Author Topic: Milwaukee m12 sabre saw while camping.  (Read 5801 times)

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
Milwaukee m12 sabre saw while camping.
« on: June 28, 2016, 09:13:47 PM »
Does anyone use something like this instead of a chainsaw while camping. I have seen the with the same blade you would use in a large reciprocating saw. And from what I've seen they have more then enough power.
http://www.totaltools.com.au/milwaukee-m12-fuel-hackzall-reciprocating-saw-kit-m12chz401c/#.V3JbCcuubqA

I'm looking at buying one for work and was wondering if it cancels have multiple purposes.
https://t.me/pump_upp

Re: Milwaukee m12 sabre saw while camping.
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2016, 07:27:49 AM »
G'day me

I've been wondering the same thing? Neighbour was clearing out his shed & gave me an old GMC version, but unfortunately the batteries are both shot  :'(

Can no longer use a chainsaw after buggering my wrist a couple of years ago so wondering about getting the batteries refurbed & using this in the bush?

I'm just not sure how long it would cut for, how you would then recharge it & how it would go trying to chop into a big old lump of ironbark?  :D  ???

Guess some knowledgable person will be along shortly to help us out!  :D

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2016, 07:53:03 AM »
Most of my mates are tradies and for weekend trips they don’t empty their Utes, so we have used sabre saws on many occasions.

They work a treat on medium size tree branches, but in saying that so does battery operated power saws.  Not sure if they would have enough power for a large hardwood species tree branch.

Also as a bonus the newer Milwaukee batteries have a USB plug which can be used for charging phones etc.

Offline two up

« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2016, 07:55:48 AM »
I've used the 18v versions at work. They would be suitable for cutting timber up to about 5 to 6 inches in diameter but would struggle to cut any real quantity of wood. But having said that depending on the size and quantity of batteries you have you could probably cut sufficient for a fire. Definitely not as versatile as a chainsaw for cutting large volumes, if you are in possession of one of these saws give it a go.

scrapsD40

« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2016, 07:59:32 AM »
Most of my mates are tradies and for weekend trips they don’t empty their Utes, so we have used sabre saws on many occasions.

They work a treat on medium size tree branches, but in saying that so does battery operated power saws.  Not sure if they would have enough power for a large hardwood species tree branch.

Also as a bonus the newer Milwaukee batteries have a USB plug which can be used for charging phones etc.

X2 here. Sabre saws great for small timber cutting and clearing but if you come across a tree across a track in the Vic High Country, or you need to maximise your heat and the 1m3 campfire, you'll soon become frustrated with the battery pack saws.

Offline whitedg

« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2016, 09:13:28 AM »
I've used my M18 Sabre Saw to but down a tree at home where my Chainsaw was too big to get in.

I was quite impressed with how well it ran and more importantly how quickly it cut through the timber.
The only issue was the length of the blade, but apparently you can get some decent sized blades from quality tool shops.

Battery life is the only draw back, but in saying that I knocked down a decent sized tree with 1 x 18v 4.0AH pack.

The brushless version is better on the batteries too.

whitedg

Offline me217

« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2016, 12:30:56 PM »
I need it for work and was trying to find a second use for it. And as for charging them. I could use my inverter and bring the charger.

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2016, 12:41:13 PM »
I think a battery powered circular saw would be more useful

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline Murph

« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2016, 01:15:48 PM »
I have been using an ozito reciprocating saw for a while now and have found it a great tool.  Small firewood up to 100mm I get about 30 cuts per charge .  Yes the real dry hardwoods do limit the amount of cuts per charge but I only have a cut down gas bottle as a fire place .

Offline grizzly

« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2016, 05:16:57 PM »
Murph
There are quire a few battery powered chainsaws on the market now that would be worth a look. :cup:
Grizzly

Offline me217

« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2016, 09:10:47 PM »
eventually i want to buy an ego chainsaw. but i needed this for work so it came first. picked it up today.

« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2016, 09:21:21 PM »
The Victorian firewood would not be too friendly due to the size and amount required to reach the moon.

The brushless gear is getting better and some of the demo blades can cut through just about everything. I still am in the habit of picking up one of the Stihl's unless there is roots involved which is when the bid M reciprocal saw comes out

« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2016, 06:52:27 AM »
The Milwaukee M12 range is brilliant for it's size. Mate uses the same Fuel sabre saw for hacking out old exhausts in his workshop.  Having used it myself,  I'd saw a 4 inch log would be its comfortable limit.

The key will any cordless cutting tools are quality blades. Forgot the cheap ones, they dull off after 1 or 2 cuts. Milwaukees own brand of blades are very good.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Offline Murph

« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2016, 01:04:08 PM »
Murph
There are quire a few battery powered chainsaws on the market now that would be worth a look. :cup:
Grizzly

Not for $65 Lol!

« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2016, 01:09:39 PM »
Quote from: Murph
Not for $65 Lol!
$65???
yea but the link at the top is $329

Milwaukee - M12 FUEL - Hackzall Reciprocating Saw Kit - M12CHZ401C
$329.00

Offline corndog

« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2016, 05:53:54 PM »
They are good for small jobs but if your cutting firewood better buy a few batteries. The saw sucks the juice from the rather quickly. Think a bigger version would be better.

Offline me217

« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2016, 07:18:59 PM »
$65???
yea but the link at the top is $329

Milwaukee - M12 FUEL - Hackzall Reciprocating Saw Kit - M12CHZ401C
$329.00

i only bough the skin so it only cost 199.

« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2016, 09:33:17 PM »
Mitre 10 currently selling a chainsaw for $80, should get at least 3yrs using it for track clearing and camp fire wood

http://shop.mitre10.com.au/rockwell-petrol-chainsaw