Author Topic: Landcruiser Dual Cab Coming Soon  (Read 64540 times)

Chris F

Re: Landcruiser Dual Cab Coming Soon
« Reply #75 on: June 29, 2012, 03:11:00 PM »
Chris,

Have seen plenty of Dual Cab Patrols & Cruisers, the "chop"is done by Custom Conversions in Brissy, they also extend the wheelbase  - from memory the cost is about $20k but that was a while ago.

And no, I don't have any affiliation to them, just seen some of their work - not sure if you would want to spend the $$$'s & use it as a tractor though!
Thanks for that HEMI. I think I have seen their website but I think I have to agree with your last sentence. An extra 20k is a lot of money on top of the initial outlay for a new 4X4. Because it's for work I like to buy something suitable for the job (if possible) and not have to modify it too much.
Thanks Chris that's good news and was only have a bit of fun, hope it all comes through for you.  It sure sounds like Toyota are making them and they are coming here. I presume there making them for the whole world so it really shouldnt matter whether the mining companies take them up or not. Just might effect the pricing. I would think if they have a good sturdy tray with hard points for mounting tripods they will get plenty of business in Africa and the middle east as well.
No worries Jimmy, one thing I was told was that the cab chassis is the only option and I'm sure there will be plenty sold for tripod installation. The thing that worries me most about this vehicle is the possible price for the GXL with front and rear diff lockers and long range tank. Add AC, bullbar, canopy and tow bar and I shudder to think how much it might cost. It might be the work mate for me  :'(
« Last Edit: June 29, 2012, 04:32:47 PM by Chris F »

Offline 1960cooper

« Reply #76 on: June 29, 2012, 09:29:27 PM »
Here is the full story
I have owned quite a few toyotas over th past 30 odd years
I put 300,000 on a 3l non turbo hilux
I put 300,000 on. GXL diesel landcruiser
I then broke my leg and could no longer push the clutch pedal in so sold it 2nd hand for 36,000
That's slightly over 50% of its purchase price 70,000 after 6 year
I really really loved that car so now that the leg is better I want to relive the dream
I went in to get a 70 series cab chasis as the kids have all grown up and left home
The sales man at Cooma Toyota ( who I have known for years) tells me that in the last week he went on a Toyota conference where hey were shown he new dual cab
WE then went onto the pre order web site and had a look
Blow me down they were taking orders for the dual cab so we ordered one
He said that if I didn't want it when it arrived that they would use it as floor stock
No problem
What color would you like
Charcoal grey
Ok
Deal done
No price but dearer than a 70 series cab chasis and cheaper than a 200 series
What more can a man ask for
Happy happy

« Last Edit: June 30, 2012, 06:06:59 PM by 1960cooper »

Offline Proudy

Landcruiser Dual Cab Coming Soon
« Reply #77 on: August 03, 2012, 01:56:17 PM »
Australia First For New Toyota Landcruiser 70Series Doublecab On ...
Filed under Featured Toyota 70 series landcruiser 70 series toyota landcruiser 70 series 2012 4wd landcruiser commercial Toyota Landcruiser pickup dualcab ...
www.themotorreport.com.au/.../toyota-landcruiser-lc79-70-ser...
Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

Offline 1HDT

« Reply #78 on: August 03, 2012, 02:19:29 PM »
Australia First For New Toyota Landcruiser 70Series Doublecab On ...
Filed under Featured Toyota 70 series landcruiser 70 series toyota landcruiser 70 series 2012 4wd landcruiser commercial Toyota Landcruiser pickup dualcab ...
www.themotorreport.com.au/.../toyota-landcruiser-lc79-70-ser...

Not sure if just me, but link didn't work.

1HDT

« Reply #79 on: August 03, 2012, 02:20:26 PM »
Me neither!  ???

Page not found.

« Reply #82 on: August 03, 2012, 02:35:00 PM »
http://www.themotorreport.com.au/54738/toyota-landcruiser-lc79-70-series-double-cab-on-sale-in-australia

Jinx.

I have to say I fell in love with V8Utes awesome beast over the weekend. It looked tough and sounded tougher. I reckon the dual cab will be very popular.

« Reply #83 on: August 03, 2012, 04:11:58 PM »
How far off a Hilux are those prices? They seem very reasonable...

Offline Eamonn

« Reply #84 on: August 03, 2012, 06:57:58 PM »
It'll be interesting to see what features it has. Looking at current ute/wagons in to 70 series. They all lack the 5 star Ancap rating. Mines are only wanting this know due to OH&S. Hope it arrives with all the bells and whistles. Wagon will be next then I'll be ordering a 76 series wagon....oh what a feeling.

« Reply #85 on: August 03, 2012, 07:00:40 PM »
If I only waited a few more months. Oh well, that will be my next car if I survive.

« Reply #86 on: August 03, 2012, 07:04:11 PM »
Thanks for that HEMI. I think I have seen their website but I think I have to agree with your last sentence. An extra 20k is a lot of money on top of the initial outlay for a new 4X4. Because it's for work I like to buy something suitable for the job (if possible) and not have to modify it too much.No worries Jimmy, one thing I was told was that the cab chassis is the only option and I'm sure there will be plenty sold for tripod installation. The thing that worries me most about this vehicle is the possible price for the GXL with front and rear diff lockers and long range tank. Add AC, bullbar, canopy and tow bar and I shudder to think how much it might cost. It might be the work mate for me  :'(

Cost me 66k on the road for my workmate which I pick up in a few weeks. That is for the GXL with rear lockers and a/c. Should have waited. Got mine at Toyota in Benalla. P.S. mines a wagon.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2012, 07:06:06 PM by wyno »

Offline Proudy

Landcruiser Dual Cab Coming Soon
« Reply #87 on: August 03, 2012, 08:56:06 PM »
I used my phone to put it up so I might haves missed some of it will post again when have computer access.
Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

Offline pmturnbull

« Reply #89 on: August 04, 2012, 05:07:23 PM »
This will sell them;

"The double cab will carry five adults as well as providing a one-tonne payload for their heavy gear, such as surveying equipment," he said.

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
« Reply #90 on: August 05, 2012, 08:44:59 PM »
Well I was one of the biggest skeptic on this one... Never thought it would happen but Toyota has proven me wrong....

But looking at the prices for a VJ79DC GXL @ $67900 plus on roads plus avg of $3500 for Steel Tray plus any other extra's....  I wont be selling the 200 series anytime soon.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #91 on: August 06, 2012, 06:59:02 AM »
I am Brett as far as the price goes, if we decide on the LS-T D.Max and fully set up we are looking at around $64K and with spending 80% on the highway I know what I would prefer to be driving. Also the economy difference D.Max 8.1 L/100 and the Cruiser 11.9 L/100, that is combined, another good reason to save some money.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #92 on: August 06, 2012, 07:07:49 AM »
No mention of towing capacity, so I guess it will still be the normal 3.5T

« Reply #93 on: August 06, 2012, 08:19:34 AM »
Also the economy difference D.Max 8.1 L/100 and the Cruiser 11.9 L/100, that is combined, another good reason to save some money.

Bruce, the difference will be three fifths of stuff all over the life of the verhicle. Car companies and media have put the focus on fuel economy, but this is one of the lesser costs in vehicle ownership. Where Land Cruisers have out performed other 4wbies is in resale.

The D-Max is a great ute, really there is not a bad vehicle amongst the dual cab crowd these days. I have a sense that even though the other utes have similar power, similar towing capacity and weight carrying, the LC79 dual cab will be the leader offroad.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #94 on: August 06, 2012, 09:37:29 AM »
the LC79 dual cab will be the leader offroad
But this is what I am saying, "how many people here on this forum, for example, will use their 4WD off road more than 50% of the time. And all the new utes out there as pretty capable now more than either. Plus it's the ride quality and comfort for me these days  :D ;D
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

« Reply #95 on: August 06, 2012, 09:40:19 AM »
No argument there. I'd love to be using mine offroad 90% but it's my only vehicle and I use it for work as well as getting to work, like a bunch of us. Even then, most trips would be 80% bitumen I'm guessing, by the time you drive to the location and home again.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #96 on: August 06, 2012, 11:57:05 AM »
No argument there. I'd love to be using mine offroad 90% but it's my only vehicle and I use it for work as well as getting to work, like a bunch of us. Even then, most trips would be 80% bitumen I'm guessing, by the time you drive to the location and home again.

I forgot I am getting old  :D ;D
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #97 on: August 06, 2012, 01:26:03 PM »
WTF don't Toyota just bite the bullet and bring out a 200 series dual cab.
IMO they would sell like hot cakes.

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
« Reply #98 on: August 06, 2012, 08:57:05 PM »
Also the economy difference D.Max 8.1 L/100 and the Cruiser 11.9 L/100

Try more like 16.5L/100 for the Cruiser as that is what my average was over 80000kms in my ute.

But the 200 series is not that much better with 14.5L/100 over the last 30000kms.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #99 on: August 07, 2012, 06:27:48 AM »
Try more like 16.5L/100 for the Cruiser as that is what my average was over 80000kms in my ute.

But the 200 series is not that much better with 14.5L/100 over the last 30000kms.

When we test drove the new D.Max, had it for an hour, doing 100 Ks the computer was showing 7.1L/100. They advertise 7L/100 extra urban, not bad for a new vehicle with only 200 Ks on the clock.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu