Author Topic: Hi everyone.  (Read 4132 times)

Offline Cheesoid

Hi everyone.
« on: January 07, 2011, 12:52:08 PM »

No CT for us as yet, but have been given the financial nod from the wife  :angel: so looking to build or buy in the next couple of months. I've been doing a bit of lurking over the past few weeks and thought it was time to join up and hopefully make use of the many years of experience on the site.  We're not exactly looking to go off road as such as we drive a Mitsubishi Outlander but we can get to some beautiful places with a bit more confidence than a 2WD.  We've been camping in a tent for quite a few years but with the arrival of our first baby and the mountains of extra baby stuff we 'need' to have with us at all times now we're looking for a bit more space than the car provides (We're also really looking forward to sleeping on a real mattress off the ground  ;D).  So thanks for all the great information I've been able to pick up already, looking forward to picking your brains for more, sorry in advance for all the questions.  8)

Re: Hi everyone.
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2011, 01:08:28 PM »

You'll get plenty of good advice, and some dodgy  ;D, around here, and heaps of info about getting into a camper.

With a baby on the way, unless you're independently wealthy or unemployed, just go a buy one. I can understand the pleasure one might get out of building it, but using it with your family and friends, and all the swaggers you might meet.

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2011, 01:20:05 PM »
Welcome to myswag, if you have the wife's approval don't delay go and buy a camper today!

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2011, 01:50:28 PM »
G'day and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:

Offline Cheesoid

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2011, 02:25:15 PM »
Thanks for the kind words of welcome. 

You'll get plenty of good advice, and some dodgy  ;D, around here, and heaps of info about getting into a camper.

With a baby on the way, unless you're independently wealthy or unemployed, just go a buy one. I can understand the pleasure one might get out of building it, but using it with your family and friends, and all the swaggers you might meet.

Sorry, I meant having one built, I could probably build one myself but it would have to be out of treated pine and coach bolts  ???. We have a good fabricator in town who will build one to spec, just need to get a list of demands to him for a quote. 

« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2011, 04:46:13 PM »
Welcome to the most fun ride in the net . If your going to build , hire first a few to check out  , then go to a catchup to check out the CTs there . There will be the AH HARR ! moment  ( you dont need a CT to turn up )  & you will get the ided  then if you want to build you can , or hit the preloved market  its all good in it own way    :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2011, 05:42:34 PM »
Welcome to the friendly forum guys, hope you enjoy your time here,  :cheers:

Offline mark40

« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2011, 06:36:20 PM »
Welcome. Lots of good information here. I found everyone here more than willing to help out when I joined and asked a lot of questions before we got our CT.

Offline davidy61

• Jayco Poptop
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2011, 07:16:37 PM »
Welcome!

2010 Suzuki Grand Vitara 3.2l V6 with 2" lift and other goodies

Offline outback jack

« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2011, 08:15:50 PM »
welcome mate, i am also new to this forum and there is a lot of good advice available

jack

Offline Tezza1974

• Hilux SR5 D4D & Lifestlye Podium CT
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2011, 07:48:20 AM »
Welcome,

thats exactly what i did when our first born arrived was get a CT...amazing how much stuff you can put in there to keep mommy bear happy, thus justifying the expense

Have fun

Tezza
Looking for that perfect place somewhere between Peace & Quiet

« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2011, 04:51:39 PM »
Hi Cheesoid

welcome to the forum

Offline Farquo

« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2011, 10:00:59 AM »
Welcome Cheesoid.
Another from western Vic  ;D
Work at a one of the cheese factories?
Farquo

Conventional wisdom - always conventional, sometimes wise.

« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2011, 10:10:39 AM »
Welcome to Myswag.

Offline Cheesoid

« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2011, 10:58:52 PM »
Thanks again guys, what an amazing and friendly forum  ;D

Just took the plunge and bought a 2nd hand CT  :cheers:. I haven't actually seen it yet but picking it up next weekend.  Very basic, but seems perfect for our needs.  I am completely stoked, we'll be taking it to Robe the weekend after next for a trial run.  We always joked about buying a flat screen TV with the baby bonus but I'm very happy to say that our TV is still about 2ft front to back and instead we'll have a CT to take our son (and any subsequent offspring) to enjoy our beautiful country.  So thanks everyone for your advice and inspiration. 

To the QLD members who've been affected by the floods, just want to say that you're not alone and everyone down here is thinking of you and wishing you all the very best!!  From personal experience I can honestly say that no matter how bad things seem now they will eventually get better.  So hang in there because although the memory of the dark days will always be there, the light at the end of the tunnel will be all the brighter for it.

Pics are coming  ;D

Offline skmaint

« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2011, 07:20:18 AM »

Hi cheesoid,

Welcome to the forum.........

Simon.
Your not bogged until you cant move an inch.