Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506498 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #2450 on: September 30, 2020, 02:54:00 PM »
Pretty Cool set up . Allows for super low body height with a full tunable suspension travel. ;D
« Last Edit: September 30, 2020, 02:56:00 PM by edz »

« Reply #2451 on: September 30, 2020, 06:01:54 PM »
Welds are almost as bad as mine.

« Reply #2452 on: September 30, 2020, 06:30:57 PM »
As soon as those rods are in compression they are pretty quickly going to become the same shape as the springs.... :(

« Reply #2453 on: October 06, 2020, 04:39:51 PM »
Another barnfind GTHO

Bidding on Grays Online passed $200,000 within 24 hours of the undriveable vehicle being listed last week, but it was passed in on the weekend once bids reached $350,000, having not met its reserve price.

However, negotiations after the auction saw the battered and bruised muscle car change hands for $400,000.

After the car was sold, it was revealed 32 dents on its beaten-up bodywork came from an inexplicable axe attack.

Industry experts estimate a full restoration would cost close to $200,000.

The location and identity of the buyer are yet to be revealed, however the website says the car must be collected “as is” – and with a tow truck or car trailer from the auction house in Victoria.

The car was advertised as a rolling chassis without an engine under the bonnet – and was even missing basic essentials such as headlights – however some mechanical parts came with the vehicle.

In the description of the vehicle, the Grays Online website says: “We are selling this car on behalf of the executors of a deceased estate. It is a one owner GTHO Phase III. It does require a restoration to bring it back to its former glory.

https://www.drive.com.au/news/1971-ford-falcon-gtho-phase-iii-sells-for-400-000-attacked-with-an-axe-no-engine-bring-trailer--124346.html?trackLink=SMH3

« Reply #2454 on: October 11, 2020, 11:44:30 AM »
Burpengary sevice center South bound this morning  ..Chevy Biscayne early 60's ..Nice rig, original  thumper under the bonnet with a bit of extra motivation work done to it ..

« Reply #2455 on: October 16, 2020, 02:08:13 PM »
A rare clip of Speewa's first camper...

An all original unrestored Packard with dealer optioned fifth wheel camper.
Camper has running water and and intercom to the driver.
Only the third time it has been seen in public.

« Reply #2456 on: October 18, 2020, 11:49:41 AM »
cool huh

« Reply #2457 on: October 18, 2020, 11:53:00 AM »

« Reply #2458 on: October 18, 2020, 01:13:08 PM »

« Reply #2459 on: October 19, 2020, 08:04:50 PM »
A close friends dad has an old A model buckboard ute. Was his daily and work ute until 10-15 years ago. Now relegated to club rego. Still gets driven to Tamworth for the music festival.

Pic taken from a magazine article a few years ago.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #2460 on: November 01, 2020, 01:28:11 PM »
Saw this very nice old girl at Bunnings

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk
Here’s one from the other side. Spotted in Burketown. Ute with canopy.
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #2461 on: November 01, 2020, 02:35:02 PM »
Here’s one from the other side. Spotted in Burketown. Ute with canopy.
the old G60... mighty 4ltr 3 speed LOL

« Reply #2462 on: November 02, 2020, 03:30:19 AM »
the old G60... mighty 4ltr 3 speed LOL

We had one in the 90's, no sychro on 1st gear.... :D :D

« Reply #2463 on: November 06, 2020, 02:19:55 PM »
Spotted this today
VERY NICE

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2464 on: November 08, 2020, 05:48:50 PM »
Going through some of my Dad's old slides.   About 1964/5

« Last Edit: November 08, 2020, 05:57:23 PM by alnjan »

« Reply #2465 on: November 08, 2020, 09:28:05 PM »
Shame they arent sittin in the shed still !!!!! Love those old utes.

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2466 on: November 12, 2020, 01:57:43 PM »

Brings back memories. My Dad had an FX ute when we were kids in the 70's.
He sold it to buy a set of encyclopedias for us. He never said as such, but I think he always regretted it.

« Reply #2467 on: November 12, 2020, 03:28:25 PM »
Brings back memories. My Dad had an FX ute when we were kids in the 70's.
He sold it to buy a set of encyclopedias for us. He never said as such, but I think he always regretted it.

wow, that is a big sacrifice

Offline 2Strokeit

« Reply #2468 on: November 12, 2020, 04:27:42 PM »
I had the first A9X ordered (not the first built) and sold it just before they took off in value as the wife wanted a 4WD to go camping.
She brings it up occasionally that  she regretted that. She's made up for it since by buying me a new dirt bike and a wake boat and a new Trials bike for my 50th.
My daughter would have liked it to drop her off at her formal next week but I can't seem to track it down so her boyfriend is dropping in a old Hilux Ute to go with her Ariat boots.
I'll see if I can add a photo here when I finish work.

« Reply #2469 on: November 12, 2020, 05:39:44 PM »
I had the first A9X ordered (not the first built) and sold it just before they took off in value as the wife wanted a 4WD to go camping.

Know a bloke who bought a SLR 5000 off a dealer up our way that was "fiddled" with to go to Bathurst, but never went....still got it tucked away in a farm shed.

Offline 2Strokeit

« Reply #2470 on: November 12, 2020, 07:48:04 PM »
Mine was 'apparently' Charlie Obriens spare and then sold to a doctor who attended Bathurst & changed the original L31 for a group C race engine and left the original up there.
I bought it off a farmer who had repainted it only to have a P plater ccrashed into the rear panels while showing off around  a roundabout.
I was offered it the next day so turned up with a ice cream bucket full of cash.
I got it repaired then drove it for 10 years. I'd  leave Airlie Beach fill up in Brisbane on my way to Bathurst. It would do 100 in first and wind off the clock. I think the wife was jealous of the tinkering I was always doing as I hate squeaks or something not right.

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #2471 on: November 20, 2020, 03:14:08 PM »
Not sure if this will make Jeepers laugh or cry. Finnegan is cutting up a mint 61 Caddy to make a 200mpg drag car.....

https://youtu.be/rBf3aXdn8Fc

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

« Reply #2472 on: November 20, 2020, 03:19:35 PM »
Cut the bastard up... never liked them all that much.

Front on, they just look like and old chev.

« Reply #2473 on: November 22, 2020, 12:12:39 PM »
Spotted this old girl on Thursday

« Reply #2474 on: November 22, 2020, 12:13:47 PM »
And this nice one today!