Poll

Curious how often do members use their camper trailer, van etc (Poll)

Once a year
17 (2.3%)
Twice a year
55 (7.4%)
Three times a year
78 (10.6%)
Four times a year
112 (15.2%)
Five times a year
89 (12%)
Six times a year
99 (13.4%)
Seven times a year
36 (4.9%)
More then seven times a year
206 (27.9%)
Traveling Australia
24 (3.2%)
It's sitting around collecting dust
23 (3.1%)

Total Members Voted: 663

Author Topic: How often do you use your camper (Poll)  (Read 76486 times)

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
Re: How often do you use your camper (Poll)
« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2014, 07:50:41 PM »
Last year was just over 130 nights under canvas.
Every 2nd weekend for at least 3 days, usually 4, with a few 10 day trips thrown in.
Would be more if we can rid of this thing called work.
You have the life!
Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline Black-Pig

• Everything is Subject to change...
« Reply #26 on: May 21, 2014, 07:51:26 PM »
travelled around aus last year. Did a few weekenders before as shake downs. Not been out since we got home as work and house fixing has got in the way.
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

« Reply #27 on: May 21, 2014, 07:54:54 PM »
You have the life!

Not at all
I chose the life.

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #28 on: May 21, 2014, 07:55:29 PM »
Not at all
I chose the life.
I'm working on it. It all takes time.

Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline deepop

• Living the dream.
« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2014, 07:59:22 PM »
I said three - but get out a bit more without it as well!
Manual petrol 105 series 'cruiser.
Aust. trailers semi off road trailer with Southern Cross Canvas tent, water, gas, kitchen and other stuff.

« Reply #30 on: May 21, 2014, 08:23:28 PM »

Offline feisty

« Reply #31 on: May 21, 2014, 09:37:01 PM »
60 nights + last year. Ya gotta luv LSL at 1/2 pay and the ability to purchase leave. Woohoo!!!!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

Offline trevc

« Reply #32 on: May 21, 2014, 09:54:22 PM »
Travelling Australia at the moment - have set-up/packed-up 43 times in the last 20 weeks, only have another 30 weeks left.
In a normal year we would camp around 10-12 times p.a.

Keeps me sane

Trev

« Reply #33 on: May 21, 2014, 10:19:50 PM »
Where in blue mountains mate?

Blackheath, with the extended family can't wait!

Disco teddy.

Offline gutters

• "When logic fails, force prevails"
    • Overland Australia
« Reply #34 on: May 22, 2014, 08:22:14 AM »
We get out in the camper every second weekend, occasionally life gets in the way and we might miss a fortnight. Paid too much to have it sit and gather dust.

Blog - https://overlandaustralia.blogspot.com.au/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/OverlandAustralia/
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVhF6CXHhJEquGz55gtsXWQ
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/australiaoverland/

« Reply #35 on: May 22, 2014, 10:01:46 AM »
Not enough, but that is not on the list.

Offline broncos11

« Reply #36 on: May 22, 2014, 10:22:49 AM »
Lots.

We try and incorporate into the kids sports as well. For example when my boy plays footy at Mullumbimby, we go down Friday arvo and stay at Brunswick Heads or Byron for the weekend.

2003 IFS V8 100 series

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #37 on: May 22, 2014, 10:31:55 AM »
Lots.

We try and incorporate into the kids sports as well. For example when my boy plays footy at Mullumbimby, we go down Friday arvo and stay at Brunswick Heads or Byron for the weekend.

What a top idea  :cup:

SWMBO only works part time so we always thought we would make our own long weekends and just get out. But we let life get in the way too much. Maybe when the weather starts to improve I'll take a few Mondays off and we'll get out there again.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #38 on: May 22, 2014, 11:22:56 AM »
We would spend 20 plus nights under some sort of canvas a year when not doing a big trip.

Last year we would have spent over 60 nights under canvas....good year last year ;D This year has a long way to go so who knows what big trips may arise ;)

Offline Proudy

« Reply #39 on: May 22, 2014, 12:05:52 PM »
We try to get away about 10 - 12 times a year from weekends to a couple of weeks. Would love to get away more.

Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

Offline goldrayenergy

• Goldray Energy
« Reply #40 on: May 22, 2014, 12:16:31 PM »
Not nearly enough.  Sometimes I hook it up and just go around the block, come back and open a stubby!!

Goldray Energy

Folding Solar Panel

12v LED Light

==> Quality Products
==> Great Prices
==> Australia Wide Postage

« Reply #41 on: May 22, 2014, 03:11:13 PM »
Lol. That's the spirit mate. Gold

« Reply #42 on: May 22, 2014, 05:23:04 PM »
We've used our camper twice a year so far, but we never planned for more than that really.

For a simple week-end away, we use the ol floating camper, as its set-up and ready to roll and we tend to use the terra firma  camper for the time we go to Fraser, which we try for twice a year.

Because of work being season based (Lawnie), the warmer months are too friggin hard to get away on.

« Reply #43 on: May 22, 2014, 06:06:38 PM »
We average 15 nights a year currently. The average has dropped a bit in the last 12 months.

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #44 on: May 22, 2014, 07:36:47 PM »
We like to get away at least once a month if not more!

It's just a great way to get away and relax!

Offline Coiled

« Reply #45 on: May 22, 2014, 10:54:03 PM »
We (or rather I) aim to get away twice a month with a view to at least getting something every 3-4 weeks at a minimum. Nothing like a Friday & Saturday night camp to feel like you have escaped the rat race.

This year we are doing well! Currently at 9 trips for the year for a total of 16 nights. We are heading away again this weekend so that will see my goal met YTD. Other than 5 nights at Easter it is all weekenders.
2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #46 on: May 23, 2014, 09:08:39 AM »
I'm feeling a little inadequate now :(

We only get away in the camper around 4 times per year, though admittedly, one of those times is usually an iconic one ie: the Kimberley, Uluru, Cape York, the Outback etc... ;D ;D ;D
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #47 on: May 23, 2014, 09:27:49 PM »
Adding up is too hard. 

When the other half retired, we decided we would go camping every second weekend (inspired by kit e kat).  Didn't quite work out, but we have done a lot of time under canvas.  Less so more recently, but a biggie coming up soon kinda balances it out.

I'm clicking 7 + because a rolling average would be about that.   Reckon there should be brownie points for challenge level - eg Simmo, Cape etc.

I think I have 'lived' so much more since Charles joined the family. It is amazing.

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

Offline Odog

« Reply #48 on: May 31, 2014, 10:33:51 AM »
In last 12 months, have spent 3 nights in it up at tantangra dam, snowy mountains.. On 3 occasions 2/3 or 4 night stints on south coast. And 8 weeks doing a trip to Eyre peninsula, Perth and south west WA..
ODog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, Others make it happen

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #49 on: June 01, 2014, 03:53:11 PM »
Got the camper in march and done 1 week trip to Renmark, weekend trip to Claire valley and planed a trip Meningie and Robe for October so guessing it will balance out about 5 trips per year.
As we are new to the camper trailer lifestyle I hope as our experience grows we may increase our use.

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite