Author Topic: RIVNUT/NUTSERT ?  (Read 38731 times)

Offline rsteedman

Re: RIVNUT/NUTSERT ?
« Reply #75 on: September 16, 2016, 08:30:37 PM »
any info photos URL?
Sorry for the delay.
https://www.tradetools.com/product-range/hand-tools/general-hand-tools/force-96pc-nut-fastener-kit

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk

Offline cassgazz

« Reply #76 on: September 17, 2016, 07:47:13 PM »
( i would nutsert pictures to the wall if i could these things are awesome )

Haha. Thats how I attached the kids towel rails to the walls of out steel framed house. Definitely not coming off now.

« Reply #77 on: September 17, 2016, 10:07:38 PM »
I have a bullbar with a 80mm diameter. Has anyone had success with a rivnut/nutsert on a curved surface ?

Put a 12 mm one in the round drop leg (about 25mm diameter) on my new swing out carrier on the camprite, Once it was in I just hammered the two edges that protruded from the round surface over to follow the pipe surface.

By the way, I use an air ratchet with a corresponding bolt and sleeve to fit nutserts, easy and free.

« Reply #78 on: September 18, 2016, 06:08:56 PM »
Put a 12 mm one in the round drop leg (about 25mm diameter) on my new swing out carrier on the camprite, Once it was in I just hammered the two edges that protruded from the round surface over to follow the pipe surface.

By the way, I use an air ratchet with a corresponding bolt and sleeve to fit nutserts, easy and free.

I inserted one ( for practice ) using the home made type of tool and wasn't happy with the "tightness" of the finished result.

Wouldn't be happy if one was a failure in a bullbar ? Ugly trying to drill it back out ?

« Reply #79 on: September 18, 2016, 11:28:03 PM »
I inserted one ( for practice ) using the home made type of tool and wasn't happy with the "tightness" of the finished result.

Wouldn't be happy if one was a failure in a bullbar ? Ugly trying to drill it back out ?

There are a few variations on the home made option. There is no way I could get it any tighter with an off the shelf tool. The key is using and air ratchet though, I tried with a manual ratchet and with two spanners but it doesn't get tight that way as you wrench them around to much. Air ratchet was a $49 ryobi bunnings job, has paid for itself many times over in a matter of a month.  I will post a video of mine in action.

« Reply #80 on: May 18, 2018, 11:40:45 AM »
https://www.bunnings.com.au/search/products?q=riv-nut&redirectFrom=Any

Anyone tried one of these?

The EZI-RIV Riveter Drill Attachment is a universal drill attachment making it easy to apply rivets to various materials; Ideal for vehicle restoration, vehicle storage / rack installations, aeronautical / marine applications, and caravan & camping applications. The EZI-RIV Riveter Drill Attachment is extremely easy to use, reducing user fatigue.
 •Suitable for: Aluminium, Steel & Stainless Steel rivets
•Max drill RPM: 1000RPM
•Hex Shank: 1/4" (6.35mm)
•Minimum torque strength: 15Nm
•Sizes: M3, M4, M5, and M6.

https://www.bunnings.com.au/kincrome-ezi-riv-nut-riveter-drill-attachment_p6270827

« Reply #81 on: May 18, 2018, 11:47:11 AM »
I havent used one, but a mate had one [ Till another tradie borrowed it permanently ] he reckoned it worked quite good, but had to be careful when using the rivnuts in thin sheet as they could spin ..

« Reply #82 on: May 18, 2018, 12:10:42 PM »
Lots around in various brands, can be a bit hit and miss from my experience.

« Reply #83 on: May 19, 2018, 10:04:51 AM »
What is the typical size most of you are using? 6 or 8mm

Just thinking I need a new toy  ;D

« Reply #84 on: May 19, 2018, 11:16:06 AM »
What is the typical size most of you are using? 6 or 8mm

Just thinking I need a new toy  ;D
I am building a trailer ATM and think the nutsert gun is the best tool i have bought in a long time. My biggest use is 5mm, but i use 3,4,5 and 6mm, and have used heaps

Offline sparksy

« Reply #85 on: May 19, 2018, 11:47:45 AM »
Ive found instead of using normal drillbits to drill the holes for rivnuts. use a stepped drill bit similar to this.

definitely gives a better fit than normal bits.
Cant find a link to my set but its in 0.5mm increments  but the 1mm works ok.

« Reply #86 on: August 27, 2019, 02:46:03 PM »
revisiting this

Is there any advantage of one style over the other in these

v

« Reply #87 on: August 27, 2019, 02:58:09 PM »
here's a real world review of the kinchrome version...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwd7ML0c6Mw

i've followed this bloke's channel for a while, mainly for the pajero stuff, but he does good reviews for tools and camping gear as well...
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #88 on: August 27, 2019, 06:54:18 PM »
here's a real world review of the kinchrome version...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwd7ML0c6Mw

i've followed this bloke's channel for a while, mainly for the pajero stuff, but he does good reviews for tools and camping gear as well...

I got a very similar one, if not exactly the same, from one of the market tool guys at Tocal Field Days (farmer's trade show) for around $40.00. Mine has M3,M4,M5,M6, and M8 mandrels, but they come in about half a dozen different kits, with different numbers and sizes of mandrels. Haven't used it in anger yet, but for the price it seems pretty good. Better than the one I got from Ovesco a few years ago for around $90.00.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

Offline mike.c

« Reply #89 on: August 27, 2019, 09:34:12 PM »
Lots of options listed, so for completeness I thought I'd add the one I have.

It's made in Australia, and very simple to operate all the way up to 10mm without requiring power tool assistance. I have had this set for many years and it has given reliable service with no issues.

Direct Product Link: www.australtools

« Last Edit: August 27, 2019, 09:44:30 PM by mike.c »

« Reply #90 on: August 28, 2019, 06:39:23 AM »

It's made in Australia, and very simple to operate all the way up to 10mm without requiring power tool assistance. I have had this set for many years and it has given reliable service with no issues.

that one looks interesting, especially if you have only a limited amount of space to work in...

« Reply #91 on: August 28, 2019, 08:41:39 AM »
that one looks interesting, especially if you have only a limited amount of space to work in...
that was the one thing I thought of with the large scissor looking one... confined space would be a killer... but otherwise, I think the leverage would make life much simpler.

Online jclures

« Reply #92 on: August 28, 2019, 08:55:30 AM »

I used these tools during my camper build, and found they did everything I asked of them. That included the 10mm nutserts.

« Reply #93 on: August 28, 2019, 09:01:15 AM »
that was the one thing I thought of with the large scissor looking one... confined space would be a killer... but otherwise, I think the leverage would make life much simpler.

i guess you would get the leverage from the length of spanner you used?

i would probably find it easier to use the spanner one than try and use the scissor one...
The following users thanked this post: slave

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #94 on: August 30, 2019, 11:16:23 AM »

I've (fairly) recently bought myself the Kincrome version of this one (having finally killed my eBay cheapie) and i'm happyh with it's performance on the bigger end of the scale.

My grizzles with it are
 - being a heavy-handed sort of bloke - i've ripped the guts out out a few smaller (up to 6mm) nutserts because of the massive torque you generate (see "heavy-handed")
 - space. It can be a PITA to get into righter areas

That being said, i'm pretty sure i've got one of those ones that go onto your impact driver *SOMEWHERE* in my shed. That'll be easy to find then.....
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

« Reply #95 on: August 30, 2019, 12:35:23 PM »
Quote from: theflyingbadger
My grizzles with it are
 - being a heavy-handed sort of bloke - i've ripped the guts out out a few smaller (up to 6mm) nutserts because of the massive torque you generate (see "heavy-handed")

heavy handed - and torque were my thoughts too..  but the red one has to be faster being red... :D

Offline sharkcaver

• My ramblings:
« Reply #96 on: August 30, 2019, 08:46:47 PM »
I've (fairly) recently bought myself the Kincrome version of this one (having finally killed my eBay cheapie) and i'm happyh with it's performance on the bigger end of the scale.

My grizzles with it are

That being said, i'm pretty sure i've got one of those ones that go onto your impact driver *SOMEWHERE* in my shed. That'll be easy to find then.....

I'm with Jon (g'day old fella, long time no hear)

I also have the kinchrome large handle lever type. You have to be very gentle setting smaller rivnuts or you will pull the guts out of them and damage the supplied madrel. But they are ace on the larger ones. M6 or bigger on  the rivet gun type is a chore, particularly if using steel over ali rivnuts. The other disadvantage as stated. - you need a lot of real estate for the large handle type, but they set m8 and 10 with ease.

The minserts linked at austrltools look interesting indeed.

Just be wary of rivnuts. Any corrosion between bolt and rivnut and you will likely see the rivnut spin in its hole. My solution to that, create barrier protection by lubricating the bolt well and use serrated flange rivnuts.
An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0
The following users thanked this post: Bird

Offline griz066

« Reply #97 on: September 01, 2019, 06:50:24 AM »
Kincrome also make one you attach to your drill. If space was an issue you could use a right angel drive attachment. They also make a pop riveter which i have and it is awesome, Have a look Here

Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834