General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on October 27, 2013, 07:02:41 PM

Title: What's your camping BBQ weapon of choice
Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on October 27, 2013, 07:02:41 PM
The SWMBO and I have been looking to upgrade our tired old tripod camping BBQ for a little while now. I was ready to buy a webber baby q but the fiancé wasn't convinced with the then needing to purchase trolleys, covers etc. We stumbled across this contraption http://www.charbroil.com/grill2go-ice.html in masters today for $170 bucks so we decided to give it a try. Comes in a fair few pieces but the instructions are great and we knocked it together in about 10mins. You can move it around really easily as its built into a collapseable trolley like a suit case and the two little eskies will come in handy for extra drink storage. We just ate some roasted chicken marylands that cooked up beautifully. So far very impressed and will look forward to taking it on its maiden camping voyage.

Just wondering what everyone else takes away with them?
Title: Re: What's your camping BBQ weapon of choice
Post by: Swannie on October 27, 2013, 07:09:52 PM
Beefeater bugg,similar to webber but dual burner and also a hotplate as standard
Post by: 02-SR5 on October 27, 2013, 07:10:21 PM
Webber Q,

There is nothing else.
Post by: scarps on October 27, 2013, 07:12:46 PM
Ziegler & Brown 2burner hooded.
Post by: rodw on October 27, 2013, 07:17:13 PM
Coleman Roadtrip Grill. Similar to the one in the original post. A really nice BBQ but am considering downsizing to the Weber Q with some credit card points.

If the Weber is as good as they say, maybe the Cobb can stay at home too!
Post by: Turbojohn on October 27, 2013, 07:45:36 PM
I use an everdure neo buddy from bunnies.  Std hotplate was crappy so I made a stainless one. It does the job and I can't complain but am very interested in trying out one of these webber q's for myself to see what all the fuss is about.
So many people can't be wrong.  :cheers:
Post by: Terry W4 on October 27, 2013, 07:55:48 PM
Webber Baby Q - only used in the back garden so far - not on a trip. Byt love it.
Post by: Topender on October 27, 2013, 07:59:43 PM
Everdure E2go. Also available in a grill option.  We roast and bake in it as well as the usual bbqing.  Being pretty much all Cast aluminium they are quite light, easy to clean up (much better than the grill version and obviously a weber too) and like I said roast and bake things amazingly.

Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on October 27, 2013, 08:14:26 PM
Wow didn't realise there was such a range. Our local stores had nothing like these
Post by: Vk3bq on October 27, 2013, 08:31:26 PM
Webber q 200. Used for baking cakes. Bread. as well as steak and snags
Post by: JCAT on October 27, 2013, 08:35:44 PM
Weber Q, there is no substitute.
Post by: DRB120 on October 27, 2013, 08:46:12 PM
Weber Baby Q
Post by: TheTaylors on October 27, 2013, 08:46:50 PM
Ziegler & Brown 2burner hooded.
It is a BBQs Galore own brand. We love the two burners, cooks up a storm too!!
Post by: discoteddy on October 27, 2013, 08:54:13 PM
Webber q 200. Used for baking cakes. Bread. as well as steak and snags

Yep the 200 is our weapon of choice too it'll do just about everything!

Disco teddy.
Post by: trevc on October 27, 2013, 09:12:42 PM
I've got a Q220 and though it's a good all-rounder it does not get anywhere close to being hot enough to cook good steak well.
Good for roasting, baking and general BBQ'ing - not great for steaks.

A mate just but one of the Ziggies from BBQ Galore and I like the 2 x buner and hotplate/grill combo better than the Q.

Trev
Post by: West on October 27, 2013, 09:29:46 PM
Was looking at the Q220, is it smaller than the ziggies? Not sure which one to go for.
Post by: markymark on October 27, 2013, 09:51:34 PM
I've got a Q220 and though it's a good all-rounder it does not get anywhere close to being hot enough to cook good steak well.
Good for roasting, baking and general BBQ'ing - not great for steaks.

A mate just but one of the Ziggies from BBQ Galore and I like the 2 x buner and hotplate/grill combo better than the Q.

Trev

Geez, my first steak in our Weber Q was one of the best steaks I've ever had - tender, juicy, flavour+. After 15 years cooking on a normal BBQ I wasn't convinced about cooking steak with the lid down but now I'm converted!

Mark.
Post by: Wagon Man on October 28, 2013, 12:53:58 AM
The only thing better than a Weber Q is a Weber kettle converted to GAS...
I have both converted kettle + 220... :cheers:  :cheers:
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 28, 2013, 05:33:15 AM
I use an everdure neo buddy from bunnies.  Std hotplate was crappy so I made a stainless one. It does the job and I can't complain but am very interested in trying out one of these webber q's for myself to see what all the fuss is about.
So many people can't be wrong.  :cheers:

I've got the same BBQ as you. We roast in it, bbq with it & have done damper & pizza in it. I actually use it as our home BBQ as well.
Cooks for a family of 4 quite easily.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: achjimmy on October 28, 2013, 06:25:15 AM
Geez, my first steak in our Weber Q was one of the best steaks I've ever had - tender, juicy, flavour+. After 15 years cooking on a normal BBQ I wasn't convinced about cooking steak with the lid down but now I'm converted!

Mark.

Same very happy with Weber Q for steaks. And we have cook 1" thick tee bone as well. Very happy with the Baby Q.
Post by: KingBilly on October 28, 2013, 08:24:27 AM
Weber Baby Q.  Cooks for our family of four, no probs.  Carry it in a canvas bag (cost $20) and use a small Lifetime blow moulded table (cost $30).  The 6 burner at home hasn't been used since we got the Weber.  Does the best steaks and pork lion chops.  Yumm.

Post by: crappsy on October 28, 2013, 08:28:42 AM
Anybody used one of these ?
http://www.hark.com.au/index.php?route=product/product&path=24&product_id=109
Available from the snake camping shop (anaconda)

Looks a good size ?
Post by: JD-120 on October 28, 2013, 08:33:08 AM
+1 for the baby weber q

also use a converted gas bottle with a tripod and camp oven on top for all camp stews
Post by: Jon on October 28, 2013, 08:35:35 AM
Everdure E2go. Also available in a grill option.  We roast and bake in it as well as the usual bbqing.  Being pretty much all Cast aluminium they are quite light, easy to clean up (much better than the grill version and obviously a weber too) and like I said roast and bake things amazingly.

These are the ducks nuts. Been using one for 18 months, why oh why did I hang onto the old 4 burner rust bucket for so long.
Post by: Jason B on October 28, 2013, 08:37:13 AM
I spent $70 on a quality frying pan. I use it on our campers gas stove, bbq's everything we need for a family of 4, is easy to clean, easy on gas and fits in the pantry.

When we can have fires I have a hot plate, that I hardly use however I do give the camp oven a run with a roast, scones or some damper. We have so many camping meal choices that I can not bear thinking about carting something like a webber Q around with me.

Horses for courses I guess.

Post by: Beachman on October 28, 2013, 10:50:37 AM
For camping I’m more than happy with my $30 twin butane burners with the BBQ plate from our home BBQ, The plate fits nicely over these twin burner jobbies, so when I put the burner & plate into a large bag it compact and fairly light (as light as a BBQ plate can be) 

When we want an oven, we pull out the foldable Colman oven and use that for Pizza, Nachos & Cakes. For meat use the camp oven in the fire.

Don’t get me wrong as I have used a Webber Q and it did cook a good meal. But for me personally, they just take up too much space. 
Post by: Burga on October 28, 2013, 11:06:16 AM
We just have a 45cm round bushmans bbq to cook most meals on and also have a 4 burner gas stove on the ct if we need.
I do like the webber Q series, but this little round bbq packs up so small takes up no room at all. 45cm round is more than big enough to cook meals for 4.
Post by: Mace on October 28, 2013, 11:14:56 AM
No other way while camping:

Wood/flame/heat/smoked all in one!!   ;D

Post by: Jenko67 on October 28, 2013, 11:24:21 AM
Just bought a weber q220, it gets up to 250degrees in 10 min, way hot enough to cook a steak..

Did look at the ziegler and brown but the weber is far better quality IMO and BBQ galore weren't interested in discounting so went across the car park and bought a weber.... Although BBQ galore do sell the weber they don't have the 220.   Cooks great food... too big to take camping but great for home use......
Post by: Bird on October 28, 2013, 11:26:30 AM
Quote from: Mace
:cup: :cup: :cup:
DAMN you beat me to it... no need for fancy expensive plastic ...
and you get the awesome smokey flavour, plus warmth win/win/win :D
Post by: Jenko67 on October 28, 2013, 11:26:51 AM
For camping I’m more than happy with my $30 twin butane burners with the BBQ plate from our home BBQ, The plate fits nicely over these twin burner jobbies, so when I put the burner & plate into a large bag it compact and fairly light (as light as a BBQ plate can be) 

Agree, we take a twin burner plus a cobb camping as it takes up less space..
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 28, 2013, 11:43:31 AM

I am with you Mace, folds up flat, takes no space. Also have a couple of camp ovens which are multi purpose.

Post by: Beachman on October 28, 2013, 12:14:01 PM
Don’t get me wrong using a fire is my first choice, but these days being able to have a fire camping is getting harder & harder.
Post by: Mace on October 28, 2013, 01:48:21 PM
Don’t get me wrong using a fire is my first choice, but these days being able to have a fire camping is getting harder & harder.

Yeah, I know beachman. There again, years ago an old mate of mine's preferred idea for an outdoor BBQ was an electric frypan with a 20 metre extension cord.  go figure! 

We did used to consume just as many cans around it as a wood fire, but somehow it just wasn't the same. Looked a bit strange with us all sitting around a frypan in the middle of his back yard tho.

8)
Post by: trevc on October 28, 2013, 03:28:24 PM

Mark.

Horses for courses I guess Mark. I find it doesn't get hot enough for getting a good sear on the steak for a rare to medium rare - I tend to cut my steaks around the 20mm mark and though it does a juicy medium I can't get it to a rare to med-rare.
I'm spoiled at home as I have a Lifestyle BBQ at home (http://www.lifestylebbqs.com/built-in-bbq-selection-guide.php) which is the best BBQ I've owned or cooked on (and I've owned a few).

Like I said it's a good allrounder and it's travelling around Australia with us - it's a Hotplate / Oven all in one.

Trev
Post by: rodw on October 28, 2013, 06:28:51 PM
You guys made me do it! I cashed in my rewards points on a Weber Baby Q and a Nespresso machine cost me $2 for the two of them! Nespreso strictly for camping use with my new inverter as I have a coffee machine in the kitchen wall at home.
Post by: D4D on October 28, 2013, 06:40:04 PM
Horses for courses I guess Mark. I find it doesn't get hot enough for getting a good sear on the steak for a rare to medium rare

Doesn't sound like you're leaving it heat up long enough.
Post by: bobkay on October 28, 2013, 06:41:18 PM
You guys made me do it! I cashed in my rewards points on a Weber Baby Q and a Nespresso machine cost me $2 for the two of them! Nespreso strictly for camping use with my new inverter as I have a coffee machine in the kitchen wall at home.

I bought a Nespresso machine for the same reason a couple of months ago.  Headed off on a trip keen to show off my new toy. Bottom line is it wouldn't work properly. I contacted Nespresso and they said that they won't work on an inverter, he couldn't explain why, just doesn't like inverters. I still use it when I'll have another power source but no luck on the inverter. I'm happy to be proven wrong (I guess it had to happen one day  ;D ).
Just thought I'd mention before you head off and get let down. If someone has managed to get one working, feel free to comment.
Post by: rodw on October 28, 2013, 07:41:03 PM
I bought a Nespresso machine for the same reason a couple of months ago.  Headed off on a trip keen to show off my new toy. Bottom line is it wouldn't work properly. I contacted Nespresso and they said that they won't work on an inverter, he couldn't explain why, just doesn't like inverters. I still use it when I'll have another power source but no luck on the inverter. I'm happy to be proven wrong (I guess it had to happen one day  ;D ).
Just thought I'd mention before you head off and get let down. If someone has managed to get one working, feel free to comment.

Yes, I hope it works. I saw some threads where guys were using it.

Not sure if it polite to ask or not, but how big is yours? Mine is a 1500w pure sine wave inverter and there is a clip on youtube showing my inverter running an Aldi coffee maker. I not, I will have to revert to the Bellman where there is no power (or take the Honda EU20i).
Post by: Snapman007 on October 28, 2013, 09:00:32 PM
Another vote here for the Baby Q.

Nothing beats a couple of Four'n'Twenties late at night around the fire..........except for beer ;)
Post by: Marschy on October 28, 2013, 09:10:07 PM
What's your camping BBQ weapon of choice?

A knife and fork, of course.
Post by: bobkay on October 29, 2013, 02:23:00 PM
Yes, I hope it works. I saw some threads where guys were using it.

Not sure if it polite to ask or not, but how big is yours? Mine is a 1500w pure sine wave inverter and there is a clip on youtube showing my inverter running an Aldi coffee maker.

Mine is 2500 max peak, 5000 continuous load. Pure sine inverter, plenty power. I've seen other brands work no prob, apparently (and according to Nespresso) their brand just doesn't like inverters?? ???

The others U've seen, we're they Nespresso or another brand?
I was just going to get an Aldi but of course their coffee isn't good enough for SWMBO  >:(

Post by: rodw on October 29, 2013, 07:17:06 PM
Mine is 2500 max peak, 5000 continuous load. Pure sine inverter, plenty power. I've seen other brands work no prob, apparently (and according to Nespresso) their brand just doesn't like inverters?? ???

The others U've seen, we're they Nespresso or another brand?
I was just going to get an Aldi but of course their coffee isn't good enough for SWMBO  >:(

Here are a couple of threads using a Pixie which is what I ordered
1200 W inverter: http://caravanersforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=33295
1000 W inverter: http://www.home-barista.com/levers/espresso-on-car-camping-trip-t21649.html

Anyway I will report back on this.
Post by: fnqlux on October 29, 2013, 08:50:00 PM
Another vote for the Webber Baby Q unless a REAL fire can be had - then it's the folding hot plate and camp oven......
Post by: bobkay on October 29, 2013, 09:40:56 PM
Here are a couple of threads using a Pixie which is what I ordered
1200 W inverter: http://caravanersforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=33295
1000 W inverter: http://www.home-barista.com/levers/espresso-on-car-camping-trip-t21649.html

Anyway I will report back on this.

Cheers, that was interesting reading although the first one did do my head in a bit with the figures (I run 3 120ah batteries in my Landcruiser so fairly satisfied that it has adequate power BUT, I don't pretend to understand too much about such things so happy to be corrected if it gets it working. The second thread, the guy who uses one successfully is in Maryland Virginia if I read it right, 110 volts, wonder if that makes any difference?? Like him I use it for motels anyway, my work takes me away quite a bit and the coffee in the room is usually pretty ordinary.

We've hijacked the thread a bit, I see there is a thread on coffee, maybe we should adjourn there for  future discussion???
Post by: kanga1 on October 30, 2013, 08:10:55 AM
Another one for the Ziggy, good bit of gear.  Cheers, Kanga.
Post by: Swannie on October 30, 2013, 08:54:32 AM
I Cant believe the beefeater isn't more popular
Post by: gibbo301 on October 30, 2013, 09:20:45 AM
Webber baby Q for me  :cup:
Post by: Spartan on October 30, 2013, 09:30:34 AM
Everdure Neo Buddy for us. Does virtually everything a Weber Q does and cost $100 less plus we don't have to buy any of the expensive weber brand accessories - win win.
Post by: noel_w on October 30, 2013, 10:59:38 AM
There is no substitute, fire & steel (and bacon mmmm).

Here's one I prepared earlier
Post by: Swannie on October 30, 2013, 12:13:35 PM
I do use the campfire hotplate when away with the boys but also use this which i love
Post by: evans52 on October 30, 2013, 08:28:55 PM

The best way for steaks and bacon and eggs.

Other than that, use a Jackaroo 2 Burner which I put wheels on so I can wheel in and out of the Camper.
Post by: georgegna on October 30, 2013, 09:24:51 PM
I've got a couple of CADAC bbq's, safari chef & a skottel. They are a South African brand with the necessary Aussie attachments.
Can cook most things with these two.
Worth looking into if you want something different.
Post by: yogi on October 31, 2013, 01:45:30 PM
Q220 ....... best steak I have ever eaten ...... and I have had a few .... lol

Post by: Crimso on October 31, 2013, 04:22:45 PM

Well Nespresso is wrong. I live with solar power so everything runs off my inverter, including my Nespresso machine. Only reason I can think of is possibly your inverter isn't a sine wave or it won't pump out enough power.
I have a 250 watt inverter for camping & that wouldn't even think about running the coffee machine. For coffee on the road, round the campsite you can't beat the ROK coffee "machines".

Edit-: just saw a couple of your other posts, do you take a 2500 watt inverter camping? My household one is only 2000 watts & runs everything at home, only thing it won't run is anything to do with heating / cooking, just too much power thrown away. Check out the ROK machines, makes a hell of a great coffee!
http://espressounplugged.com.au (http://espressounplugged.com.au)
Post by: bobkay on November 03, 2013, 02:38:41 PM
Well Nespresso is wrong. I live with solar power so everything runs off my inverter, including my Nespresso machine. Only reason I can think of is possibly your inverter isn't a sine wave or it won't pump out enough power.

I'm keen to discuss this some more with you but think it's a bit off topic here?? Could we move to this thread plse

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=6892.0

Cheers bob

Post by: olddigger on November 03, 2013, 07:56:33 PM
I'm with Swannie. Biji-barbie over a butane stove. Light and fast.

Cheers, Tony
Post by: booga on November 04, 2013, 12:29:59 AM
Just scored me a Webber for my B/day - happy days
Post by: firecracker on November 04, 2013, 04:56:59 AM
We use a tripod type with an adjustable chain to lower the grill to the optimum level, after cooking we pile logs on and have a great off ground campfire to sit round  :cup:
Post by: ScottT on November 04, 2013, 01:04:34 PM
Webber baby Q for me  :cup:

And me !    :cup:   :cup:
Post by: oldmate on November 04, 2013, 03:27:03 PM
Open fire, BBQ plate and camp oven does all our cooking. If no fires allowing we just use a good frypan with the gas stove. Have a gas ring also for the camp oven, good for stews and stuff
Post by: Big Damo on April 08, 2014, 09:54:34 PM
Just bought an O-Grill very compact and easy to use bigger plate than baby q somewhat limited for roast etc by the low lid height but so far so good.
Was considering Weber Q and Everdure E2go but got this at a great price and the compact size and ease of use won me over
Sometimes need to look outside the square
Post by: 2impulsiv on April 08, 2014, 11:21:57 PM
We have been looking at getting a Neo Buddy, are they able to cook pies? Because that sounds great to me!!!

I normally only use a couple of small frying pans on the gas top. But after reading these posts and what you have been cooking while away I'm keen to join in the fun!

:)
Post by: Grayzo on April 08, 2014, 11:32:08 PM
Weber Q 100EAU. Was a bit dubious at first with the whole grill thing. But sold the old flat hot plate the other day and won't go back now.
Post by: Mattsglxr on April 08, 2014, 11:48:37 PM
Weber 220 here as well. Love it , pizza night once a week and roast as well and bbqs in between. It goes from the pergola to the back of the ute when we head off.
Post by: Swannie on April 09, 2014, 05:29:41 AM
Beefeater bugg
Post by: xcvator on April 09, 2014, 07:37:29 AM
can/bottle opener in case of emergency  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: chisel on April 09, 2014, 07:47:45 AM
Anyone used one of these? http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Camping-Gear/Gladiator-3-Burner-Stove#90044053 (http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Camping-Gear/Gladiator-3-Burner-Stove#90044053)
Post by: Swogjb on April 09, 2014, 08:15:59 AM
We have used a WeberQ 220 for the last couple of years and absolutely love the thing.
SWMBO got me a Q100 for the camper for Xmas, it is brilliant and just that bit smaller for storing in the Trackabout.

I have a Snow Peak fire pit and grill on its way from Drifta at the moment, Can't wait to give it a run up at Mildura over Easter. I'm sure ill manage to cremate some form of protein on it after several beverages. >:D
Have not cooked on open coals for years.
It's about time I introduce the kids to charcoaled chops.

Post by: feisty on April 09, 2014, 08:39:13 PM
Have an everdure neo buddy. Beautifully made and designed. Bought it mostly to avoid being a weber lemming. Have 5 bbqs at home ranging from a bigger everdure (fantastic quality) to a charcoal spit. Finally gave in and bought a baby q.  Great bbq. Can SO see what the fuss is about.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Post by: 2impulsiv on April 09, 2014, 09:49:34 PM
Have an everdure neo buddy. Beautifully made and designed. Bought it mostly to avoid being a weber lemming. Have 5 bbqs at home ranging from a bigger everdure (fantastic quality) to a charcoal spit. Finally gave in and bought a baby q.  Great bbq. Can SO see what the fuss is about.

So in your opinion would you say the webber is better?

:)
Post by: feisty on April 09, 2014, 10:14:09 PM
Ah. Yes. Was always put off by challenge of cleaning a grill.  The neo buddy being a plate keeps things relatively mess free.  But at the end of the day you maintain a relative standard of cleanliness for a Weber or any grill for that matter which is still clean but not immaculate.  Lots has been said about the weber not having the btu's to cook steak properly but it is designed to cook with the lid down and when doing so it cooks steak extremely well.  To sum it up (in my opinion) buy any form of plate when bbqing on gas and you might as well get out a frypan.  The weber q has the flavour and fun (almost) of cooking on wood without the wood.

Post by: 2impulsiv on April 09, 2014, 10:19:39 PM
Thanks for your feed back, will go and take a look at them this weekend.

Cheers. :)
Post by: feisty on April 09, 2014, 10:33:42 PM
Have fun.  Part of the fun of ownership is looking for cheaper alternatives for their seriously overpriced accessories.

Post by: BrisVegasGolfer on April 10, 2014, 12:55:47 PM
Just scored me a Webber for my B/day - happy days

Yup, same here.  We cashed in some frequent flier points and got the Q200.  Took it out camping on the weekend and did my first pork roast and the crackling was superb.  Did lamb chops on it the next night.  Very happy so far. 

Will probably still take the butane portable stove for making a coffee, but the weber looks the goods.
Post by: feisty on April 10, 2014, 05:32:52 PM
Do yourself a favour and buy one of those gasmate remote electronic thermometers. Dial in the meat type and then rare medium or well done insert the probe and the little fella beeps at you when the roast is done. Best bbq gadget ever for weber users. 25 bucks at bunnings etc. No more lifting lids.....

Post by: toad on April 10, 2014, 08:28:35 PM
 Does SWMBO talk to the fiancé?
Post by: Buttsy on April 11, 2014, 12:04:51 PM
Weber here as well... Since Santa bought the baby for Christmas, the beef master never got used again.... So just went last weekend and got a family q also.

Gooooood bbq's

Buttsy.
Post by: fridayman on April 11, 2014, 12:57:07 PM
Chainsaw, axe, spade, grid, camp oven, stubby cooler and I'm sorted. I think the missus might also have this gas contraption...
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on April 12, 2014, 12:31:51 PM
We don't take a gas bbq away with us, instead we carry one of these ...

(http://outdoor.companionbrands.com.au/images/dynamic/prod_lines/L/9038_img1_L.jpg)

Its used primarily for cooking over an open fire. If that option is unavailable, it sits nicely on the Primus 3 burner, taking up 2 burners and leaving the third one for a pot, billy or such. This has been our goto system for many years. I hate carrying acres of gear about. Multi-use equipment is my thing.

We recently inherited a Cobb cooker. The outside plastic surround was cracked and broken. Ordered a new stainless mesh surround from the supplier in Sydney.

(http://cobbaustralia.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Cobb-Premier-Base_COBB.020-400x400.jpg)

Bought a couple of accessories and she's ready to go ...

(http://cobbaustralia.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/Cobb-Fenced-Roast-Rack-400x400.jpg)
(http://www.vancruiser.com.au/image/cache/data/cobb%20stones%201-750x517.JPG)

I've read all the mixed reviews on them, but have also experienced the results of food cooked correctly using this device. A work colleague purchased one quite some time back, at the local camping show. Took it home and for the life of him couldn't get the thing to cook properly. After contacting the distributor with his conundrum, they offered to come to his place of employment and fire it up for him. A lovely lady arrived, complete with a roast to place into the Cobb. She fired up the bad boy, waited for it to reach critical mass, placed the beef inside and hey presto a couple of hours later, succulent roast dinner.

Gunna fire it up this arvo ... can't wait.
Post by: feisty on April 13, 2014, 10:17:26 AM
How did it go???

Post by: Malcolm Tugless on April 14, 2014, 02:03:31 PM
How did it go???

Fantastic ... pork roast with veggies. Used a Cobblestone, they last almost exactly 2 hours.

Pretty happy with the result, considering it was our first attempt.

Its given me some ideas for improving on the first effort.

Tickled pink with a Cobb.
Post by: feisty on April 14, 2014, 02:04:25 PM
Great to hear

Post by: GraemeL on April 14, 2014, 04:36:42 PM
I have the Weber Family Q at home and love it, I want to get the Baby Q for camping. I just have to work out how I am going to store and carry it.

But at the moment I am using the Drifta Fire Pit (Snow Peak).

(http://www.drifta.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Large-Fire-Pit06.jpg)

(http://www.drifta.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Large-Fire-Pit07.jpg)