Author Topic: Good on you BCF and Black Wolf  (Read 4197 times)

Offline stepheng

Good on you BCF and Black Wolf
« on: May 14, 2012, 01:41:00 PM »
I just wanted to tell people about my recent experience as I reckon it was great. (I have no affiliations with these two companies). In Sept last year I bought a Black Wolf Turbo Lite Tent at BCF in Cairns, it was on sale but it still cost me nearly $1k. I was travelling around Aust with the kids and Misses and we had another couple of months to go. Cut a long story short - the kids had destroyed the zips and fly nets and some stitching. I took the tent back to BCF in coburg and was expecting to be told get real mate BUT they did not bat an eye lid. They said no worries, will send it back to Black Wolf for you but cant promise anything. The Assistant Manager at BCF (Evan), even rang me twice, once to ask if Black Wolf had rang me and the next time to tell me a new tent had arrived.

I was pretty happy with that. BCF Coburg didn't have to do anything for as, as I hadn't bought it through them and I had expected Black Wolf to make an issue.  It is good to see two companies giving customer service and fullfilling warranties...Good on you BCF and Black Wolf

Re: Good on you BCF and Black Wolf
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 02:23:37 PM »
I had a similar gig with Black Wolf. I bought a used tent, and the fly was a bit manky. I called Black Wolf to get a price on a new one, and they said they didnt sell them.. I thought :(
Bloke took my name and address and said 'I'll see what I can do'.

Few weeks later, one turned up in the mail :)

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 03:05:42 PM »
Isn't good service and full filling g warranty 'normal'?

Glad you had a great experience. It seems to be a rarity!

Thoughthe service from black wolf for the second hand tent wirh LOST shows they have faith in their product. Also a rarity.
Most would have wanted you to buy a new tent.
they provvbly would get more great publicity after this.

Every one is a potential customer.

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2012, 03:16:26 PM »
That's great service, but I'm not sure if kids doing the damage - product abuse? - as you stated would normally be considered warranty!

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2012, 03:45:13 PM »
That's great service, but I'm not sure if kids doing the damage - product abuse? - as you stated would normally be considered warranty!
I'd expect a $1000 (or more) tent to withstand the kids opening and closing the zips.
Great they replaced it for new.
Repaired would be sufficient and ok.
Though probably cheaper for them to replace it than repair it
??
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 01:08:12 AM by cruisindub »

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2012, 04:16:52 PM »
I'd expect a $1000 (or more) tent to withstand the kids opening and closing the zips.
thats depends how they were doing it... ;)

Offline LUXUS

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2012, 07:26:48 PM »

If the tent was damaged from opening and closing by children, but it doesn't state anywhere on the product or in a booklet that "children cannot operate the zippers" then it is a design fault, IMO.

But still surprised Blackwolf cam to the party. Good on them.

Offline stepheng

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2012, 10:25:04 AM »
I agree, the warranty probably didnt cover feral kids but if you pay $1k for a tent you do expect it to be a bit robust, having said that I didnt expect them to cover it and I was just trying it on...BUT was pretty pleased about it.

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2012, 12:16:30 PM »
I agree, the warranty probably didnt cover feral kids but if you pay $1k for a tent you do expect it to be a bit robust, having said that I didnt expect them to cover it and I was just trying it on...BUT was pretty pleased about it.

Hope you didn't tell the kids you got it replaced under warranty !
I WOULD tell them it cost big $$$ to replace and the replacement better not end up the same  ;D
glad to hear it was covered :cheers:

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2012, 02:56:14 PM »
Always nice when folks post up a good news story. Thanks.

Offline Dazbrook

• Pom in paradise...
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2012, 08:17:30 PM »
Good to hear.

We had the turbo 300 plus ( the more expensive one ) bought from downunder camping.
This was a couple of years ago.now.
Our zip decided not to work either due to kids also.

We tried the warranty thing also and a rep came to downunder camping to.have a look.

We got the " no chance mate" version...lol..

Some u win., some u lose.

Again, well done..

Dazza.
Patrol GU1 4.5 with extras-- Trackabout safari sv Extenda 2012 also with extras....LUFC..
Pennine Electrical 0421931947

www.pennineelectrical.com.au