Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506291 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #826 on: April 05, 2018, 02:53:44 PM »
A mate and I were talking on the week-end about different cars being compared. He came out with the fact, a 327 HK Monaro ran the quarter mile in 15.9 seconds and that my big ol yank tank wouldn't know which way it went.
I said, maybe not by that much, seeing the Fleetwood can run the quarter in a blistering 16.6 seconds, but with a higher top end.

So, because its a rain day here, as a point of interest, I've done some specs..... some surprising things showed up too.

1968 HK 327 Monaro.................... VS.............. 1964 Cadillac Fleetwood.

327 cubic inch V8                                             429 cubic inch V8
 Compression ratio  8.75 to 1.                            10:5 to 1.
 Rated Horsepower 250 HP                                 340 HP
 Torque                 325 ft lbs                              480 ft lbs
 Car weight.           3296 lbs                               4872 lbs
 Final drive ratio     3:36                                     3:36 (All air conditioned cars got that ratio, non A/C cars got 3:00)
 Standing 1/4 mile. 15.9 et                                 16.6 et
 Top speed.           114 mph.                              123 mph   :o
 0 to 60 mph.        7.4 seconds.                           9.0 seconds. (takes time to get that much weight moving)
 Fuel consumption 15.3 mpg                               11.3 mpg.

The interesting thing is, at 60 mph, the Cadillac is 1.6 seconds behind the Monaro, but over the 1/4 mile, the Cadillac closes that in to only .7 of a second behind.

The big surprise, was the comp ratio of the 327. I would have thought it would've been around 9:50 to 1 as a minimum.   

I might have to ditch some weight out of the Caddy, it might be good for a decent 1/4 mile time after all.

The really sad bit is, the Holden Statesman I got for the wife for $1,650, will run a 14.7 over the quarter all day with ease.
Geez, bung a Chinese copy turbo on it, change the valve springs and the Statesman would run a high 10.

« Reply #827 on: April 05, 2018, 05:45:37 PM »
Wonder if he ever finished his dream build

Offline gordo350

« Reply #829 on: April 05, 2018, 07:02:12 PM »
I recall top gear doing a comparison 1/4 m drag between a e type jag, a Jenson intercepter and my wifes car. A 2005 honda accord. The accord finished lightyears ahead of them both
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

« Reply #830 on: April 06, 2018, 08:58:19 PM »
Been sitting in the outdoor area of the Yamanto Tavern the past few hours watching classic muscle car after classic car go past. They must have had a meet up in the shopping centre car park next door...lost count of how many HQ’s, Monaros, Toranas, Mustangs, HO’s, Chevs, etc, etc, etc I saw....been pretty cool viewing and some awesome sounds to go with a few. 8) 8) Nice looking XU1 Torana going past as I type this  8)

« Reply #831 on: April 06, 2018, 11:09:11 PM »
Retro modern Single Spinner Ford

« Reply #832 on: April 06, 2018, 11:19:24 PM »
Been sitting in the outdoor area of the Yamanto Tavern the past few hours watching classic muscle car after classic car go past. They must have had a meet up in the shopping centre car park next door...lost count of how many HQ’s, Monaros, Toranas, Mustangs, HO’s, Chevs, etc, etc, etc I saw....been pretty cool viewing and some awesome sounds to go with a few. 8) 8) Nice looking XU1 Torana going past as I type this  8)

This mob could be what you've seen Mal ..   http://www.liveguide.com.au/Events/1003940/Artists/Monthly_Car_Enthusiasts_Night

« Reply #833 on: April 07, 2018, 03:51:48 AM »
If anyone is interested, next Friday is the 3 Day Drag Challenge starting @ Willowbank Raceway.

We'll be there in the Caddy. (not racing)

« Reply #834 on: April 07, 2018, 07:35:18 AM »
This mob could be what you've seen Mal ..   http://www.liveguide.com.au/Events/1003940/Artists/Monthly_Car_Enthusiasts_Night
it'd be well worth going to for a look around, going by all the vehicles we saw leaving from there over several hours. I don't know if they still do it or not, but the Elizabeth St shops at Acacia Ridge used to get heaps of people meet there in a similar meet up each week.

« Reply #835 on: April 07, 2018, 07:59:48 AM »
Holden ute retro modern .

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #836 on: April 07, 2018, 04:18:38 PM »
Walked out of the Qld air museum at Caloundra today and saw this nice old girl.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

« Reply #837 on: April 07, 2018, 04:51:52 PM »
Walked out of the Qld air museum at Caloundra today and saw this nice old girl.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Beautiful, someone's pride and joy!  ;D :D

« Reply #838 on: April 09, 2018, 06:13:04 AM »
I stumbled across an 80 year old yesterday in the Mary Valley, with a 1970 Lincoln Continental Coupe in a shed/carport arrangement in his back yard.

Not a great car, but not a bad car either. It runs and drives still, so that is a good thing
Big ol 460 and auto of course, little bit of rust in the boot lid and under the vinyl roof, but very savable.
Last rego in 2014, interior pretty good, but it was the tyres that cracked me up.

Because his driveway gets slippery and ol 460 would spin the tyres, he'd fitted the Lincoln out with A/T 4WD tyres.

He reckons, it would track up the driveway perfect after that.

« Reply #839 on: April 09, 2018, 07:29:12 AM »
lead sled Continental  American styling, Make it Big Ok ... ;D ;D be almost as big as the Caddy Kev .
« Last Edit: April 09, 2018, 07:32:38 AM by edz »

« Reply #840 on: April 09, 2018, 04:12:25 PM »
Couple of Kraut Wagons that turned up at our Cars n Coffee get together yesterday.

And a couple of others as well, ended up with 24 cars this time.

« Reply #841 on: April 09, 2018, 04:38:28 PM »
Getting a good roll up Kev, nice to see the different types too + plus good for the local shops .

« Reply #842 on: April 14, 2018, 05:03:46 AM »
We took a run up yesterday to Willowbank for the Drag Challenge Week-end.

Some tuff.... very tuff.... and FRIGGIN TUFF cars on the track.

Best run of the day was an 8:01 from a torana hatch while an XW sedan ran @ 8:10 @ 170.
A mint look HK Premier ran a 8:24 and looked all class as it started the drive to Warwick.
The ol Dirty Bird 97 Falcon ute peeled off a 8:40.

A lovely XE ESP Falcon gave the wall a nudge with the front too.

1,200 Rear Wheel HP and when it snapped the tyres loose, it was around before he knew it.

They're all racing in Warwick today then drive back to Willowbank and race again on Sunday
You'll see a couple of run a 7 on Sunday too, last day, so turn the wick right up.
They have a set planned drive to follow, so these cars will cover around 500klm was well as race 3 days of back to back racing.

I was going to take the Fleetwood for the run up yesterday, (For the cooool factor) but at 25L per 100K, in the end, the Statesman won out. The other major factor, was if we were gunna bounce any wildlife on the way home in the dark, i'd rather it be the Statesman.

It returned 9.8 L per 100K too, so considerably cheaper day out.

Pisser though, gotta go out and mow today.... I hate working week-ends.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2018, 05:08:43 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #843 on: April 14, 2018, 05:56:42 AM »
Gunna try and copy and paste a pic or two.

The taxi went 11.5

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/30629802_996430083846557_6909218875808677888_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=d62cd30f3262ab3a33c1b3cee5de27c5&oe=5B599EBE

The quality of the cars was excellent.

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/30689336_996556487167250_5205074224686825472_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=021b98cd83b6acd3788bcde4cbfe00f7&oe=5B70D274

This Capri went 8.90 something naturally aspirated.  :cup:

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/30705724_996555953833970_7613799597768441856_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=c5191999b3e723d4acb8132436add075&oe=5B59BA4F

12.50 for the Sigma.

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/30724577_996559047166994_2127580305693868032_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=7d922069aa04b0e90b477fd08feee52b&oe=5B6A69DF

Dirty Bird, yep, this ran an 8.40.

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/30688954_996559073833658_4610235333093621760_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=9dfb0eda92aabba1b3da94083b44e257&oe=5B669506

OK, i hope these loaded correctly, or I'll like stoopidder than normal

« Reply #844 on: April 14, 2018, 08:05:02 AM »
Is the XW the Dandy Engines car?

That thing is mental.  2500HP twin turbo SB Windsor with FULL stock suspension front and rear.

« Reply #845 on: April 14, 2018, 09:11:48 AM »
An Australian mini version of  Drag Week  USA, Kev .
These Street cars are are almost running the same times as the old Wild Bunch cars used to, If memory serves me right .

« Reply #846 on: April 14, 2018, 12:07:55 PM »
No mate, not a Dandy car.... Brisbane jobbie.

Yeah Edz, been running in Oz for a while now, but this is the first Qld event.

8:50 was the cut-off for wild bunch back in the day.

« Reply #847 on: April 14, 2018, 12:28:14 PM »
Jeepers, the Maroon and cream car in the last Pic.

Looks similar to a Riley, any more info on it pls.?

« Reply #848 on: April 14, 2018, 12:32:18 PM »
Yep, its a 50 something Riley..... what do you need to know?

Its a local car.

The following users thanked this post: Cruiser 105Tvan

« Reply #849 on: April 14, 2018, 12:39:18 PM »
A friend has one as well, just curious, and wondered if I recognized it correctly.
Good luck with your casual meet ups.