Author Topic: Price of Diesel  (Read 11446 times)

Re: Price of Diesel
« Reply #25 on: May 29, 2018, 10:01:36 PM »

« Reply #26 on: May 30, 2018, 09:37:09 AM »
For those in  Vic.

https://www.racv.com.au/on-the-road/driving-maintenance/fuel-prices.html

So according to that 1.38 is lowest and 1.59 is highest...

WTF on the difference ??? Its supposed to be the same Shit and only comes from a couple of places now...

« Reply #27 on: May 30, 2018, 12:12:22 PM »
That's why I put it up.
I don't understand either.
Some of those low price places musn't have much of a margin.

« Reply #28 on: May 30, 2018, 01:11:26 PM »
That's why I put it up.
I don't understand either.
Some of those low price places musn't have much of a margin.

I actually think that the low price places have a different underlying cost structure - Of the lowest priced places near me, 1 is part of the village shop that is owned by the family that run, another is part of an old larger block of automotive related businesses. In that respect, they have lower operating costs due to:
-Not having to rent/lease the place (They own it/mortgage it)
-Shared costs with more profitable enterprises

One of the 2 (the one sharing with other businesses) also do driveway service... how much harder does that make a drive off?

The 2 lowest for diesel are right next to the distribution depots, so again they're owned property I suspect with the infrastructure well paid off.

« Reply #29 on: May 30, 2018, 02:41:34 PM »
One of my mates owns a franchise for a relatively small Petrol Station and the most he can make is 2.5c per L profit from his fuel sales. He was saying more often than not he makes more profit from his coffee sales than money made from selling fuel.

But I’m sure the larger servo’s have more bargaining power and presume a lot depends on what price ‘Head office’ wants to sell them the fuel for.

« Reply #30 on: May 30, 2018, 03:31:11 PM »
One of my mates owns a franchise for a relatively small Petrol Station and the most he can make is 2.5c per L profit from his fuel sales. He was saying more often than not he makes more profit from his coffee sales than money made from selling fuel.

But I’m sure the larger servo’s have more bargaining power and presume a lot depends on what price ‘Head office’ wants to sell them the fuel for.

I think that's the other thing in our local cheap servo's favour - they aren't franchises...

« Reply #31 on: May 30, 2018, 07:48:01 PM »
As per usual, it is the last person in the supply chain (and generally the one taking most of the risk) that makes the least profit.  From bitter personal experience, I will never get involved in retail ever again.

« Reply #32 on: May 31, 2018, 09:12:49 AM »
Quote from: rockrat
As per usual, it is the last person in the supply chain (and generally the one taking most of the risk) that makes the least profit.  From bitter personal experience, I will never get involved in retail ever again.
I always though that is how retail worked...  I know my boss at the bike shop was never rich, but the bloke up teh road that imported his own push bikes by the 40ft load in the late 80's was mad rich.

Offline KeithB

« Reply #33 on: June 01, 2018, 03:21:24 PM »
I think that small servos always pay a higher price for their fuel if their tanks are big enough to take full 40,000 litre mixed loads. And the new environmental regulations have put a lot of the little servos out of business.
It's purely a personal view, but it seems to me that the old "discount wars" where the major oil companies were bidding selling profit margins down to a cent or two a litre are a thing of the past. That discounting seems to have stopped when the supermarkets started selling fuel. I think that these days, it is the supermarkets that are keeping prices up.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2018, 03:46:14 PM by KeithB »
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Offline Apples69

« Reply #34 on: June 01, 2018, 06:25:06 PM »
Charlie Brown - Heinemann road which is top of Taylor heading to Dalby - drive through the roundabout - three big ones out there
2011Trackabout Safari and 2016 Prado

Offline Apples69

« Reply #35 on: June 01, 2018, 06:28:51 PM »
Paddler Ed - Correct - sorry missed the dollars sign
« Last Edit: June 02, 2018, 08:23:52 PM by Apples69 »
2011Trackabout Safari and 2016 Prado

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #36 on: June 03, 2018, 09:40:32 AM »
They are back down to $1.32 (Caltex @ Harbourtown). Considering my local Shell is currently $1.62 thats a potential saving of 30c/Lt.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline rossm

« Reply #37 on: June 03, 2018, 10:53:23 AM »
Fuelled up yesterday for first time in a month or so (been away overseas) in Perth’s inner south.

Diesel up 10c a litre in that time to $1.559 with supermarket discount. Highest price I have paid in the two and a half years I have owned this car. 15c a litre dearer than the top price in the Pilbara last year.

Saw, and heard, heaps of cool trucks and big wagons while I was away. Canadian petrol was around  $C1.40 to $C1.50 a litre. Toyota Tundra with 5.7 litre V8 might be beyond my running costs budget, not to mention the Dodge Ram which sounded like a V8 supercar.

« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 11:05:09 AM by rossm »

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #38 on: July 13, 2018, 07:32:28 PM »
The United on Balham Rd Archerfield (northern end of the airport) has Diesel @ $1.39, petrol @ $1.34   :cup: :cheers:
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

« Reply #39 on: July 13, 2018, 07:38:21 PM »
nothing that cheap round here but theres a 20cent price diff on the one stretch of road here.

The following users thanked this post: 1302toby

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #40 on: July 13, 2018, 08:54:33 PM »
Put 205Lt in the Cruiser and saved myself about $43   :cup:
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline Wortho

« Reply #41 on: August 07, 2018, 06:13:33 AM »
I'm looking forward to getting back to Oz for some 'cheap' diesel after a 16,000 km Europe trip. Norway was the most expensive at around $2.50 a litre and Sweden not far off. Luckily the motorhome is pretty economical and averaged 8.5 litres per 100km, amazing really considering it's over 3 ton and 2.7 meters high and 6 meters long, Euro 6 motor and pretty impressive power for a 2liter motor and was quite happy sitting on 140kmh through Germany.

« Reply #42 on: August 07, 2018, 11:49:14 AM »
I'm looking forward to getting back to Oz for some 'cheap' diesel after a 16,000 km Europe trip. Norway was the most expensive at around $2.50 a litre and Sweden not far off. Luckily the motorhome is pretty economical and averaged 8.5 litres per 100km, amazing really considering it's over 3 ton and 2.7 meters high and 6 meters long, Euro 6 motor and pretty impressive power for a 2liter motor and was quite happy sitting on 140kmh through Germany.
guess it depends where in Oz you live....was paying between $2.00 and $2.25 a ltr whilst in Central Australia recently, though Coober Pedy was only $1.67 / ltr.

« Reply #43 on: August 11, 2018, 08:17:56 AM »
Lasr three fills were $3.60, $3.20 and $2.80.  Looking forward to city prices again.

« Reply #44 on: August 11, 2018, 09:29:19 AM »
Where that, KB ??? :o

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #45 on: August 11, 2018, 10:46:41 AM »
$1.39 @ Roxborough Park Caltex ...........$1.71 @ Caltex on Sydney Rd - Must be the extra 2kms to deliver !
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline corndog

« Reply #46 on: August 11, 2018, 11:00:57 AM »
We are being taken for a ride. And it's not in our cars and trucks. It's by the petrol companies. Making extra $billions from ripping us off.

« Reply #47 on: August 11, 2018, 11:02:45 AM »
Don't disagree Corndog.
Near me, I think it was $1.46.9.

« Reply #48 on: August 11, 2018, 03:16:52 PM »
Diesel or ULP as I came off westgate was $1.59... couldnt see properly through rain, only caught it out of corner of eye... thought thnk **** I filled up other day

Offline corndog

« Reply #49 on: August 11, 2018, 04:17:42 PM »
Would these petrol companies be getting tax cuts from Turnbull's big business plan. Another bonus for them if they do.