Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 507020 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1225 on: September 22, 2018, 01:12:19 PM »
https://finance.nine.com.au/2018/09/14/13/58/peter-brock-cars-racing-auction-bathurst

« Reply #1226 on: September 24, 2018, 05:37:03 PM »
https://finance.nine.com.au/2018/09/14/13/58/peter-brock-cars-racing-auction-bathurst
Caveat emptor with that collection!  Most are replicas and a few of the apparent genuine ones have big question marks over them. 

The 84 winner could very well be the 2nd place car.
Now a few in the know are saying the 05 Sierra is actually a display car, built by the team for shopping centres and promos.  Never driven by Brock.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #1227 on: September 24, 2018, 05:43:50 PM »
Caveat emptor with that collection!  Most are replicas and a few of the apparent genuine ones have big question marks over them. 

Now a few in the know are saying the 05 Sierra is actually a display car, built by the team for shopping centres and promos.  Never driven by Brock.

Yeah, right again.
There's a lot of people not happy with the pedigrees of the various vehicles as you say.
There's also people not happy with the cars being sold separately, not being sold as a collection.

« Reply #1228 on: September 24, 2018, 06:39:58 PM »

According to Andrew Miedecke, the one being auctioned is most likely one he built, which never raced while he owned it, and was never raced by Brock, but sounds like it was built as a race car, not a display car.
He owns one of the 2 cars bought from Andy Rouse for the 1989 and 1990 Bathursts and the other is said to be in England with a private collector.

« Reply #1229 on: September 24, 2018, 06:54:23 PM »
Cars can still be very cool even if they don't fly along anymore like they used to   8)
https://vimeo.com/77636803
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #1230 on: September 24, 2018, 07:24:19 PM »
I've been watching a show on Netflix called Car Masters. Traditionalists wont really like it but some of the old cars they rebuild are really good...............well worth a watch

« Reply #1231 on: September 24, 2018, 07:58:43 PM »

According to Andrew Miedecke, the one being auctioned is most likely one he built, which never raced while he owned it, and was never raced by Brock, but sounds like it was built as a race car, not a display car.
He owns one of the 2 cars bought from Andy Rouse for the 1989 and 1990 Bathursts and the other is said to be in England with a private collector.

Poor wording on my part. Correct, built as a race car, but only used as an 05 display car.  Miedecke has the Aussie built Dencar Sierra.  The 2nd Rouse car was written off by the the late Barry Sheen in testing.  Hastily rebuilt and then crushed to avoid paying import taxes?

« Reply #1232 on: September 24, 2018, 08:30:51 PM »

Poor wording on my part. Correct, built as a race car, but only used as an 05 display car.  Miedecke has the Aussie built Dencar Sierra.  The 2nd Rouse car was written off by the the late Barry Sheen in testing.  Hastily rebuilt and then crushed to avoid paying import taxes?

I was only going by the report on Speedcafe. Miedecke says the 2 Sierras were bought from Rouse in England and Miedecke owns one and the other one is in the hands of a british collector !

« Reply #1233 on: September 25, 2018, 01:30:50 AM »
I was only going by the report on Speedcafe. Miedecke says the 2 Sierras were bought from Rouse in England and Miedecke owns one and the other one is in the hands of a british collector !
Could have sworn I read it in a mag a few years ago?

« Reply #1234 on: September 25, 2018, 10:20:51 AM »
Could have sworn I read it in a mag a few years ago?

Article here.

http://v8sleuth.com.au/news/2016/08/05/famous-sierra-being-re-born-

Sheen walled the 2nd Rouse Sierra at Winton in 89.

« Reply #1235 on: September 25, 2018, 01:45:13 PM »
Its up to each bidder to ensure they are bidding on what they think they are.

Lloyds, Shannon's, and the like, use the info supplied by the seller.

I reckon, in a pinch, I could pass off my Cadillac as a 29,600 mile car, when in reality, its got an extra 1 in front of that.
Now, having said that, you'd be dirty paying top $ for a replica.

Once, it was a game anyone could play, but more so now, the prices have really soared, very much a rich man's game now.   

« Reply #1236 on: September 25, 2018, 06:48:04 PM »
All race cars have an ID plate, so fairly easy to check the history.....IF you see the plate before handing over heaps of cash !!

« Reply #1237 on: September 26, 2018, 12:15:43 PM »
Brave man!!!!!! Dunno what Delboy would think

Hill climbing can be a dangerous sport, there’s the hazard of running off the road into a ditch, a wall or even a tree.

However, for one man this wasn’t risky enough, and he climbed the Shelsley Walsh hill, in a Reliant Rialto at the 2018 Retro Rides Gathering.

Replacing the Robin in 1982, the Rialto is another three-wheeled car, and this example has (obviously) been heavily modified.
https://www.carsguide.com.au/oversteer/this-reliant-rialto-is-a-hill-climbing-monster-71024 hahahahahahahahah

« Reply #1238 on: September 26, 2018, 12:35:31 PM »
Silly bloody Irishmen . Tooo much Guinness at the pub . A reliant  Nooooo ..
Me thinks he should have spent some time to rig up a demister for the windscreen, Might have been a few seconds  quicker instead of loosing concentration to wipe the screen to defog it ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgopIxs2lvY   ;D
« Last Edit: September 26, 2018, 12:41:44 PM by edz »

« Reply #1239 on: September 26, 2018, 12:41:00 PM »
Silly bloody Irishmen . Tooo much Guinness at the pub . A reliant Robin Nooooo ..
Me thinks he should have spent some time to rig up a demister for the windscreen, Might have been a few seconds  quicker instead of loosing concentration to wipe the screen to defog it ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQh56geU0X8    :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #1240 on: September 28, 2018, 06:58:06 AM »
This is the email I got from the guy that bought the old XK Falcon recently.

"Freddy Falcon has arrived safely to his new home and was registered on Tuesday .
Drove him to work Wednesday for an inspection on the hoist .
Very happy with everything and pleasantly surprised just how well he drives.
Thanks again for everything and your patients in storing him safely before collection .

Regards Peter"

This is one car I was tempted to keep, Shit it was a cracker.
Another happy customer from "Jeeper's Better Bombs Boutique."

« Reply #1241 on: October 03, 2018, 05:48:57 AM »
I've been aware of the old Lowood International Racing Circuit for some time.... no really, we do have one out here, or we did.

Its really at Mount Tarampa, which is just up the road from our place, maybe 5 or 6 klm away.
Going to go over there today and suss out its layout, if it can be done.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1964_Lowood_4_Hour
« Last Edit: October 03, 2018, 06:03:59 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1242 on: October 03, 2018, 08:14:12 AM »
I've been aware of the old Lowood International Racing Circuit for some time.... no really, we do have one out here, or we did.

Its really at Mount Tarampa, which is just up the road from our place, maybe 5 or 6 klm away.
Going to go over there today and suss out its layout, if it can be done.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1964_Lowood_4_Hour

Shit mate. Old cars, old news. What’s next? Getting your milk delivered in glass bottles ? 😂😂😂

« Reply #1243 on: October 03, 2018, 12:31:06 PM »
I hope so.....

« Reply #1244 on: October 03, 2018, 12:34:38 PM »
Wasnt a lot out that way back in the day . pic from 1956

« Reply #1245 on: October 03, 2018, 12:42:08 PM »
Shit mate. Old cars, old news. What’s next? Getting your milk delivered in glass bottles ? 😂😂😂

He lives in Lowood you know, only just got colour TV in them parts yo hear????

Jeepers and his neighbour behind the shed discussing the next project  >:D

« Reply #1246 on: October 03, 2018, 01:38:31 PM »
 :D

« Reply #1247 on: October 03, 2018, 03:46:01 PM »

« Reply #1248 on: October 04, 2018, 09:43:58 AM »

« Reply #1249 on: October 04, 2018, 06:12:18 PM »
 Clean them up and sell them to an Aussie,  they could probably become quite wealthy compared  other Balinese  .
But then again it seems the asian countries like our old cars .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOs59Zm5nPs
« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 06:21:36 PM by edz »