Poll

Curious how often do members use their camper trailer, van etc (Poll)

Once a year
17 (2.3%)
Twice a year
55 (7.4%)
Three times a year
78 (10.6%)
Four times a year
112 (15.2%)
Five times a year
89 (12%)
Six times a year
99 (13.4%)
Seven times a year
36 (4.9%)
More then seven times a year
206 (27.9%)
Traveling Australia
24 (3.2%)
It's sitting around collecting dust
23 (3.1%)

Total Members Voted: 663

Author Topic: How often do you use your camper (Poll)  (Read 76487 times)

Re: How often do you use your camper (Poll)
« Reply #75 on: August 03, 2016, 06:55:04 PM »
G'day all,

I know we all buy a CT with the best intentions of getting out often and making the most of it. Some can do this, touring Aus and living on the road, or just plenty of jaunts away for a week or so fairly regularly.

Others however manage to squeeze a trip in here and there, despite there best efforts, other stuff makes it a challenge ie; kids, school, sports work rosters and just general family commitments....

Anyway, keen to what the average is..... will run the poll for 60days.

Note; never run a poll before, so unsure if I'm doing this the correct way.

Barrabart.

Offline J.R

« Reply #76 on: August 03, 2016, 07:16:10 PM »
This year has been flat out. All the local dams have dried up too, so no water skiing too.

Last couple of years, every Easter, Oct long weekend at Lake Dyer (since dried up) and 2 weeks at Tallabuggera.

Offline Muckinhell

• 2014 Ecomate traveller forward fold.
« Reply #77 on: August 03, 2016, 07:32:54 PM »
Since down grading from our 03 Aussie swag to a 01 Jayco dove in january we have been camping more often thus far this year than the previous 2-3 with the AS. prob to do with more space with the 2 young fellas and more comfortable overall, but alas the camping has been more caravan parks than to the outa the way self sufficient areas so far. Also the extra money from downgrading has helped alot as well most likley.
2005 HDJ100r Sahara
Better to look at it, than for it!

jeffr

« Reply #78 on: August 03, 2016, 07:42:49 PM »
Like many things in life, the things we value most are, ironically, the very things we have to make the time to do.

There is an old rule I used to use when I worked (i'm retired now, but it still applies), "Make time for the things that matter to you, everything else is just noise." Getting out into the bush is important to us, so we make it happen...As the late Stephen Covey said, don't get caught up in the thick of thin things 8) 

« Reply #79 on: August 03, 2016, 08:03:19 PM »
Merged a couple of topics together, vote on the poll if needed

« Reply #80 on: December 26, 2016, 07:08:35 PM »
Rarely enough to the point I'm consider selling it.

Lot of money to have sitting there for once or twice a year.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 06:46:25 PM by Bird »

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #81 on: April 18, 2017, 04:33:53 PM »
We sold ours and the fourby 2 years ago .... hope to get another fourby but more a caravan instead of a camper in the future some day

Marv

Offline Philbo

« Reply #82 on: July 27, 2017, 11:09:11 PM »
I hate to hold this particular record but I probably do. We are up to our 4th rego on the CT but it has never been on the back of the bus nor has it been out of the yard . . .  ever, in all that time!
It's up on chocks to help protect the tyres. The 2x120AH batteries get charged when I think they need it.
They were on a panel that is attached to the shed but read it's not good long term).
So the Ritek AGMs too are coming up 4 years old and never powered a toothpick. Shameful.
Philbo
I taught him all I know . . . and still he knows nothing!

Offline dottyman

« Reply #83 on: August 11, 2017, 09:09:20 PM »
We bought our 3 dogs CT, 3 years ago as the third owners. Did 6 months around Oz then didn't want to go near it for a year. Now we take it mostly on beach trips twice a year but heading to Fraser in September then Tassie in December. Found some new inspiration here in My Swag and put some love in to the 12 v system this week. Can't wait.

Offline Traveller

« Reply #84 on: September 25, 2017, 09:31:09 AM »
We have had our trailer for 15 years now and use it several times a year. ;D

Best part was retiring as we get to do longer trips in it now. Just returned from a 9 week trip and loved it all. Now we are planning a couple of trips up to the High Country for a week each and we are impatiently waiting for the weather to improve.

We are obviously lucky in that we now don't have kids to worry about (although grandkids keep us at home at times). We have found that we need block out a time on our 'to do' calendar (that has now become a major part of our lives), to be able to get away. If you don't actively plan to go away we find it never seems to happen. When we were working we would usually get a 2 - 3 week trip away in the camper and then a few weekends as well, at least enough time for the camping fix.

I think the survey should ask for the number of nights you use the trailer in lieu of the number of times you use it for the people on longer trips. Just a thought.

« Reply #85 on: September 25, 2017, 10:07:17 AM »
Quote from: Philbo
I hate to hold this particular record but I probably do. We are up to our 4th rego on the CT but it has never been on the back of the bus nor has it been out of the yard . . .  ever, in all that time!

Na Jamie has that record well in hand... but your only 1 step ahead of me :(

« Reply #86 on: October 29, 2017, 11:35:48 AM »
Using our camper less & less, prefer to swag it these days.
Camper gets used twice a year now.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #87 on: August 03, 2018, 07:16:40 PM »
pulled out of Nagamie  3 1/2 Monthe ago ,,,,, so every day/night   . Living the dream ,, not dreaming of living  .  :cup: :cheers:
Currently at  15500Km  & at King Junction Station  in FNQ  .       :cup: :cup:       :cheers:
« Last Edit: August 03, 2018, 07:18:55 PM by speewa158 »

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #88 on: June 17, 2019, 09:48:39 PM »
Upgraded to a solid wall solid roof hard floor camper trailer and use it twice as often as the soft floor.
Just so much easier on set up and packing no longer spend hours hooking up the home theatre to keep SWMBO happy.
I do miss the camper trailer though

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

« Reply #89 on: June 23, 2019, 08:02:37 AM »
Planned to spend 4 or 5 months traveling but after 1 month are home . The " Winged Commander had a fall breaking her wrist cutting short the trip . Give her 6 to 8 weeks & it on again  :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #90 on: October 20, 2020, 05:34:31 PM »
Quote from: speewa158
Give her 6 to 8 weeks & it on again  :cup: :cheers:
how are those plans going...  :'( :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #91 on: October 20, 2020, 05:44:29 PM »
how are those plans going...  :'( :'( :'( :'(

May be a while before you get a reply.

They are on a 10 week tour of eastern VIC at the moment.....

« Reply #92 on: October 20, 2020, 05:54:06 PM »
May be a while before you get a reply.

They are on a 10 week tour of eastern VIC at the moment.....

thats why I posted with the :'(

« Reply #93 on: March 22, 2021, 11:25:20 AM »
Using our camper less & less, prefer to swag it these days.
Camper gets used twice a year now.
hows it going now?

Offline below sea level

« Reply #94 on: March 22, 2021, 03:55:30 PM »
Way less than I'd like. I'm thinking more minimal these days because I only have time for weekend trips and can't justify the effort of taking it when a tent will do.

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #95 on: March 22, 2021, 04:01:15 PM »
I haven’t been out since August when I did a 3 week tour of north qld.
Next outing will be in April. To long between trips, what with COVID, work and now bloody rain.
Hopefully we will get out more this year.
Lloyd

Sent from me

« Reply #96 on: March 22, 2021, 05:05:02 PM »
hows it going now?
:) In this weather?
Funny buggar ;)

We Swagged it on our trip to the Corner(Camerons) early December last year.
Bloody awesome, easy set up, easy pack up.
Sure the weather Gods were kind to us, except for when we drove into Tibooburra, Dust Storm, stayed in a cabin(yeah I know soft ;) ), shouted the Bride a room.

It's a soo much lighter option, since the kids do there own thing.

What ever works.

« Reply #97 on: December 27, 2022, 02:28:29 PM »
Since the kids have flown the nest, We are planning on getting out at lest once a month, either by ourselves or with our 4wd Club.
Travel Safe Swaggers.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Offline Wazza999

« Reply #98 on: December 31, 2022, 03:53:51 PM »
Haven't used mine since October 2021. We were meant to be out for a couple of months in May-June 2022, this ended up being revised to a three week tent/cabin trip. I opened up the camper a month before we left to sort out the interior and do a service and discovered it had been leaking through the recently repaired/replaced roof, so much for Adco covers. With the repair, there was only cosmetic hail damage and I thought I'd won, as I got a new roof on insurance, the original was 12yo and close to needing a reseal. Fortunately the water damage was limited to water stains and swollen led ceiling light pcb with no mould. It was covered by the insurer's lifetime repair guarantee, so the roof leak has been fixed, but the approval for the interior repairs has taken six months plus 6-12 months wait for the repair to be done, all in all an 18 month delay. Hoping to get the work done in March and be away for 12 or so weeks over winter, so finger's crossed.
NT Pajero/2007 Goldstream Crown

« Reply #99 on: December 31, 2022, 04:05:54 PM »
Haven't used mine since October 2021. We were meant to be out for a couple of months in May-June 2022, this ended up being revised to a three week tent/cabin trip. I opened up the camper a month before we left to sort out the interior and do a service and discovered it had been leaking through the recently repaired/replaced roof, so much for Adco covers. With the repair, there was only cosmetic hail damage and I thought I'd won, as I got a new roof on insurance, the original was 12yo and close to needing a reseal. Fortunately the water damage was limited to water stains and swollen led ceiling light pcb with no mould. It was covered by the insurer's lifetime repair guarantee, so the roof leak has been fixed, but the approval for the interior repairs has taken six months plus 6-12 months wait for the repair to be done, all in all an 18 month delay. Hoping to get the work done in March and be away for 12 or so weeks over winter, so finger's crossed.
Gee thats a bugger.... but all worth it once ya sittin round the fire with trailer fully setup on ya trip...