Author Topic: Fuel Station Etiquette  (Read 16733 times)

Fuel Station Etiquette
« on: April 22, 2018, 04:13:24 PM »
Some motorist seem to loose their minds when they pull into a servo to get fuel.
It does my head in.
Sometimes there are only a couple of pumps that offer diesel, so picking which line to wait in is important to not hold up other motorists.
Having to tow a trailer makes this task a little more challenging, but when other motorists expect you to back out of their way because they want the pump you are using, well that is when I loose my 5h1t.
4 times last week I had this happen, the last time Friday arvo the bloke refused to back out of my way, yet I was there well before he arrived and had filled up.
Talking to staff they reckon it will come to blows one day.
They said it is bloody rude what some motorists do and they said Fridsy arvo's are the worst.
Some servo's have entry & exit signs, but this doesn't work cause some can't read.

Why do some motorists have no regard for others?

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Re: Fuel Station Etiquette
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2018, 04:21:18 PM »
Stuff E'm Hairs, Get the local bulk depot to drop you a couple of 44's and fuel up at home .  ;D

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2018, 04:45:37 PM »
Stuff E'm Hairs, Get the local bulk depot to drop you a couple of 44's and fuel up at home .  ;D
I wish.

A fortnight ago, I was boxed in, sat there for 20 bloody minutes while I waited for an old bloke to fill up his mower tin(5lt) click, click, click with the nozzle, he pulled up infront of me just as I got back in to drive off.
They just have no bloody idea.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2018, 06:25:01 PM »
My solutions:
-Go to the attended service servo where we're known... they don't mind if you park out the way and the other customers know you'll do that if chasing diesel or 95 (share the same pump cluster)
-Go to the other servo where they have 95 or diesel. The diesel pump is 20m away, so nice and easy.

Both happen to be cheaper than the big ones, and the staff are friendlier.

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2018, 08:53:14 PM »
In the US, they're called assholes. It doesn't have the same meaning here.

Awaiting in line, two pumps become available, the dude in front, instead of driving forward to the furthest one so I can access the second one, he moves to the closest one, so nobody can access the one in front.

He then looks at me and says drive around him......cnt.

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2018, 08:55:21 PM »
Then you get the mole that will fill her car, then proceed to do the weeks shopping, while her car remains blocking the pump and driveway.

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2018, 08:58:08 PM »
Same women, different day, all pumps are free, but no, decides to use the only pump that has the diesel nozzle (one pump, 3 fuel types) and fill her car with unleaded.

Then locks her car and does another weekly shop, in the servo.

« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2018, 08:59:03 PM »
Then you get the mole that will fill her car, then proceed to do the weeks shopping, while her car remains blocking the pump and driveway.

Happened to me the other day, than she sit in the drivers seat playing on the phone......I ended up giving her a good toooooooot

Offline SEADOO

« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2018, 09:02:23 PM »
Does any body know the Mijora shopping complex in Canberra.

It has a Cosco and a Caltex servo's next to each other.

2 places to avoid. It's worth driving around the corner to the other Caltex and pay a few cents more per litre, just so you don't have to put up with the dick heads.

Offline moeite

« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2018, 10:13:01 AM »
Service station Etiquette !!! There is NO such thing. Think Rafferty's rules.
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2018, 12:49:57 PM »
Service station Etiquette !!! There is NO such thing. Think Rafferty's rules.
Yep,
Seems I've been too nice all these years.

Sent from my SM-J320ZN using Tapatalk

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2018, 01:04:58 PM »
Really it's no different to everything in life these days, they are just self centered and only thinking of themselves. As one of my daughters
wrote once "I may seem selfish but if I don't look out for myself who will!" seems to be the common theme these days.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2018, 01:09:10 PM by HKB Electronics »
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters

« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2018, 03:28:00 PM »
What gets me is the queues out the driveway onto the road because everyone's filler cap is on the same side of the car.

If my 100 Series cruiser can be filled from a pump on the "wrong" side of the car I am sure your little sports car can as well. The hoses are made long enough to reach to the far side of a vehicle.

« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2018, 03:57:45 PM »
You guys need to toughen up....   ;D

Try owning one 10 years....  I should write a book.

I did pretty well, usually most people I asked to move on did so once they recognised their error.  I did manage to severely  pee of Ron Walker (Grand Prix Head Honcho and Liberal Party stallwart)  once tho.  We had a que of cars out the drive way one Sunday night in the middle of snow season (Mansfield High Street).  He did a loop in his Merc and pulled up to the front pump ahead of all the other punters waiting.   He didnt take it well when he came in and asked why the pump wouldnt work for him and was told he had to go to the back of the que....

What gets me is the queues out the driveway onto the road because everyone's filler cap is on the same side of the car.

Actually they are pretty evenly spread between left and right side. It amazed me how many people didnt know there is a little arrow next to the fuel guage that indicated which side the filler is on....

« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2018, 05:26:29 PM »

Actually they are pretty evenly spread between left and right side. It amazed me how many people didnt know there is a little arrow next to the fuel guage that indicated which side the filler is on....

Ummmmmm Mace...................

Why are you surprised at peoples stupidity???

Society keeps putting warning labels on lawnmower blades and hot coffee so in return Darwin is creating bigger idiots.
It's the balance of life.

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2018, 05:29:30 PM »
I usually fill up at night when the great unwashed are watching Master Crap. Hardly anyone there.  ;D
Just gotta dodge the local park people coming in to use the servo toilet.....

I still laugh when its busy and someone pulls up behind me in a Swift or similar when I have just started a full fill.
Not even a real big tank, but they are getting rather impatient after a 120L has gone in with those slow little nozzles  >:D

« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2018, 05:41:31 PM »
I usually fill up at night when the great unwashed are watching Master Crap. Hardly anyone there.  ;D
Just gotta dodge the local park people coming in to use the servo toilet.....

I still laugh when its busy and someone pulls up behind me in a Swift or similar when I have just started a full fill.
Not even a real big tank, but they are getting rather impatient after a 120L has gone in with those slow little nozzles  >:D

Same. The main servo I use doesn’t have enough room between the lines of cars for one at the rear to go through. I usually fill when the red light is on (180L tank) so put in around 160-165L and pity the person who is behind me

« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2018, 05:43:30 PM »
Same women, different day, all pumps are free, but no, decides to use the only pump that has the diesel nozzle (one pump, 3 fuel types) and fill her car with unleaded.

Then locks her car and does another weekly shop, in the servo.
Drove a diesel for 14 years and dedicated gas for the last 4.

Pull into an empty servo bar a single car and you can almost guarantee that one petrol powered car is blocking the only diesel or lpg pump.

You sit behind them with engine running and seat belt on and they look at you like you're a complete moron, as they point to the other 10 empty pumps. Or get paranoid that your stalking them....

« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2018, 05:58:48 PM »
Local BP servo i use has diesel at every bowser, on the cheaper side of diesel sellers in Brisbane and never really a hassle with que's....only time It's a slight hassle there is around 6.00 a.m, fleets of local business trucks fuel there each morning before starting their day, but the bowsers under cover the trucks can't use, so only hassle can be maneuvering around them at the entry and exit driveways.

« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2018, 06:54:49 PM »

Apparently in Orange, NSW this is not the case  :D
I would suggest there is always a queue for pulling up the the right side of the pump (filler on passenger side).
It is probably a perception thing on my behalf

The following users thanked this post: Garfish

Offline Apples69

« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2018, 07:59:08 PM »
In toowoomba I have just found quite a few truck fuel stations unmanned. Diesel was .10c cheaper then the InTown servos
2011Trackabout Safari and 2016 Prado

« Reply #21 on: April 23, 2018, 09:47:56 PM »
In toowoomba I have just found quite a few truck fuel stations unmanned. Diesel was .10c cheaper then the InTown servos

We've got 2 fuel depots now that have unmanned self serve diesel pumps... However, the independents are 0.9c/Litre and 2.9c/litre cheaper still than the automated, and 9c/litre cheaper than the big ones.

« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2018, 10:09:30 PM »
Cost of Fuel doesn't always equate to quality, or performance, of the fuel.
Local BP to me isn't the dearest in my area, but fuel always gives better performance than the Shell or Caltex fuels.
I have a suspicion that a Local unbranded Servo is selling Mobil, because the price is similar and quality is good.

« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2018, 12:13:39 PM »
There you go! Around here, BP is always the most expensive, usually by a few cents, followed by Shell & Coles / Woolies, with real Caltex a few cents under them, & the independents another several cents down again.

Our mechanic has always recommended using Caltex, both petrol & diesel, as he says it the "cleanest" ???

I remember getting a load of 7/11 petrol several years ago, & the car ran like a hairy goat, coughing & spluttering, no power & gave lousy milage for a couple of weeks till that cleared out of the system :'(

« Reply #24 on: April 24, 2018, 12:26:07 PM »
Fizzie, 7 Eleven were selling Shell fuel till a coupla yrs. ago, then Mobil started an agreement with them.
Mobil Servo's became 7 Elevens around Vic., as well as the existing 7 Elevens. 
By rights the quality of fuel should have improved under that agreement.  Despite what Shell says.

Just my opinion but a lot of people seem to agree with me on this.
Anyone who has to mix ethanol into their top grade fuel to make it better, needs to rethink their methodology.