General => General Discussion => Topic started by: cyberess on September 07, 2018, 12:50:31 AM

Title: Considering a Electric fat bike for tracks and areas where I camp
Post by: cyberess on September 07, 2018, 12:50:31 AM
Just looking to get into a electric fat bike as for exploring some tracks and areas where I camp.

(https://image.ibb.co/kFW7Ke/IMG_1476.jpg)

And looking what what these bikes are capable of
Some youtube links
Showing what hills that they can climb
https://youtu.be/ygmfEO-EwSM (https://youtu.be/ygmfEO-EwSM)

Another link showing a fat bike exploring a mountain trail -- sort of like bush walking on a  fat ebike  :cup:
https://youtu.be/d7EYeJHll7I (https://youtu.be/d7EYeJHll7I)

I am thinking, it should be easy to mount up on the back of my 4WD, not too heavy, no need for rego, shoud be good for beach exploring and exploring some of the outback tracks that I do, without wrecking the 4WD all the time.

Anyone on this forum got any experience with these?

Title: Re: Considering a Electric fat bike for tracks and areas where I camp
Post by: loanrangie on September 07, 2018, 01:54:33 PM
Maybe you need to walk so you wont need a fat bike :)
Post by: cyberess on September 07, 2018, 05:25:29 PM
Maybe you need to walk so you wont need a fat bike :)

What's the fun in that  ;D

Actually in the Topend where I live, it's gets bit hot to walk around all the time -- about 34Dec and 95% humidity

I couldn't help myself, I have actually ordered the fat electric bike today A 1000 Watt one -- probably more money than sense as it's costing near $4000 by the time I get it to Darwin.

Now just looking on how to mount it to the back of my 4WD
May be something like this
(http://www.isi-carriers.com/isi-4x4-ed/fat/muddy-track-2.jpg)

Yeah can't exactly mount up motor bikes that easily.

What's nice about a ebike is that I will be able to ride it on the bike tracks about Darwin, and I will give it a bit of a go at the Charles Darwin NP Bike tracks start with
(https://image.ibb.co/eOnuHz/Charles_Darwin_NP_Bike_tracks.jpg)
I will see how it goes -- I guess I am going to have to sort out the puncture resistance a bit 

Easy riding fun days ahead  8)

Post by: Bigfish on September 07, 2018, 08:34:03 PM
Wanna make sure its insured well too!
Post by: cyberess on September 08, 2018, 08:26:07 AM
Wanna make sure its insured well too!
Good point --  I will see if i can add it as an extra on my home and content Insurance.
Post by: Bird on September 08, 2018, 09:05:57 AM
Quote from: cyberess
-- probably more money than sense as it's costing near $4000 by the time I get it to Darwin.
can buy a great bike with a real motor for that.
Post by: cyberess on September 08, 2018, 10:21:37 AM
can buy a great bike with a real motor for that.
It does have a real motor a Bafang M620
(https://image.ibb.co/ixBOUp/Bafang_M620.jpg)
O.K. not a really a real motor  :D

With a Ebike there are a few things that I can do that I can't do with a motor bike like:

There is probably heaps more that I could add to that list, and I could have gone cheaper electric fat bike, but I just wanted a fancier one  >:D

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on September 08, 2018, 01:06:58 PM
You'd want to store it securely, because you'll never hear it leave. 
It will leave a lot faster than you walking, or riding a normal bike.
Everyone else out there will want it more than you.  Some a lot more than others.
Post by: tryagain on September 08, 2018, 02:22:45 PM
I assume you had a look at these or similar before dropping 4K, dosen't exactly sound road legal to me https://nt.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0006/374352/v56-motorised-foot-scooters-and-power-assisted-cycles.pdf
Post by: Bigfish on September 08, 2018, 02:44:51 PM
Sounds like you need it to be registered and you will need a licence or am I assuming too much.
Post by: gronk on September 08, 2018, 02:51:19 PM
I assume you had a look at these or similar before dropping 4K, dosen't exactly sound road legal to me https://nt.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0006/374352/v56-motorised-foot-scooters-and-power-assisted-cycles.pdf

As a pedalec it sounds OK.......as a bicycle it is a bit powerful. Don't mention the 250W and you'll be fine..
Post by: cyberess on September 08, 2018, 03:43:29 PM
Yes by the look of it, it is a pedalec,

As from the Motor Vehicle Registry Information Bulletin V56 - Motorised Foot Scooters and Power-assisted Cycles

Pedalec:
A pedalec is a bicycle with an electric motor that fall within a class of power-assisted pedal cycle defined in European Standard EN 15194. The Standard sets a number of requirements to include:
Further to an exemption for pedalecs – refer Appendix 1 S115, 19 November 2014 – pedalecs are recognised similar to a bicycle and road rules relevant to bicycles apply equally to pedalecs The motor must be electric.

I didn't actually look right into this, but I now know that this bike is governed to keep it within the legal range -- I also know that's it's possible to change the govern speed and wattage via a usb lead and a PC to allow for off road mode, and with the change enabled it's not quite street legal.
Post by: tryagain on September 08, 2018, 04:46:26 PM
They could potentially get you under the maximum power bit BUT I think the chances of getting done by it by a cop in the NT would be a lot less than in one of the big cities where I have heard of them cracking down on it.
Post by: cyberess on September 08, 2018, 06:16:15 PM
My guess they way to be caught is to get clocked doing 50km/h in a 30km/h area, might be a bit obvious, when the top speed is only meant to be 25km/h , hmm something been modified.  :police:
Post by: Bigfish on September 08, 2018, 07:20:18 PM
My guess they way to be caught is to get clocked doing 50km/h in a 30km/h area, might be a bit obvious, when the top speed is only meant to be 25km/h , hmm something been modified.  :police:

Shouldn,t be an issue really.  You have bought it for exploring tracks and camping areas.  Hardly Highway Patrol areas.
Post by: tryagain on September 08, 2018, 08:05:34 PM

I remember reading that in Adelaide (from memory) the police were cracking down on it a year or two ago, and as most people were falsifying the stickers on their ebikes they were taking them to a Tafe that could test them.

Some of the vids on the big watt (think the biggest I have seen was 28000w) are pretty impressive, they are capable of 100km/h+
Post by: Fizzie on September 09, 2018, 10:10:25 AM

Or by riding a bicycle with a 2-stroke petrol engine fitted >:D :police:
Post by: weeds on September 11, 2018, 08:14:59 PM
I’d go an electric MTB over a FAT...I have both (non-electric) and can only imagine the FAT will suck more power and I reckon you will get more km’s of riding out of an electric MTB.....plus the suspension and ride will be way better on the MTB version.

GripSport have a good range bike rack.....this is how we were loaded up for our las fraser trip.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180911/b6b2f1a846f786a7a5f57204370af197.jpg)

Weather didn’t last
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180911/cab93a04fe39972117bdc98a5578ba18.jpg)

Post by: cyberess on September 11, 2018, 10:48:07 PM
Thanks for the post  :)

I have been looking into the bike rack situation, and with your help i have discovered GripSport's website https://www.gripsport.com.au (https://www.gripsport.com.au) and I will defiantly be looking into their racks, I might still need to workout is the number plate issue and where one would order a number plate to go on the back of a bike rack/

About MTB over Fat bike, (hopefully I haven't gone too wrong) I have actually already ordered a Volt Bike "JUMBO Plus" M620 http://voltbike.com.au/product/jumbo-plus-m615-premium-snow-sand/ (http://voltbike.com.au/product/jumbo-plus-m615-premium-snow-sand/), it does come with decent front suspension with 120mm of travel -- time will tell if that was a good or bad choice.  According to specs and I have ordered the bike with the larger battery the, bike could have a range of upto 120kms on a single charge, for me I am hoping that will be O.K. for about 30kms of a rougher round trip. 

Today, as Volt Bikes are actually making up the bike for me (Australian made) , today I was given a choice of having a hand throttle, or just peddle assist -- I choose the not hand throttle and just peddle assist, as that will help keep the bike in the class of being a Pedalec and more legal as being a non registered pedal bike, that I can still use on the road and bike tracks.  If a throttle is added the bike could be considered as a moped, not so legal as a on the road -- It's just like getting too larger of a tyre size and over lifting a 4wd, and not keeping a 4WD legal, although it would have been nice just twist the throttle and just go without peddling.

I am already thinking of the first mod that I will do to the bike, and that might be to convert the tyres to tubeless --
https://www.singletracks.com/blog/mtb-gear/how-to-convert-your-fat-bike-to-tubeless-using-a-split-tube/ (https://www.singletracks.com/blog/mtb-gear/how-to-convert-your-fat-bike-to-tubeless-using-a-split-tube/)
https://youtu.be/NEn3IVHsRvA (https://youtu.be/NEn3IVHsRvA)
https://youtu.be/3LAqubBLzYc (https://youtu.be/3LAqubBLzYc)

I will see how i will go with all of this as it's all experimental.

Post by: weeds on September 11, 2018, 10:56:19 PM
Okeydoke.....serious end of town, should be a nice bike. What sort of weight are they?

We have been happy with our rack.....has stood up with our trips to date.

Post by: cyberess on September 11, 2018, 11:48:39 PM
I reckon the bike will be rather heavy, somewhere between 24 to 28kg  as a guess, as it's going to have a huge 52V 910Wh battery.

Looking at a similar fat bike "BULLS Monster E S" as on https://electricbikereview.com https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/monster-e-s/ (https://electricbikereview.com/bulls/monster-e-s/) that comes in at 52.5 lbs (23.81 kg) -- might not be as good as that one as that comes in at US$4,299 probably something like AU$7000

Post by: KingBilly on September 12, 2018, 09:34:06 AM
In Qld you can buy an accessory number plate from Qld Transport for attaching to bike racks.

Will be following your review of the bike as it is something I am considering.

As to hand throttle, isn’t there a speed reduction control or something that still keeps it legal?  Early days of my research.

Post by: cyberess on September 12, 2018, 06:40:01 PM
It's to deal with trying to keep the bike in the class of being a Pedalec and referencing gov documentation  https://nt.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0006/374352/v56-motorised-foot-scooters-and-power-assisted-cycles.pdf (https://nt.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0006/374352/v56-motorised-foot-scooters-and-power-assisted-cycles.pdf)

The line in that document under Pedalec
"requires the rider to pedal to access the power."

This sort of counts out the throttle idea, I mean you can still add a throttle during the build, but it might make the bike to be considered to be a moped, then the bike will need to be registered and the rider to be licensed. Maybe one could get away with having the throttle, it just starts to make things a little risky if things were to be checked.

Post by: KingBilly on September 12, 2018, 08:23:20 PM
Queensland rules for electric bikes

https://www.qld.gov.au/transport/safety/rules/wheeled-devices/bicycle#motorised (https://www.qld.gov.au/transport/safety/rules/wheeled-devices/bicycle#motorised)

Tink
Post by: cyberess on September 21, 2018, 12:51:36 PM
Got my Gripsport Rack, have to say what a pleasure it was to deal with Gripsport, I ordered a 3 bike rack that was on a run out special.

It arrive about 5 days after order in Darwin, and excellent quality and it's great buying something that Australian made.

What's a post without pictures  :D

(https://image.ibb.co/h6tk6e/Gripsport_Rack001.jpg)
I have been after a solution for years
(https://image.ibb.co/nLvMez/Gripsport_Rack002.jpg)
Using the front mount point a bit close, but still usable
(https://image.ibb.co/kzi7Kz/Gripsport_Rack003.jpg)
I have to say I am very happy, it's only minutes to lift a bike up  :cup:, I wish, I had this years ago.

Post by: weeds on September 21, 2018, 01:53:05 PM
Yeah good bits of kit, don’t know why we stuffed around with the old style hanging type carriers.

Post by: cyberess on September 21, 2018, 02:29:23 PM
I did actually purchase a Fat Ebike http://voltbike.com.au/product/jumbo-plus-m620-premium-snow-sand/ (http://voltbike.com.au/product/jumbo-plus-m620-premium-snow-sand/) but the deal sort of fell down, as I think I was just a bit early with this bike -- as they appeared to be still sorting out this bike, and I thought I am a bit far away, still thinking bout this one and Volt bike appears to been quite honest about what's going on, but a bit confusing.

Some bikes that I have under consideration:
The Zoco Xtreme 250W / 500W Dual mode Electric
(https://image.ibb.co/byYrwe/Zoco_Rossa.jpg)
https://www.aseakoelectricbikes.com.au/product/zoco-xtreme-250w-500w-electric-bike-nuvinci-optimised/  (https://www.aseakoelectricbikes.com.au/product/zoco-xtreme-250w-500w-electric-bike-nuvinci-optimised/)Bike
For:
Against:

Blade BigBoy 26
(https://image.ibb.co/fKM0pz/Blade_Fat_Bike.jpg)
https://bladebikes.com.au/product/bigboy-26/ (https://bladebikes.com.au/product/bigboy-26/)
For:

Against:

2018 Powerider Charger 26X4.0 Fat Boy
(https://image.ibb.co/iuRY9z/Justride_Fat_Bike001.jpg)
http://www.justride.com.au/product/powerider-charger-26x4-0-fat-boy/ (http://www.justride.com.au/product/powerider-charger-26x4-0-fat-boy/)

For:

Against:

There is certainly a lot to select from -- just like working out which 4WD to purchase  :D

Post by: tryagain on September 21, 2018, 08:59:32 PM
Have you had a look here https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewforum.php?f=21
Post by: cyberess on October 12, 2018, 01:12:25 AM
The bike here --  came in the post  :D

(https://image.ibb.co/h2yBR9/Electric_Fat_Bike002.jpg)

I eneded up with a Blade BigBoy 26 -- I have to say Blade bike have been real easy to deal with

(https://image.ibb.co/eqv2Yp/Electric_Fat_Bike001.jpg)

Very well packaged, and easy to put together, just bolt on the the front wheel and the peddles  -- It's certainly a huge bike, already tested the bike up a few hill, yeah it's a 250W 48V, completely legal and seems to go well, I will take it for a few rides over the weekend.

Post by: Foo on October 12, 2018, 12:17:49 PM
 8)

Post by: cyberess on October 14, 2018, 11:32:40 AM
Tubeless conversion done  :angel:

I used a Ghetto Tubeless a with split tube method as inspired by this Youtube  video https://youtu.be/Omj1_-TNovg (https://youtu.be/Omj1_-TNovg)
and I used a standard automobile puncher sealant
(https://image.ibb.co/geHDB9/Punchure-sealant001.jpg)
as inspired by https://youtu.be/3LAqubBLzYc (https://youtu.be/3LAqubBLzYc)

The Ghetto Tubeless a with split tube method, is that you use a smaller tube wide tube -- I was thinking of a 20" x 3" BMX bike tube, I have read of a couple of bike forums that is a optimal size, I dropped into a  bike shop, ask and asked about obtaining a wide tube for 20" wheel or a 24" wheel and they didn't actually have any  -- and when I explained what I was planning on doing, gee did they ever look at me strangely -- thought I was a bit weird. The reason the tube needs to be tight is that needs to be tight on the rim once the the tube has been split.

After leaving the bike shop with nothing, I had a bit of a brain wave, what about a motorbike tube, dropped into a motorbike shop, picked up a couple of 21"x 2.45/3.00 tubes.
(https://image.ibb.co/e0WJdp/Tubless-Conversion001.jpg)

What I liked about these tubes is the valve stem setup, it's particularly useful for this style of conversion, as the valve stem is threaded all the way.
(https://image.ibb.co/euaddp/Tubless-Conversion002.jpg)

Tube split and installed on my before the excess tube is trimmed trim.
(https://image.ibb.co/iTMjJp/Tubless-Conversion003.jpg)

The finished result.
(https://image.ibb.co/gbC24U/Tubless-Conversion004.jpg)

What has surprised me on how easy the conversion actually was, and now I ride knowing a puncture from a thorn, or a nail should not stop me.

Post by: cyberess on October 14, 2018, 11:47:50 AM
My first larger ride, 50km ride on the fat Bigboy bike from Darwin to Howard Springs and back. I love it I can just stick to bike tracks  :cup:.

What has surprised me is how little power i used, only about 20% of the battery was used, I did mainly ride out on peddle assist level 2, out of 5 which is max, and on the way out I found myself riding at 28km/h on the flat, The bike is limited to 25Km/h so riding at 27km/h I think that's mainly my own leg power ;). On the way back, a head wind I was sitting 24.5Km/h and on peddle assist 3.  Only 20% power used for 50Km not bad, I am going to have some range.

What's a ride without photos:
(https://image.ibb.co/dCvddp/Blade-Fat-Bike001.jpg)

(https://image.ibb.co/mP724U/Blade-Fat-Bike002.jpg)

Post by: plusnq on October 14, 2018, 11:59:53 AM
Tubeless conversion done  :angel:

I used a Ghetto Tubeless a with split tube method as inspired by this Youtube  video https://youtu.be/Omj1_-TNovg (https://youtu.be/Omj1_-TNovg)
and I used a standard automobile puncher sealant
(https://image.ibb.co/geHDB9/Punchure-sealant001.jpg)
as inspired by https://youtu.be/3LAqubBLzYc (https://youtu.be/3LAqubBLzYc)

The Ghetto Tubeless a with split tube method, is that you use a smaller tube wide tube -- I was thinking of a 20" x 3" BMX bike tube, I have read of a couple of bike forums that is a optimal size, I dropped into a  bike shop, ask and asked about obtaining a wide tube for 20" wheel or a 24" wheel and they didn't actually have any  -- and when I explained what I was planning on doing, gee did they ever look at me strangely -- thought I was a bit weird. The reason the tube needs to be tight is that needs to be tight on the rim once the the tube has been split.

After leaving the bike shop with nothing, I had a bit of a brain wave, what about a motorbike tube, dropped into a motorbike shop, picked up a couple of 21"x 2.45/3.00 tubes.
(https://image.ibb.co/e0WJdp/Tubless-Conversion001.jpg)

What I liked about these tubes is the valve stem setup, it's particularly useful for this style of conversion, as the valve stem is threaded all the way.
(https://image.ibb.co/euaddp/Tubless-Conversion002.jpg)

Tube split and installed on my before the excess tube is trimmed trim.
(https://image.ibb.co/iTMjJp/Tubless-Conversion003.jpg)

The finished result.
(https://image.ibb.co/gbC24U/Tubless-Conversion004.jpg)

What has surprised me on how easy the conversion actually was, and now I ride knowing a puncture from a thorn, or a nail should not stop me.

Great stuff. Thanks for sharing that. I'm impressed with the solution and the bike's range.  :cheers:
Post by: Fizzie on October 16, 2018, 11:19:12 AM
(https://image.ibb.co/mP724U/Blade-Fat-Bike002.jpg)

& for a bit of breaking news, that may not have made it to the NT yet ???

Somewhere about 46 years ago, the rest of Australia got rid of them mile things & replaced 'em with kilometres ;D
Post by: plusnq on October 16, 2018, 11:34:49 AM
& for a bit of breaking news, that may not have made it to the NT yet ???

Somewhere about 46 years ago, the rest of Australia got rid of them mile things & replaced 'em with kilometres ;D

Yeh. But then everyone had further to ride....

;D ;D ;D
Post by: cyberess on October 16, 2018, 12:08:25 PM
Yeah -- I think that's in miles, as to be historical, as the bike track was the old narrow gauge railway line.

Just a quick note if anyone planning on following the Ghetto Tubeless a with split tube method as I have done as following the Youtube  video https://youtu.be/Omj1_-TNovg (https://youtu.be/Omj1_-TNovg) -- I didn't use any foam strip as the guy had in video, it would have would have been just too tight, I think my tyres are different as having a wired bead and the tyres were able to be pumped up by a normal floor bike pump -- just had to pump a bit quicker till the tyre completely sealed. I actually did purchase a foam fitness to chop up to use as a foam filler for $5 as from BigW, have to say the cheapest way of buying hi density foam -- Maybe I will just use the mat for fitness, nar not likely to happen  :D.

Now what I have done with the old tube -- I have wrapped it around the hub to carry as a spare, just in case -- it might get me out of trouble some day.
(https://image.ibb.co/k0LU30/Tube-stored-on-hub001.jpg)

Post by: speewa158 on October 16, 2018, 06:32:41 PM
Can you get an Electric Zimmer Frame  when you get ,,,,,older      ???
Post by: cyberess on October 17, 2018, 01:26:37 AM
Can you get an Electric Zimmer Frame  when you get ,,,,,older      ???

I haven't quite worked out where this fits into this conversation  -- maybe a reference that ebike are only for old people or something.

Came across a fairly interesting story of a chap that traverse the Canning Stock Route on a solar powered Fat Ebike, certainly a bit die hard.
(https://rideonmagazine.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Canning-by-electric-bicyle-.png)
https://rideonmagazine.com.au/ebiking-the-outback/ (https://rideonmagazine.com.au/ebiking-the-outback/)

Me and my fat ebike well it just fun to be out there -- can't say that I can't see myself doing the Canning Stock Route on a ebike, but that article is a interesting read https://rideonmagazine.com.au/ebiking-the-outback/ (https://rideonmagazine.com.au/ebiking-the-outback/).