Author Topic: Howdy from the nation's capital..  (Read 8482 times)

Offline kiwipete

Re: Howdy from the nation's capital..
« Reply #25 on: January 18, 2011, 01:30:29 PM »
Hi Morgan and welcome. I'm another from North Cooma, also known as the Tuggers area. Like Kiwi Pete I have two fridges, 60ltr in the track and 40 in the CT. I also have a 32 but that's for game meat.

By chance I happen to know someone who knows their way around electricery, I did it on aircraft for 20+ yrs so if you need a hand just PM me.

With so many MySwagers in and around the ACT region we should organise a weekend down Blue Water Holes, 3 Mile Dam or Bullocks Hill Fire Trail (all in the Kozi NP).

I have been wanting to get to       Blue Water Holes         for ages

KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
Canberra

« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2011, 02:12:57 PM »
I would like to get to blue water holes myself but I am getting a little pressed for time, I am heading off in 6 weeks for a 12 week stint across the continent.  But I am considering a test run somewhere close to Canberra, within an hour or so drive with all the gear on the weekend of 11, 12, 13 Feb to try everything out and make sure I am ready.  Was thinking of WeeJasper or maybe Blue Water Holes.

Wil

Offline randan

• Jeep ......... No contest!
« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2011, 02:42:28 PM »
Welcome  :cheers:
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways ~
Beer in one hand, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming ‘WOO HOO - What a Ride!

Offline outback jack

« Reply #28 on: January 18, 2011, 03:12:06 PM »
gday morgan, plenty of expert advice on this forum

jack

Offline maverick_sr71

« Reply #29 on: January 18, 2011, 04:52:09 PM »
Wil,
    BWH is about 2.5 hrs. 12/13 Feb works for me ATM.

Meet at Michalago Servo at 0900 (just off Monaro Highway)
Set up and lunch BWH 1200
Pack up an leave 1300 Sunday. Those 4WD capable could go home via Broken Cart Track, Boundry road and on to Brindabella road. Remainer take return via Adamidiby and Cooma (same way as get there.)

How's that sound?
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 04:58:48 PM by maverick_sr71 »
Pete. R.

Come on .............. You know you want to.

Offline JORDO

« Reply #30 on: January 18, 2011, 05:41:54 PM »
Welcome to myswag, sounds like you need a Prado :)

welcome mate
CHEERS JORDO

« Reply #31 on: January 18, 2011, 09:28:31 PM »
Wil,
    BWH is about 2.5 hrs. 12/13 Feb works for me ATM.

Meet at Michalago Servo at 0900 (just off Monaro Highway)
Set up and lunch BWH 1200
Pack up an leave 1300 Sunday. Those 4WD capable could go home via Broken Cart Track, Boundry road and on to Brindabella road. Remainer take return via Adamidiby and Cooma (same way as get there.)

How's that sound?

Sounds like a goer Maverick, there are a few others from the area on this thread that may be interested like Morgansmall, Sadie, Sharky I think we should make a new thread and see how many are starters for that weekend, will PM you Maverick. :laugh:

Wil

Offline McAbouts

« Reply #32 on: January 19, 2011, 09:42:35 PM »

We could be interested in this trip. Sounds good and we haven't heard of the area before. Currently trying to look for a map with the roads on there to get an idea. Anyone have any photos of Blue Water Holes? We'd love to see them. Let us know if the trip is happening and we will see how my shifts are going and the sport committment.

Louise :D
2002 Prado
2010 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

« Reply #33 on: January 20, 2011, 04:02:14 AM »
See new thread for trip to Blue Water Holes 12-13 Feb  http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=10763.0

Wil

morgansmall

« Reply #34 on: January 20, 2011, 07:26:19 PM »
Well I've just had one of my questions answered.

We'd put our Santa Fe on the market a couple of weeks ago at a price we would be prepared to sell it at, thinking either it sells for the price we want or it doeesn't, in which case we'd be happy to keep it - mind made up!

Anyway a guy just came to pick it up tonight after seeing it yesterday and offering the price we wanted.  So now we have no tow vehicle but we're looking forward to our next purchase very soon I hope.  It will be a 4by and at my height (6ft 7) we're settled on a Navara, clutch problems/ute off-road handling and all..

Car shopping at the weekend - love it!

Offline sadie

« Reply #35 on: January 21, 2011, 07:32:38 AM »
Hi Morgansmall.

What Navara will you be looking for? Diesel? Auto/manual??

I'm thinking of putting my D40 turbo diesel auto on the market. It has a rear canopy, bullbar, spotties, 2" OME lift, under body guards, BFG KM2 muddies, electric brake controller..... You're welcome to have a look/drive if you want. Send me a PM to arrange. :)

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #36 on: January 21, 2011, 04:36:41 PM »
Hi Morgansmall.

What Navara will you be looking for? Diesel? Auto/manual??

I'm thinking of putting my D40 turbo diesel auto on the market. It has a rear canopy, bullbar, spotties, 2" OME lift, under body guards, BFG KM2 muddies, electric brake controller..... You're welcome to have a look/drive if you want. Send me a PM to arrange. :)

You forgot to add      -    -   Customise "Jims Cleaning" paintwork  :)
KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
Canberra