Author Topic: Smoke Alarms - Whats the goods  (Read 2668 times)

Smoke Alarms - Whats the goods
« on: January 02, 2022, 12:48:43 PM »
So 3 something am the smoke alarm went off.. state of soiled undies ran around turning on lights and Shit, then realizing theres no smoke, no nothing.
Gathering myself up I went about shutting the squealing down.  This resulted in the said alarm no longer being in 1 piece.

Googling today there's many reasons they can report false positives -
EG: Humidity (god help those in Cairns), insects, dust, chemicals stored nearby (didn't know that)
Burning cooking, steam (know that one from the old house)

So .. onto big green shed site and look up alarms and the reviews on smoke alarms are pretty terrible with false positives and replacement/warranty problems. I thought Quell was a good brand, but the other brands like FamilyFirst (isn't that a political party?)

Smoke Alarms

Anyone in the know got any input into what brands/ models are not going to give false positives after FA time.

Thoughts?

Re: Smoke Alarms - Whats the goods
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2022, 01:39:15 PM »
 :worthles: of smoke alarm

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2022, 03:16:06 PM »
Qld probably has the most robust requirements for smoke alarms and moving forward the smoke alarm must be the photoelectric type and not contain an ionisation sensor. All smoke alarms in the same premises must be interconnected.

Not sure about the sensitivity of the different types of smoke alarms but QFES offer the following info.
https://www.qfes.qld.gov.au/prepare/fire/smoke-alarms

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2022, 03:28:04 PM »
How old were the batteries ?

Offline corndog

« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2022, 03:58:39 PM »
Try a kitchen photoelectric alarm. 9 volt batteries should be replaced every year, smoke detector every 10. Can buy detectors with a lifetime (supposed)  battery now.
Last time I replace ones in the house I  just went to Bunnings. They only have gone off when I  test them, beep at me when the battery is low or the wife burns the dinner.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2022, 04:14:05 PM by corndog »

« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2022, 04:45:54 PM »
Quote from: rags
Qld probably has the most robust requirements for smoke alarms and moving forward the smoke alarm must be the photoelectric type and not contain an ionisation sensor. All smoke alarms in the same premises must be interconnected.

Not sure about the sensitivity of the different types of smoke alarms but QFES offer the following info.
https://www.qfes.qld.gov.au/prepare/fire/smoke-alarms
Interesting and fairly strict measurements.. Wonder how it will be monitored.
... non removable batteries and  interconnected would be interesting with false positives... shutting 1 up was hard enough, shutting down a few would be a challenge.

Quote from: xcvator
How old were the batteries ?
not that old - replaced by previous owners before selling - apparently ... also this wasnt the usual low battery warning beeps, this was full code brown

Quote from: corndog
Try a kitchen photoelectric alarm. 9 volt batteries should be replaced every year, smoke detector every 10. Can buy detectors with a lifetime (supposed)  battery now.
yea not not a fan of lifetime batteries idea, maybe in toys..
fan of changing em.. they arent hard to change, just do em when daylight savings changes, or new years

Last time I replace ones in the house I just went to Bunnings. They only have gone off when I test them, beep at me when the battery is low or the wife burns the dinner
yea thats my experience with em.

Offline corndog

« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2022, 05:10:12 PM »
Had to have them installed in the rental houses in Queensland,  the new legislation regarding rentals. From memory they are, will be wifi linked ,10 year battery with a control pad on the wall to distinguish and control each sensor. Who will monitor the monitors. I'm in Victoria so not me. Real estate agent will push the buttons once a year. You think a council will inspect, sure.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2022, 05:27:52 PM »
Our joint has "networked" smoke detectors in it, so if one goes off, they all go off...

That being said, we have one that's farked at the moment, and been waiting 7 months for the builder to replace it under new home warranty, as it doesn't have a brand on it.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2022, 05:47:58 PM »
Our joint has "networked" smoke detectors in it, so if one goes off, they all go off...

That being said, we have one that's farked at the moment, and been waiting 7 months for the builder to replace it under new home warranty, as it doesn't have a brand on it.
replace it yaself and bill him

The current Regs in Vic I believe is current..
https://www.vba.vic.gov.au/consumers/guides/smoke-alarms

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2022, 07:31:28 PM »
replace it yaself and bill him

The current Regs in Vic I believe is current..
https://www.vba.vic.gov.au/consumers/guides/smoke-alarms
Yeah right... I can't even find a brand on them... Only 1 doesn't work at the moment, we have 5 others that do...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2022, 07:58:19 PM »
Yeah right... I can't even find a brand on them... Only 1 doesn't work at the moment, we have 5 others that do...
replace em all lol

Offline Banjo16

• The road less travelled
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2022, 03:05:47 PM »
Ours went off in the van at 3.45am, tripped out of bed but nothing amiss.
Changed the battery and all good, there was no warning chirp of low battery through
Don

PB Challenger
Jayco Starcraft OB

Offline corndog

« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2022, 04:27:57 PM »
Just had a word with the guy camped next door, he does all things regarding this stuff. He said with Bunnings just get a photoelectric sensor, 9v or 10y lithium, doesn't matter, but check the date on them as they could be a 1 year old already, change it every 10 years if it lasts that long. An ionising detector is just no good for what you want.

« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2022, 07:40:30 PM »
Ours went off in the van at 3.45am, tripped out of bed but nothing amiss.
Changed the battery and all good, there was no warning chirp of low battery through
I thought they all had a low battery warning... interesting.

Got a sparky mate sorting some out for me this week