General => General Discussion => Topic started by: The punter on July 02, 2018, 01:09:30 PM

Title: Help with long drop dunny
Post by: The punter on July 02, 2018, 01:09:30 PM
Has anyone sourced corrugated poly/hdpe pipe around 700 diameter at a good price. I'm kicking around using a 3 metre length for a long drop. I'm going to try and do a vented design like some national parks as they rarely stink.
Title: Re: Help with long drop dunny
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 02, 2018, 01:18:21 PM
Find a large civil plumbing contractor and see if they have a length out the back of their yard, a couple cases of beverages goes a long way sometimes

Post by: KeithB on July 02, 2018, 02:20:01 PM
Maybe google Spiral Would Plastic Pipe Suppliers and see if anyone near you will sell by the metre.
Post by: Pottsy on July 02, 2018, 03:19:00 PM
I see you in Adelaide, try the following in Lonsdale, they have lots of different size diameters and lengths of pipe available
RPC Pipe Systems
11 Christie Rd, Lonsdale SA 5160
(08) 8329 1111
https://goo.gl/maps/txJERiXmwNx
Post by: Spada on July 02, 2018, 03:21:00 PM
Don't know if it is any use to you, but with the long-drop we built recently we buried one of those 1000l IBC containers and used a length of 300mm storm water pipe as the drop tube. We bribed a plumber at a shopping centre that was being renovated and got a length about 4' long.

Here is a link to my build if it helps - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28369.msg948219#msg948219 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28369.msg948219#msg948219)

and here is a link with some handy design tips - http://helid.digicollection.org/en/d/Jh0210e/3.2.3.html (http://helid.digicollection.org/en/d/Jh0210e/3.2.3.html)

Post by: The punter on July 02, 2018, 03:22:35 PM
I see you in Adelaide, try the following in Lonsdale, they have lots of different size diameters and lengths of pipe available
RPC Pipe Systems
11 Christie Rd, Lonsdale SA 5160
(08) 8329 1111
https://goo.gl/maps/txJERiXmwNx

Thanks mate, I've emailed them
Post by: The punter on July 02, 2018, 03:28:44 PM
Don't know if it is any use to you, but with the long-drop we built recently we buried one of those 1000l IBC containers and used a length of 300mm storm water pipe as the drop tube. We bribed a plumber at a shopping centre that was being renovated and got a length about 4' long.

Here is a link to my build if it helps - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28369.msg948219#msg948219 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=28369.msg948219#msg948219)

and here is a link with some handy design tips - http://helid.digicollection.org/en/d/Jh0210e/3.2.3.html (http://helid.digicollection.org/en/d/Jh0210e/3.2.3.html)

That's a great idea! Those tanks can be had for a hundred bucks!
Post by: Spada on July 02, 2018, 03:32:08 PM
That's a great idea! Those tanks can be had for a hundred bucks!

I paid $50 for a non-food grade one.
Post by: The punter on July 02, 2018, 03:38:57 PM
I paid $50 for a non-food grade one.

Hows it all working? I planned on the PC Fan VIP latrine after doing some reading so would be keen to know how this performs? 1000L is a lot of turds!

Post by: Spada on July 02, 2018, 05:48:59 PM
So far so good. So far it's only had 2 weekends worth of use with about 10 or so people each time. I only run the fan when we are there and the product is fresh, otherwise natural wind flow seems to be enough. Last time there the fan ran for 3 days and the battery still had plenty of charge when we left. We went up and mowed yesterday to ready the site for a group visit this weekend and there was no smell noticable.

Usually there is 4 or 5 families in our group when go to this spot and we typically only go about 6 times a year, so the system gets a good rest between uses. Based on our usage, we estimate that we should get about 2 - 3 years before we need to bury a new tank.
Post by: tryagain on July 02, 2018, 08:41:23 PM
Why wouldn't you just hook it up to a small solar panel and have it run whenever the sun shines?
Post by: kizza1 on July 02, 2018, 08:59:34 PM
Find a decent sized new subdivision and you should be able to get a 2-4m length of black max for a carton or two. Just hit up the supervisor. Ph number will be on the gate. We turf short lengths like that every few months.
Post by: Spada on July 03, 2018, 07:44:46 AM
Why wouldn't you just hook it up to a small solar panel and have it run whenever the sun shines?

thats the plan once I happen to acquire a suitable panel at the right price, just waiting for the right truck to hit a suitably sized bump  >:D
Post by: tryagain on July 03, 2018, 12:08:53 PM
thats the plan once I happen to acquire a suitable panel at the right price, just waiting for the right truck to hit a suitably sized bump  >:D

What's the pump drawing, if it's a PC one you could probably pick up one on ebay for some spare change
Post by: KeithB on July 03, 2018, 01:13:45 PM
You can get a day/night solar vent fan for about $100 on ebay. That's solar panel, fan and battery all in one.
Maybe just a decent reasonably high stack painted black might do. In winter the air below will be naturally warmer and will rise up the stack. In summer the black stack pipe will warm up and maybe draw air through.  Just a thought.
Post by: The punter on July 03, 2018, 01:46:45 PM
You can get a day/night solar vent fan for about $100 on ebay. That's solar panel, fan and battery all in one.
Maybe just a decent reasonably high stack painted black might do. In winter the air below will be naturally warmer and will rise up the stack. In summer the black stack pipe will warm up and maybe draw air through.  Just a thought.

Yep the tech link that Spada posted has discussions around the black pipe and draw. I've also read that on cold mornings there is no draw and things can get mankey. After 6 beers 2 wines and <lost count> of bourbons... I don't really want that AGB experience in the morning... so I'll look into the fan idea. Mrs car needs a new battery so her existing one might get the job with a small panel.

This forum is so good for this kind of stuff, thanks all, I'm all over this project now like flies on a turd ... boom tish
Post by: Spada on July 03, 2018, 02:24:19 PM
computer fan draws about 0.4ah
Post by: KeithB on July 03, 2018, 02:42:28 PM
I got some nice 80mm fans from Jaycar for cooling some electrics. They draw just 80 milliamps (0.08 amps) and shift almost 0.6 cu m per minute. Whisper quiet too.

https://www.jaycar.com.au/80mm-silent-hydrodynamic-bearing-case-fan/p/YX2570 (https://www.jaycar.com.au/80mm-silent-hydrodynamic-bearing-case-fan/p/YX2570)
Post by: tryagain on July 03, 2018, 02:54:16 PM
computer fan draws about 0.4ah

So assuming 12v, a 12v 5w panel should be good to run it directly, slightly more than loose change at $11.60 shipped https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/5-2W-12V-Solar-Cell-Polycrystalline-Solar-Panel-DIY-Panel-Solar-Power-Batte-E3F4/232806651684?epid=21020403342&hash=item36345b9724:g:OqUAAOSwPhhbIzea (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/5-2W-12V-Solar-Cell-Polycrystalline-Solar-Panel-DIY-Panel-Solar-Power-Batte-E3F4/232806651684?epid=21020403342&hash=item36345b9724:g:OqUAAOSwPhhbIzea)

I would probably pay the extra $1.80 to get something already with a connector though https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-5-2W-Mini-Solar-Panel-Polycrystalline-Solar-Cells-Silicon-Epoxy-Solar-D-M2U4/253714532251?epid=24016083603&hash=item3b1290879b:g:vLQAAOSwqRBbM2aQ (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/12V-5-2W-Mini-Solar-Panel-Polycrystalline-Solar-Cells-Silicon-Epoxy-Solar-D-M2U4/253714532251?epid=24016083603&hash=item3b1290879b:g:vLQAAOSwqRBbM2aQ)
Post by: wetduck on July 04, 2018, 11:58:43 AM
a couple of 200l drums with the tops and bottoms removed would be a cheap option.
Post by: austastar on July 04, 2018, 12:23:02 PM
    I've seen a 200L drum used, tilted about 30 degrees so liquid could overflow out the bigger hole.
The inlet was 100mm sewer pipe cut into the side near the top..
It was filled with water, which flowed out when deposits were dropped in.
The sewer pipe enters an air space and goes down into the liquid. This forms an air lock, which can be enhanced by adding a cup or more of vegetable oil down the pipe.
All the smelly bits sink below the oil film.
The life of the instillation can be extended by burning the toilet paper in a nearby metal 20L drum.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: tryagain on July 04, 2018, 12:52:52 PM
I'd personally be looking at doing a composting type toilet (keep liquids and solids separate) haven't had personal experience with them but plenty of people rate them in online reviews, plenty of cheap DIY versions on youtube too. I am yet to find a vented pit toilet at a national park that doesn't at least have a pretty strong pong to it.
Post by: The punter on July 04, 2018, 12:54:23 PM
I'd personally be looking at doing a composting type toilet (keep liquids and solids separate) haven't had personal experience with them but plenty of people rate them in online reviews, plenty of cheap DIY versions on youtube too. I am yet to find a vented pit toilet at a national park that doesn't at least have a pretty strong pong to it.

I've found that if people keep the lids shut and the vent is designed properly they are pretty good
Post by: BaseCamp on July 04, 2018, 04:24:21 PM
Could your fan run on methane?

.....  just triana help, ok? 

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on July 10, 2018, 12:10:08 PM
I am yet to find a vented pit toilet at a national park that doesn't at least have a pretty strong pong to it.

We've just had a week at the NPWS Coochin Creek camping ground in Beerwah SF on the Sunny Coast.

They have long drops (although new flush dunnies are just about finished :cup:) that you are supposed to drop a cup of sawdust into after use.

They were fine with regards to smell, although Mrs said that the women's ran out of sawdust on arvo of our 2nd day & by the 3rd day they were all a bit off :'(

Ranger visited that day, replenished the sawdust supply & they were fine after that. Don't know if he did anything "downstairs" to make the smell go away ??? Also don't know why a cup of sawdust should do much / anything to kill the stink ???
Post by: rossm on July 10, 2018, 12:13:14 PM
We've just had a week at the NPWS Coochin Creek camping ground in Beerwah SF on the Sunny Coast.

They have long drops (although new flush dunnies are just about finished :cup:) that you are supposed to drop a cup of sawdust into after use.

They were fine with regards to smell, although Mrs said that the women's ran out of sawdust on arvo of our 2nd day & by the 3rd day they were all a bit off :'(

Ranger visited that day, replenished the sawdust supply & they were fine after that. Don't know if he did anything "downstairs" to make the smell go away ??? Also don't know why a cup of sawdust should do much / anything to kill the stink ???

you learn something new every day on  My Swag

https://www.nature-loo.com.au/main/index.php/blog/21-sawdust-toilets-the-ultimate-guide (https://www.nature-loo.com.au/main/index.php/blog/21-sawdust-toilets-the-ultimate-guide)
Post by: wetduck on July 10, 2018, 12:23:32 PM
regarding use of saw dust; a small tin of wood ash was traditionally used in thunder boxes.
Post by: Spada on July 10, 2018, 12:41:48 PM
Any dry organic matter spread over the top will help with drying and composting the waste. It's the moisture that causes a lot of the acrid pong associated with a lot of longdrops. Sawdust is a good medium to use, we usually throw in a handful of grass clippings or crush a handful of dried leaves every now and then.

Because our pit is properly ventilated the smell is no issue. The fan we have running shifts enough air that when you sit on the throne you can actually feel the air rushing in past your ticklish bits. We just add a bit of compost now and then as a medium to help the process between uses.
Post by: tryagain on July 10, 2018, 12:58:58 PM

My guess is that they are a form of composting toilet, the theory behind them is if you keep the number two's dry, there isn't anywhere near the smell, kind of like a dog turd on the grass after a day or so and it has dried out and there is no smell.
It's when you mix ones and twos that you get sewerage and the real pong.
I have seen setups where people use sawdust to help dry out the two's but they generally separate out the ones so they don't come into contact with the two's to start with. Maybe they have some kind of filter that lets the liquids through but not the solids and then the sawdust helps to dry out the number two's.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 10, 2018, 01:08:42 PM
I remember my Grandparents pit toilet used to get a dose of Lime.
Not sure how often, but it wasn't much of the Lime went in.
And No, they didn't see how far away they could stand, when they did it.
Post by: Fizzie on July 10, 2018, 01:12:06 PM
you learn something new every day on  My Swag

You certainly do! :D

Now another question that occurred to me while we were there.

Could you use a long drop as a dump point, or would that overwhelm the system ???
Post by: tryagain on July 10, 2018, 01:16:30 PM

Could you use a long drop as a dump point, or would that overwhelm the system ???

Possibly with the green environmentally friendly chemicals, but not the blue, but would really depend on the type of long drop.
Post by: rossm on July 10, 2018, 02:26:09 PM

I am no expert but have seen a few composting toilets in NPs etc where they say "do not empty chemicals in here".   
Post by: Spada on July 10, 2018, 03:47:41 PM

Liquid is the enemy of a long-drop, but if it has good drainage and was getting a good rest between uses, then possibly yes. But not if you've used chemicals on the portapotti cause you will kill the bio-action in the pit which will stop the composting process..........effectively turning it into a stinking cesspit (which is what happens to a lot of campground long-drops  >:( ).
Post by: The punter on July 10, 2018, 07:22:22 PM
It’s only the ladies doing number ones so hopefully with the fan in the vent it will help the drying process. The ones that have that draft you can feel don’t stink at all in my experience.

I read somewhere that if the anerobic process starts that it’s very hard to fill one up as it breaks down to dust like dog turds on the lawn when the kids have got slack on mowing duties

The materials gathering is going well, will post pics when I have built it
Post by: The punter on July 29, 2018, 09:24:41 PM
Well thanks Spada for the idea, here is my effort today, I’m stuffed!

Post by: Spada on July 30, 2018, 10:08:01 AM
Post by: tryagain on July 30, 2018, 10:25:14 AM
So have you commissioned it yet?
Post by: The punter on July 30, 2018, 10:55:15 AM
Had to float the seat on silicone, so it's ready to go about now, will have to wait till the next trip for a test. That's when I will mount the solar panel and PC fan in the vent. Will update on performance then!
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 01, 2018, 07:20:10 PM
Shit hot job Mr. Punter, well done.
Post by: The punter on August 03, 2018, 06:57:09 PM
Phase two prep
Post by: The punter on August 12, 2018, 05:59:25 PM
All completed on this weekends trip, fitted the fan and lighting up, no smell at all. Working a treat

Post by: chester ver2.0 on August 13, 2018, 11:05:58 AM
Only on myswag will you get someone to design a Shitter with a better electrical system than most campers :cup:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 13, 2018, 01:41:08 PM
Only on myswag will you get someone to design a Shitter with a better electrical system than most campers :cup:

I was thinking the same, does it have a USB point to charge your phone  ;D

Post by: The punter on August 13, 2018, 02:03:30 PM
I was thinking the same, does it have a USB point to charge your phone  ;D

Ordered one yesterday!
If I was going to go to the trouble of mounting a panel, I was going to make it useful!
Post by: The punter on October 10, 2018, 12:05:39 PM
Update if anyone else is thinking about doing this.

16 people for 5 days on the long weekend, ran the PC fan in the vent the whole time. Stink factor=0. People were completely amazed at how good it was!

Post by: Spada on October 10, 2018, 02:41:41 PM
Update if anyone else is thinking about doing this.

16 people for 5 days on the long weekend, ran the PC fan in the vent the whole time. Stink factor=0. People were completely amazed at how good it was!

:cup: ................it's all about the airflow, and keeping the liquid waste away.
Post by: tryagain on October 14, 2018, 08:47:19 PM
Quote from: The punter
link=topic=54909.msg964942#msg964942 date=1539137139
16 people for 5 days on the long weekend, ran the PC fan in the vent the whole time. Stink factor=0.

:worthles: 💩💩💩😬
Post by: The punter on October 14, 2018, 08:56:35 PM
[quote author=The punter link=topic=54909.msg964942#msg964942 date=1539137139
16 people for 5 days on the long weekend, ran the PC fan in the vent the whole time. Stink factor=0.

:worthles: 💩💩💩😬

It’s not that sort of show  >:D
Post by: Fullberries on October 14, 2018, 09:06:30 PM
At the outdoor education centre i go to in licola we use to put some ash from the fireplace down after when we had finished and there was a bucket of water and some eucalyptus oil in it to wash your hands and help with the smell.