what we are doing next Saturday let alone in October, but that is a top spot for a get together.

The shack may need an outing by then, nice and handy for us too.
Post by: barnray on July 02, 2009, 08:59:35 PM
javascript:void(0);This is a first pls put us on the list Barnray and Better Half. Barnary
Post by: Blue Bravo on July 02, 2009, 09:09:25 PM
Mrs B and I will have to be maybes at this stage for this one. Have visited the place heaps (we have a cottage at Laurieton) and can confirm it is a beautiful place. Will post a yeh or nay closer to the date.
Post by: kranky al on July 02, 2009, 11:27:12 PM
are the mutts ok there?
Post by: gronk on July 03, 2009, 12:44:45 AM
Sorry Al...its a national park...
Post by: kranky al on July 03, 2009, 01:37:12 AM
you wins some and you loses some
Post by: bullfrog on July 04, 2009, 07:29:55 PM
G'day all,
 This looks like building into quite a get together, can't wait till Oct. Will be great to meet everyone. If "Uncle Arthur" is let lose, Christ knows what might happen ;D. He appaered at a Club camping trip some time ago, what a pi$$er that was ( Alchohol didn't impear judgement in any way :cheers:)Kids still have a chuckle about it .We don't know yet if we will get there Fri PM or Sat AM, depends on work. Best wishes top alll, Bullfrog & crew :cheers:
Post by: darren on July 04, 2009, 07:39:14 PM
Jules
 In a cruel twist, i will be away out west on the newns date and will only get home the weekend before this one. It might be a bit of a stretch after 4 weeks of sleeping rough to drag the fam out the very next weekend. Ill work on it but im doubtful. Its a shame.
Sorry
 Darren

Stop press

Just run it by the crew and they are keen. I'm going to leave all the gear in the car head up i hope..
Post by: BigJules on July 05, 2009, 08:44:30 AM
If everyone is able to turn up this is going to be a huge event with 24 adults and 14 kids on the list so far.

Spread the word.   :cup:

I've got some pommie friends who'll likely come along and tent it with us.
Post by: Gunna Do on July 05, 2009, 08:55:38 AM
Wow, might have to turn up early to get a site before all you other Myswaggers take over the joint.  Was someone worried earlier about their kids having someone to play with, with 14 kids on the list (so far), I think there will be company for just about every age in the tin lid department.  Bigjules you are setting the bar very high with this gathering.

Perhaps Laith may know of somewhere suitable to go for a drive on Saturday to test out the 4bs, or a beach run?  ???
Post by: Snow on July 05, 2009, 09:43:44 AM
I've got some pommie friends who'll likely come along and tent it with us.

If Pikey and Pommiedic come along your pommie friends will feel right at home.  ;D
Post by: darren on July 05, 2009, 10:04:37 AM
Jules
 that will be 1x 6year old girl, 1x 9 year old girl, a missus and myself.

And a new KK platinum....

Now i am kidding...

Maybe a new pillow in the swag will do.

Darren
Post by: darren on July 05, 2009, 05:43:30 PM
G'Day
I told the missus about this cunning plan. This trip wil be the next weekend after spending 4 weeks sleeping in swags and tents. Then at this do you will all be there with your fancy campers so it sould be easy to pick one out and then convince her how good it wil be.
 Perfect timing i think
Darren
Post by: BigJules on July 05, 2009, 05:53:19 PM
Careful what you wish for, she might just think those Kimberley's are exactly what she needs...

Post by: Gunna Do on July 05, 2009, 05:57:09 PM
Very sly Darren, but quite a clever ploy.  Is your other half a little reluctant to purchase a camper again, or is she easing to the idea.  Four weeks in swags and I recon you should be able to get approval for any camper you like. 

The local Camp-o-matic sprooker/saleman will be there as well.
Post by: BigJules on July 05, 2009, 06:05:24 PM
You'll be lucky if she's not insisting on a time share in Fiji   :laugh:
Post by: darren on July 05, 2009, 06:33:02 PM
I'd say if you want to sell you camper it will be gone by saturday
Darren
Post by: bullfrog on July 16, 2009, 07:46:01 PM
 Are any of the mob going to Crowdy fisherpeople ?? Does anyone know what the fishin' is like around the Crowdy area??. I'm thinking of smuggling in a rod or ten >:D, maybe a fish Fri or Sat night /morn. Any takers?? :cheers: Bevan
Post by: Blue Bravo on July 16, 2009, 09:25:24 PM
Good fishing from the beach. also river and and lake fishing around Laurieton
Post by: BigJules on July 17, 2009, 09:34:31 AM
I can't seem to get into fishing but my gals enjoy it so we'll chuck in some little rods.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on July 17, 2009, 11:54:13 AM
 Are any of the mob going to Crowdy fisherpeople ?? Does anyone know what the fishin' is like around the Crowdy area??. I'm thinking of smuggling in a rod or ten >:D, maybe a fish Fri or Sat night /morn. Any takers?? :cheers: Bevan

Not sure what it is like on shore, but offshore it is superb.  I went fishing off Crowdy Head in April this year and two of us caught our bag limit of flathead in 2 hours.
Post by: bullfrog on July 21, 2009, 06:16:53 PM
Howdy all,
 Sounds promising on the fishing front, will have to pack some fishing gear. The old woman is into scrap booking, so I can bugger off fishing & leave her with the girls to do "their" stuff ;D ;D >:D
.Had a bit of a fiddl;e with the C/T today, fitted some LED tail lights & had a think about rewiring the 12v system, many cans in the planning will be needed I feel :cheers: Bevan
Post by: darren on July 21, 2009, 08:06:35 PM
Scrapbooking... oh no not another one.... our missus's will get on famously
Darren
Post by: Gunna Do on July 21, 2009, 08:08:00 PM
 You can add my daughter to that group.  Will she have to book in?
Post by: barnray on July 21, 2009, 08:17:31 PM
Have we selected a venue as yet or do we wait for more swaggers
Post by: BigJules on July 21, 2009, 08:23:07 PM
We have selected a venue for this trip; Crowd Head.
Post by: Gunna Do on July 21, 2009, 08:56:24 PM
Better be more specific Jules, I don't think you can camp at Crowdy Head itself.  It may have to be at Diamond Head, Kylies or Indian Head (Crowdy Head National Park).  Laith gave Kylies a pretty good wrap.
Post by: barnray on July 21, 2009, 08:56:35 PM
Sorry which resort/park/National park
Post by: bullfrog on July 21, 2009, 09:20:06 PM
Darren
Yeh mate ,she's another one of "them"!! Ever noticed,a bloke looks at something in the auto/ fishing/hardware shop & all ya get is "why do you need more of blahblahblahblah, haven't you got one of those". BUT ,when THEY come home from a scrapping party, order forms are filled in at a truly scarey rate for boxes of cutters/punches/stencils etc(which they already have $h!t loads of anyway >:D) & we aren't allowed to say a word ???. Beats me.Bevan :cheers:
Post by: BigJules on July 21, 2009, 10:37:15 PM
Ah yes, as someone who hasn't been there either I'm taking some good advice on this and we're going to Kylie's.
Post by: Laith on July 21, 2009, 10:41:52 PM
We decided last minute & ducked over and spent another great weekend (just gone) there. Good weather and only about 5 other lots camping there. Was Nice and peaceful.

It is a great spot.
Post by: gronk on July 21, 2009, 11:41:10 PM
Sorry which resort/park/National park

Banray.....its Crowdy Head National Park....Kylies campground ( no resort !! ;D )

Stop at Diamond Head 1st, pay ya money and then proceed to Kylies....firewood available(was last time anyway ) for $5 a bag ( may have gone up in the last year ) or bring your own ( advisable )
Post by: barnray on July 24, 2009, 09:49:35 PM
Thanks Gronk I hope we can make a resort over the weekend at Kylies
We are looking forward to meeting more Swaggers
Post by: Bull007 on July 25, 2009, 08:04:36 PM
Did someone say Scrapbooking???
Or as my hubby says...  crapbooking!!!  LOL
Post by: Variflex on July 25, 2009, 08:25:58 PM
Haha, Crapbooking, full marks to your Husband on that one.

Unfortunatly i can't make this trip, I will be on my honeymoon.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on July 25, 2009, 08:29:01 PM
Well I don't have any scrap bookers, but I have a quilter and any other type of material craft going....cross stitch, knitting....and the craft goes everywhere.  Thankfully one of the quilts that she is quilting is also used as bed quilt.  When we went to Bendigo last year I ended up with wool all over the place from the Bendigo Wool Mills....
Post by: bullfrog on July 25, 2009, 09:10:28 PM
NK
I'll see your quilter & raise you a scap booker ;D ;D. Judy does both. She started quilting about 6-8 months ago, has been scrapping for a while now. I'm sure the ladies will have plenty to chay about at Crowdy :cheers: Bevan
Post by: dorey76 on August 09, 2009, 04:34:49 PM
Count us in for this one, what better way to spend my birthday  ;D

Dorey + Wife + 3 year old boy + 2 year old girl
Post by: BigJules on August 09, 2009, 06:48:53 PM
Attendees so far:
;D  Bigjules (1 adult, 1 6yo girl) + + +
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)
;D  Singo-26 (1 adult, 2 kids 3 & 7)

Plus, I've got a few pommie friends who are trying to integrate who'll be tenting it with us.  

With around 20 adults and nearly that many kids, this should be a really good trip. Fill the fridge, grab your boardies, chuck some snags in, or the compulsory camp oven and roast, and get along.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on August 09, 2009, 06:57:05 PM
Attendees so far:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)

Plus, I've got a few pommie friends who are trying to integrate, you've got to watch the b3ggars  :-*, who'll be tenting it with us.  

With around 20 adults and nearly that many kids, this should be a really good trip. Fill the fridge, grab your boardies, chuck some snags in, or the compulsory camp oven and roast, and get along.

This is starting to look like a great trip, the weather should be nice and I have a new surfboard (I can't ride it  :D) to try out....lol
Post by: darren on August 09, 2009, 07:00:52 PM
How much room is there where we're going ? we will fill 5 acres.
Darren
Post by: bullfrog on August 09, 2009, 07:05:46 PM
C'mon October :cup: :cup:, Is it just me or does time always drag on when ya waitin' for a trip?? Can't wait to meet up with you all :cheers: Bevan
Post by: NewcastleKnight on August 09, 2009, 07:07:42 PM
How much room is there where we're going ? we will fill 5 acres.
Darren

I was thinking the same thing.  Not sure if we can book out the whole camping ground.  May be worth an email to National Parks...
Post by: darren on August 09, 2009, 07:14:36 PM
Maybe the week before we could leak that there is a swine flue outbreak in the area. we will have it to ourselves then
Darren
Post by: singo-26 on August 09, 2009, 07:21:07 PM
G'day Jules
I'm still planning on coming so you can add my name to the list. I'll probably bring Mitch(7) and Allen(3) with me aswell. Looking forward to catching up again and putting some faces to names of others.

Post by: BigJules on August 09, 2009, 07:21:33 PM
I'll chase Sparks & Wildfires on seeing if we can grab a big chunk of space, but I'm no hopeful. They're not there to help people enjoy national parks, only to fence off the best bits.

I'd say the best strategy will be to arrive on Friday, wearing a Reg Reagan t-shirt and playing loud music. Dammit Kranky, you left the east coast too early mate.

There is always a few people who cannot make it, so likely we'll squeeze in.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on August 09, 2009, 07:27:51 PM
I'll chase Sparks & Wildfires on seeing if we can grab a big chunk of space, but I'm no hopeful. They're not there to help people enjoy national parks, only to fence off the best bits.

I'd say the best strategy will be to arrive on Friday, wearing a Reg Reagan t-shirt and playing loud music. Dammit Kranky, you left the east coast too early mate.

There is always a few people who cannot make it, so likely we'll squeeze in.

I am hoping to arrive on Friday....probably before lunch....I was thinking about my Borat mankini???

That should do it
Post by: darren on August 09, 2009, 07:28:52 PM
I heard reg wears a Kranky Al tee shirt when he wants to scare people off...
 Another option would be to strut up to anyone alse camped there wearing only pluggers and carrying a six pack under your arm and say g'day and offer them a beer.
Darren
Post by: bullfrog on August 09, 2009, 07:34:30 PM
G'day Bigjules
Hem & I are heading down from Grafton on the Friday morning(EARLY remember Hem >:D), if ya want we can scare em off a bit,you know, banjo's, bib & brace overalls, straw hats....yeh Hem should scare the gravy out of 'em ;D ;D :cheers:Bevan
Post by: NewcastleKnight on August 09, 2009, 07:37:03 PM
G'day Bigjules
Hem & I are heading down from Grafton on the Friday morning(EARLY remember Hem >:D), if ya want we can scare em off a bit,you know, banjo's, bib & brace overalls, straw hats....yeh Hem should scare the gravy out of 'em ;D ;D :cheers:Bevan

Ahhhhhh.... that sounds like a plan.....
Post by: BigJules on August 09, 2009, 07:43:06 PM
Oh, Grafton-ites -  say no more  ;D You'll do fine.  No, really, that is a great offer thanks. Plus, Laith is a local and possibly can assist also.

I'm also planning to get up on Friday if I can.
Post by: bullfrog on August 09, 2009, 07:51:01 PM
BJ
 ya reckon just tell 'em where  we're from, should do the trick ;D. I'm hoping to be heading out of town by 8:30 ,9:00 am at the latest. Thanks in advance for the effort you have put in to get this trip under way. I know what it's like, being involved with our local 4wd club , trips don't happen on their own, someone has to put up a hand & say "I will". Top job mate, :cup: :cheers: Bevan
Post by: NewcastleKnight on August 09, 2009, 07:53:39 PM
BJ
 ya reckon just tell 'em where  we're from, should do the trick ;D. I'm hoping to be heading out of town by 8:30 ,9:00 am at the latest. Thanks in advance for the effort you have put in to get this trip under way. I know what it's like, being involved with our local 4wd club , trips don't happen on their own, someone has to put up a hand & say "I will". Top job mate, :cup: :cheers: Bevan

ditto  :cheers:
Post by: Laith on August 09, 2009, 08:02:45 PM
I'll take the day off work to get organised and get there by at least lunch time.
It does get busy there in the warmer weather though.
The big area in the middle would be the go for all of us.
Post by: Gunna Do on August 09, 2009, 08:10:06 PM
Laith you wouldn't have some road closed signs you could drop off at the entrance could you.  May free up a bit more space for the rest of the gang.
Post by: Laith on August 09, 2009, 08:41:57 PM
With the numbers we will have we are going to need to do something Gunna Do.

I was thinking of some police tape and a white body outline at the entry point. Actually that will prob draw more attention.
Post by: HEM19X on August 09, 2009, 08:49:24 PM
LOL Bullfrog,

Seriously, I do have a mate who has a set of bagpipes... perhaps we could all "Practice" on them... that would clear the park as they sound like someone squeezing a cat at the best of times!!!

BJ, I not a Graftonite!!! Please don't tar me with that brush...

P.S. Bags NOT being near Bullfrog... I know how loud he snores - then again that might clear the area!!!!

Post by: NewcastleKnight on August 09, 2009, 08:55:19 PM
LOL Bullfrog,

Seriously, I do have a mate who has a set of bagpipes... perhaps we could all "Practice" on them... that would clear the park as they sound like someone squeezing a cat at the best of times!!!

BJ, I not a Graftonite!!! Please don't tar me with that brush...

P.S. Bags NOT being near Bullfrog... I know how loud he snores - then again that might clear the area!!!!

Ha, Ha....you have not heard me snore yet....lol
Post by: bullfrog on August 09, 2009, 08:59:43 PM
 Are ye gunna be wearin' ya kilt laddy??. Now THAT would keep 'em away ;D ;D :cheers: Bevan
 NK
 We should get together for a duet....."Duelling Nostrilles" ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: barnray on August 31, 2009, 10:22:11 PM
Bullfrog I can add a baritone to that if you like. We will be in the area early Friday if thats a help. Barnray
Post by: bullfrog on August 31, 2009, 10:33:54 PM
 G'day Barnray
 The more the merrier :cheers: I was going to give this thread a bit of a stir up as nothing had been posted for a bit. I've been doing a "Ketsi", counting sleeps that is. This is looking like a cracker of a weekend, hope the weather is kind :cheers: Bevan
Post by: barnray on August 31, 2009, 10:50:42 PM
Mate I can make it merrier if you like Scotch. Russell
Post by: bullfrog on August 31, 2009, 10:54:42 PM
Barnray, anything is possible :angel:. It will be great to meet the people behind the swag names :cheers:Bevan.
Post by: Gunna Do on September 01, 2009, 11:13:02 AM
 >:( Buggar, looks like our arrival time just had a set back.  No. 1 daughter goes on a Canberra excursion that week and will not get back until sometime Friday afternoon, but I am determined to get there Friday sometime, so hopefully will be able to pick her up from school and head straight up.  (ETA :- 8.00 pm - 9.00 pm Friday)

Looks like the job of getting the camp fire started on this gathering will have to fall on someone else.  With the amount of Myswaggers showing interest in this gathering, hope someone saves us a spot.
Post by: gronk on September 01, 2009, 01:18:29 PM
>:( Buggar, looks like our arrival time just had a set back.  No. 1 daughter goes on a Canberra excursion that week and will not get back until sometime Friday afternoon, but I am determined to get there Friday sometime, so hopefully will be able to pick her up from school and head straight up.  (ETA :- 8.00 pm - 9.00 pm Friday)

Looks like the job of getting the camp fire started on this gathering will have to fall on someone else.  With the amount of Myswaggers showing interest in this gathering, hope someone saves us a spot.

Thats gonna be the hard part...saving a spot.. just hope its not a busy weekend...

May have to do a bit of strategic parking to take up lots of room ??

Maybe someone could make up a rough sign for the entrance to Kylies....".Mid north coast 4wd club christmas party..40 4wd's attending "....??????
Post by: BigJules on September 01, 2009, 05:25:07 PM
I said I'd get onto NPWS and I haven't, but I will.

I'll give it shot tomorrow, but once again I'm not hopeful. We're tax payers, why would they help us?

Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 01, 2009, 06:08:07 PM
So at this stage we have 12 definites and 3 maybes so thats a total of 15 if all come, see I can add up  :laugh:

Anyone know how big that camping ground is?
Post by: bullfrog on September 01, 2009, 07:58:28 PM
 G'day Gunna Do
 No worries mate, I'll save ya a spot right next to Hem ;D ;D. No really, we can park a Patrol or 2 in just the right way >:D. Don't bust a pooper valve trying to get there, if it's a bit late we'll give ya a hand if you need it, won't even charge ya :cheers: Bevan.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 01, 2009, 08:01:53 PM
G'day Gunna Do
 No worries mate, I'll save ya a spot right next to Hem ;D ;D. No really, we can park a Patrol or 2 in just the right way >:D. Don't bust a pooper valve trying to get there, if it's a bit late we'll give ya a hand if you need it, won't even charge ya :cheers: Bevan.

If its too late he may not want our help :laugh:
Post by: HEM19X on September 01, 2009, 08:44:47 PM
Bullfrog is now the designated "Keeper of the Fire".

Sorry mate but now the drawers etc are in the back of the Courier, you won't be able to jam the 2t of wood in there like last year!!!

LOL

Post by: bullfrog on September 01, 2009, 08:54:01 PM
 Eh.. what's that.. ya wanna burn the Courier?? >:D  Besides, it wasn't 2t of wood. Nope not an ounce over 1.5t ;D :cheers: Bevan
Post by: darren on September 01, 2009, 09:05:12 PM
G'day
 you wont be alone GD. I wont be leaving home until about 4 so ill be setting up in the dark too. Looks like the both of us will be camping near the septic tanks
Darren
Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 01, 2009, 09:15:25 PM
We will make sure you have a nice spot....down wind of the tanks  ;D
Post by: TRUPM on September 01, 2009, 09:24:06 PM
Gday all
I havnt been on here for a long time, since our holidays really which i havnt made a thread for yet, i must get to that sometime soon. ???
As it is looking, this is going to be massive. :cheers:
Problem is with my wife doing Tafe at Macksville on the Saturday, we wont get down there untill late that arvo/night. And chances are we wont get a spot if this is the case.  >:( We will see what we can organise getting closer to the date, as this sounds like it is going to be a cracker of a weekend.
Post by: BigJules on September 01, 2009, 11:25:41 PM
TRUPM, feel free to PM me your contact details. If there is any risk of you no fitting in I'll get in contact.

Make sure you pack your wifes favourite drink, that way whenever you arrive you can give her a drink, the crowd will welcome her and you can setup where ever is available. If she's happy, everything will be OK;.
Post by: Gunna Do on September 02, 2009, 07:16:48 AM
G'day Gunna Do

Thanks for the offer, but undo two clip and a latch, flip it over, and we're set up.  That'll do for the first night anyway.  Go the Camp-o-matic!!!!

Darren, looks like we could be travelling with (or not far behind) you then by the sounds of it.
Post by: bullfrog on September 02, 2009, 06:55:22 PM
G'day Gunna
I didn't think you would be in need of help ,but the offer is there to anyone who needs it, providing it can be done one handed ( I don't put me beer down for nobody ;D ;D).I've been called afew things in my time but not a septic tank Darren, you must be thinking of Hem ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D :cheers: Bevan.( All in fun guys ,don't shoot just yet!!!!!)
Post by: darren on September 02, 2009, 06:59:42 PM
I didnt realise Hem was American... ;D
Post by: bullfrog on September 02, 2009, 07:04:12 PM
God dammit, I aint no Yank!! but daughter number 3 was reading over my shoulder & said " Dad, you smell like a septic tank sometimes !!". Ungratefull little SH#T, this is the thanks I get for being nice to them!! I think Xmas just got canned >:D :cheers: Bevan.
Post by: Snow on September 02, 2009, 08:22:50 PM
Just can't let go of the toilet humour hey Bevan.  ;D  ;D
Post by: bullfrog on September 02, 2009, 08:29:01 PM
Darren
No mate HEM's not a Yank , he's much worse. He's a Lower riverite  >:D ;D >:D ;D
 Hem, do ya reckon you would have room in ya jigger for a feed bag /fish tub of wood? If so, I'll arrange some good stuff to take down with us, a bag or 2 in mine ,some for yours. This worse than waiting for Xmas, how long now? :'( :cheers: Bevan
Post by: bullfrog on September 02, 2009, 08:33:36 PM
Hahaha, seems like it .  I reckon we'll have a laugh or 10000000000 @ Crowdy. Will be great to meet you, reguardless of sense of humour. What time are you hoping to get there? Bevan
Post by: darren on September 02, 2009, 08:39:54 PM
If somone has a ute or a wagon they borrowed then we could do a wood run on sat. Ill bring one of my saws.We will need much more than lostock. Ther will be that many people there will be 3 rows around it.

Darren
Post by: Snow on September 02, 2009, 08:42:44 PM
We are planning to take some time off and travel up on the friday morning. Probably get up there early arvo. Looking forward to it no end. ;D Setup, beer, break out the guitar and chill. :cup:
Post by: bullfrog on September 02, 2009, 08:50:39 PM
 Darren
Sounds good , you bring the machine ,We"ll bring the muscle :cheers: We can fit sh%t loads in Hems truck, eh Mark >:D >:D Bevan
Post by: darren on September 02, 2009, 08:55:27 PM
My biggest saw is a 3120 with a 44' bar. hope he has a timber jinker ;D
Post by: bullfrog on September 02, 2009, 09:03:21 PM
Darren
 Yep, that's a saw :cup: Used to play with an 096 Stihl with a big lump of a bar years ago when I worked scholl holidays at a sawmill. I was trying to stir Hem up. We had a camping trip up to Gerrard stae forrest a while ago,Mark's ute got roped into the job of being the wood truck. We found an old log dump not too far from camp & gathered a few old butts of logs . I don't think he has forgotten that bit ;D ;D .Bevan
Post by: gronk on September 03, 2009, 12:33:29 AM
What about everyone bring as much as they can and we take it from there......the bags of wood at Diamond Head used to be $5 and the nearest wood run would probably be out the back of Kew which is a fair hike ??
Post by: Laith on September 03, 2009, 07:05:25 AM
I will bring a trailer load of wood on Friday. Someone else can split it though. Will try and get out of it where ever I can.  :D

I'll set up camp early arvo (to keep Mr/s Snow company  :cheers:) so I'll get the missus to bring the loaded trailer over when she comes.

Post by: BigJules on September 03, 2009, 07:12:52 AM
Are there fire pits, or should we bring drum(s)?
Post by: Laith on September 03, 2009, 07:25:53 AM
No fire pits as such. Just the remains where fires have already been. I have always guessed that you can just make one where you want. (Ive always used an existing spot though).
Post by: darren on September 03, 2009, 07:42:35 AM
Gronk
 Your idea is sensible, but you have forgotten the appeal of alcohol, a high powered tool with razor sharp  cutting chain spinning at high speed, and the sense of not only achievement but conquest over nature as you see the ute overloaded with wood. Then you have the satisfaction of destroying it all in one night and creating so much heat that you cant get within 20m of it.
Darren
Post by: gronk on September 03, 2009, 10:15:55 AM
Sorry for being or sounding sensible !!! ;D

My saw's only a baby Huskie, and stone cold sober, I cut my leg ( 2 times ) while trying to start it the macho way ( holding it in one hand, doing a drop pull on the cord )

I'll hang back and do the splitting !!!!! That way I can only sever my foot !! ;D

Post by: darren on September 03, 2009, 10:23:55 AM
Gronk
 Good to see that despite the fact you cut your leg the first time you didnt give up  :cup:. This is the type of determination we need 
Darren
Post by: singo-26 on September 03, 2009, 11:27:20 AM
I'll throw some wood in the camper for fri night and my (baby) saw and a splitter. Good excercise eh. I'll throw in some pine from the mining reels up this way, It burns quick but throws out heaps of heat.

Post by: gronk on September 03, 2009, 12:43:44 PM
Gronk
 Good to see that despite the fact you cut your leg the first time you didnt give up  :cup:. This is the type of determination we need 
Darren

After the 1st time, I thought it was bad technique, after the 2nd time, the little light globe in the head went off !!! ??? ???
Post by: Laith on September 03, 2009, 05:35:53 PM
You sound about as smart as me Gronk. I allways say I'll never ask the same question "more" than twice  ;D

Post by: Laith on September 03, 2009, 05:51:52 PM
I'm sorry Gronk. I just realised how offensive my last post was. I'm sure (hope) you are way smarter than me  ;D
Post by: TRUPM on September 03, 2009, 08:19:04 PM
Thanks bigjules. I'll do that actually.
Will see when it is coming closer to the time what we can arrange.
My wife loves camping, she helps me setup everytime and isnt worried about roughing it.
Might just do the quick over nighter setup for the first night, and we will probly stay the sunday night aswll.

How is it going down that way for fire bans?
We are already on restrictions here.
Post by: HEM19X on September 03, 2009, 08:29:38 PM
3 Rows around the firepit????!!!!

Mate, Bullfrog forgot to tell you that we burnt ALL the timber you can get in the back of the Courier [with canopy] in just ONE NIGHT!!!

There wasn't even enough left next morning to cook brekkie but everyone who got within 10ft of the fire had singed eyebrows - rum drinkers were not allowed within 20ft for obvious reasons.

Post by: barnray on September 03, 2009, 08:31:44 PM
Mate  we'll be there for the weekend and Monday as well. Barnray
Post by: Redback on September 04, 2009, 07:45:40 AM

My saw's only a baby Huskie, and stone cold sober, I cut my leg ( 2 times ) while trying to start it the macho way ( holding it in one hand, doing a drop pull on the cord )

I'll hang back and do the splitting !!!!! That way I can only sever my foot !! ;D

Just don't mention ABS ;D
Post by: gronk on September 04, 2009, 09:58:34 AM

Just don't mention ABS ;D

I'm sure there will be plenty of other dribble being discussed around the campfire without having to mention ABS Baz !! ;D ;D
Post by: gronk on September 04, 2009, 10:05:13 AM
I'm sorry Gronk. I just realised how offensive my last post was. I'm sure (hope) you are way smarter than me  ;D

Offensive ???  Were you worried you might be AS dumb as me ??? ;D ;D

Don't worry, after 15 beers I get real smart ....... :'(  Just ask the missus !! ;D
Post by: Snow on September 07, 2009, 12:03:50 PM
Yee Haa Grandma!! Mrs Snow has the time off so we'll up there mid Friday fure sure!! We will be bringing the 2 grandkids with us, 4yo boy and 2yo girl. S'pose we figure with a gazillion kids there we may as well contribute to the mayhem. ;D

Jules

Please put us down as definate starters thanks.  :cheers:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 07, 2009, 12:19:39 PM
Yee Haa Grandma!! Mrs Snow has the time off so we'll up there mid Friday fure sure!! We will be bringing the 2 grandkids with us, 4yo boy and 2yo girl. S'pose we figure with a gazillion kids there we may as well contribute to the mayhem. ;D

Jules

Please put us down as definate starters thanks.  :cheers:

there will be plenty of older kids to look after the younger kids...they will have a ball...
Post by: BigJules on September 07, 2009, 12:41:27 PM

Attendees so far:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  TRUPM (2 adults, 2 kids 3 & 1)
;D  Snow (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 4)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
;D  Singo-26 (1 adult, 2 kids 3 & 7)

Post by: bullfrog on September 07, 2009, 07:11:32 PM
G'day all,
 Bugga me Bigjules, what have you done? ;D. With this many swaggers turning up to a do, you'll have to change ya name to "Mcgirr of the South" :cup:. I don't know if I was as keen for a trip since our Innaminka trip a couple of years back. Can't wait to meet everyone, will be top notch. Hey Snow, my oldest (13yrs) is a real old mother hen with yonger kids, I'm sure your grandy's will have a ball , :cheers:Bevan.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 07, 2009, 07:13:32 PM
Just waiting for the wife's roster to be confirmed and then we can be definite.  Should have that shortly.
Post by: Snow on September 07, 2009, 07:41:39 PM
Bugga me Bigjules, what have you done? ;D.
I think he doubled up the two lists.
Hey Snow, my oldest (13yrs) is a real old mother hen with yonger kids, I'm sure your grandy's will have a ball

I think the boy will have a ball, he's a real ladies man. ;D The girl is a bit clingier so I think she will take a bit of time to settle in.  :cheers:
Post by: bullfrog on September 07, 2009, 07:51:16 PM
Hey Snow
 Spotted the 2 list together, still a pretty fair number none the less. :cheers:Bevan
Post by: BigJules on September 07, 2009, 08:26:35 PM

Sorry folks not sure what happened there. If I have dropped anyone off, you're out. No, jokes  :laugh: If I have missed your name here please let me know.
Post by: McGirr on September 07, 2009, 08:30:38 PM
G'day all,
 Bugga me Bigjules, what have you done? ;D. With this many swaggers turning up to a do, you'll have to change ya name to "Mcgirr of the South" :cup:. I don't know if I was as keen for a trip since our Innaminka trip a couple of years back. Can't wait to meet everyone, will be top notch. Hey Snow, my oldest (13yrs) is a real old mother hen with yonger kids, I'm sure your grandy's will have a ball , :cheers:Bevan.

Come on Big Jules you have to break my record 18 Vehicles and 16 campers. Good to see other trips planned. :cheers:
Post by: Gunna Do on September 07, 2009, 08:38:47 PM
Jules I hope you don't expect us all to get into some sort of convoy.  ???
Post by: BigJules on September 07, 2009, 08:43:46 PM
10:4 Rubby Ducky, we got ourselves a convoy....

I am really pleased with the level of interest in this trip, it will be great to meet everyone. This is exactly why I joined MySwag - to go camping with more families, couples and singles.

With such a big crowd, I've been tossing up suggesting we try to organise a spit roast. A lamb and a side of beef. Too much effort?
Post by: darren on September 07, 2009, 09:01:05 PM
Jules
 It might end up a lot of effort for a few. Might be better if we keep it simple.
 Just a thought
Darren
Post by: darren on September 07, 2009, 09:02:54 PM
One more thing. How do we think we will go for room?
Darren
Post by: Gunna Do on September 07, 2009, 09:08:26 PM
KIS - Keep It Simple

The idea is great, but to organise the spit as well as the meat, and to then get it all to the camping ground could become a logistical nighmare.

Just kick back and enjoy the crowd Jules, you have done a great job with this one.  You certainly set the bar high for any future New South Gatherings, the pressure on the next organisor will be tremendous.

Darren I don't think there will be room for the mighty KK as well as a swag beside it, one or the other.
Post by: darren on September 07, 2009, 09:13:12 PM
That's an easy decision for me ol mate but i think all this luxury is spoiling the fam. Then again the krumberley may be spread across central Australia by then..
Darren
Post by: Gunna Do on September 07, 2009, 09:14:42 PM
Sounds like you don't trust those locking discs.
Post by: darren on September 08, 2009, 07:41:55 AM
GD
 The hitch will be fine. Its the rest ill worry about.
Darren
Post by: gronk on September 08, 2009, 10:20:53 AM
GD
 The hitch will be fine. Its the rest ill worry about.
Darren

I worry more about the 4x4 than the KK........if you break a KK you must be doing something wrong !! ;D
Post by: Snow on September 08, 2009, 07:12:36 PM
Right!! McGirr has stirred the pot so I've stirred the Hornets nest up north to see if those Qldrs can get more punters to their weekend up at LC park than we Blues can to Crowdy head. I hope Kylies can fit us all in.  ;D
Post by: darren on September 08, 2009, 08:44:41 PM
 Remember, 1 NSW'er is worth 3 toads so we are already in front. :D
Darren
Post by: Snow on September 08, 2009, 08:50:03 PM
Remember, 1 NSW'er is worth 3 toads so we are alreay in front. :D

I only said I stirred the Hornets nest Darren, you seem keen to hit it with a big stick. ;D
Post by: Gunna Do on September 08, 2009, 09:00:33 PM
Not sure which side of the fence to sit on with this one, being a Qld ex-pat, so I may just have to sit right on top of the fence in the middle.
Post by: Snow on September 08, 2009, 09:04:26 PM
Not sure which side of the fence to sit on with this one, being a Qld ex-pat, so I may just have to sit right on top of the Dog fence in the middle.

I was going to add that you had maybe leave your maroon jersey at home for this one. ;D or not!! >:D
Post by: bullfrog on September 08, 2009, 09:15:10 PM
Bloody hell Snow, you've got the blowflies buzzin'  'round the crappa now, >:D >:D well done :cup: .I keep telling a mate that maroon is only a darker shade of pink anyway ;D ;D.As far as us all fitting in, I had a thought( yes Hem, it did hurt). How 'bout we just get Darrens "dragon slayer" chainsaw & keep on clearing the place until we have enough room >:D Just joking, wouldn't do that ....... really, I wouldn't :angel:. :cheers:Bevan.
Post by: Snow on September 08, 2009, 09:18:20 PM
Yup, luv stirrin' up the dunny Budgies. ;D

A bit o rivallry will go a long way to helping get max numbers to both meets. :cup:
Post by: darren on September 09, 2009, 08:41:53 AM
Bullfrog
 I was only taking a midsize saw so another option is i could bring a 50m length of afc chain and we could put it between 2 landcruisers and pull the scrub. :D
Darren
Post by: bullfrog on September 09, 2009, 07:12:39 PM
HAHAHAHA, I know ya jokin' Darren,'coz ya said you would use L/C's......HAHAHAHA ;D >:D. (good idea though if we get tight for room)  :cheers: Bevan.
Post by: HEM19X on September 09, 2009, 07:52:14 PM
Besides, moroooon gernseys burn sooo well.

Post by: Berg on September 09, 2009, 08:07:12 PM
I'm guessing the Blue ones wouldn't burn too well because they would still be wet from all the tears......... ;D ;D ;D

Post by: MnMs on September 10, 2009, 10:30:18 AM
I'll pay that one Berger!!!!!  :cheers:
Post by: Snow on September 10, 2009, 11:50:17 AM
Yeh, I s'pose I'll have to pay that one too.  ::)

What were you thinkin' Hem? The only ace they have and they got the chance to play it.

Anyway this is a numbers game. Who will get the most Swaggers to their meet?? :cup:

Post by: Karen on September 10, 2009, 12:33:08 PM
Anyway this is a numbers game. Who will get the most Swaggers to their meet?? :cup:

It's Quality that matters in QLD, NOT Quantity!  ;D
Post by: Snow on September 10, 2009, 12:51:39 PM

No doubting that Karen, and being all Swaggers I'd think of nothing less, but it is still the score in the end, not how flash the tries were. ;D

Post by: MnMs on September 10, 2009, 01:01:24 PM

but it is still the score in the end, not how flash the tries were. ;D

Bwahahahaha........we won both of those categories anyway  >:D ;D >:D ;D  :cup:
Post by: BigJules on September 10, 2009, 05:38:18 PM
Righto, I got off my arse and rang NPWS, or whatever they're called this week.  They confirmed that they will not take any bookings, but that they had not had to turn anyone away that they could recall.

There is a caretaker at Diamond Head, but they're not publicly contactable.

I I found this website, although the GPS reference given here and that I get from Garmin Mapsource vary slightly. Punch it into Google Earth for a gander.

Kylie's Beach Campground  (http://www.wildwalks.com/camping-in-nsw-parks/hunter-mid-north-coast-campsites/kylies-beach-camping-ground.html). Everyone clear on how to get there?

Importantly, there is no drinking water at the site, so please be sure you pack a jerrycan or two. I believe clean water can be obtained from Diamond Head, so we should not run short in any case.
Post by: gronk on September 11, 2009, 12:51:39 AM
And just to add to that...either before or straight after setting up, you need to go to Diamond Head and pay for your site...they won't come and collect the fees, but they will come and check to see if you have a tag stuck to your tent..
Post by: Laith on September 11, 2009, 08:02:08 AM
We could always pay for the ones that are going to be late and then peg out a tarp for their spot with their ticket stuck to the corner of it. That way they will have a spot when they arrive.
Post by: BigJules on September 11, 2009, 09:08:19 AM
Unfortunately the Google Earth image of the campsite is out of focus (the next one 100m away is perfect) so it's not possible to establish how big it is from there. 

I'd say a few tomato stakes and some bunting would suffice to block off some space. The earlier arrivals can spread out to box an area maybe, pilgrims circling the wagons so to speak.

I was thinking of a sing to say "Bag Pipe Beginners Camp", maybe "Sleep Apnea Annual Convention - We Didn't hear a Thing" would do the trick  :laugh:
Post by: darren on September 11, 2009, 10:30:31 AM
Ive been here but not camped so I'm asking those with a better memory. Does the camp have a large open area or is it a series of smaller nooks. I seem to think the later but i could be wrong
Darren
Post by: gronk on September 11, 2009, 10:33:05 AM
I'll be one of the 1st to get there.....how about a sign saying....2nd annual nudists convention !!!

And if that doesn't scare them....a quick look at me and the missus with no gear on will have them either heading for the hills or dry wretching .....or both !! ;D ;D
Post by: gronk on September 11, 2009, 10:34:42 AM
Ive been here but not camped so I'm asking those with a better memory. Does the camp have a large open area or is it a series of smaller nooks. I seem to think the later but i could be wrong
Darren

A bit of both Darren, but there is a main area that is fairly big and would fit us all in ..
Post by: darren on September 11, 2009, 10:38:39 AM
Thanks for that mate, As mentioned earlier GD and myself will be night arrivals
Darren
Post by: BigJules on September 11, 2009, 10:40:12 AM
I'm now planning to arrive at night also, in case Gronk follows up his offer.... :laugh:
Post by: gronk on September 11, 2009, 11:40:13 AM
I'm now planning to arrive at night also, in case Gronk follows up his offer.... :laugh:

Might have the whole campsite to myself ???? ;D ;D
Post by: barnray on September 11, 2009, 01:51:38 PM
Well I would not be telling a lie if I said it was a Sleep Apnea Convention, Wait till my mask falls off. After a belly full I'll keep the devil awake. Barnray
Post by: Laith on September 11, 2009, 04:10:37 PM
Apparently I am known to make some noise while sleeping too. I will be blaming the missus though.

The outside edges of Kylie's are mainly nooks & crannies but there is a rather large area in the middle that as Gronk has said would fit all of us no problems.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 14, 2009, 05:27:20 PM
Daylight saving will be in full swing by this weekend so we should have daylight till 7.30pm. 
Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 19, 2009, 02:15:18 PM
I was just looking at the camping prices for the Crowdy National Park.  They have gone up a bit since I was last in a park.  They are now $10 per adult and $5 for a child and $7 a day for the car.
Post by: Snow on September 19, 2009, 02:26:40 PM
Iv'e worked out that it is cheaper for me to buy a yearly All Parks pass and be done with paying for the buggy. As for the PP I'm happy to pay that to hang out with you lot. ;D
Post by: Laith on September 19, 2009, 07:03:52 PM
We have 2 anual car passes.

3 nights and you will break even.
Post by: HEM19X on September 28, 2009, 09:02:34 PM

Attendees so far:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)

Is this the final list of starters for the Weekend? Just checking numbers ... 27 adults & 20 kids, should be FABULOUS!

Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 28, 2009, 09:06:43 PM

Attendees so far:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)

We should be right but maybe less one child, which won't be a bad thing...... :D

Is this the final list of starters for the Weekend? Just checking numbers ... 27 adults & 20 kids, should be FABULOUS!

Post by: bullfrog on September 28, 2009, 09:17:49 PM
All systems GO for us, can't wait to get down there & set up then sit back & do bugger all ;D. Remember Hem, wakey wakey nice & early >:D. Bevan :cheers:
Post by: HEM19X on September 28, 2009, 09:31:41 PM
All systems GO for us, can't wait to get down there & set up then sit back & do bugger all ;D. Remember Hem, wakey wakey nice & early >:D. Bevan :cheers:

Big Bubbles, No Troubles... just as well we are having a practice run on the 17th..I will need to build up my AL-K-HOL intake...LOL
Post by: bullfrog on September 28, 2009, 09:38:55 PM
Hem,
Hehehehehehehehehe......... I've been "practicing" a lot of late >:D :cheers:. Do ya reckon ya will have recovered for Crowdy after the old girls doo ?? :cheers: Bevan.
Post by: Snow on September 28, 2009, 09:47:21 PM
With all the kids that will be there I hope an appropriate measure of moderation will be applied. I don't want anyone teaching me any bad habits.  ;)
Post by: Blue Bravo on September 28, 2009, 10:25:23 PM
Unless something changes Mrs Bravo and I will be no show for this one. Looking at the numbers we won't be  missed.
Post by: bullfrog on September 28, 2009, 10:29:08 PM
With all the kids that will be there I hope an appropriate measure of moderation will be applied. I don't want anyone teaching me any bad habits.  ;)
No worries Snow ,I'll look after ya mate  :cheers: :angel:Besides by the time we get to the Crowdy w/end I'll probably need a dry day or 2  :'(. Bevan.
Post by: bullfrog on September 28, 2009, 10:31:55 PM
Gday Blue Bravo,
Sorry to hear you might not be able to make it , any myswag member would be missed. Maybe next time eh.... :cheers: Bevan
Post by: Snow on September 28, 2009, 10:40:41 PM
Unless something changes Mrs Bravo and I will be no show for this one. Looking at the numbers we won't be  missed.
That will be a shame Glenn, I really hope you guys can get there. Besides, those kayaks of yours would come in handy at Kylies. ;D :cheers:

Post by: BigJules on September 29, 2009, 12:20:53 PM
OK, as there will be a bunch of us there, does anyone want a MySwag sticker? I can arrange for a bunch of them to be sent to me.

I have avowed stickers in the past, and have only one on my Cruiser, but I'll happily put a MySwag sticker on my rig.

Let me know, I think they're $2.50 each.

Also, Gronk I think it was mentioned arranging some sort of memento, T-shirt, stubby holder, ???. Anyone got any ideas, want to arrange something? Think about the kids as well.
Post by: Gunna Do on September 29, 2009, 12:37:31 PM
I was talking about arranging Polo shirts with the Myswag.org Logo for this meet, however "Brett" has asked that I put this on hold for a short time  to allow him to sort a few issues.  I don't however think it would be a problem if we came up with something specific to this meet, perhaps just leaving out the Myswag bit, a bit like the Cape Capers type of logo.  I would be more than happy to price up polo shirts with a small embroyded emblem on the chest area if anyone was interested.  I would just need some suggestions for the logo.
Post by: BigJules on September 29, 2009, 12:49:48 PM
I also sent a Brett a note on this, didn't want to do anything without approval.

The stickers should be fine though, so let me know if you want a sticker(s).
Post by: Gunna Do on September 29, 2009, 05:43:26 PM
Just received some late mail from "Brett" with the excellent news that we will be able to use the Myswag.org logo/name on the polo shirts for this gathering.  :cup: :cup:

All that has to be decided is the detail of the embroiding.

With this in mind I think the "MYSWAG.ORG The Off-Road Camper Trailer Forum" logo on one side, and a slogan to indicate the weekend at Kylies on the other. One that comes to mind is "CAMPER CRUISADER - Crowdy Bay National Park".  Just a suggestion and please feel free to put up some suggestions either in Post form or PM me. 

Most of this will have to be sorted quite quickly so that I can organise the embroiding in time.
Post by: Laith on September 29, 2009, 07:14:56 PM
T shirts sound like a good idea. I have a few spare stickers already I think still.
Post by: Laith on September 29, 2009, 07:25:04 PM
We have some bushfires around our place at the moment. A bit closer than I would like.

My missus was told today that one of the fires has reached the camp grounds at Crowdy Head.

Hope all is ok there. Might go check it out on the weekend.
Post by: gronk on September 30, 2009, 12:52:32 AM
We have some bushfires around our place at the moment. A bit closer than I would like.

My missus was told today that one of the fires has reached the camp grounds at Crowdy Head.

Hope all is ok there. Might go check it out on the weekend.

Might be a bit less privacy for the annual nudist convention then ??? ;D ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on September 30, 2009, 05:30:30 AM
The camp grounds at Crowdy are currently closed.  Hopefully will be sorted by the time we all head up but might upset those planning a long weekend up that way.

http://www.environment.nsw.gov.au/NationalParks/parkFireClosure.aspx?id=N0009

Post by: Silvo on September 30, 2009, 06:14:54 AM
BigJules,

Add Michelle and I and a half person to the list of attendees.

Dan
Post by: BigJules on September 30, 2009, 09:08:18 AM
It is still a month away, so you'd expect it to open before then. Laith, keep us informed of the state of the place, in case we need a plan B. If it's burnt out and covered in ashI daresay our fairer halves will not be too keen.
Post by: Laith on September 30, 2009, 09:22:15 AM
No probs. If its safe I'll check it out Saturday. Was going to go over and get some firewood for the big day anyway. Hope there's some left.

The one near us is even closer. Plenty of smoke. Local school got visited by the rural bush fire this morning and was told they may have to leave early today due to falling embers causing new fires ect.
Post by: BigJules on September 30, 2009, 09:31:15 AM
Gee Gunna Do, no one seems too keen on t-shirts or stickers, might be just you and me? Tour Leader and Social Director 8)?
Post by: barnray on September 30, 2009, 10:24:16 AM
Count us in Bigjules for t shirts. Barnray
Post by: Snow on September 30, 2009, 11:46:52 AM
Gee Gunna Do, no one seems too keen on t-shirts or stickers, might be just you and me? Tour Leader and Social Director 8)?

Mrs Snow and me are keen for a shirt. May I ask, Who are we 'crusading' BTW? May I suggest "Camper Trailer Cavorting at Crowdy Head 24-25 October 2009" or something along those lines.
Post by: gronk on September 30, 2009, 01:44:50 PM
Would something simple like ...Crowdy Head Swaggers 09.....be easier to make ???

Thats if we end up there ??

Plan B........if needed.....could I suggest Swans Crossing ( if you can beat the motorbikes in ) or Myall River camp .....

But unless the camp ground itself has been destroyed, then by 3 weeks time , it should be fine !!
Post by: Gunna Do on September 30, 2009, 01:53:33 PM
Due to the time constraints I am in the process of getting a couple of quotes from local suppliers with the following embroided on the chest area of the shirt.  Tell me what you think.

I could not ponder the options too long or I will miss the cut off time to get them done in time.  Please let me know what you think of the following.
Post by: DANBRI on September 30, 2009, 02:00:36 PM
Now missing out on this trip is one thing, but you're making T-Shirts - is really cutting me deep!  :-[

Rub salt in the wound why don't you!
Post by: BigJules on September 30, 2009, 02:07:51 PM
We can still fix you up with shirts Dan!
Post by: Gunna Do on September 30, 2009, 03:53:21 PM
I have now opened a new post specifically for the shirt issues, so please follow this link:- Re: Crowdy Head Gathering 24-25 Oct 2009 (Shirt Options and Orders)  (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=3740.msg51216#msg51216)
Post by: Brett on September 30, 2009, 04:12:34 PM

Attendees so far:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)

With a gathering this big you need someone to be the Official Fridge Inspector. This title is critical in maintaining your beers at the correct temperature so you get a full flavored refreshing beers to enjoy. This process may take several of your beers to get just perfect.

So I will take one for the team and drive the 1550kms (like I have anything better to do?) to Crowdy Head just to be the Official Fridge Inspector!  :cheers:

Bigjules add me to the list mate.

Now I will be solo once again as Deb needs to work to pay for my trips away.  >:D So if there is anyone in CQ / SEQ that wants to ride shotgun I have spare seats.
Post by: Silvo on September 30, 2009, 04:31:04 PM

Now I will be solo once again as Deb needs to work to pay for my trips away. 

:cup: haha..

Dan
Post by: Gunna Do on September 30, 2009, 04:46:36 PM
Well done Brett, I am sure you'll fill the roll of OFFICIAL FRIDGE INSPECTOR quite well.  Fantastic effort mate, look forward to meeting up in person.   :cheers:

This should inspire others to make the effort and sign up for what looks to be a huge weekend.

(http://myswag.org/gallery/d/8389-2/image002_001.gif)  (http://myswag.org/gallery/d/8389-2/image002_001.gif)  (http://myswag.org/gallery/d/8389-2/image002_001.gif)  (http://myswag.org/gallery/d/8389-2/image002_001.gif)  (http://myswag.org/gallery/d/8389-2/image002_001.gif)  (http://myswag.org/gallery/d/8389-2/image002_001.gif)  
Post by: Laith on September 30, 2009, 05:15:12 PM
we are gona need name badges.  ;D
Post by: bullfrog on September 30, 2009, 06:02:42 PM
Hope the fires don't cause any 'swaggers any greif.  Will put in our shirt order via the link. Top effort Brett, big drive for a W/E with us Southerners ;D. Bevan.
PS Brett, Pm sent. :cheers:
Post by: Snow on September 30, 2009, 06:35:06 PM
Me thinks it would be appropriate to maybe shout Brett a tank or two to help get him here and back. waddya say team?
Post by: Brett on September 30, 2009, 06:39:18 PM
Me thinks it would be appropriate to maybe shout Brett a tank or two to help get him here and back. waddya say team?

That OK Snow as I will be in the Navara and it is a lease so all I do is swipe the fuel card. But I will inspect your fridge on arrival!  ;D
Post by: Snow on September 30, 2009, 07:00:30 PM
I hope you like Tooheys Extra Dry then. ;D  :cheers:
Post by: Brett on September 30, 2009, 07:11:53 PM
I hope you like Tooheys Extra Dry then. ;D  :cheers:

You know what they say "When in Rome...."
Post by: Gunna Do on September 30, 2009, 07:24:50 PM
There are a few Ex-pat Queenslanders down here, so you should be right Brett.
Post by: BigJules on September 30, 2009, 08:32:29 PM
Attendees so far:
;D  Bigjules (2 adults, 1 6yo girl)
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
;D  DSilvestro  (2 adults, 1 kid <1)
;D  Brett (1 adult)

and still they keep coming
;D  Marcus (1 adult, 3 kids 5, 9 & 11)
;D  Barmy Army (4 adults, 2 kids 6 & 7)
;D  Roger the Rogue (2 adults)

A couple of us are heading up on Thursday night, to secure the space.
Post by: barnray on September 30, 2009, 08:42:35 PM
If we are able we will be onsight about midday Thursday. Barnray
Post by: Silvo on October 01, 2009, 08:58:42 AM
Awesome, we are special enough to have our own child board !!

Dan
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 01, 2009, 06:04:54 PM
Attendees so far:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
:-[  BlueBravo (2 adults)
;D  DSilvestro  (2 adults, 1 kid)
;D  Brett (1 adult)

BlueBravo unfortunately cannot make it, and there is a few still unsure.

A couple of us are heading up on Thursday night, to secure the space.

We should be starters.  I am still waiting for SWMBO roster but the weekend has been requested so should be no dramas.
Post by: Snow on October 01, 2009, 06:35:18 PM
Yee Haa, this is shaping up to be truely epic, and we're only going to Taree, not the Cape. ;D

10 days to go
Post by: toad on October 02, 2009, 02:52:45 PM
 Geez fellas, this is beginning to look like a must not miss do.

When this weekend takes place, we will only have just come back from Southern Victoria in our TR3A.
Can we book in as late comers nearer the date? Love to come.
Post by: dorey76 on October 02, 2009, 06:56:08 PM
We have to pull out, sorry  >:(  Not happy about missing this one but sadly work has priority... Will have to make do with the top notch trip reports  :cheers:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 02, 2009, 07:04:16 PM
That's a shame Dory76, we will have a beer or two for you!!

Post by: HEM19X on October 02, 2009, 09:13:28 PM
OK, as a special effort, I too will have a beer or 3 for Dorey!!!

Brett, we might have to exclude you from the "MYSWAG TRIVIA" questions - insider traiding & all that stuff!!!!

OOPS, that's right... it was supposed to be a secret - Oh well...swaggers, study up, 'cause they MIGHT be a quiz on Saturday Night

Post by: Laith on October 03, 2009, 04:24:03 PM
Went and checked out the camp grounds today. No sign of fire anywhere near them.  ??? They must of just been closed just as a precaution.

Got a decent trailer load of firewood today in preparation for the big event. There is plenty of wood to be gotten near by so no problems there anyway.

Looking forward to meeting all of you guys over a beer or two.  :cheers:
Post by: BigJules on October 03, 2009, 05:07:34 PM
So far we've got 33 adults and 26 kids confirmed so this is going to be a huge event  :cup: !

Laith, there will be a bunch of us there on Friday, so if you've got the wood, we'd be happy to pick it up, etc.
Post by: Laith on October 03, 2009, 06:27:43 PM
Im having the Friday off so Im happy to bring it over and unload when you guys get there. Ill take my trailer home and bring the camper back.

Either way we can work something out anyway. Ill pm you my number.
Post by: bullfrog on October 04, 2009, 08:44:59 PM
Gday Laith,
 Reguarding firewood, do you think it's necessary for us to bring wood as well, or is there enough about to collect some there & save carrying it down? Either way is no prob. :cheers:Bevan
Post by: Laith on October 05, 2009, 08:00:33 AM
G'day Bevan.  Dont bother bringing any wood mate. Ive definently got enough to get us going and if need be there is tons of wood within a 15min drive. I'll have my saw and the back of my truck if we need more.
Post by: Gunna Do on October 05, 2009, 08:06:32 AM
Can't get much better than that.  Thanks Laith well done.  :cheers:
Post by: Snow on October 05, 2009, 12:58:41 PM
Nothing better than the Locals having the 'wood' on us outa towners. Good one Laith. :cup:
Post by: Gunna Do on October 05, 2009, 01:35:21 PM
Hope this doesn't cause a splinter group.  ;D
Post by: Snow on October 05, 2009, 01:36:26 PM
They may form their own sub 'branch' ;D
Post by: Gunna Do on October 05, 2009, 01:40:26 PM
Hope we're not barking up the wrong tree with this.  ;D
Post by: Silvo on October 05, 2009, 01:41:52 PM
i hope you don't mind me going out on a limb, but these puns are bad..  ;D

dan
Post by: BigJules on October 05, 2009, 01:57:45 PM
You're not threatening to pull up stumps are you Dan?  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Snow on October 05, 2009, 04:48:02 PM
Here we go again, everyone will think we're 'bark' ing mad.  ;D
Post by: bullfrog on October 05, 2009, 07:10:52 PM
Gday Laith,
 no worries mate, I'll carry extra amber saw fuel for our share :cheers:. Nothing like dodgy humour to get 'em "fired up" ;D. Oh sh!t, I'm as crook as them  :cheers: Bevan.
Post by: Snow on October 05, 2009, 07:32:07 PM
Nothing like dodgy humour to get 'em "fired up" ;D. Oh sh!t, I'm as crook as them  :cheers: Bevan.
Better stop 'smokin' the whoopy stuff then. ;D
Post by: bullfrog on October 05, 2009, 09:08:13 PM
Hey Snow,
 We're gunna have to  stop this, don't want to get dragged over the coals ;D. Your turn.  :cheers:Bevan.
Post by: Snow on October 05, 2009, 10:11:41 PM
You can be 'Ash'ured of it Bevan. We can'knot' give this up. I 'saw' this coming. ;D
Post by: Brett on October 06, 2009, 08:08:46 AM
 :police:
Post by: pikey on October 06, 2009, 11:21:53 AM

Just thought I ought to throw the "Pikey Parnwell" hat in to the ring and confirm we are going up to Crowdy Head. We are hoping to get there on Thursday evening, preferably with the trailer still attached!!! :-[

Am also trying to convince some new prospective "swaggers" to come along and enjoy the great outdoors, and hopefully the weather will be less "English" than we have just had  ;D
Post by: BigJules on October 06, 2009, 01:15:52 PM
Attendees so far:
;D  Bigjules (2 adults, 1 6yo girl)
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 11 & 14)
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12)
;D  Bullfrog (2 adults, 3 kids 8, 10 & 13)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Snow (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 4)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
;D  Darren (2 adults, 2 kids 6 & 9)
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)
;D  DSilvestro  (2 adults, 1 kid <1)
;D  Brett (1 adult)
:-\  NewcastleKnight (2 adults, 2 kids 12 & 15)

;D  Marcus (1 adult, 3 kids 5, 9 & 11)
;D  Barmy Army (4 adults, 2 kids 6 & 7)
;D  Pikey (2 adults, 3 kids)
Post by: Silvo on October 07, 2009, 08:22:46 AM
holy crap, there is almost as many kids as there are adults coming..

if i counted correctly, 37 adults and 29 kids so far.. i'm sure it'll change before the day..

dan
Post by: Silvo on October 07, 2009, 07:52:59 PM
hi all,

how accessible is Crowdy Head? can you get in there with a Commodore towing a camper?

Dan
Post by: Broady on October 07, 2009, 08:11:07 PM
You'll have to add 1 more to the list (maybe 2 if the Minister for War and Finance can make it). At the moment i'll be heading up with dsilvestro and bigjules on the Thursday night. See ya'll there!  :cheers:
Post by: BigJules on October 07, 2009, 08:28:11 PM
I reckon we might crack the record for the number of campers ad fourbies on this one:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 11 & 14)
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)
;D  Brett (1 adult)
:-\  NewcastleKnight (2 adults, 2 kids 12 & 15)

;D  Broadys GU (2 adults)
Post by: Laith on October 07, 2009, 08:30:46 PM
hi all,

how accessible is Crowdy Head? can you get in there with a Commodore towing a camper?

Dan

no problems. The dirt road was just redone for the long weekend just passed.
Post by: Silvo on October 07, 2009, 08:48:23 PM
Thanks Laith. I've got some friends who might be buying a camper on the weekend and i'm sure they'd love a trip ASAP in it.

Dan
Post by: darren on October 08, 2009, 06:57:15 AM
Hasn't this got big while i've been away. I am really looking forward to this.
I really need a break
Darren
Post by: Laith on October 08, 2009, 07:05:30 AM
It wont do you any harm Darren. A chance to relax.  :cheers:                                                                       
Post by: dorey76 on October 09, 2009, 10:44:23 AM
Looks like we are back in but still not 100% sure, broke my hand yesterday so will have to work around doctors visits and possible surgery. Still got my drinking hand and can supervise set up and pack up.  ;D
Post by: gronk on October 09, 2009, 11:37:42 AM
Looks like we are back in but still not 100% sure, broke my hand yesterday so will have to work around doctors visits and possible surgery. Still got my drinking hand and can supervise set up and pack up.  ;D

Bad luck on the hand, but the most important hand is still good !! ;D

Will be plenty of helpers to put your tent up and down Dorey, so no worries there !!
Post by: Gunna Do on October 09, 2009, 12:06:58 PM
Is it Mr. or Mrs. Dorey with the broken hand?  ???  Would be great if you can make it.  ;D
Post by: Snow on October 09, 2009, 12:34:54 PM
I think its Mr Dorey with the broken hand. :'( Here's hoping you get to the meet mate.  :cheers:
Post by: dorey76 on October 09, 2009, 12:57:07 PM
Yeah, Mr Dorey is the dumbass with the broken hand... lucky you only need one hand to watch bathurst  :cheers:
Post by: Silvo on October 10, 2009, 06:19:32 PM
Yeah, Mr Dorey is the dumbass with the broken hand... lucky you only need one hand to watch bathurst  :cheers:

and complete a number of other activities that we can't detail here..  ;D

oh come on... you were all thinking it.. i just said it..

dan
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 11, 2009, 05:08:30 PM
Ok it's official we are definite starters.  We will be heading up Thursday should arrive around lunch time.  There will be Mrs NK, Miss NK (12yrs) and me.  We are leaving the evil  >:D teenager at home, claims she needs to study for the school certificate....I will go with that because it means a lot less complaining.

I have lost track at which camping ground we are staying at.  Is it Kylies?

Post by: Gunna Do on October 11, 2009, 05:13:57 PM
Kylies it is NK.  ;D  Glad you could make it.  ;D
Post by: darren on October 11, 2009, 05:54:56 PM
I May be there about 8pm on thursday night now. Who else will be there by then??
Darren
Post by: barnray on October 11, 2009, 06:19:57 PM
We should be in about Midday Thursday if there isn't a holdup. Barnray
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 11, 2009, 06:58:10 PM
We all have Thursday off, giving the year 7 student a couple of days off school, so we should be there Thursday lunch time.
Post by: BigJules on October 12, 2009, 11:23:02 AM
Good to hear you're confirmed NK!
Post by: Snow on October 14, 2009, 07:48:37 PM
With so many kids, and Big Kids at the meet, what sport/games/entertainment gear is being brought along to keep them all entertained. ie Beach cricket, volley ball, treasure hunts, stuff like that. Are there any 'youth' trained swaggers with great ideas going?
Post by: bullfrog on October 14, 2009, 08:10:29 PM
Gday young Snow,
 The trouble & strife just happens to be a Girl Guide leader, I'm sure between now & trip time she could come up with some ideas ( especially for younger ones). Of course, some help  ;D would be great. Glad to help out if possible  :cheers: Bevan. Oh and Judy  ;D
Post by: gronk on October 14, 2009, 11:46:46 PM
I've got a good game for the kids....it's called the Houdini game....keeps them amused for hrs....suits all ages (even adults )...

Tie them up with hemp rope to the nearest tree and see how long it takes for them to get themselves free......now you may hear them start complaining after a short time, but with a bit of practise, you can learn to ignore it !!!!    :P :P :P
Post by: Laith on October 15, 2009, 07:41:33 AM
With the ammount of kids coming it would look like a greenpiece protest.
Post by: Gunna Do on October 15, 2009, 07:56:37 AM
Our kids pretty much disappear into the wilderness when camping, but we can bring the beach cricket wickets, bats and ball if required.  We normally end up with a soccer or footy ball stashed in the camper somewhere also.

Although with the numbers turning up at this meet, I think the beach will be the only available open area for any sports activity, besides tiddly winks.
Post by: BigJules on October 15, 2009, 08:41:08 AM
Similarly, I have a cricket bat and footy in the camper, but was also thinking about how we would entertain all the kids.

I'd suggest egg hunt for an afternoon/evening, happy to provide the chocolate eggs.

Also, I know my daughter loves to entertain and on most trips she and other kids put together a "show". We could suggest this to the kids and let them work it out.

Post by: Snow on October 15, 2009, 11:05:55 AM
Although with the numbers turning up at this meet, I think the beach will be the only available open area for any sports activity, besides tiddly winks.
Unlike at Newnes, at least there is no soccer ball swallowing wombat holes to ruin a good game of soccer. >:(
Post by: Brett on October 15, 2009, 12:52:21 PM
I reckon we might crack the record for the number of campers ad fourbies on this one:
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
;D  Brett (1 adult) Brett

;D  Roger the Rogue (2 adults)
;D  Pikey (2 adults, 3 kids)
;D  Broadys GU (2 adults)

How about we add some first names to the list. I have trouble remembering my own let alone going to remember everyone elses names.  ???

Maybe we need to get some sort of name tags..
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 15, 2009, 01:04:18 PM
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)
:-\  NewcastleKnight Marc, Trish and Sabrina [/font] (2 adults, 1 kids 12)

How about we add some first names to the list. I have trouble remembering my own let alone going to remember everyone elses names.  ???

Post by: Laith on October 15, 2009, 01:19:12 PM
;D  Gronk (2 adults)
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12) Laith, Jodie, Ryan & Hannah
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)

Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 15, 2009, 01:24:45 PM
I think name tags are a great idea.  Most people should have an old name tag or one of those plastic ones that you can refill lying around.  When I have been on large gatherings before we have used these and it makes it easy to introduce yourself and remember the names.
Post by: gronk on October 15, 2009, 01:26:58 PM
;D  Gronk (2 adults) Greig & Helen
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)

Post by: barnray on October 15, 2009, 01:29:17 PM
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults)  Russell & Kay

Post by: Gunna Do on October 15, 2009, 01:31:28 PM
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 14 & 12) Gary, Penny, Blake & Karly   Arriving very late Friday night  
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults) Russell & Kay
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla

Post by: Laith on October 15, 2009, 01:46:00 PM
A box of white stickers and a black marker would do for names.

I'm bad with names at the best of times let alone with a group of 63 new acquaintances.
Post by: dorey76 on October 15, 2009, 02:01:47 PM
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 14 & 12) Gary, Penny, Blake & Karly arriving very late friday night
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)  Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla  arriving friday mid morning

Post by: Gunna Do on October 15, 2009, 02:05:43 PM
Whilst everyone is adding their names to the list, perhaps arrival times may be a good idea also.

Unfortunately a very late Friday night arrival for us has now been confirmed.  Keep the home fires burning to give me something to aim for when I "DANGLE THE DUNLOPS" and come in to land.

;D  Gronk (2 adults) Greig & Helen
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 14 & 12) Gary, Penny, Blake & Karly   Arriving very late Friday night  
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12) Laith, Jodie, Ryan & Hannah
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults) Russell & Kay
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla Arriving Friday mid morning 
;D  Brett (1 adult) Brett Arriving Thursday Lunch
:-\  NewcastleKnight Marc, Trish and Sabrina  (2 adults, 1 kids 12)

Post by: barnray on October 15, 2009, 02:42:40 PM
;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 14 & 12) Gary, Penny, Blake & Karly arriving very late friday night
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults) Russell & Kay Arriving Midday Thursday
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)  Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla  arriving friday mid morning

Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 15, 2009, 02:45:45 PM
Whilst everyone is adding their names to the list, perhaps arrival times may be a good idea also.

Unfortunately a very late Friday night arrival for us has now been confirmed.  Keep the home fires burning to give me something to aim for when I "DANGLE THE DUNLOPS" and come in to land.

;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 14 & 12) Gary, Penny, Blake & Karly   Arriving very late Friday night  
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12) Laith, Jodie, Ryan & Hannah
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla Arriving Friday mid morning 
:-\  NewcastleKnight Marc, Trish and Sabrina  (2 adults, 1 kids 12) Plan is to arrive Thursday Lunch

Post by: Laith on October 15, 2009, 03:02:46 PM

;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12) Laith, Jodie, Ryan & HannahLaith & Ryan arrive Thursday afternoon. Jodie & Hannah arrive Friday afternoon
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
:-\  NewcastleKnight Marc, Trish and Sabrina  (2 adults, 1 kids 12) Plan is to arrive Thursday Lunch

Post by: barnray on October 15, 2009, 03:17:55 PM

;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12) Laith, Jodie, Ryan & HannahLaith & Ryan arrive Thursday afternoon. Jodie & Hannah arrive Friday afternoon
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults) Russell & Kay  Arriving Midday Thursday

Post by: Brett on October 15, 2009, 03:19:23 PM
;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12) Laith, Jodie, Ryan & Hannah Laith & Ryan arrive Thursday afternoon. Jodie & Hannah arrive Friday afternoon
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Barnray (2 adults) Russell & Kay Arrive Midday Thursday

Things are getting a bit messy with everyone adding there details. So if you just do a normal post Gunna Do can then add to the list.

The above list is true and correct so far I think as I went over everyone post and picked up the ones that dropped off.
Post by: BigJules on October 15, 2009, 03:28:05 PM
I'm happy to manage the list of names, and I'll see if I can print off some labels before I head away.

Feel free to PM, use IM over there on the left hand side of the page or email  me your name, arrival time etc, I will update one list rather than a new post each time.

Post by: Brett on October 15, 2009, 03:49:18 PM
Awesome Bigjules  :cheers:
Post by: Snow on October 15, 2009, 06:04:16 PM

Unfortunately a very late Friday night arrival for us has now been confirmed.  Keep the home fires burning to give me something to aim for when I "DANGLE THE DUNLOPS" and come in to land.

;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 14 & 12) Gary, Penny, Blake & Karly   Arriving very late Friday night  
;D  HEM19X (2 adults)
;D  Snow (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 4) Snow, Pam, Mikayla & JaydenArriving late Thursday arvo
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla Arriving Friday mid morning  
;D  Brett (1 adult) Brett Arriving Thursday Lunch
:-\  NewcastleKnight Marc, Trish and Sabrina  (2 adults, 1 kids 12)

Post by: BigJules on October 15, 2009, 06:14:19 PM
 ;D  Bigjules (2 adults, 1 6yo girl) Julian, Nicolette & Kate Arriving late Thursday night
;D  Bullfrog (2 adults, 3 kids 8, 10 & 13) Bevan, Judy, Caitlyn, Kirrily & Hayleigh Arriving about lunch Friday
;D  HEM19X (2 adults) Mark & KateArriving about lunch Friday
;D  Snow (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 4) Snow, Pam, Mikayla & JaydenArriving late Thursday arvo
;D  Barnray (2 adults) Russell & Kay Arriving midday Thursday
;D  Darren (2 adults, 2 kids 6 & 9) Darren, Jodie & the kids Arriving Thursday night
;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla Arriving Friday mid morning  
;D  Singo-26 (1 adult, 2 kids 3 & 7) Stephen, Mitchell & Allen
;D  DSilvestro  (2 adults, 1 kid <1) Dan, Michelle & Amelia Arriving late Thursday night
;D  Brett (1 adult) Brett Arriving Thursday Lunch
;D  NewcastleKnight (2 adults, 1 kids 12) Marc, Trish and Sabrina  Arriving Thursday arvo
;D  Marcus (1 adult, 3 kids 5, 9 & 11) Working
;D  Barmy Army (4 adults, 2 kids 6 & 7) David, Tracey and Lenny, Mark, Karen and Ellie  Arriving late Thursday night
;D  Broadys GU (2 adults) Arriving late Thursday night

At this rate, someone will be there tomorrow, lol  :laugh:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 16, 2009, 06:47:37 PM
Okay, I am a bit of a weather watcher so I have started to monitor the weather for Crowdy next weekend.  At this stage the seven day forecast says that Thursday and Friday should be fine with the temps in the mid to high 20's, partly cloudy but low chance of rain.  I will keep watching during the week and keep you posted but at this stage it's looking good!!
Post by: BigJules on October 16, 2009, 07:03:58 PM
Nice one, you beat me to it. I was pretty excited when I heard the forecast for the week, warmer, dryer and wind changing to the north.

We've just recruited two more campers!
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 16, 2009, 07:21:43 PM
 Crowdy Weather (http://www.weatherzone.com.au/local/local.jsp?lt=aploc&lc=2424&cuc=60141&rc=60141&clc=60141&fc=8970)

I know its a week to go and that weather can only accurately be predicted three days ahead but the seven day for cast just keeps getting better!! 
Post by: Snow on October 16, 2009, 07:24:25 PM
Looks like Brett will be the first one there. I can see it now, we all roll in to see him kickin' back. I can hear it now. "bout time you lot got here, I'm hangin' for a beer".  ;D
Post by: Gunna Do on October 17, 2009, 11:52:15 AM
With the Gunna Dos on the list to attend, the weather gods will be under a lot of pressure to do their usual and send in the rain and wind.  We have had a terrible run lately with our camping trips, so I recon we are about due to get a good weekend away.

NK it's all up to you to get this right.  All we want with your weather reports is good news OK.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 17, 2009, 11:53:58 AM
Gunna, I have put in an order for the type of weather we had at Stewarts Brook, except no cold nights!

Post by: Gunna Do on October 17, 2009, 11:56:32 AM
Sound perfect to me.  Good luck getting your order filled.
Post by: Snow on October 17, 2009, 12:05:53 PM
If I don't wash the ute within a day or two of the trip we should be right.  ;D
Post by: BigJules on October 17, 2009, 06:51:58 PM
I am keen to do a hangi. I previously mentioned a spit, but a few rightly pointed out that these are a lot of work over hours.

A hangi required some prep, and then you let it cook. Are there fire pits that could be used for this? Are there any rocks that could be collected to line the hole? Is anyone else interested?
Post by: barnray on October 17, 2009, 06:55:58 PM
Never had the experience but willing to help. What are you planning to cook? Barnray
Post by: BigJules on October 17, 2009, 07:00:09 PM
Another plus of the hangi is that people can provide their own meat and veges, so it does not require anyone to buy everything.

I have been thinking about some lamb and chicken, maybe some pork, with a tray of baking veges.

I'll probably debone a leg of lamb, season it and tie it.

I know the camp oven is popular, just thinking to try something different.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 18, 2009, 08:22:01 PM
Another plus of the hangi is that people can provide their own meat and veges, so it does not require anyone to buy everything.

I have been thinking about some lamb and chicken, maybe some pork, with a tray of baking veges.

I'll probably debone a leg of lamb, season it and tie it.

I know the camp oven is popular, just thinking to try something different.

I will have the meat and veges with me so if the Hangi is on then I will probably indulge in a new experience.  Not sure about fire pits at Crowdy or the availability of decent rocks.

My excitment level is increasing.....only four more sleeps and we are on the road!!
Post by: barnray on October 18, 2009, 08:40:29 PM
who's sleeping. Barnray
Post by: darren on October 19, 2009, 04:37:44 AM
Jules
 If you are keen we could find rocks on a wood run. Remember that there is moisture in the rocks they can explode. I remember a bloke i worked with had professional caterers come to his place and cook a hangi. They used scrap steel.  
Also if you cook a hangi we will expect you to wear traditional Polynesian dress for the occasion ;D
Darren.
Post by: Silvo on October 19, 2009, 05:27:44 AM
My excitment level is increasing.....only four more sleeps and we are on the road!!

When you start counting it in sleeps, it has as much hype as christmas.. and yes, i still wait to see what Santa has delivered for me..

Dan
Post by: BigJules on October 19, 2009, 07:38:18 AM
Santa (BlueBravo  ;D) isn't going to make it on this one, but it will still be a long few days until we head off.
Post by: Laith on October 19, 2009, 07:59:46 AM
I have heaps of "river rocks" in my creek at home but they have been wet for quite a while and as mentioned they would be dangerous.

There would have to be plenty of rocks around somewhere nearby. There is plenty of roadworks going on at the Pacific Hwy  ;D

Post by: Duchess on October 19, 2009, 04:41:56 PM
Just thought I'd stick my head in here and say...

Wow! This looks like a great weekend!

I was actually lining myself up for it and had a camper trailer in mind to borrow for the trip but unfortunately there is a significant event on in my town this weekend and I can't miss it (and no...its not my birthday!  ;) )

So, thanks for the invite Bigjules, might catch you all at the next meetup...

Will read with great interest the after weekend reports!
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 19, 2009, 04:45:59 PM
Ok, only three days out before the first arrivals at Crowdy so I thought I would give you a weather update.

I have a contact who is a meteorologist so dropped him a line and this is what he is telling me.  Firstly weather prediction more then five days in advance is a bit of hit and miss however, he thinks there may be some rain around but it won't be a wet weekend.  The rain will probably take the form of a storm or similar and should not cause too much inconvenience.  It is expected the days will be quite warm.

Here's hoping!
Post by: Gunna Do on October 19, 2009, 04:55:37 PM
NK, you being the resident weather man for this trip, I thought I would give you a little bit of extra info in the form or an American (can you believe it) Web site, which I have found to be quite accurate over the years, which considers a differant set of factors in offering its long term predictions.

I have it in favourites for checking ahead.

Check it out:- GFS Medium Range Forecasts of Vertical Velocity and Precipitation (http://www.wxmaps.org/pix/aus.vv.html)
Post by: Silvo on October 19, 2009, 06:21:23 PM
all, i'm trying to plan food for the trip - which day are we all considering the Hangi ?? on the saturday?

and what do i need to bring for it? having never done one before

dan
Post by: Snow on October 19, 2009, 06:35:00 PM
all, i'm trying to plan food for the trip - which day are we all considering the Hangi ?? on the saturday?

and what do i need to bring for it? having never done one before

dan

A camp oven in case it all goes pear shaped. ;D Just kidding. What we need is: An old canvas tarp to put over the foil wrapped tucker and camp ovens after the food is placed on a rack to keep it off the stones. Then the soil/sand/dirt is filled in over the tarp. 2 hrs later you dig it up and wala!!

Here are some pics of a small one we did in my mates backyard in Fiji. It fed 10 people. :cup:
Post by: Silvo on October 19, 2009, 06:54:58 PM
so everyone just brings some meat and vegetables?

dan
Post by: HEM19X on October 19, 2009, 08:23:31 PM
I don't want to sound like a "kill joy" but you will need a "plan B" if there is a total fire ban in place.

Post by: Snow on October 19, 2009, 08:26:22 PM
I don't want to sound like a "kill joy" but you will need a "plan B" if there is a total fire ban in place.

I have my Plan B, my trusty Trivet'n'dar (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=2041.0).  ;D Hang-on that uses heat beads  :'( ............... Hem, you can be a killjoy. Bring it all anyway and see what may be. :cup:
Post by: darren on October 20, 2009, 04:44:12 AM
 That looks great..
 As for the fire. My theory on roasts is always bring somthing you can slice and cook anothother way. That way if its flogging down or there is a fire ban you are still ok.
Darren
Post by: Silvo on October 20, 2009, 06:47:15 AM
come on boys.. don't get too distracted.. a shopping list??
Post by: darren on October 20, 2009, 07:02:11 AM
Truffle and spatchcock might be nice in a hangi
Darren
Post by: BigJules on October 20, 2009, 07:36:34 AM
Grouse would be grouse. Saturday would be the day, IMO, that we could give it a go.

Just tried to contact DECC on status of any fire bans, will confirm after 09000HRS when they open.

UPDATE: No fire bans in place currently, and not expected for this weekend!
Post by: gronk on October 20, 2009, 09:23:50 AM
I would say almost no chance of a fire ban.......but rain is another matter !!!!! ;D

Due to a few things happening this week, getting food organised for a Hungi may be a bit hard, but it may be a bit like a stew....chuck a few things together and see what happens !!
Post by: Laith on October 20, 2009, 09:49:56 AM
I know how things can change quickly, but the last few days (this one looking the same) have been both sunnier and warmer than we have had for quite a while. Perfect weather.

There is a great butcher in Laurieton (Wiggly Tail Pork Chop Shop). Its only a short drive away for anyone who decides on the day they need some meat to bury in the dirt.
Post by: BigJules on October 20, 2009, 09:56:41 AM
As long as you've packed the Worcestershire sauce, you can put anything in.

I'll grab some steel baskets tonight to put the food in.

Tips on what food can be cooked:
Basically any meat; lamb, beef, pork, poultry, fish. I intend to season mine for more flavour, something that can be absent in polynesian cooking
Veges: potatoes, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, carrots, any vege that cooks well when steamed.

The food can be wrapped in al-foil

One suggestion is to use aluminium food containers, with the cardboard lid, keeps everything well contained and prevents contamination from soil, ash etc.
Post by: darren on October 20, 2009, 10:07:51 AM
If i hit anything in the next few days ill bring it if you like ;D
Just not my wallabies though
Darren
Post by: Gunna Do on October 20, 2009, 10:41:13 AM
We'll have some sort of roast packed anyway (for the Cobb ;D), but might bring a couple of lamb legs and vegies to wrap up and throw in the Hungi.  Will the wool burn off in a Hungi?  ???
Post by: Snow on October 20, 2009, 10:46:24 AM
I'll be bringing Lamb shanks, sweet potato, spud, a Taro if I can find one, carrot.  ;D

Pre wrap it all before we leave and be sure to wrap in 2 or 3 layers of foil.
Post by: BigJules on October 20, 2009, 10:48:36 AM
If completely wraped in foil, how does the steam cooking process work?

It seems a sensible approach, but I imagine it adds to the cooking time, though this is not a constraint for us.
Post by: Snow on October 20, 2009, 10:53:48 AM
As you can see from the Fiji photos my mate wrapped everything in foil. The one thing he did do though was to place big green leaves over the tucker before he put the tarp over it all. I don't recall what tree the leaves came from though. If you spot a banana tree on the way up or down anyone, grab a few leaves of it. ;D
Post by: BigJules on October 20, 2009, 11:04:57 AM
In the course of my research I saw cabbage leaves used where no banana fronds were available.
Post by: darren on October 20, 2009, 03:04:24 PM
Just on a side note
 Ther will have to be a hole dug. I will have a crowbar with me ( for other reasons)  if the grounds a bit hard we may need it.
Darren

PS
 Ive often been told im digging a hole for myself
Post by: Brett on October 20, 2009, 03:19:17 PM
I have just finished work. 7 days off! Woo hoo. Still got a few hours of packing to do then an early night for an early start in the morning.

See you guys Thursday.  8)
Post by: BigJules on October 20, 2009, 03:37:14 PM
Don't forget to pack some stickers
Post by: Gunna Do on October 20, 2009, 04:10:46 PM
Now as I start to read about people packing up and heading off to Crowdy Bay National Park for an early start to the weekend,  I am already getting very itchy feet and feeling a little depressed thinking that not only will I have to wait untill Friday night before I can even leave home, but I still have to do two more days at work before then.  >:(  I will be expecting a couple of people to sit up Friday Night to have a beer or two with me when I arrive.

Safe travels for all those attending, especially those travelling long distances.  If you get there and find you have forgotten anything or think that there is anything I may be able to bring from home to help out, please do not hessitate to ring me.  A few of those arriving early have my phone numbers.

Look forward to catching up again with some old friends as well as meeting and making some new ones.
Post by: Duchess on October 20, 2009, 05:44:11 PM
Hey guys,

If you're wanting to know about total fire bans, then the best place to check that out is here...

http://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/dsp_more_info_latest.cfm?CON_ID=5828 (http://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/dsp_more_info_latest.cfm?CON_ID=5828)

Generally speaking, a total fire ban is only put into effect about 24 hours before the day of the ban. So, you won't really know about them until the day before. We usually get paged 12 hours ahead of a total fire ban (yes, I'm an RFS volunteer) for our area.

Hope this is of some help...
Post by: Snow on October 20, 2009, 06:05:36 PM
Thanks for the info Duchess. :cup: If they do bung a ban on I'm pretty sure the NPWS will be out letting people know. Especially after the recent fires in the area and up north. :cheers:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 20, 2009, 06:15:38 PM
Now as I start to read about people packing up and heading off to Crowdy Bay National Park for an early start to the weekend,  I am already getting very itchy feet and feeling a little depressed thinking that not only will I have to wait untill Friday night before I can even leave home, but I still have to do two more days at work before then.  >:(  I will be expecting a couple of people to sit up Friday Night to have a beer or two with me when I arrive.

Safe travels for all those attending, especially those travelling long distances.  If you get there and find you have forgotten anything or think that there is anything I may be able to bring from home to help out, please do not hessitate to ring me.  A few of those arriving early have my phone numbers.

Look forward to catching up again with some old friends as well as meeting and making some new ones.

You will be right Gunna, now I would like to say I will be up waiting for you but I am more of a sprinter then a stayer so you will hear me before you see me..... ;D
Title: !
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 20, 2009, 06:20:43 PM
Okay, I will give a final weather report tomorrow before I head off but from what I can see, Thursday, Friday and Saturday will be the pick of the days.  May be a little rain on Saturday evening.

Sunday is the dodgy day.  From what I can gleam I think that it will be fine in the morning and the day will be warm but there will be a change at some stage of the day and it will likely result in a thunderstorm.  We should be packed up before rain hits, I hope!

Tomorrow will give me more of an idea about Sunday.  So from what I am reading now bring your sunnies, swimmers, suncreen and be prepared for sweeeeeet few days.

For those of you that like a surf the winds will be off shore in the am so early rise and hit the beach!

EDIT:  Fresh off the press from my weather contact and sorry but Sunday does not look good....I hate a wet pack up

Sunday now looks like the day that will be a bit of a worry...with a pretty strong trough coming through the area there is probably going to be a fair bit of rain or storm action throughout the day, with Sat looking like maybe a shower or a storm (but otherwise most of the day will be fine for you to do whatever you want)

Saturday is also more likely to be around 30-32C, and Sun mid 20's.
Post by: Brett on October 20, 2009, 06:21:48 PM
  >:(  I will be expecting a couple of people to sit up Friday Night to have a beer or two with me when I arrive.

That will depend on how many Beer Fridge inspections I get done during the day, but I hope we will still be partying when you arrive.
Post by: Silvo on October 20, 2009, 06:44:51 PM
i'm kind of glad sunday will be pack -up day then.. might have to throw up the tarp to cover the lot on saturday so i'm not packing up in the rain on sunday..

2 more sleeps

dan

oh.. P.s - username change for me..
Post by: Silvo on October 20, 2009, 07:01:22 PM
holy crap, 38 adults and 23 kids.. a great gathering to rival that of the scouts.

dan
Post by: Snow on October 20, 2009, 08:06:49 PM
holy crap, 38 adults and 23 kids.. a great gathering to rival that of the scouts.

dan

Yep, we've set the bar with this one. ;D
Post by: BigJules on October 20, 2009, 08:35:23 PM
I've just de-boned and seasoned two legs of lamb for my hangi - I'm looking forward to this  :cheers:

Boy scout pate, followed by lamb and veges. Too much?  :laugh:
Post by: macca on October 20, 2009, 08:48:52 PM
What a fantastic turn out, you guys have a great time and stay safe and dont drink too much  :cheers: :cheers:, funny thing I'm still trying to find out how much is too much
from the jealous one with the still half built camper
Post by: Silvo on October 20, 2009, 11:00:24 PM
What a fantastic turn out, you guys have a great time and stay safe and dont drink too much  :cheers: :cheers:, funny thing I'm still trying to find out how much is too much
from the jealous one with the still half built camper

if we find out how much is too much, i'll make sure to at least video tape it for youtube.  ;D

dan
Post by: Snow on October 21, 2009, 01:12:03 PM
Unfortunately circumstances will prevent us from leaving home before Friday morning. So, a few things to be sorted.

Pikey: Please save us a sweet spot to camp. :cup:

Brett: Beer will still be cold. :cheers:

Gunna Do:  We will still get there before you guys.  :P >:D

The rest: See ya when we get there.  ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 21, 2009, 01:39:53 PM
I am home from a work a little early today and I have been getting things ready.  All was going well till I went to fill the water tank up and low and behold the water was going in one hole and out the other...bugger.

Sure enough the bung was off and do you think I can remember what I have done with it....nope ???

So a mercy dash to Jayco and it is now sorted.... :D
Post by: singo-26 on October 21, 2009, 04:00:47 PM
Well I may be out for the weekend with a broken rig. Have been trying to isolate the problem for about 4 weeks now with no luck ( Overheating). If i can get it sorted (It's at radiator place now) I'll be up Sat lunchtime as I have a medical appt in Sydney for mum on Friday. Hope to catch up Sat.

Post by: BigJules on October 21, 2009, 05:30:52 PM
That's no good Steve, hope you get it sorted and we see you and the boys up there.

Best of luck to your mum on Friday.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 21, 2009, 05:32:45 PM
All the prep work has been done.  car all but packed trailer all but packed.  Should leave around 7.30am and arrive at Crowdy well and truly by lunch time if all goes well.

As for the weather, well Sunday is definitely looking like rain. 
Post by: BigJules on October 21, 2009, 05:38:41 PM
Latest news/status:

1.   ;D  Bigjules (2 adults, 1 6yo girl + a nephew, whichever one is best behaved tonight ;D ) Julian, Nicolette & Kate Arriving late Thursday night  
2.   ;D  Gronk (2 adults) Greig & Helen
3.   ;D  Gunna Do (2 adults, 2 kids 14 & 12) Gary, Penny, Blake & Karly   Arriving very late Friday night  
4.   ;D  Laith (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 12) Laith, Jodie, Ryan & Hannah
5.   ;D  Bullfrog (2 adults, 3 kids 8, 10 & 13) Bevan, Judy, Caitlyn, Kirrily & Hayleigh Arriving about lunch Friday  
6.   ;D  HEM19X (2 adults) Mark & KateArriving about lunch Friday  
7.   ;D  TRUPM (2 adults, 2 kids 3 & 1) family commitments
8.   ;D  Snow (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 4) Snow, Pam, Mikayla & Jayden Arriving Friday
9.   ;D  Barnray (2 adults) Russell & Kay Arriving midday Thursday  
10.   ;D  Darren (2 adults, 2 kids 6 & 9) Darren, Jodie & the kids Arriving Thursday night  
11.   ;D  Dorey76 (2 adults, 2 kids 2 & 3)Grant, Leisa, Jarren  & Ayla Arriving Friday mid morning  
12.   ;D  Singo-26 (1 adult, 2 kids 3 & 7) Stephen, Mitchell & Allen Arriving Saturday lunch time maybe
13.   ;D  Silvo  (2 adults, 1 kid <1) Dan, Michelle & Amelia Arriving late Thursday night  
14.   ;D  Brett (1 adult) Brett Arriving Thursday Lunch  
15.   ;D  NewcastleKnight (2 adults, 1 girl 12) Marc, Trish and Sabrina  Arriving Thursday arvo
16.   ;D  Roger the Rogue (2 adults)
17.   ;D  Pikey (2 adults, 3 kids)
18.   ;D  Broadys GU (1 adult) Arriving late Thursday night  

19.   ;D  Marcus (1 adult, 3 kids 5, 9 & 11) Working
20.   ;D  Barmy Army (4 adults, 2 kids 6 & 7) David, Tracey and Lenny, Mark, Karen and Ellie  Arriving late Thursday night   kids have chicken pox

Post by: TRUPM on October 21, 2009, 06:50:39 PM
Gday Everyone.
Going to have to sit this one out. Things havnt worked out as planned, work taking priority and all my time at the moment, and my wife still has TAFE on Saturday.
We are thinking of coming down for a bbq lunch and say Gday on Sunday. Anyone still going to be setup or will most people be packing up and heading home?
Shame we wont be able to camp, this looks like its going to be a fantastic weekend.
Post by: Gunna Do on October 21, 2009, 06:53:50 PM
TRUPM, we are undecided at the moment but may stay over Sunday night yet.  Weather will probably be determining factor.
Post by: Broady on October 21, 2009, 07:08:45 PM
Will be heading up less 1 as the sister-in-law is due to have her first this weekend and the better half needs to stay behind. I asked if she could have a long labour but apparently thats not an option. Oh well, look forward to seeing you all up there.  :cheers:
Post by: Snow on October 21, 2009, 07:53:01 PM
Will be heading up less 1 as the sister-in-law is due to have her first this weekend and the better half needs to stay behind. I asked if she could have a long labour but apparently thats not an option. Oh well, look forward to seeing you all up there.  :cheers:
Nah! First monkies are always overdue. Bet it doesn't come before Tuesday. ;D See you there Broady. :cheers:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 21, 2009, 07:55:20 PM
Geez, dropping like flies there may be more scouts then myswaggers...lol  :D ;D
Post by: Snow on October 21, 2009, 07:57:38 PM
Geez, dropping like flies there may be more scouts then myswaggers...lol  :D ;D
The scouts are going to camp somewhere else. We done got the whole place to ourselves. :cup:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 21, 2009, 07:59:59 PM
Yeah, just spotted that Snow in the other thread.... it's better they are in another spot.. " a hunting we will go, a hunting we will go, we'll catch a scout and put him in a box and never let him go"..... ;D
Post by: bullfrog on October 21, 2009, 08:03:04 PM
Clean undies.........check
Armour All the thongs........check
Beer.........check
Yep, I'm all packed  ;D. 2 more sleeps , see you all there Friday lunch ,  :cheers: Bevan.
Post by: BigJules on October 21, 2009, 08:07:56 PM
Yep, good news on the scouts, a bit too noisy, and I was worried about corrupting their young minds as they see grown men naked and affected by Mehkong  :police:
Post by: Snow on October 21, 2009, 08:10:36 PM
Yep, good news on the scouts, a bit too noisy, and I was worried about corrupting their young minds as they see grown men naked and affected by Mehkong  :police:
It's probably something that would take me quite a while to recover from as well...and I'm ex Navy.  :-X;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 21, 2009, 08:15:38 PM
Actually it would have been character building for the young fellas.... it's not every day you get to see these types of things and it would have given them something to aspire to in later life...... >:D 8)
Post by: Silvo on October 21, 2009, 08:21:08 PM
that's what scouts are all about right?

dan
Post by: Laith on October 21, 2009, 08:36:44 PM
I dont think they would have a badge for us.
Post by: HEM19X on October 21, 2009, 08:42:17 PM
Laith

Sure they do... "Those big buggers who took our campsite" badge.

In fact we will be wearing the shirts as well!!!

LOL

Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 21, 2009, 08:44:44 PM
Maybe the shirts could be like a badge... you have to do something to get it....lol

Post by: barnray on October 21, 2009, 09:36:07 PM
G'night all the trailer is packed, and the car seat is next, the grog is maturing  and I'll see you at Kylies. Barnray  :4x4:
Post by: Laith on October 21, 2009, 09:39:41 PM
Cya tomorrow Barnray. :cheers:
Post by: barnray on October 21, 2009, 09:42:41 PM
Yeah Mate looking forward to this meet I"ll tell ya.B
Post by: Snow on October 21, 2009, 10:24:09 PM
G'night all the trailer is packed, and the car seat is next, the grog is maturing  and I'll see you at Kylies. Barnray  :4x4:
G'night Elly May, Nite Jim Bob, Nite Barnray, Nite Laith.............you guys ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 22, 2009, 06:01:29 AM
Ready to go...all packed, trailer hitched and just waiting for the passengers to eat b/fast and the eldest to go to school and we are off..............
Post by: Laith on October 22, 2009, 06:05:55 AM
Have a safe trip. Cya soon.

Oh by the way... the weather isnt looking too good  :-[
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 22, 2009, 06:11:29 AM
Should be right today

"Thursday A fine morning. Showers and thunderstorms developing during the afternoon, mainly in the north and west. Light to moderate northwest to northeast winds, fresh near the coast in the afternoon."

Only  a 40% chance of rain with predicted amount between 1mm and 5mm.

Radar is clear.

Post by: BigJules on October 22, 2009, 06:22:36 AM
Doesn't matter what the weather is doing, I'm going camping!

Just got to get today out of the way, then we're off.
Post by: darren on October 22, 2009, 06:35:07 AM
Im with you Jules
You cant have a bad day in the bush
Darren
Post by: Brett on October 22, 2009, 10:53:09 AM
I call 1st beers!

So far it's just Newcastleknight and me. And Blue skys above!
Post by: toad on October 22, 2009, 11:22:29 AM
 Have a ripper time everyone!
Wish we could make it, but family commitments (froggy's birthday) is on this Saturday.

Safe travels.
Post by: darren on October 22, 2009, 11:45:35 AM
tick.tick.tick.tick......

Post by: Snow on October 22, 2009, 12:00:28 PM
Pikey is on his way and will be there late this afternoon.  :cup: Wish I could head off now..... :'( fratzum..rattum...fratum!!!! >:(
Post by: DANBRI on October 22, 2009, 12:17:53 PM
Enjoy guys and girls, just a bit of bad timing for us and this trip.

Looking forward to the tall tales and pretty pics  :D.

Post by: gronk on October 22, 2009, 12:53:31 PM
Enjoy guys and girls, just a bit of bad timing for us and this trip.

Looking forward to the tall tales and pretty pics  :D.

There will be no tall tales......the whole truth and nothing but......

May have to edit a couple of pics though  !! ;D ;D
Post by: BigJules on October 22, 2009, 04:03:24 PM
We are on the road with broady and dan. I did forget the hessian bags for the hangi if anyone has any they could bring. See you there 8. 3Opm.
Post by: weso on October 22, 2009, 05:51:18 PM
enjoy the trip guys and girls, wish we could have made it !! looking forward to picy's and the stories. 
Post by: barnray on October 22, 2009, 07:29:25 PM
Better hurry up this place is unreal, surf in the background no scouts cold fridge cold beer and good tucker plus a few goanna's. Barnray
Post by: HEM19X on October 22, 2009, 07:44:06 PM
Brett,

You must have pulled some serious k's ... bet you were thirsty when you got there!!!!

CYA 2morrow...lookout for the Trackabout Twins [Bullfrog & Hem]
Post by: Snow on October 22, 2009, 08:33:04 PM
Early, 6AM, getaway tomorrow to beat the traffic at the M2 then a cruisy pootle up to Crowdy. See ya'll tomorrow! ;D
Post by: darren on October 25, 2009, 03:55:15 PM
Just got home
 Top trip
 Top company

Top job Jules :cup:

Thanks everybody
Darren
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 25, 2009, 04:10:01 PM
Just got home
 Top trip
 Top company

Top job Jules :cup:

Darren

Not long home as well and I agree 100% with what Darren has posted.  Had a fantastic weekend.
Post by: weso on October 25, 2009, 04:26:08 PM
come on guys    :worthles:
Post by: Brett on October 25, 2009, 04:37:09 PM
Well I'm sitting in Tamworth having a few beers at the Oasis. Reflecting on what was a great long weekend. Finally putting faces to names and making new freinds.

Post by: Silvo on October 25, 2009, 04:46:07 PM
bloodyhell, shell and i are back home now.. EPIC trip back, trafffic, baby screaming, multiples stops.. awesome weekend guys... photos to follow

dan
Post by: Gunna Do on October 25, 2009, 04:54:30 PM
Hope someone's got some pics to show, I just got my camera out of the Patrol with not one pic from the weekend on it.  Didn't think I needed to take any with the Paparazzi floating around.

Great weekend was had by all the Gunna Do clan, it was good to catch up with some old friends, make some new friends and discover a new bit of Australia.

Top trip Big Jules.  Two thumbs up from all of us.

Went through torrential rain in patches on the trip home, so all the salt from the trip up the beach should be gone.

Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 25, 2009, 04:57:28 PM
Trish has photos I will dig them out tomorrow.  I have none because I was too busy sleeping... :D
Post by: BigJules on October 25, 2009, 05:27:06 PM
We're in a Who Flung Dung chinese takeaway on the Central Coast, leaving the traffic to clear. That was a tremendous weekend, thanks to all who attended. I think we've all made a few new friends this weekend, plus roped in some new members.

I'll get a trip report posted up a bit later. 
Post by: Laith on October 25, 2009, 05:30:41 PM
As has been said.. Thanks Jules (and of course his better half as she kept him in line  ;D). Top job on getting everyone together.

We had a great bunch of people there. Hope to catch up with you all again in the future.

It's now raining pretty hard so lets spare a thought for the few we left behind.  :-[

Post by: dorey76 on October 25, 2009, 05:39:17 PM
Have to agree with all, had a great week-end! Well done Jules  :cup:
Now, I thought I could snore, but after hearing the surround sound on saturday night, I am an amateur, even the resident koala packed up and buggered off  ;D  We made it home in good time, had an easy run, feeling pretty stuffed now, might be an early one tonight  8)
Post by: Brett on October 25, 2009, 05:47:11 PM
Now, I thought I could snore, but after hearing the surround sound on saturday night, I am an amateur, even the resident koala packed up and buggered off  ;D 

Now no need to be harsh on NK, wait a minute mmm I went to bed while you were still at the fire... Nah you carnt be talking about me.
Post by: Laith on October 25, 2009, 05:59:05 PM
Dorey did say surround sound Brett.  ;D

There was only two trailers near the fire mate and one was was yours.

Its all good though Brett.. You were definitely noisier when you were awake. NK was rarely awake so I'm not sure. :D
Post by: bullfrog on October 25, 2009, 06:23:39 PM
 Back in Grafton safe & sound, much better run home.If anyone needed proof of what a great bunch of people the "swag family " are, they only had to come to Crowdy.In a word, the w/end was simply FANTASTIC  :cup: :cup: :cup:. Bigjules has set a pretty high bar to beat.Thanks for your efforts in getting it all happening.Thanks too I believe, to Laith for supplying fire wood.If I have missed anyone ...oooops  ;D. We had a terrific time, putting names & faces was great. Thanks to all for sharing your time, we enjoyed it very much. Oh yeah, Jude is loading up some pics, hopefully will post some tonight, some we'll send to respective members. :cheers: Bevan, Judy, & girls.
Oops nearly forgot, how good did the shirts look  :cup:. Well done Gunna Do organising the shirts.
Post by: bullfrog on October 25, 2009, 06:57:27 PM
Hey Guys,
He let me on so i can add some pictures.....had a wonderful time, thanks for the weekend
Mrs Bullfrog
Post by: barnray on October 25, 2009, 07:29:39 PM
Gronk and I are still here the system has not changed, after happy hour a good feed and more happy hour.
Laith have a good night after that shower.Russell
Post by: Laith on October 25, 2009, 07:40:38 PM
Thanks Russell. Shower was good. Wish I was there still, though I do need to catch up on some sleep.
Post by: Snow on October 25, 2009, 08:17:33 PM
Great meet  :cup: Great people  :cup: Great weather  :cup: Lots of memories  :cup: Thanks all for a top weekend. Great spot Jules  :cup: Here's some pics.
Post by: Gunna Do on October 26, 2009, 04:33:53 AM
Snow great pics.  :cup:  Just wondering what happened to the rest of the pics Mrs Snow took of Brett on the beach.  It must have been a difficult choice picking just one.

Bullfrog, your pic of the koala is a Photo of the Month winner for sure.  :cup:

How did you get NK to sit there long enough to get a photo?  ???  ;D

I forgot to thank all those that waited up for us to arrive on Friday night/Monday morning,  I know it was a huge effort having to sit around untill the wee (no pun meant Laith?) small hours, but it was greatly appreciated, even if you did all lay very low (no pun meant NK) as we drove past the turn-off on our way to who knows where.

Post by: Silvo on October 26, 2009, 06:02:10 AM
here we go, some photos from my camera.. i'm sure there as more, maybe they are stuck on the other camera.. i'll drag them off soon enough.

dan
Post by: darren on October 26, 2009, 06:03:00 AM
 'How did you get NK to sit there long enough to get a photo?'    

We could have had his portrait painted  ;D

I cant talk, i was doing similar on saturday night
Darren
Post by: Laith on October 26, 2009, 06:50:15 AM
We could have had his portrait painted  ;D

ROFL... :cup:

You were fighting it there for a while Darren. You did do all that running around helping to sort dinner so I guess you have an excuse.  :cheers:

PS. Some cool pics there guys.

Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 26, 2009, 07:27:09 AM
You would have been able to do a water colour painting Laith..... ;D
Post by: dorey76 on October 26, 2009, 04:00:37 PM
or a sculpture chiselled out of stone  ;D
Post by: barnray on October 26, 2009, 05:50:10 PM
Arrived home about midday after a very wet night and a wet pack up, left Gronk waiting for better conditions. Thank you one and all for a great weekend, we are looking forward to the next one. The better half is buying me some new hats about 2 sizes bigger after all the nice comments about my build Thank You. I've attached a couple of photos from the weekend and the rest will go in a web folder for all to see, the address will come later tonight
http://picasaweb.google.com/barnray0/200910261
Post by: Snow on October 26, 2009, 06:35:23 PM
Here's a candid campfire circle pano.  :cheers:
Post by: Silvo on October 26, 2009, 07:04:44 PM
wow Russell, it looks like it was a wet one for you after we all left.. funny how you've almost always got a coke zero in your hand..  :cheers:

dan
Post by: Snow on October 26, 2009, 07:11:10 PM
Here's Broady blowing wind up his recycled gas bottle camp oven cookers and Gronk giving the traditional camp oven on the coals the thumbs up. No losers here, both methods ended up a winner.  :cup:
Post by: barnray on October 26, 2009, 07:19:16 PM
Laith was drinking the same, seems to work alright I sleep well. The rain was a welcomed event like a hole in the head, it was a struggle to pack up, whats worse is the cleaning and drying all the canvas and ground sheet. Russell
Post by: Silvo on October 26, 2009, 07:45:42 PM
some more photos..

dan
Post by: Silvo on October 26, 2009, 07:46:46 PM
and the last batch.

dan
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 26, 2009, 07:51:19 PM
Dan, you have to hate that last pic.... back to the real world... yuk... :)
Post by: Snow on October 26, 2009, 07:53:13 PM
Just wondering what happened to the rest of the pics Mrs Snow took of Brett on the beach.  It must have been a difficult choice picking just one.
Tough alright, she went bananas with the camera.  ::) Here's another one I took. ;D
Post by: Silvo on October 26, 2009, 07:58:01 PM
yeah, i had to include it in there NK.. it wouldn't have shown the full trip if i didn't.. 15kms of that was FUN!!  :'(

dan
Post by: Laith on October 26, 2009, 08:01:43 PM
Laith was drinking the same, seems to work alright I sleep well. Russell

Worked a little to well on Saturday night Russell.  ;D Goes down very well but it sneakes up on you.

Couple of cute pics there Dan. Not the last one though. Thats probably one of the reasons some of you guys like to get away.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 26, 2009, 08:02:02 PM
It makes me realise how lucky I am to live where I do.   8)
Post by: Snow on October 26, 2009, 08:02:28 PM
It was a pain in the preverbial. >:( I was getting pretty frayed around the edges by the time we got onto Pennant Hill rd. Oh well at least there was no real hold ups like the Macksville truck smash drama that Bullfrog had to wait out.

Dan, Great pic of the line up with little Jayden running through. :cup:
Post by: Silvo on October 26, 2009, 08:41:32 PM
with 15kms of traffic to travel through (at 10km/h) and then another 1 hour left to get home (with a stop for the bay in there) needless to say it was a long drive home.. we arrived just after 5pm.. i think we left Crowdy at 11am.

dan
Post by: Snow on October 26, 2009, 08:55:44 PM
Ouch, slow trip, we left at 1.15pm and went up through Laurieton and onto the highway at Kew ??? following Pikey, and even thought it added 1/2 hr to the trip >:( we still got home at 6.00pm. All at the speed limit. :cup:

Mind you though, little girls are not designed to go 5 hours without a wee stop  :-[ and suffice to say said little girl was asleep  :angel: and didn't know she had flooded Grandads back seat. >:( But it is all good because now the tow buggy is getting a nice new set of Lambswool seat covers. Lesson...re-learned. ;D
Post by: barnray on October 26, 2009, 09:09:35 PM
Mate its all good I have a shopping list too which includes some bed covers, I not sure what Laith has on his list. B
Post by: DANBRI on October 26, 2009, 09:10:39 PM
So you all had a crap time then?

(DANBRI kicking himself because he couldn't make it)  :-[
Post by: Silvo on October 26, 2009, 09:22:15 PM
So you all had a crap time then?

(DANBRI kicking himself because he couldn't make it)  :-[

only on the way home, but that's the usual thing isn't it?

dan
Post by: barnray on October 26, 2009, 09:23:18 PM
You had better believe it, it didn't take much to make a lot of new friends and put faces to names. B
Post by: Broady on October 26, 2009, 09:35:32 PM
Glad to hear everyone made it home safe and sound. It was a great weekend that was spent with a group of great people. Thanks to everyone and i look forward to the next time we catch up.

I am going through the photos so will post up a few soon................. but heres a teaser.

(http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa163/BroadysGU/Untitled_Panorama1.jpg)
Post by: bullfrog on October 26, 2009, 09:39:35 PM
Hey all,
Glad to hear you all made it home in one piece.See there was another fatal near Taree on Sunday night. As they say, better to be a bit late than dead on time. I think it was pretty close to 1:00pm when we left Kylies, parked at home about 5:15pm including a stop for some KFC at Kempsey. Thanks again to all for a top trip, thoroughly enjoyed it.  :cheers: Bevan.
Post by: Broady on October 26, 2009, 09:44:04 PM
I saw so many idiots driving in the rain i am surprised there weren't more. Especially when i saw about 4 marked and 5 (maybe 6) unmarked cars between Crowdy and Maitland. Interesting thing though, I got 3 separate phone enquiries about the camper from others also stuck in the traffic (from the number on the side). So I guess its not all bad.
Post by: Brett on October 27, 2009, 07:02:02 AM
I made it home around 2030hrs last night. Drove through the longest rain depression ever! almost 1300kms of light rain and drizzle and 80kms of torrential rain in the last stint from Clermont to Moranbah.

Once again it was great to meet everyone and well worth the effort to come down. Looking forward to doing it again sometime in the not so distance future. Anyway I will have a look at what photos / video i have and try an post it later today.
Post by: Laith on October 27, 2009, 07:32:17 AM
Good on ya for making the trip Brett. A bloody long one but well worth it I'm sure. :cheers:
Post by: Gunna Do on October 27, 2009, 09:26:40 AM
 :angel:  :angel: Something this cute, couldn't be too much trouble in the car going home I am sure.  Quiet as a mouse, never heard her make a noise all weekend.  :angel:  :angel:

(http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=2997.0;attach=9252;image)
Post by: Silvo on October 27, 2009, 12:38:18 PM
hmm.. looks can be deceiving.. she is a good little'un i have to admit.. a couple of stops for a bottle or two and a nappie change, and she's happy enough..
Post by: DANBRI on October 27, 2009, 12:47:31 PM
We've mastered the 'nappy change' in various conditions, with a 7 month old and a 18 month old both filling the things regularly, it's now like a precision pit stop.

"Wipes.. Check, Cream.. Check, Nappy... Check, Nose Peg... Check"  ;D

On one occasion, the canvas seat cover (because you need a flat bed of such we tend to use the passenger seat) got spray painted and I spent the next half hour of my life washing it off in an icey cold Victorian High Country fresh water creek. The poor platypus down stream didn't feel too crash hot that day...  8)
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 27, 2009, 02:28:54 PM
A few pictures taken by lovely wife, Trish.  I was asleep so I could not take them....  8)
Post by: blackstump on October 27, 2009, 02:56:29 PM
Thats not one of those kangaroos your all burying there is it ??

O0
Post by: darren on October 27, 2009, 02:58:25 PM
Nice action shot of the fire. Its amazing what a little kindling can do
Darren
Post by: Snow on October 27, 2009, 03:02:39 PM
Thats not one of those kangaroos your all burying there is it ??

O0
Diggin up. ;D Not roo but a bit of goat, lamb, Pork, veges n bits. The stuff right next to the rocks cooked well and the rest was finished of in the camp ovens. All up it was a great event. Don't let BigJules tell you anything else. We all though it was a ripper idea. :cup:
Post by: darren on October 27, 2009, 03:32:20 PM
Brett's on the shovel so there must be food in there.. ;D
Darren
Post by: darren on October 27, 2009, 06:23:55 PM
I have to agree with Snow. Jules put in a top effort with dinner despite things like wood that wouldn't light, rocks that exploded and worst of all, all us p*ssed clowns giving 'expert' advice.
 I'd say with what was learnt the next one will work a treat.
 Darren
Post by: Snow on October 27, 2009, 06:36:23 PM
I have to agree with Snow. Jules put in a top effort with dinner despite things like wood that wouldn't light, rocks that exploded and worst of all, all us p*ssed clowns giving 'expert' advice.
 I'd say with what was learnt the next one will work a treat.
 Darren
Yeh, all up it went together all right, it was just the materials were not to specification. We needed a shallower longer pit, more 'non expanding' river rocks, seasoned wood, wet hession and longer in the ground. The P*issed up experts were right on spec though, doing it to perfection. ;D
Post by: HEM19X on October 27, 2009, 07:32:17 PM
Just to reiterate, GREAT WEEKEND guys & Gals,

Fantastic to catch up with you all & put faces to names.

Will post some pics soon.

Mark & Kate

P.S. Should we tell JT that the "Trackabout Trio" was the most represented CT?
Post by: BigJules on October 27, 2009, 07:33:02 PM
The hangi was a bloody debacle, but I'm glad we gave it a go. My biggest disappointment was that it delayed everyone's meal, not that the hangi did not complete the task.

Thanks to all who participated, and to those who offered advice, I think you'd agree that I (we even) took on some of the advice. I really enjoyed the prep, with many people providing input and assistance. Also, thanks for keeping cool, and getting all the food into camp ovens to finish off. Muchos gracias to Darren here.

I'll take responsibility for the failure, as in my eagerness and with an obsession about getting on with it, I withdrew the rocks prematurely, allowing them to cool too much before we got the food in. Possibly not enough steam producing materials as well.

I will have another go, but not on so grand a scale. Then, bring your roasts 'cause we'll have another go  ;)
Post by: BigJules on October 27, 2009, 07:36:28 PM
P.S. Should we tell JT that the "Trackabout Trio" was the most represented CT?

Absolutely, plus you should make sure he starts promoting the fact that a woman can put one up on her own, with a couple of small kids  in tow  ;D
Post by: barnray on October 27, 2009, 07:38:52 PM
Mate you did well, There has to be a first one which you learn from the next one you do will be done to perfection. I don't think you will have anybody complaining about a fantastic weekend and b***dy fantastic company. Russell and Kay
Post by: Snow on October 27, 2009, 07:39:20 PM
I will have another go, but not on so grand a scale. Then, bring your roasts 'cause we'll have another go  ;)
How about at Upper Colo. Practice makes for good results. If we can find some 'non expanding' rock that is. ;D
Post by: dorey76 on October 27, 2009, 07:52:57 PM
and now that Leisa has proven herself I think I'll stick with supervising and fridge tester from now on. ;D
Post by: HEM19X on October 27, 2009, 07:55:03 PM
Dorey,

We will pay a fortune for the instructional video!!

Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 27, 2009, 07:56:21 PM
Haha Dorey, I am thinking that Leisa proved herself a long time ago and you a just mere porn....lol
Post by: Laith on October 27, 2009, 07:57:37 PM
You are a hard working fridge tester Dorey76. Up till 2am a few nights "working".
Post by: dorey76 on October 27, 2009, 08:04:07 PM
Got to put in the overtime on the tough jobs.

I think I would cop a bit of wraith from everyones better halves if I released an instructional video but some how I think I'll have to start puttin' in a little more effort once I'm better.

Yeah Leisa proved herself when she started our Cape trip last year by driving from home to Mackay with the camper in tow with just the kids while I went to Darwin for work.
Post by: Snow on October 27, 2009, 08:04:20 PM
Haha Dorey, I am thinking that Leisa proved herself a long time ago and you a just mere porn....lol
Pawn, NK, Pawn  ::) The last thing Leisa needs is you giving Dorey the wrong idea. >:D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 27, 2009, 08:07:37 PM
Good point Snow, teaches me for not reading my posts..... :laugh:
Post by: Laith on October 27, 2009, 08:08:55 PM
Pawn, NK, Pawn  ::) The last thing Leisa needs is you giving Dorey the wrong idea. >:D

OMG NK!!!

I was going to say I just about wet myself laughing when I read that but you guys would run with it  ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 27, 2009, 08:13:09 PM

OMG NK!!!

I was going to say I just about wet myself laughing when I read that but you guys would run with it  ;D

It's okay we would only do it "a little bit" :laugh:
Post by: macca on October 27, 2009, 08:26:30 PM
Hey Bigjules dont be to hard on yourself, thats what camping is all about. I am married to a Kiwi and the relo's start about 9 in the morning when they put a hangi down, it would be a bloody lot of work for that many people but a lot of fun drinking while you were waiting. Good on you for making the effort :cheers:
Post by: Laith on October 27, 2009, 08:32:49 PM
At the end of the day Jules got everyone away from there campers and together in one place chatting (and drinking).  Awesome job mate. It was good doing something different as well.
Post by: Snow on October 27, 2009, 08:38:57 PM
At the end of the day Jules got everyone away from there campers and together in one place chatting (and drinking).  Awesome job mate. It was good doing something different as well.
I will have to say that while some were enjoying the amber fluid and mixers there was not one grogged up nong. This is a testament to the attitude that comes with identifying with the whole Myswag idea. The way we associate on-line is transferred to the camp ground. That is gold that money can't buy.  :cheers:
Post by: macca on October 27, 2009, 08:50:33 PM
OK Snow gotta ask, if there wasnt one how many were there?  :D :D just kiddin looks like you had an awesome time with a great bunch of fellow campers
Post by: bullfrog on October 27, 2009, 09:19:25 PM
Bang on the money Snow  :cup:. I think I remember saying to someone (maybe your good self?) that one think I noticed was the fact that the people we met in person were just like they are on line, no bull$it act, just genuine, honest folk who like camping & all that goes with it. :cheers:
Big Jules,
Even though Judy & I decided to do our own thing for tea Sat. night with the kids, the effort you put in to the whole w/end was awesome, don't be down on yourself mate. If all in life went as planned ,it would be a boring time.The trip was a great success, have alook at the page count , seen any bigger?? Thanks again, Bevan, Judy & kids  :cheers:
Post by: Macleod on October 28, 2009, 08:49:40 AM
Looks like you all had a great time & it looks like a nice spot.  Love the shirts :cup:

Mrs Mac
Post by: Brett on October 31, 2009, 11:32:10 AM
Hey guys here is a little video of my driveby all the myswag campers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZSpJ9qjSW0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ZSpJ9qjSW0)
Post by: Laith on October 31, 2009, 12:26:13 PM

That's pretty cool Brett. Nice idea.
Post by: Bushman on October 31, 2009, 02:28:48 PM
 :cup:  great work Brett
Post by: Silvo on October 31, 2009, 03:08:03 PM
nice video brett.. at 2:01 though, you've spelt the name incorrectly.. that should ave been "mini-me"
Post by: Gunna Do on October 31, 2009, 06:08:34 PM
Brett,  we all loved the video.  What a great record. Tks.   That sign at the start of the video was where we, at 11.30pm Friday night, turned right instead of left, sending us on a journey over a million corrogations, only to come to a dead end and have to travel over those same million corrogations to get back to where we were 15 minute prior.

Now where is that trip report Bigjules?
Post by: darren on October 31, 2009, 06:17:01 PM
Top job mate.
 It was all going good until the end. Did you veer off course and run into some carnies? They looked a bit dodgy to me
Darren
Post by: Laith on October 31, 2009, 06:19:23 PM
ROFL.....It's funny cause I wasn't there.
Post by: bullfrog on October 31, 2009, 06:25:53 PM
Gday Brett,
Great job on the video  :cup:, nice way to record the trip. Glad to hear you got home in one piece too mate.  :cheers:Bevan .
Post by: Ben... on November 01, 2009, 09:24:27 AM
Great video brett, makes me wish i was there
Post by: Snow on November 01, 2009, 09:58:24 AM
Fantastic record Brett. :cup: It was a top spot to get together. :cheers:
Post by: BigJules on November 01, 2009, 07:13:56 PM
Finally had time to get on and look at the video, that is fantastic!

Post by: Blue Bravo on November 02, 2009, 04:11:19 PM
So you all had a good time without us eh. Well that just not fair :'(
Post by: weso on November 08, 2009, 12:12:19 PM
well done on the Video Brett, Jules mate no one can say you you couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery now can they !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well done mate well bloody done.
Post by: Lex on November 08, 2009, 04:30:38 PM
GEEZ!

Why did I only just notice this?  I have been wanting to go back to Crowdy for years! I would have come if I had seen this earlier!!

>:( >:( >:(
Post by: darren on November 26, 2009, 10:58:36 AM
Hey Broady
 What happened to all those photos you took. Do you have any to post????
Darren
Post by: BigJules on November 26, 2009, 01:15:46 PM
Broady is waiting on me to pull my finger out and write an article so we (he) can match his photos.

I've been swamped, but we should be right in a few days.
Post by: darren on November 26, 2009, 01:20:10 PM
Jules
 No worries mate. I was just interested that's all.
Look forwad to the collaboration of you both.
Darren
Post by: NewcastleKnight on November 30, 2009, 03:31:59 PM
Laith, any relation do you think she might have seen a spider????  >:D  :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: Silvo on November 30, 2009, 04:15:46 PM
nothing like trying so hard that you piss yourself.. good on her.
Post by: Laith on November 30, 2009, 04:36:00 PM
Actually that is my sister. How did you know NK  :cheers:
Post by: Broady on December 22, 2009, 09:11:43 PM
The article has been done up thanks to contributions from Brett and BigJules. Unfortunately you'll have to wait until the 5th of March to see the article (Issue 4), but i did sneak a picture from the weekend into Issue 3 (on sale 15 Jan). See who can pick it.

PS: I will actually find some time over the Christmas break to post up the other photos as well.

Post by: Gunna Do on December 23, 2009, 06:07:34 AM
Your doing the hard sell on this one Broady.  What comes first the Trip Report on this forum or the artical in the mag. I think I know the answer.  >:(