Author Topic: Do you Use or *Need* a Chainsaw  (Read 26931 times)

Offline firefox

• Young Nomad, Travelling
    • Tripigy
Do you Use or *Need* a Chainsaw
« on: May 27, 2015, 03:38:55 PM »
So we're heading west now, and towards darwin and then over the WA and down the coast over the next 6 months.

So the question is, have you carried one and "needed" to use it. Or  didn't carry one and didn't need it, or didn't carry one but so many times did you wish had one??

We're camping about all over the place, National Parks, Free Camps etc.. We love a fire, and it would be mostly used for firewood i am betting.

We do like going offroad (nothing too crazy) and getting off the beaten track.)

Although in the past while it would have been "nice" to have one probably 10-20 times i can say we've always made do, however i've been able to find a place that had firewood.. Seems up north thats not the case and probably out west??

So would you buy one?? I'm looking at a little Stihl one at the moment..

JD
2015 LC200 - Snowy - Sahara with all the mods.
Custom built Off-road Caravan.

Offline MADCOW

• I Rescue Fish from Water and Beer from Bottles
Re: Do you Use or *Need* a Chainsaw
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2015, 03:53:11 PM »
They are a good little saw and perfect for what you would use it for. Grab a second chain and throw it in the case. Around $20.00 each for genuine. a mate has one and it worked fine so far .I use a Husky 353 bought secondhand and it is perfect for the same reason. The cost was less for the Husky and it is a stronger saw with longer bar hence why i bought it.
03 4.2 TDI Gu, Mountain Trail Extended Escape Camper,
 June 2018 Terrain Tamer Calendar

theins

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2015, 04:13:31 PM »
When going on longer trips I do take a chainsaw - got a Stihl Miniboss...

Sometimes easier to stop along the road and cut up a small tree to gather your firewood...

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2015, 04:46:06 PM »
I'm not sure about all states but in Qld it's a no no to have a chainsaw in a NP so I'd be checking on that!
Have a good trip!

champin

« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2015, 04:54:06 PM »
Most of my trips are around the high country so I wouldn't go out without one due to fallen trees over the track. I have in the past used only a bow saw with a fair amount of success. I must admit though, once you have a chain saw, you will not regret the purchase. I've had a little Jonsered 2035 with a 16" bar for about 20 years and had a trouble free run with it. Its light and reasonably quiet compared to my brothers Stihl.

champin

« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2015, 04:57:15 PM »
I'm not sure about all states but in Qld it's a no no to have a chainsaw in a NP so I'd be checking on that!
Have a good trip!
Goes to show just how rediculous some laws are. What happens if a tree falls over the track and blocks your way out?
The following users thanked this post: Rumpig

« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2015, 05:18:49 PM »
Have a husky for the firewood runs with the trailer.
For all trips have just got a battery operated job.
Uses the same size chain as the husky [ of which I have heaps]
Not much noise, could use it in your front lawn with your neighbors not knowing.
Best of all and no fumes in the car.
5 year Warranty, 3 years on the battery

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qm166r0X_LA

Offline avotrol

« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2015, 06:03:31 PM »
Last trip up the Cape used the well worn 25 year old Sthil 009 to remove a very large tree off the Frenchmans track that we just could not drive around or over. Would have been there all day trying to do it with hand tools  :'(  Was also great for stopping a few kays before the popular campsites and collecting good firewood  ;D

I would think that the NPWS ban applies to actually using a chainsaw in a NP, not having it locked away in a box whilst you camped there or passed through  :angel: I cant say that I have ever seen Rangers  :police: asking to search vehicles and trailers for saws that were not used in a NP and were kept well locked up?!

:cheers: avo
GU Patrol with home away from home.

« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2015, 06:08:55 PM »
Yep, a fallen tree can be a bugger!

Offline firefox

• Tripigy
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2015, 06:09:31 PM »
interesting about the feedback on national parks.
So the "rules" are in QLD you aren't allowed to collect firewood (chainsaw or anything) from within a national park..
At Murray Falls campground in NQ there is actually a firewood area, in which you can get out the chainsaw and actually cut some wood for a fire.
So from what i've been told by rangers and reading it's not about you aren't allowed a chainsaw, you aren't allowed to cut wood from a national park.
JD

« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2015, 06:21:19 PM »
ive got a small stihl 170 i think. use it heaps for getting wood while camping. it will come to the cape with us.

« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2015, 06:44:40 PM »
Most of my trips are around the high country so I wouldn't go out without one due to fallen trees over the track.

Get a small Stihl or Husky and a spare bar and chain. Having a spare bar is handy if you happen to jam your saw in a log and need to cut it out. I have never done this :-[

Offline Aussie Iron

« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2015, 06:50:02 PM »
Yep, a Stihl 009. Goes where Canter goes when we are touring, only used for firewood and clearing tracks. Talked to a ranger up the Cape last time we were there ( we had climbed over some trees that were across the track) he was of the opinion that if you are clearing track then it was not a problem in NP and only collect fire wood in allowable area.

Dan.

« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2015, 07:16:32 PM »
I always carry a saw because we always have a fire......it's just part of camping..

Unless it's the middle of summer, if a campfire is allowed  usually dictates where we camp..

And we usually have a large fire if we have enough wood and other campers with us !!
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 08:02:43 PM by gronk »

Offline Murph

« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2015, 07:57:09 PM »
I only ever have a small fire (contained) so I use a ricipocating saw ,cordless,  beautiful

Offline Andrew_C

« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2015, 08:17:24 PM »
I did up the centre and west coast last year, if I did it again, I would carry a rechargeable chainsaw.

Although probably frowned apon in national parks, have it locked away and nobody will know., it does allow you to make firewood into sizes that meet the regulations and it shouldn't become an issue picking up wood in suitable places so it can be used later on.

We had a fire in a lot of places and picked up wood as we went, and carried a bow saw, but a chainsaw or even reciprocal saw would have made life a bit easier and made it easier to fit wood on our rack.

I would suggest anybody/everybody camping in Victoria getting to know the camp fire regulations, Fires in vic need to be under 1m including timber in the fire with big fines for non compliance.

Offline grafy82

« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2015, 08:54:55 PM »
Definitely take one. As others have said, do yourself a big favor and get a lithium cordless one. No more smelly fuel to carry, just a bit of bar oil. They have plenty of grunt nowadays to get you through most things you'll encounter.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline firefox

• Tripigy
« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2015, 09:07:28 PM »
I priced a Stihl mini boss today for 300 with cover etc.. Was a good deal.
Their electric was 700+ which I struggle for the $$

I figured a 300 investment and have onboard is probably worthwhile.

Just figured I had done without it for 2 years, but there has been times it would be good.

« Reply #18 on: May 27, 2015, 09:52:41 PM »
$350, 5 year warranty and 3 year warranty on battery.
No fuel to carry/mix

Offline Palmer

« Reply #19 on: May 27, 2015, 10:30:27 PM »
$350, 5 year warranty and 3 year warranty on battery.
No fuel to carry/mix

That's what I'm planning to go for with my next chainsaw.

At the moment I'm using a cheap Ross saw ($99).  It works fine, but I like the idea of not having to carry extra fuel.

Offline shadmorgon

« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2015, 01:45:13 AM »
In many parks you carnt even 'disturb' fallen timber.
Some years ago my MIL got 'chatted' for moving a fallen log
to investigate its suitability for a craft model.
The resident Jaroma Falls ranger frogmarched her off
the site. An elegant lady bought to earth, rudely.

Shad -- in Agri areas come clean leave clean

-- ridin de desert ship wif no saddle

« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2015, 09:57:17 AM »
I priced a Stihl mini boss today for 300 with cover etc.. Was a good deal.
Their electric was 700+ which I struggle for the $$

I figured a 300 investment and have onboard is probably worthwhile.

Just figured I had done without it for 2 years, but there has been times it would be good.
If that's the 170 then just a word of warning. Mine leaks bar oil. Very, very slowly but enough to make a bit of a mess. I've tried adjusting/tightening everything to no avail. Perhaps it's just mine?
 Maybe Oldmate can shed some light?
Other than that it's a little ripper for occasional use.

« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2015, 10:16:29 AM »
If that's the 170 then just a word of warning. Mine leaks bar oil. Very, very slowly but enough to make a bit of a mess. I've tried adjusting/tightening everything to no avail. Perhaps it's just mine?

My Huskie 136 does the same...?? somehow it seems to just keep siphoning out when sitting idle..

When I remember, I just empty the fuel and oil after use..

« Reply #23 on: May 28, 2015, 12:35:51 PM »
All saws will leak some bar oil, just store it with an old tower underneath.

Offline The punter

• "avoiding grey nomads since 2011"
« Reply #24 on: May 28, 2015, 01:18:24 PM »
Before this thread, no

Now I do
13 FJ Cruiser
15 Lifestyle Reconn