Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1774960 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3600 on: April 21, 2017, 09:14:57 PM »
Your pictures are way too small....
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

« Reply #3601 on: April 21, 2017, 09:37:34 PM »
Paddler Ed, what's wrong with the "T-nuts", made for fixing to wood. you drill the hole and insert the T-nut.
the central tube can be either metric or coarse whitworth threaded. 
The end of the tube is spread like a washer and there are spikes that help hold it in place.

https://www.bunnings.com.au/leggz-5-16-x-3-8-steel-t-nuts-4-pack_p3940068

Just looking at what you have and the T-nuts, I think the T-nut would be more resistant to pulling through the timber.
They come with M8 thread as well.  They have been used in furniture for a very long time.

Offline grafy82

« Reply #3602 on: April 22, 2017, 08:27:06 AM »
Paddler Ed, what's wrong with the "T-nuts", made for fixing to wood. you drill the hole and insert the T-nut.
the central tube can be either metric or coarse whitworth threaded. 
The end of the tube is spread like a washer and there are spikes that help hold it in place.

https://www.bunnings.com.au/leggz-5-16-x-3-8-steel-t-nuts-4-pack_p3940068

Just looking at what you have and the T-nuts, I think the T-nut would be more resistant to pulling through the timber.
They come with M8 thread as well.  They have been used in furniture for a very long time.

Yep, T-nuts are the go. I just used them for the new false floor in my Pajero to mount the fridge slide and put in eye bolts as well. Heaps cheaper in bulk packs from eBay too.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #3603 on: April 22, 2017, 09:50:49 AM »
Yep, T-nuts are the go. I just used them for the new false floor in my Pajero to mount the fridge slide and put in eye bolts as well. Heaps cheaper in bulk packs from eBay too.
X2.... All the drawers in the back of my ute are running on drawer slides attached with t-nuts and demon bolts - work an absolute treat!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #3604 on: April 22, 2017, 11:41:14 AM »
I cleaned the car. The front seats are always reasonably clean, but, the back seat...

It didn't look too bad, but then I lifted the seat base.

My God!

The kids had discovered that it is easier to shove the rubbish under the seat base than put it in the rubbish bag. Its like a black hole, stuff goes in there never to be seen again.
Until I pull the base out.

I did make $6.45 for my trouble, so thats a win :cup:

« Reply #3605 on: April 22, 2017, 11:48:54 AM »
Ok, thanks guys I'll change to T Nuts, just got to get them with a metric thread as the BGS doesn't stock.them in that type... Oh well, evilbay it is. I just need to make sure I can get them long enough for what I want to do.

« Reply #3606 on: April 22, 2017, 01:38:06 PM »
Paddler ed, when the T-nuts are fitted they are almost invisible.
The hole is all there is to see, you push them in from the back and then tightening them pulls them in and embeds them in the ply or board.
The threaded tube is usually about 10-15mm long.  Obviously the smaller the thread diam. the shorter the threaded tube.

« Reply #3607 on: April 22, 2017, 02:44:37 PM »
Paddler ed, when the T-nuts are fitted they are almost invisible.
The hole is all there is to see, you push them in from the back and then tightening them pulls them in and embeds them in the ply or board.
The threaded tube is usually about 10-15mm long.  Obviously the smaller the thread diam. the shorter the threaded tube.

I want to run them from the underside of the floor, so that I'm screwing down into them from the top. If I can find some that are about 15mm long then that is great, as they're going into 17mm form ply and that will give me plenty of meat to screw into.

I've found some that are a 15mm barrel length and an M8 Thread, so that's pretty much spot on for what I want, and an M8 Eye bolt with a 13mm thread length, which gives me about 11mm of thread contact in total.

« Reply #3608 on: April 22, 2017, 06:44:18 PM »
3 hours so far trying to get 1 oil filter off - so far...

Moronic arse**** mechanic that fitted it when he did some engine work few mths ago must have used a rattle gun and welder.

then theres the second filter.

« Reply #3609 on: April 22, 2017, 06:52:08 PM »

??? ??? ???

If it's still driveable, come over to the good side of town....

« Reply #3610 on: April 22, 2017, 09:16:56 PM »

Moronic arse**** mechanic that fitted it when he did some engine work few mths ago must have used a rattle gun and welder.

then theres the second filter.
Come on bird. Drive the longest screw driver you have though it and turn it off. If i was home i would have come down to do it for ya

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

« Reply #3611 on: April 22, 2017, 10:25:56 PM »
Righty tighty, lefty loosy....

« Reply #3612 on: April 22, 2017, 10:53:53 PM »
LOL.
That was exactly what I said in my head when I saw Birds post.

« Reply #3613 on: April 22, 2017, 11:02:57 PM »
Come on bird. Drive the longest screw driver you have through it and turn it off. If i was home i would have come down to do it for ya

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

I agree with GG.
When Bruce was talking to me he said it was all under control.

« Reply #3614 on: April 23, 2017, 06:57:21 AM »
Unless it's a right hand thread

« Reply #3615 on: April 23, 2017, 07:37:51 AM »
While I was at the Uni, we got a call from one of the research labs one day, saying that they were having trouble swapping a gas regulator across to a new CO2 cylinder, so could we give them a hand.

Yeah OK, so picked up our shifter & headed across.

To make sure I'm doing the right thing (after all, it's in a research lab), read all the posted instructions before doing anything: cylinder tap turned off - yep; gauge showing zero pressure - yep; gas turned off at machine (incubator?) - yep; line disconnected there - yep;  OK, remove regulator by unscrewing nut anti-clockwise - Jeez, that's tight, I can see why you've been having trouble, but OK, there she goes...& 3 bright, intelligent young researchers, the future brains & leaders of our Country ::), all, in one breath, went "Ohhh, that's right, anti-clockwise is that way"! :'( (& they'd been there for several years & had changed literally 100s, if not 1000's of cylinders over ???).

Shook my head over that one & put the reg on the new cylinder, spun the nut closed, snicked it up with the shifter & thought that it wasn't as far home as previously. Asked them if that looked right & they said Yep, that's normal, we've been trying to swap the reg across since yesterday & turned it another full turn clockwise before giving up ::)

« Reply #3616 on: April 23, 2017, 08:09:01 AM »

And he's gone quiet now.  ;D

« Reply #3617 on: April 23, 2017, 08:10:47 AM »
Unless it's a right hand thread

...ummm

« Reply #3618 on: April 23, 2017, 10:34:03 AM »
Come on bird. Drive the longest screw driver you have though it and turn it off. If i was home i would have come down to do it for ya

That can be a trap too.

I had one I couldn't shift, so did the impaling with the screwdriver thing and tried to unscrew it.

Then I had the filter body torn to shreds and greasy sharp metal to try and gain purchase on >:(. I went and bought a filter wrench, but that just completed the job of shearing off the bottom 1/2 of the filter body.

I ended up having to go in through the wheel arch and use the screwdriver as a chisel to tap on the sealing flange and eventually undid it that way.

« Reply #3619 on: April 23, 2017, 06:38:51 PM »

Sorted??

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #3620 on: April 23, 2017, 07:40:37 PM »
Spend the last few days with a fair bit of time in the garage. Mission accomplished today - made a hole big enough to fit a car in! Then spent the rest of the day tinkering with bikes, need to offload a few.

« Reply #3621 on: April 23, 2017, 08:14:46 PM »
aask BD how tight after he spent over 2 hours trying today.... that was long after screw drivers through it.

« Reply #3622 on: April 23, 2017, 08:37:16 PM »
So what did you have to do to get them off??

« Reply #3623 on: April 23, 2017, 08:39:38 PM »
So what did you have to do to get them off??
My vice grip hands  8) ..... for the second filter anyways  >:(

« Reply #3624 on: April 23, 2017, 08:40:24 PM »
My vice grip hands  8)

MegaloMan to the rescue.....  :cup: :cup: