Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1750496 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #3475 on: February 13, 2017, 10:25:16 AM »
I have started build a mezzanine floor/large overhead shelf into my shed.

I have to much stuff cluttering up the shed floor and I want my shed back , so this will allow me to pack/stack stuff away and return my floor space.

The stairs will be able to be winched up

« Reply #3476 on: February 15, 2017, 03:37:57 PM »
Pretty happy , Stage 1 of the mezzanine floor/large overhead shelf is completed .

Now getting started on Stage 2 - building a set of 2 full length shelves against the wall up on the mezzanine floor.

Lifting one of my mig welders up yo the mezzanine floor.

« Reply #3477 on: February 15, 2017, 03:59:47 PM »
Show off, nice job :)

« Reply #3478 on: February 15, 2017, 04:23:21 PM »
Great work Duggie, nice shed too, I have mates at the Barra farm at Dulatin, Craig

Offline fergy

« Reply #3479 on: February 15, 2017, 06:26:06 PM »
how much have you hadon the gantry duggie?
1996 Suzuki Sierra    2008 jayco hawk now gone 1978 millard pop top
Iveco daily 4x4
WR450F
The following users thanked this post: Streetkid

« Reply #3480 on: February 16, 2017, 11:24:40 AM »
how much have you hadon the gantry duggie?

Hi fergy ,

The big yellow traveling gantry can and has lifted a Commodore sedan car and has no problem lifting my Trackabout trailer .

The smaller gantry that the welder is hanging from will lift half a tonne.

G'day Craig Tomkinson,

I assume that you mean Julatin, and thanks for your comment.

Show off, nice job :)

Hi D4D ,

Isn't that what this thread is all about ? ;D ;D

« Reply #3481 on: February 16, 2017, 12:03:48 PM »
Yes Mate that's the One Sorry,,  Old snow Bostock and his family own the barra farm there, Craig 

« Reply #3482 on: February 17, 2017, 03:49:38 PM »
made some new lights for the annex (newer 5630 LED's) and a new reading light for the missus:

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #3483 on: February 17, 2017, 05:07:57 PM »
Nice job Paceman....if I may be sold bold to ask....could you please advise how you did it and with what ?

« Reply #3484 on: February 17, 2017, 05:25:15 PM »
Nice job Paceman....if I may be sold bold to ask....could you please advise how you did it and with what ?

no boldness required... :)

1m pvc pipe, with two coats each of british paints 'sprayeasy paint & prime' and clear acrylic...  the black is only because i'm a bit OCD and i think it looks better... :)

strip of 5630 led's with a tail soldered on at each end of the strip and then an anderson powerpole connection on each tail.

the tails are fed through a rubber stopper at each end of the pipe and the pipe is covered with clear heatshrink. 

similar setup with the reading light, only that there is a tail at one end and then covered with clear heatshrink.  this pole is one of two short support poles for the large wall next to our bed in the camper.  i took the crappy C-clips off them and replaced with U-clips... the reading light has a dimmer for it as well, so it isn't too bright...

the dimmers use a thinner wire, so i have to strip more back and fold it on itself three or four times to get a good crimp on the anderson powerpole.

all up, each annex light cost me about $10 to make, which is much cheaper than a bought one of the same length and i don't mind making them. 

hope this answers your question, but happy to be more specific, if necessary...
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 05:29:35 PM by paceman »
The following users thanked this post: archer63

« Reply #3485 on: February 17, 2017, 05:26:48 PM »
Got the beer fridge repaired in Leesa's shed ready for the arrival of the Northeners coming down for the National Meet at Mansfield

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

« Reply #3486 on: February 17, 2017, 06:09:53 PM »
Got the beer fridge repaired in Leesa's shed ready for the arrival of the Northeners coming down for the National Meet at Mansfield

Aaaah! Someone bringing some decent beer down for you, ay?  :cheers:

Offline Rusty

« Reply #3487 on: February 17, 2017, 09:08:00 PM »

is it full yet ? Just a heads up Brett likes Great northen super crisp

Rusty
2018 200 series landcruiser
2021 Jayco silverline outback

« Reply #3488 on: February 18, 2017, 04:53:25 AM »
is it full yet ? Just a heads up Brett likes Great northen super crisp

Rusty
And Bundy, and I'm not far from GG's place

« Reply #3489 on: February 19, 2017, 08:59:21 PM »
Not the shed but in the house....spent 5 hours on an orbital sander yesterday sanding the floor in my new office I have built. The size of the office didn't justify hiring a big floor sander, that and I'm being a tight arse on the budget / trying to do this job as cheap as possible. This arvo I put the first coat of  clear varnish or what ever you call it on the floor (would have done it yesterday but a mates BBQ beckoned), won't be long and I can move the furniture in 8) ...just got to finish the floor, varnish the timber mounting blocks for light switches and power points, and then get the electrics fitted off.

UIZ733

« Reply #3490 on: February 19, 2017, 09:04:49 PM »
Not the shed but in the house....spent 5 hours on an orbital sander yesterday sanding the floor in my new office I have built. The size of the office didn't justify hiring a big floor sander, that and I'm being a tight arse on the budget / trying to do this job as cheap as possible. This arvo I put the first coat of  clear varnish or what ever you call it on the floor (would have done it yesterday but a mates BBQ beckoned), won't be long and I can move the furniture in 8) ...just got to finish the floor, varnish the timber mounting blocks for light switches and power points, and then get the electrics fitted off.

« Reply #3491 on: February 19, 2017, 09:13:45 PM »
no lights in that room currently, so will try grabbing some during daylight hours

« Reply #3492 on: February 20, 2017, 09:35:20 PM »
here's about the best i could get on my phone this arvo...second coat of varnish is done on the floor, now need to stain the timber mounting blocks this week and try and get them fitted off on the weekend
« Last Edit: February 20, 2017, 09:37:00 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #3493 on: February 23, 2017, 07:10:37 PM »
I have finished building the shelves and added a hand rail to the steps on the mezzanine floor that I have been working on.

Next up is to get my shed floor back and stack the s#!t ( good stuff ) up on the shelves and mezzanine floor area.

« Last Edit: February 24, 2017, 09:17:10 AM by duggie »

« Reply #3494 on: February 23, 2017, 07:17:02 PM »
Looking good duggie  :cup: :cup:

« Reply #3495 on: February 23, 2017, 07:38:01 PM »
Thanks Geoff,

Time to sort out some crap and clean up me shed.

« Reply #3496 on: February 23, 2017, 07:59:05 PM »

...again??

Seems like I could do that weekly.... ::)

« Reply #3497 on: February 23, 2017, 08:05:52 PM »
...again??

Seems like I could do that weekly.... ::)

:cup: :cup:

« Reply #3498 on: February 24, 2017, 06:43:20 AM »
Thanks Geoff,

Should have built it a Proper size to start with , then you crap would have to be spread out thinner            :cheers:

« Reply #3499 on: February 24, 2017, 07:59:33 AM »
I have finished building the shelves and added a hand rail to the steps on the mezzanine floor that I have been working on.

Next up is to get my shed floor back and stack the s#!t ( good stuff ) up on the shelves and floor mezzanine floor area.

Awesome work Duggie! :cup:

Now you'll have to very carefully work out exactly what obscure item you're going to need next, so you can make sure it's packed away right down the other end of the messanine, against the wall, with other stuff in front of & on top of it! >:D

Just how big is that shed anyway ??? (Ask's the bloke that spent part of yesterday shopping for a 1.8 x .8 lawn locker :-[)