General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bigfish on July 06, 2019, 07:51:33 AM

Title: FLU SHOTS
Post by: Bigfish on July 06, 2019, 07:51:33 AM
More than 220 Australians have died of the flu so far, and it's expected to get worse.

I hope everyone is getting a flu shot.  It hits old, healthy, young, sick, kids adults etc...no discrimination and authorities are expecting more deaths and possible mutations of the virus..

https://www.9news.com.au/national/flu-season-deaths-more-than-220-australians-have-died-of-the-flu-so-far-and-its-expected-to-get-worse-national-news/5547a190-0e1b-4113-bf68-2914fa5507a5
Title: Re: FLU SHOTS
Post by: Rumpig on July 06, 2019, 08:04:08 AM
And yet the news headlines on tv this morning's are stating Flu Jab Fail....waste of time as the flu strains have mutated and changing from what you get vaccinated against.
Post by: KeithB on July 06, 2019, 08:06:49 AM
I believe they constantly change the vaccine to adapt to what's around. There is also a free pneumonia shot available for seniors.
Keith
Post by: Rumpig on July 06, 2019, 08:10:46 AM
I believe they constantly change the vaccine to adapt to what's around. There is also a free pneumonia shot available for seniors.
Keith
some doctor just on tv now explaining it..says the shot covers 4 strains and one has changed...it'd change every year and you need to hope you don't get the strain that's mutated basically. I'll stick with not getting it and let my body build immunity naturally instead of pumping drugs into it. If I or my family was old / frail or had a existing medical condition then my view on the subject would likely change, but fail to see why otherwise healthy people bother to get it myself.
Post by: shanegtr on July 06, 2019, 08:29:00 AM
We don't bother with it either. You got more chance of dying in a car accident (statistically)
Post by: DannyG on July 06, 2019, 08:45:50 AM
I never used to get the shot either and then I got a terrible Flu a couple of years ago when I went to the Footy in Melbourne.

I now get every shot my workplace offers...Flu, Whooping cough and something else I cant recall. No adverse effects, just some slight discomfort in my arm the following day where I got the needles.
Post by: Bigfish on July 06, 2019, 08:58:10 AM
some doctor just on tv now explaining it..says the shot covers 4 strains and one has changed...it'd change every year and you need to hope you don't get the strain that's mutated basically. I'll stick with not getting it and let my body build immunity naturally instead of pumping drugs into it. If I or my family was old / frail or had a existing medical condition then my view on the subject would likely change, but fail to see why otherwise healthy people bother to get it myself.
[/color]

Probably because even healthy people have had the flu and died.   Wonder how many of the people who have died thought that it would never happen to them?   Your body..your decision.
Post by: Marcus73 on July 06, 2019, 08:59:48 AM
I never used to get the shot either and then I got a terrible Flu a couple of years ago when I went to the Footy in Melbourne.

I now get every shot my workplace offers...Flu, Whooping cough and something else I cant recall. No adverse effects, just some slight discomfort in my arm the following day where I got the needles.

Did you get a runny nose princess?
There’s no need for me to get the shot as I’m self employed so getting sick isn’t an option

Post by: DannyG on July 06, 2019, 09:03:30 AM
Did you get a runny nose princess?
There’s no need for me to get the shot as I’m self employed so getting sick isn’t an option

Are you on your ipad using tapatalk? Oh of course you are because your signature always tells us............

If you got the Flu a group of us got when we went to Melbourne a couple of years ago, working wasnt an option. Two of the blokes have used less than a hand full of sickies in 30 years and even both of them had 3 days off.......I took a week off ;D
Post by: gronk on July 06, 2019, 09:05:57 AM
One of the latest people to die from the flu had a flue shot ??
Post by: corndog on July 06, 2019, 10:28:21 AM
So the best way to stay fit and healthy, never a day off, rail hail or shine, nothing known to man can touch you is...…………
To be self employed.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 06, 2019, 10:47:35 AM
I'm with Rummy.

Can't be bothered running off to the docs.
Besides, you go to the vet for ya shot and every bastard is coughing, sneezing and farting.

Better chance of getting sick at the docs I reckon.

FLU SHOTS:  Stick 'em in ya arse.
Title: FLU SHOTS
Post by: Pete79 on July 06, 2019, 11:34:21 AM
Are you on your ipad using tapatalk? Oh of course you are because your signature always tells us............

If you got the Flu a group of us got when we went to Melbourne a couple of years ago, working wasnt an option. Two of the blokes have used less than a hand full of sickies in 30 years and even both of them had 3 days off.......I took a week off ;D
We’re all immunized from that virus up here.
They drag it up so slowly behind them every winter our bodies have time to fight it off year after year, by the time your about 10 years old your immune to that one.

You’re problem was you took it in a mass dose.
Lesson learned there. Only surround yourself with a maximum of 5 Melbournites at a time otherwise your body can’t handle all of that grottyness at once.
Going to the footy was just a suicide mission.... :P
Post by: Pottsy on July 06, 2019, 12:41:35 PM
if not having a flu shot makes you feel invincible, good luck, I used to think that way.
2004 10 days intensive cardiac care, heart attack, enlarged heart, medication for life and nearly 6 months of work at age 45.
All started with the flu and trying to work through it.
Post by: gronk on July 06, 2019, 01:05:24 PM
if not having a flu shot makes you feel invincible, good luck, I used to think that way.
2004 10 days intensive cardiac care, heart attack, enlarged heart, medication for life and nearly 6 months of work at age 45.
All started with the flu and trying to work through it.

The flu gave you a heart attack ?? So, no blocked arteries...just an enlarged heart ??
Post by: rockrat on July 06, 2019, 01:34:27 PM
I worked with a colleague or suffered a similar fate. He was fit and healthy and came down with a virus (can’t say for sure it was the flu) and it went to his heart. He was also off work for 6 months plus and suffered permanent heart damage. Nothing to do with block arteries.

Post by: Pottsy on July 06, 2019, 01:46:29 PM
The flu gave you a heart attack ?? So, no blocked arteries...just an enlarged heart ??

Correct, no cholesterol, no blocked arteries, no diabetes. Virus attacked the heart and lungs, actually had the heart attack whilst in having a chest X-ray. I have been left with an ectopic heartbeat ( wrong chamber fires midbeat) gives a thump, probably have at its worst for me 200  to 300 irregular beats a day.
Post by: rockrat on July 06, 2019, 01:49:20 PM
Correct, no cholesterol, no blocked arteries, no diabetes. Virus attacked the heart and lungs, actually had the heart attack whilst in having a chest X-ray. I have been left with an ectopic heartbeat ( wrong chamber fires midbeat) gives a thump, probably have at its worst for me 200  to 300 irregular beats a day.
I feel for you Pottsy.

My colleague was a completely changed man.  A real pity because he was a hard worker and would outshine most in similar roles before he became ill.

Post by: Pottsy on July 06, 2019, 01:53:13 PM
I feel for you Pottsy.

My colleague was a completely changed man.  A real pity because he was a hard worker and would outshine most in similar roles before he became ill.

Mate I'm all good now, just the stupid heartbeat and I'm probably carrying too much weight now. I reckon it took me a good eighteen months to fully recover and feel completely human again.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 06, 2019, 01:55:43 PM
Mate I'm all good now, just the stupid heartbeat and I'm probably carrying too much weight now. I reckon it took me a good eighteen months to fully recover and feel completely human again.

That's assuming you were human to start with.....  ;D
Post by: Pottsy on July 06, 2019, 02:03:33 PM
That's assuming you were human to start with.....  ;D

I am NOT AN ANIMAL.  :D :D

Post by: Rumpig on July 06, 2019, 03:22:09 PM
[/color]

Probably because even healthy people have had the flu and died.   Wonder how many of the people who have died thought that it would never happen to them?   Your body..your decision.
I've had the flu before and never died from it, had a total of nearly 3 weeks off of work about 5 years ago because of it, was pretty crook but that's life. I got so sick one other time I had green fluid oozing out my ears, the doctor prescribed me 2 lots of super strength antibiotics which cost me about $120 at the chemist, still doesn't make me rush to get a flu shot. We all get sick at some stage of our lives, that's just how it is....just because others want to push the we must get flu shot barrow, doesn't mean we all need to be a part of it. I have a mate that was super healthy and did Triathalons, he had a heart attack one Sunday morning on a bike ride he was doing, lucky to survive it....doctors told him he was just unlucky and it never should have happened, much like healthy people dieing from the flu....sometimes weird shiz happens, it's called life.
Post by: bob65 on July 06, 2019, 03:40:50 PM
The flu shot seems to be a touchy subject, doesn't it.

I haven't read anywhere here anyone pushing the "must get the flu shot barrow".

If you don't want it don't get it, simples.

I personally get the flu shot every year. I get it because my doctor (a medical professional whose opinion I trust) has recommended that I get it after having a heart attack 13 years ago.

I doubt there is any argument that could be put forward on an internet forum that could change the trust I have in my doctor and stop me from having the flu shot in the future.
Post by: rockrat on July 06, 2019, 03:43:26 PM
Well said

Post by: glenm64 on July 06, 2019, 03:51:08 PM
I only get the flu shot so I can use my sickies to go fishing.
 :angel:

Post by: Rumpig on July 06, 2019, 03:53:31 PM

This subject was bought up recently in The Daily Rants thread and there was people for and against it then, hence that comment over a dedicated thread on the subject. When someone writes...."I hope everyone is getting a flu shot", I read that as pushing the barrow myself
Post by: discoteddy on July 06, 2019, 04:59:55 PM
The flu shot seems to be a touchy subject, doesn't it.

If you don't want it don't get it, simples.

I personally get the flu shot every year. I get it because my doctor (a medical professional whose opinion I trust) has recommended that I get it after having a heart attack 13 years ago.

I doubt there is any argument that could be put forward on an internet forum that could change the trust I have in my doctor and stop me from having the flu shot in the future.

Well said, that’s how I see it as well 👍

Discoteddy
Post by: GeoffA on July 06, 2019, 05:20:56 PM
Fortunately, I've not been prone to getting the flu. I'll get a cold every now and then, but I've only had a proper bout of flu once in my life. Strangely, it was the same year that I had my one and only flu shot. Go figure....

Might have to change my attitude to it though. Getting older now....

Post by: Pete79 on July 06, 2019, 05:54:25 PM
I had a medical professional tell me once that I must have a flu shot.

I was going on a surfing trip for a couple of months in Brazil and he insisted that I must have it.

I asked “so this flu shot is the one specifically for the strands they have in Brazil this year?”
He says “no it’s the Australian one, but you still need to be protected.”

After that little conversation I didn’t get a flu shot, didn’t get the flu either.
But I did get 100s of awesome waves.... ;D
Post by: Bigfish on July 06, 2019, 06:20:32 PM
This subject was bought up recently in The Daily Rants thread and there was people for and against it then, hence that comment over a dedicated thread on the subject. When someone writes...."I hope everyone is getting a flu shot", I read that as pushing the barrow myself

Well you read wrong.  I was just making people aware of the importance of looking after yourself and others in the community.  Plenty of dead people as a result of the flu and authorities are warning it will get worse.
As I said..I dont care if you get a shot or not.....its your decision.
Post by: weeds on July 07, 2019, 09:40:10 AM
I get the flu shot every year, I consider my self healthy and even a little bit fit and haven’t had the flu in years.

Wife doesn’t and has the flu right now....

For 22$ I’ll keep doing it.

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on July 07, 2019, 09:57:09 AM
I use to get the flu shot when I was younger and always got crook afterwards for a few days,   For years now if I feel not well I just cook up chicken soup with 3 or 4 table spoons of mixed garlic in it, I stink for a couple days but have not had a day off work in years sense doing that, mind you I am semi retied and only work casual to pay a few bills and for travelling money 
Post by: HEM19X on July 07, 2019, 01:49:49 PM
Flu vaccines only protect against 4 flu strains, THERE ARE HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF DIFFERENT STRAINS!.... The vaccine is created using a Best Guess on what strains are most deadly/prevalent using data from the previous Norther Winter that is why you need to be vaccinated each year.

Does the vaccine work? Yes. Does it protect you from every strain of flu? NO.
Post by: Pottsy on July 07, 2019, 06:12:01 PM
Sobering.
https://www.9news.com.au/national/flu-death-melbourne-schoolgirl-13-dies-days-after-coming-down-with-flulike-symptoms-national-news/4c036ea0-e5ce-4028-9a08-6a2fc8e32cad?ref=BP_RSS_ninenews_0_-kind--smart--beautiful--schoolgirl-dies-just-days-after-falling_070719
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 12, 2019, 09:17:13 AM
I kind of have a take it or leave it approach

We get them every year for free through work so if i am around the office on the day that they are going i will get one
If not i usually just let it go
Post by: Titfish on July 12, 2019, 01:45:20 PM
I got my flu shot and have been laid up all this week with, you guessed it, one of the other strains.

Apparently there is no vaccine for “man flu” according to my better half.

Thank goodness for the forum.

Ken
Post by: Beachman on July 12, 2019, 02:27:21 PM
I get the flu shot every year only because work bribes us by getting a good looking nurse to administer the shots and it’s free.

If I had to make my appointment at the Dr, I wouldn’t bother.   
Post by: Merts on July 12, 2019, 05:12:04 PM
For years now if I feel not well I just cook up chicken soup with 3 or 4 table spoons of mixed garlic in it, I stink for a couple days but have not had a day off work in years sense doing that

I can assure you Craig, that chicken soup and garlic won't have the slightest affect on the flu or any other virus.
Post by: rockrat on July 12, 2019, 05:32:49 PM
I can assure you Craig, that chicken soup and garlic won't have the slightest affect on the flu or any other virus.
A lot to be said for the placebo effect though